post Jul 13 2010, 05:28 PM

228 posts

Use hard anodised pan
they work 99% like a non stick pan
and they dont get scratch as bad as a non stick pan
BUT
expensive....
I bought mine from US. 3 sizes for RM40++ (exclude delivery)
Malaysia.... 3 sizes for minimum RM300++

I never do anything to my new pan
but normally westerners seasoned the pan by heating a bit of oil and springkle some salt and pepper

chinese will use garlic and ginger

This post has been edited by Al3x0174: Jul 13 2010, 05:30 PM
Al3x0174
post Jul 14 2010, 03:33 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(samantha88 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:25 AM)
haha...i stopped baking for very long time too before this
when r u moving house?

Added on July 14, 2010, 9:28 am

how much for the shipping cost?
i bet it's not any cheap...
The total cost was about RM110. My aunt help me took it back from Texas.

I used to cook using Stainless Steel pans and pots. But now, occasionally, because i've been using my Rice Cooker and Pressure Cooker to cook everything

By the way, Stainless Steel is Induction Safe while some Hard Anodised pan is not induction safe. It depends how you use and what you use for.

True. I used my pans for browning meat, frying egg and making sauces.
Al3x0174
post Jul 16 2010, 08:54 AM

228 posts

with the sugar price increase, still making desserts?
Al3x0174
post Mar 25 2011, 09:17 AM

228 posts

I would recommend using hard anodized pan. it cost more than double of your budget but a good hard anodized pan can last very long.

Hard anodized pan required minimal oil usage and you can use steel/wood/silicon spatula. I would recommend using silicon spatula instead of wood or steel. Wood might leave some residue/bacteria onto the thin lines. Hard anodized pan can resist scratches from steel but why wanna risk it. Teflon as mentioned is harmful to health.

Greenpan are good for professional chef where you can fry your meat and put the whole pan into the oven. It's also hard anodized with ceramic instead of other steels.

Having a good hard anodized pan + silicon spatula = long lasting good cooking.

Hapy Cooking wink.gif
Al3x0174
post Apr 3 2011, 09:39 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Mar 25 2011, 10:15 AM)
Can hard anodized pan be used on induction cooker? Most of these type of pans are aluminium right?
That you need to read on the box of the pan. (Sorry, No induction cooker)

QUOTE(samantha88 @ Mar 31 2011, 12:01 AM)
No induction cooker at home, the only time I had my hands on an induction cooker was at my bestie's house
It's new to both of us...we use normal pan and the pan wouldn't heat up langsung
in the end, we smell something burning and its from the cooker...we both broke the thing even w/o cooking once with it
Maybe becoz we did not use the right pan, or she bought the budget induction cooker

Added on March 31, 2011, 12:08 am

Hihi, what is cake flour n bread flour?

I like funghi pizza...always wanted to try making pizza at home
But hav bad experience kneading dough...knead until hand ache still can't achive the smooth and non sticky surface...u got tips
Kneading should be done for at least 10 minutes. you can use a dough hook on a mixer to do it as well.

Encyclopizza Link

Largest Most Filling Pizza I ever made
15" Double Layer Pizza with Meatballs

This post has been edited by Al3x0174: Apr 3 2011, 09:43 AM

Al3x0174
post Apr 11 2011, 01:45 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 11 2011, 12:25 PM)
cry.gif I wish I'm in UK!
Why?
here also have all those ingredient

I notice your pizza dough doesnt contain sugar
1KG of flour normally I can make about 7 medium sized pizza
How big is your pizza? shocking.gif

my pizza dough recipe:

3 Cups of High Protein Flour
1 Cup of water
1 Pack of yeast (11g)
2 Tablespoon of Sugar
2 Tablespoon of Oil
1 Tablespoon of Salt

Knead for 10 Minutes and set aside for 1 hour
This is big enough to make a 15" pizza
Al3x0174
post Apr 14 2011, 08:44 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(panda00 @ Apr 14 2011, 02:54 AM)
No sugar required. That's the basic pizza dough you can find in jamie oliver's or italian's cookbook.

That 1kg flour makes me, two extra large pizzas smile.gif

Added on April 14, 2011, 2:55 am

Perhaps so, especially the fresh and sundried tomatoes..... smile.gif
1Kg of flour makes me 2 15" pizza
dunno if it is considered extra large at UK

How much is the heat and baking time?

Sugar will make it rise faster and also brown the crust

Effects of Sugar

First, because it’s food for yeast, sugar alters the rate of fermentation. Up to 5 percent sugar speeds up fermentation. Over 5 percent begins to slow it down, however.

Second, it increases crust browning. This could allow a pizzeria to have a shorter bake time or a lower oven temperature. However, keep in mind that bake time must be long enough to insure full internal doneness, especially of that part of dough which contacts the sauce.

Third, it enhances flavor and aroma.

Fourth, white sugar produces a softer, whiter internal texture or crumb. This occurs because sugar delays the coagula­tion of gluten and gelatinization of starch during baking—in effect, causing the crumb to be “less baked” which, in turn, makes it more tender.

Fifth, it increases a product’s shelf life by increasing its moisture retention. For pizzas that are eaten immedi­ately, that’s of little concern.

In conclusion, each of the above conditions can be either an advantage or a draw­back depending on what you want in your dough and crust.
Al3x0174
post Apr 15 2011, 10:01 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(panda00 @ Apr 15 2011, 02:11 AM)
if you folded twice on the edge, you get thicker crust. It's a very quick pizza, go on 220'C for 15 mins, that's it. 15' is considered extra large. You can see from the pic that it's quite soft in the middle. I don't think sugar has made vast difference.

The key is kneading, and letting it rises, it requires about 1 hour and 3 quarters to double the size of the dough.
I dint fold the edges. without the sauce and toppings (which is heavy) and i poke some holes using a fork on the inner part, the dough on the side will rise up during baking.

I baked my pizza at 220C for 10-12 minutes only.

If you want to to be a bit hard on the bottom, try putting some oil on the pan before you lay the dough on it. butter can be used but it browns much faster than oil.

I only need to knead mine for 10 minutes instead of 20

Al3x0174
post Apr 16 2011, 04:48 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(panda00 @ Apr 16 2011, 08:00 AM)
yours a proper pan pizza. mine is more of thin crusty italian style. kneading does make the dough more chewy. i don't poke the dough at all.
Noted.

I'll try Italian Pizza next week biggrin.gif

since you are at UK, try baking them on the pizza stone. it's easy to get at US but non existence in Malaysia. I believe UK have them
Al3x0174
post Apr 19 2011, 02:32 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Apr 11 2011, 01:45 PM)
Why?
here also have all those ingredient

I notice your pizza dough doesnt contain sugar
1KG of flour normally I can make about 7 medium sized pizza
How big is your pizza?  shocking.gif

my pizza dough recipe:

3 Cups of High Protein Flour
1 Cup of water
1 Pack of yeast (11g)
2 Tablespoon of Sugar
2 Tablespoon of Oil
1 Tablespoon of Salt

Knead for 10 Minutes and set aside for 1 hour
This is big enough to make a 15" pizza
Here
if you're interested in pizza try googling for Encyclopizza
it's a great website to learn about pizza

Great presentation you got there

Hopefully this sunday I'll have time to make the Italian pizza
but what's for sure is Bah Kut Teh is in the Saturday Lunch Menu drool.gif
Al3x0174
post Apr 21 2011, 09:15 AM

228 posts

should it suppose to be flat?
as I know there's no baking powder or soda being used for this recipe
just mixing it to let air in for the volume
Al3x0174
post Apr 28 2011, 09:06 AM

228 posts

Hi guys/gals,

Making Italian Pizza, Panna Cotta and Grilled Leg of Lamb Steak this weekend.
Any tips on the Panna Cotta? 1st time making it
Al3x0174
post May 2 2011, 12:07 PM

228 posts

I did the lunch aledi.. The pizza dint turn out to be as I expected. Edible but just not the textur I'm looking for.

Panna cotta turn out great. More or less like egg tart texture.

Made some loaves of bread too.

Invited a few friends over. Before I could take a picture all was consumed biggrin.gif

Today making more bread for next weeks consumption biggrin.gif

Al3x0174
post May 3 2011, 02:18 PM

228 posts

Homemade Herb Bread

Ingredient

3 cups of all purpose flour
1 1/8 cups of milk
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon salt
4 1/2 tablespoons oil
2 tablespoons yeast

Method
Pour yeast into milk. Let sit for 15 minutes
Pour in oil followed by all dry ingredient. Turn on mixer for 3 - 5 minutes.
Knead a while and let rise for 1 hour
Let the air out and knead it to fit into a greased loaf pan.
Let rise for another 45 minutes
Baked at 180C for an hour. Turn the pan 180 degree after the 1st 30 minutes for even baking

This post has been edited by Al3x0174: May 3 2011, 02:27 PM

Al3x0174
post May 4 2011, 01:33 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ May 4 2011, 10:43 AM)
a noob question...if i were to roast 2 chicken at 1 time..will the time remains the same like roasting 1 chicken (ie 1.5 hrs)? I'll be putting the 2 chickens on the same tray.
The amount of time should be the same. Just like if you are frying 2 eggs using the same pan. Side by side that is

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ May 4 2011, 12:17 PM)
Anyone know how to make domino pizza secret sauce used in this topping?  drool.gif
never tried that before but is that vegetarian sauce?
Al3x0174
post May 4 2011, 08:12 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ May 4 2011, 06:26 PM)
this is the most amazing pizza topping at domino..u should try it..i'm not vegetarian, but tiz is really awesome.. drool.gif  drool.gif everytime go to domino will order this icon_rolleyes.gif
Never order or tasted that
But based on the description given try this

Sauce
2 cloves Garlic zest
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
200ml Double or whipping cream

Add 2 tablespoon of water and garlic to sauce pan. On medium heat when water almost dry up, add cream then add salt and pepper to taste

Topping (as per dominos website)
Onion
Mushroom
Pineapple
Green pepper

Pizza dough
Mozzarella cheese
Al3x0174
post May 5 2011, 10:59 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ May 4 2011, 10:05 PM)
im going to try it..thanks..I oso found this
http://chefmom.sheknows.com/recipes/parmes...erb-pizza-sauce
maybe can try too
Sometimes you need a break from traditional pizza and all that red sauce. Next time you whip up a fresh batch of pizza dough, try topping it with this yummy, creamy Parmesan-Herb Pizza Sauce that's perfectly blends whipping cream and milk with mparmesan and a variety of herbs for a delicious taste.
Ingredients

* 1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil
    * 1 garlic clove, minced
    * 1 1/2 teaspoon all purpose flour
    * 1/3 cup milk
    * 1/4 cup whipping cream
    * 3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
    * 2 tablespoons herb blend (use chives, tarragon, oregano, and basil)
    * 1/8 teaspoon salt
    * 1/8 teaspoon pepper

Directions

1. In a saucepan, heat oil and cook garlic for 30 seconds.
  2. Briskly stir as you add flour. Cook an additional minute.
  3. Add milk and cream, whisking until smooth.
  4. Boil mixture for 1-2 minutes to thicken.
  5. Add remaining ingredients and cool before adding to crust.
Just an advice, slowly add the milk by small batches to avoid lump created by the mixture of flour and oil

Al3x0174
post May 9 2011, 11:57 AM

228 posts

Pie dough is very hard to do

Best is use cold butter, cold flour and cold water. Try use dough mixer instead of using hand
Al3x0174
post May 9 2011, 12:55 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ May 9 2011, 12:22 PM)
I did all those...sigh...so now i have extra apples on hand.  Gonna do apple + banana crumble tonight smile.gif
Double confirm the dough recipe. Smetimes you need to check out the baker percentage of a few recipe to get you an idea. Smetimes some recipe is out from the norm

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 9 2011, 12:50 PM)
hmm.gif
err...I have never seen curry chicken with hard boiled eggs before. Wat kind of curry chicken is that?
I think it will be as great as tho curry puff wth chicken meat and eggs. Should taste great
Al3x0174
post May 12 2011, 09:26 AM

228 posts

I tried to find also but it's not available. Bt most commonly is by removing those larger bones eg drumstick, tight bones first before cutting them to smaller portion.

0.0251sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:40 AM