how to invest silver in malaysia

aaronpang
post May 3 2011, 02:47 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

I've booked my flight ticket to visit SGCoin Fair at Suntec Convention Centre and going to buy a couple of 2oz Silver Lunar Piedfort.

http://www.singaporemint.com/product_info.php?product_id=484

Silver is hovering around SGD70 an 1oz and the 2oz Piedfort cost SGD188.

Since Piedfort have dual market appeal both numismatic value and 999 silver I think its a good buy.

What do you guys think? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: May 3 2011, 02:55 PM
aaronpang
post May 4 2011, 10:04 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Unlike gold for silver not many sellers offer buyback except maybe public silver or can sell to pawnshops... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: May 4 2011, 10:09 AM
aaronpang
post May 4 2011, 10:00 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Just sharing a couple of silver coins I purchased last month... I'm not trader just a simple coin collector tongue.gif

For bullion I prefer gold over silver sweat.gif jangan marah.
aaronpang
post May 8 2011, 11:09 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Sharing some pictures of the recently concluded SG Coin Fair... biggrin.gif

Hope you enjoy the pics nod.gif
aaronpang
post May 9 2011, 11:16 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(benedict1213 @ May 9 2011, 08:49 AM)
wooooh,  thanks for sharing, Aaronpang!  its look awesome! sad that i not from Singapore. ><
I oso not from Singapore tongue.gif Flew there for day trip on Saturday and returned the same day.

Met a few regular Amcorp Mal traders including U.S Agency from Perak.

Reason I went to Singapore is to introduce my cousin to Coin Collecting.

We purchased his first album in Singapore and a bunch of silver coins.

QUOTE(Jutawan @ May 9 2011, 09:43 AM)
Cool, when will this type of event will come to Malaysia.
Closest we have is MNS auctions or Amcorp Mall.

Malaysia coin museum also takde... Royal Malaysian mint dont have website or online order mad.gif

The nicest part of the coin fair is minting our own coin thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: May 9 2011, 11:40 AM
aaronpang
post May 9 2011, 05:13 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

It's the difference when trading bullion value and numismatic value...

Bullion coins have a value strictly based on their metal content.

Numismatic coins with a gold or silver content have additional dynamics -- value is also based on relative scarcity and demand in the collecting market.

Then there are grey areas where bullion coins have numismatic value:-
Here is an example http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_Eagle look for the 1933 Double Eagle

Hope it helps educate fellow collectors/investors... your panda could be worth more that its silver content icon_rolleyes.gif
aaronpang
post May 27 2011, 02:11 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Lots few examples are photography film, electronics, disinfectant, amalgam (tooth fillings), coinage, etc...
aaronpang
post Jun 2 2011, 10:07 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 2 2011, 08:45 AM)
Bought some. Very pretty and pretty pricey!  sad.gif

Nice snag prophetjul thumbup.gif

Quoting my post in the gold investment about purchasing collectible coins...

The winning bid for 5oz of 2009 Silver Panda's sold for USD1,388.00

Predicted it would end up high, but the winning bid is way out there I'm stunned speechless shocking.gif

Price paid for 5oz of silver is almost at 1oz gold spot doh.gif

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Jun 1 2011, 01:04 PM)
3k to 4k is a fairly small investment, coins are more preferable for small quantities... bars if buying in larger quantities.

Stay away from jewellery shop gold  tongue.gif

Buying the right "BRAND" / "MANUFACTURER" helps when it comes to ease of disposal and returns.

Please bear with me but here is an example for silver coins:-

http://cgi.ebay.com/Lot-5-Silver-China-Pan...n-/380343526680

The current bid price as of this post is US $568.88 that's RM1700 for 5oz of silver. Which is more than triple silver's spot price.

The good thing about coins is. If you get a bullion coin there is it's melt value but if you choose carefully a good collectable coin returns are way above melt value nod.gif
aaronpang
post Jun 2 2011, 02:51 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 2 2011, 11:08 AM)

Added on June 2, 2011, 11:11 amCase in point

1 oz silver panda 1983 - pop - 10,000

1oz silver panda 2011- pop-  800,000
800,000 for 2011 silver Panda's are considered small potatoes if compared to the 8 -30 million made for US Silver Eagles and Canadian Maples.

Also Eagle and Maple design doesn't update every year like the Panda's.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jun 2 2011, 03:09 PM
aaronpang
post Jun 2 2011, 08:17 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(farisaiman @ Jun 1 2011, 05:19 PM)
if panda beware a abit cz many case already smile.gif
QUOTE(silverfreak @ Jun 1 2011, 06:23 PM)
Yea. If possible don't go for chinese panda cause of the fraud case. lol ...

Other coins like maple, american eagle, philharmonic, kookaburra, koala seem to be safer for investment. smile.gif

The price seems to stabilize down this two weeks. Hope it will sustain and stay away from volatility.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif buying a particular type of coin is no guarantee that investors will not get scammed.

Counterfeit silver eagles and maples just are as pervasive.

Avoiding a scam boils down to a simple thing "KNOWLEDGE" nod.gif

Counterfeit exist where there is profit to be made and unscrupulous business men willing to make an easy buck.

Here is a bunch of fake dies for American coinage:-

Good resource to learn:-

Inside a counterfeiting ring
http://coins.about.com/od/worldcoins/ig/Ch...erfeiting-Ring/ thumbup.gif

Counterfeit Eagles
http://www.silver-coins.org/american_eagle_dollar.html thumbup.gif

Counterfeit Maples
http://www.cointalk.com/t175263/ thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jun 2 2011, 08:22 PM
aaronpang
post Jun 30 2011, 09:46 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jun 29 2011, 10:59 PM)

2.4 to maintain the prices you need a wide collector based.

too tired to talk lah. next time i write somemore lah.
Having a wide collector base is important, investors wont recoup the investment if there are no buyers.

Would you collect this FUGLY coin? doh.gif

Also the prices you see on eBay are not always a reliable indicator.

I suspect some hanky-panky dealings between buyers and sellers going on cool2.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jun 30 2011, 09:59 AM
aaronpang
post Jun 30 2011, 11:08 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jun 30 2011, 10:21 PM)
1. Look at completed transaction with sales.
2. Look at no of completed transactions and the average sold price.
3. Look at the availability of the product and how often it is listed.
4. Is the product listed in Auction Houses.

There are some Straits Settlement coin for the whole year I only see it on auction for 2-3x only. Some completely not seen b4.
only sold in auction houses.
Exactly the key word is average price. Helps weed out items that sell for way above fair market price nod.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 1 2011, 10:43 AM
aaronpang
post Jul 1 2011, 10:05 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Two things digital gram or karat scale and digital micrometer...

Reject any pieces that wont have the correct dimensions and weight.

Silver could be tricky because there are metals which have very similar weight and color as real silver.

Gold is much harder to fake. Gold's unique density makes it difficult to pass off common metals as gold icon_rolleyes.gif

aaronpang
post Jul 2 2011, 03:28 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(3think @ Jul 1 2011, 10:50 PM)
thx for the hints. where can we get hold of digital gram or digital micrometer?
If you live in Puchong I've seen a few scales for sale at Mr DIY shops.

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Jul 1 2011, 11:51 PM)
Where can I get air tight covers for silver coins in Malaysia?
Proof coins already come in coin capsules from the mint, bullion coins typically don't ship with capsules but tubes.

First you'll need to find out the diameter of your coins.

Then you can purchase the capsules either at numis (coin) shops or eBay.

Prefer eBay because numis shops don't always stock the sizes I want. Below is one such seller on eBay that I've purchased from several times.

http://shop.ebay.com/vernon.coin/m.html?_n...=&_trksid=p3686

I'd suggest you buy in quantities of 10 or more not single capsules.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 2 2011, 03:53 PM
aaronpang
post Jul 2 2011, 06:44 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Jul 2 2011, 05:31 PM)
hmmmm.. if you talking about rare coins, that is not investment but collection.  to be honest, once financial or whole world economic crisis happen, collection, rare coin is worthless!  to be sure that, "investment" and "collection" is different topic... 

FYI, for rare coin likes China panda coin, perth mint, etc... 
you can get it here..
http://www.perthmint.com.au/
That statement is so flawed doh.gif

Right now its easier for me to dispose on a 1oz Silver Panda versus a 1oz Silver Bar.

I'll also make a profit on the Panda rclxms.gif

Rare coins will not become worthless just because of financial crisis or global financial meltdown.

Fact is the financial system gets broke and gets replaced with another.

When the Roman empire was around people collected coins, when the Roman empire collapsed and went into history people continued collecting coins.

Just because its a rare coin does not exclude it as an investment, how did you come to that conclusion hmm.gif

Main reasons to collect rare coins:
1) Its a hobby.
2) Its an investment.
3) Speculation.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 2 2011, 06:46 PM
aaronpang
post Jul 3 2011, 12:21 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Jul 2 2011, 08:44 PM)

To ask yourself that do you want pure investment, collector or both aforementioned above..  peace
This thread is how to invest in silver, don't quite agree with limiting the discussion to just silver bars.

I ask myself that question all the time, who can I sell to and more importantly will I make a profit moneyflies.gif

Silver bars on their own do not pay interest, hence its not an investment sweat.gif

Coins on the other hand provide better returns, the hard part is picking the right ones hmm.gif

Furthermore coins don't have to be rare or expensive tongue.gif

aaronpang
post Jul 3 2011, 04:58 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jul 3 2011, 08:30 AM)
yupe, I 'm selling at ebay. not Egay, (not gay anyway)  biggrin.gif
mostly in stack of 20oz cause margin is small and shipping is time consuming.

Added on July 3, 2011, 8:36 am1. 1st is assumption. What is believe is true?
2. 2nd is experimentation. U try out your belief.
3. 3rd is experience. If U fail then U disbelieve, if pass continue to believe.
4. 4th is practice. Based on what U experience, U incorporate it in your practice.

U R at 1st point now, I'm at 4th.
Waiting for GoldChan to reply... notworthy.gif sagely advice indeed.

Standup seller. thumbup.gif I'm a customer of his too nod.gif

I'd rate myself between first and second stage. By accident and limited sales experience laugh.gif

Sold several coins, including the 2011 silver Panda I purchased from GoldChan.

My latest sale 2010 Silver Panda, sold for RM250. Actual coin can be looked up here:-

http://www.ngccoin.com/certlookup/CertResu...ber=2764663-008

Reason for selling because needed extra cash for 1987 5oz Silver Giant Panda.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 3 2011, 05:58 PM
aaronpang
post Jul 4 2011, 03:13 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

The taxation regime is skewed towards gold, gold imports are not taxed but silver got tax.

Luckily my parcel shipped via FEDEX managed to avoid getting tax today.

My 5oz silver Panda and 2 x 1oz Panda's arrived safely in the morning sweat.gif

=============================

Whatever you do please don't false declare, because there is a hefty compound by Customs on top of the 15% tax.

I work in the shipping/express business and have come across cases, people falsely declaring items getting caught.

Sometimes the goods are not taxable but because they falsely declare on the invoice, got fined few thousand ringgit sad.gif
aaronpang
post Jul 5 2011, 10:03 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Silver thread is kinda quiet. tongue.gif
I'll post some picture of my recent arrivals.

1987 is the year China issued its first 5oz Silver Giant Panda coin icon_rolleyes.gif

2009 Panda 1oz Silver 30th Anniversary of the Issuance of the Chinese Modern Precious Metal Commemorative Coin

QUOTE(3think @ Jul 4 2011, 04:46 PM)
Nice. Would buying in small quantities helps in avoiding tax? From what I am seeing, chances of not getting taxed is like lottery. Sometimes kena, sometimes tak kena. Haha. Buying from Perth Mints seems to get taxed easily. Maybe the custom department know what's in a Perth Mints parcel? smile.gif
Customs departments actually keep a database sweat.gif

Certain shippers are on that list nod.gif if Customs see the shipper address your parcel will be held.

I know of few bodybuilding websites, if you order from and ship to Malaysia/Singapore its guaranteed to get stuck shocking.gif

QUOTE(lustman @ Jul 3 2011, 07:06 PM)
May I know how much did you sell off your panda? Your opinion, what's the demand here in malaysia?
The best people to answer are PM sellers. I'm assuming Panda's are not popular due to higher premiums.

I'm not a PM trader, the prices I quote here are collectors price. 2011's sold for RM180 to RM190 each. My initial asking price RM200, before haggling.

If I educate buyers, they'll inquire about older date Panda's or slabbed coins icon_rolleyes.gif

Hence the sale of my NGC 2010 Panda for RM250. Profit RM50 thumbup.gif

Need to stop selling Panda's because I have only 4 Panda's left in my very small collection sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 5 2011, 10:08 PM
aaronpang
post Jul 5 2011, 11:23 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(3think @ Jul 5 2011, 10:29 PM)
I am still not very clear about all this standard on bullion coins. MS 68, NGC, MS 70.. etc etc.. what does they mean?
MS68 & MS70 are grades, the system of grading is known as the Sheldon scale.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coin_grading

Example a well preserved 50sen coin could grade MS70. smile.gif
50sen coin in my pocket however would grade AU50. sad.gif Its seen circulation and is worn-out.

See spoiler for the details of the various grades.

NGC & PCGS are companies that grade and authenticate coins.

Sellers or buyers submit coins to these companies to weed out fakes and provide impartial grading.

Example:-
If a buyer purchased a certified coin by NGC or PCGS, and it's a fake.
They are entitled for compensation and will be reimbursed for the loss by NGC or PCGS. brows.gif

These companies also publish articles like the ones below:-
Counterfeit Detection:- 2010 Gold Panda

Chinese Super Counterfeit

I hope the info helps!

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 5 2011, 11:45 PM

0.0205sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:17 AM