QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 1 2010, 02:44 PM)
Where can i buy physical silver in KL? Im interested in getting a 1KG bar just for investment purposes. But i want the real deal and not some black market stuff. There are many investment reports suggesting that silver will become the new gold rush in a few years time.
Investing in 1kg won't get you any where. In early 1995 silver was USD4.60 an oz. New York closed at USD23.168 on 21st Oct. You have missed the boat.Gold was less than USD400 in early 1995. New York closed at USD1325.70 last night. In terms of percentage increase silver has outperformed gold.
You do not invest in physicals for the simple reason that a premium would be charged; could be over a dollar an oz; coins attract higher premiums; so do smaller bars.
I do not think it is very feasible to invest in silver and gold here unless it is for long term; the buying and selling difference is too great (based on Public Bank's current gold rate the price difference is about USD51 per oz.); meaning it has to shoot up RM5260 per kg. before you could make any profits.
If you are looking at a bigger volume maybe you could try MKS Precious Metals Sdn. Bhd. in K.L. otherwise you may have to go to Singapore and trade.
You could track the activities of both at kitco.com.
Goodluck!
Added on October 22, 2010, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(mtaiwai @ Oct 1 2010, 07:14 AM)
there is a penang company (hq bukit jambul, opp bukit jambul complex) now selling physical silver. publicgold (nothing to do with public bank, site:www.publicgold.com.my). went to a talk organized by them on 29/9. looks like they have branches in a few states also.
they sell in 250g, 500g, 1kg block.. certified by penang assayer (a private company)
the spread for physical silver it seems is about 15%
their concept is they sell physical gold / silver. you keep at home/safe
they also have a publicsafe - but that is in kl. i guess not for penang ppl.
think of having to store physical silver, leceh lah.
if silver is about to shoot up as the guy said (like what happened to gold 5-6 years ago), then how come in malaysia only this company doing silver? only 1 guy so far-sighted? the investment people all sleeping? or the rest of the people all doing paper-silver or ETF type of things?
anybody know of any bank/other company in malaysia doing paper silver/physical silver also?
Very wise remark! Nobody's buying when you want to sell your physical silver grains or silver bars. So you buy and keep at home eh? Then the burglars come and korek everything away! Just buy in paper form then can sleep in peace.they sell in 250g, 500g, 1kg block.. certified by penang assayer (a private company)
the spread for physical silver it seems is about 15%
their concept is they sell physical gold / silver. you keep at home/safe
they also have a publicsafe - but that is in kl. i guess not for penang ppl.
think of having to store physical silver, leceh lah.
if silver is about to shoot up as the guy said (like what happened to gold 5-6 years ago), then how come in malaysia only this company doing silver? only 1 guy so far-sighted? the investment people all sleeping? or the rest of the people all doing paper-silver or ETF type of things?
anybody know of any bank/other company in malaysia doing paper silver/physical silver also?
This post has been edited by kefircurious: Oct 22 2010, 10:50 PM
Oct 22 2010, 10:33 PM

0.0339sec