how to invest silver in malaysia

eXTaTine
post May 6 2011, 01:02 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Silver due for a rebound soon....don't don't let that rebound kid you, we still have some ways to go before the bottom. I reckon GS ratio of 50 or more before the smoke clears.

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: May 6 2011, 01:05 PM
eXTaTine
post May 7 2011, 08:39 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(edthered @ May 6 2011, 11:14 PM)
in my opinion, if you want to make money in silver short terms, don't go physical. yeah i know, everyone will be telling you to go physical and no paper silver.

but the problem with physical silver in the short term is, you can't liquidate it fast enuf. with paper silver, you can convert it back to money much faster. buy it low today, and if it shoots up in the next few days, liquidate ur paper silver and lock in the gains. but problem is, there isn't any paper silver in malaysia and for paper gold, the spread is too wide.

benedict1213 ... i understand how you feel. when the price of silver was rising a few months back, all the seller will be changing their price upwards by the minutes, saying cost is high, price is high, silver is in bull ... but when silver is tumbling down now, they give you another reasons.

anyway, i am not looking for sellers, they have their ways of getting their stocks. i just plan to get some silver from company oversea and see if there's any buyer or investor who are willing to pool in and share the shipping cost. on average, it is still cheaper than most sellers is selling in malaysia, including tax.
You can get paper Silver in Singapore. Just make a trip down south smile.gif
eXTaTine
post May 7 2011, 03:06 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ May 7 2011, 09:18 AM)
Well U can join forces! may the force be with U. I tried b4, but nobody want to share with me 2 yrs back. So I quit and startup silvermalaysia at ebay, sell at higher price lah. One thing to remember "Prisoner dillemma" ok.
In case, you can find anyone to co-share, then U can always email me and work out a deal for pre-order.

Added on May 7, 2011, 9:24 am

Added on May 7, 2011, 9:29 am

Since it is in SG, you need to consider the forex and the time spent there.
U can only do it over the counter.

http://silvermalaysia.blogspot.com/2011/04...pm-trading.html
The buy/sell spread for RM to SGD is only about 1 cent if you change in Mid Valley, not much of an issue. But yeah, can only do it over the counter for UOB Silver. You can also open a spot trading account in SG, but if you do so, NEVER EVER leverage if you don't know what you are doing. You can see the behaviour of the Silver market recently, leveraging might cause you to lose everything!
eXTaTine
post Sep 23 2011, 01:43 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Silver dipping below 35 now mate....maybe on its way to 28 soon...
eXTaTine
post Sep 23 2011, 05:14 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

GS ratio now at 50, just I had predicted back in May...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1256221/+200
eXTaTine
post Sep 23 2011, 05:22 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(sparekim1 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:17 PM)
OMG, spot has dropped that much!! I just bought some bars 2 days ago. If it continues to drop, looks like I need to buy some more to average out my cost of purchase. Is the price going to go down some more? Seeking opinion from the Sifus here.
With the current mood in the markets, I won't be surprised if it drops down to the high 20s....around 28.xx...
eXTaTine
post Sep 23 2011, 05:59 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

33.xx now...haha...guess tonights low...32.xx?
eXTaTine
post Sep 24 2011, 01:38 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Bottom for Comex Gold December 1631.7, Silver dipped below 30 for a brief moment!!!
eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 06:32 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Silver solidly down in the morning as a result of the margins increase, below 30 now!!
eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 11:06 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Hi sifu-sifu sekalian,

Do you know if there is any import duties for Silver coins which have legal tender status?
eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 11:11 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Sep 26 2011, 11:09 AM)
IINM, its 15%
I know coins with no legal tender status are taxed at 15%, but does it apply to those with legal tender status too?
eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 11:16 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Sep 26 2011, 11:13 AM)
My understanding is all imported coins are with no legal tender status. Only BNM can issue coins with legal tender status recognised by Malaysian Government. In other words, all imported silver coins are subjected to 15% tax.
Ok so even if for example I import Canadian Silver Maple, its not considered as 'legal tender' even though it has a Canadian dollar value?

There is no tax for silver bars right?
eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 11:43 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(chef @ Sep 26 2011, 11:38 AM)
Yup, it's true,

It's always a gamble to import to malaysia, especially when your items are in thousands and it's small, they will even want to check more. Either they hold your goods until you are willing to pay or they auction it off if unclaimed.

I've imported many different types of items to malaysia, anything that did not go under their radar, they will slap at least a 10% sales tax or something. So it doesn't mean your cost are fixed at certain amount until it has arrived at your house and no extra tax to be paid required.

Best person to ask is GOLDCHAN, he has been importing bars and coins for past year and he can tell you all the story about his goods stuck for weeks while the price of silver just roll down the hill..

chef

PS So to correct 3think post, the custom will tax anything they think is taxable, and they are allow to use MARKET price in malaysia as a gauge to charge the tax, does not mean you declare RM 10 means they tax you RM 10. They can check with a few source and come back to you saying your goods are RM 200 and you have to pay whatever tax they impose, don't play play with the custom. I've 9 years of experience importing other goods, it's never fixed. Those who told you it's o.k are those who have not enough years with importing goods.
Sigh, no wonder our nation will always remain a backward country...

eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 01:17 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Wow below 28 now..
eXTaTine
post Sep 26 2011, 03:20 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

back up to 28...looks like the low for the day is 26..

0.0583sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:58 PM