Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

kkm
post Dec 15 2009, 03:47 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(crocs @ Dec 15 2009, 01:17 PM)
on a related note, does anyone know where to buy 50ft and 100ft composite cable? (in Klang valley). Thanks
You mean composite, or component cable? If it's just for composite video (RG59?) or audio, can get Belden or Japanese/China cable in Pasar Road in 90 ft coils... For component, you could try using the same, but I'm not sure about the distance limit on component cabling...

kkm
post Dec 15 2009, 06:49 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 15 2009, 06:43 PM)
great sentimental value, put old decoder in your personal museum  icon_idea.gif
For those with Astro Max decoders, I'm sure it would be worth more than rm80 in the 2nd hand market. Even the sd decoder is worth something, especially if it is the newer range...

Added on December 15, 2009, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 15 2009, 05:29 PM)
I also waiting them patiently.  Anyway, I just sign up for Astro around 3 months and now upgrade to Astro B.yond.  I am wondering, how long I will be lock in ...  hmm.gif
And I am also waiting patiently, they said they would call today, looks like Astro also ffk.

This post has been edited by kkm: Dec 15 2009, 06:51 PM
kkm
post Dec 17 2009, 11:34 PM

1,258 posts

When we had only astro sd, which was crap on lcd and plasma TVs, everyone wanted hdtv so we could actually realise our investment on the expensive TVs.
Now we're getting HDTV, and some are b****ing it being 1080i instead of 720p. In real world perception, there is really not much difference, as those of us who watch 720p and 1080i videos will tell you. The world standard is generally 1080i, so that must be pretty acceptable to the vast majority of HDTV viewers worldwide.
So, can we at least wait until we actually get to watch Astro Byond (not the trial broadcasts) before we go into this debate? And we don't really have any choice anyway, except only to subscribe or not!
kkm
post Dec 17 2009, 11:40 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(zmyeo54 @ Dec 17 2009, 11:38 PM)
hey, astro b.yond got 1 tuner or 2 tuner?
because astro max got 2 tuner right?
we can record 1 channel while watching other channel?

how abt b.yond
Sigh... the FAQ must actually be broken!
kkm
post Dec 17 2009, 11:47 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Dec 17 2009, 11:42 PM)
Many HDTVs sold in Malaysia has below-par deinterlacers. In those TV set, the difference between 720p and 1080i will be noticeable. You may also notice that your expensive TV is actually not that good.
This is where we come to the concept of "sphere of influence" vs "sphere of concern". Influence is deciding to subscribe or not, or changing the LCD TV if we find 1080i not so palatable. Concern is whether it is broadcast as 720p or 1080i, i.e. we care but can do squat about it!
kkm
post Dec 21 2009, 01:34 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 21 2009, 12:13 PM)
you are expecting hd sat transmission to be "far better" than actual HD videos? 1080i vs 1080p?

I think some people have unreasonable expectations that would not be the case if they had a little more knowledge

Agreed! As I said earlier, when we had only SD which gave us basically cr*p PQ on our LCD/Plasmas, we wanted something better. Now when the something better is here (i.e. better quality in HD, and even for SD), we want Full HD PQ and AQ!!??

Come on, this is satellite broadcasting, no way they can give you the full bandwidth necessary for that! We just expect that the compression does not result in artifacts... Even when you view HDTV stuff recorded off-air overseas, the PQ is not so good, but, hey, it's still much better than SD!
kkm
post Dec 21 2009, 07:08 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 21 2009, 06:49 PM)
How about the quality of HDMI cable that was bundled with astro byond?
should i replace it with more high-quality one like Monster cable.. tongue.gif
I planned to buy Monster HDMI cable for my byond...
If you are connecting from decoder to TV, don't bother. The source is not very HQ, cable will not make such a difference, it's after all a digital signal. Any improvement will be ephemeral, more like a snake oil enhancement!

But if it makes you feel good, sure, why not?
kkm
post Dec 22 2009, 09:16 AM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(edmundq @ Dec 22 2009, 09:10 AM)
http://www.astro.com.my/learning/

here is the program guide for today. look at "now showing on" NatGeo HD 573 and History HD 575, to know what everybody means by channels repeating programs. seems to be in a 6hr repeat cycle. Good for us at the office, we know that if we missed it at 12noon, we can catch it later in the evening.
That's a basic concept of satellite and cable broadcasting, you surely don't expect every hour to be unique programming! If that happens, then there will be a lot of rubbish shows just to fill the time (not that there isn't a lot of rubbish already), and then we will complain that we are missing our favourite shows, and why can't Astro repeat them!
kkm
post Dec 22 2009, 11:04 AM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 22 2009, 11:00 AM)
sure rclxms.gif
but for those rubbish company like TMNET
if the complain's cases few
there won border it~ rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Haha, I think we are really digressing!
kkm
post Dec 23 2009, 12:05 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(etano @ Dec 23 2009, 12:00 PM)
Don't bother calling because they are NOT able to give you an answer nor do anything other than just asking you to wait. I tried that twice and received the same answer. I signed up on 13/12/09 and subscription verification on 17/12/09. I was told to wait 10 days after then so the deadline is 27/12/09. I will you whether they are on-time, by the stories given by others here I don't think it's first-come-first-serve, more like more-luck-first-serve.
Well, the only hope is that they will keep to the maximum 10 days promise! Otherwise, swamp the CS with calls (like a DoS attack?).
kkm
post Dec 24 2009, 12:01 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Dec 24 2009, 11:45 AM)
Just got my B.yond today. HBO HD memang syok. For the first time since I last visit Singapore the HBO HD logo looks sharp.

Now I regret joining the complain that the B.yond prototype no HDMI early this year. My HDMI connector on the TV has since been connected to a PS3. VGA connector connected to a VGA-to-component box that I bought in anticipation to Astro HD. Bangang betul, the final B.yond set can only output HD through HDMI. Even component output is only 576p cry.gif

Anyone know how much a HDFury2 cost in Malaysia? And where to find one locally? Or do I have to use eBay?
Get a HDMI switch...
kkm
post Dec 24 2009, 12:10 PM

1,258 posts

Just got mine installed this morning, just tested a short while then had to go to work!

First impressions - HD is HD, so it's much better when comparing with the SD channels. Disappointment - SD channels don't look any better on B.yond, I was hoping the HDMI connection might make things better... bummer!! sad.gif

The interface is slicker and much more responsive, especially compared with my old Max interface. Changing channels, checking info and surfing is much improved now. Getting the remote to work with my Sammy was a breeze, and I haven't noticed any serious audio problems (yet).

Note of advice: the installers are in a great hurry, so grab a slot if they call you. I know 1 guy who wanted to postpone his 8.30am slot because he had to take his wife marketing (!!). He was given a new slot 3 days later!

Also, the installers only do exposed wire installation (unless you want to use the old cable - I changed mine), and will not do any removal of the old internal cabling. This is to save their time, and to avoid any hassle over damage to walls because of removing the cable. Apparently, Astro has instructed them to walk away and reschedule if any subscriber insists on them removing the old cable!
kkm
post Dec 24 2009, 02:22 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 24 2009, 12:56 PM)
Do you return back your old Max decoder to the installer or you pay RM80 to him and keep it?  nod.gif
I happened to have a spare standard decoder lying around (still working), so I gave him that instead. I reckon my Max is certainly worth more than RM80, either to sell, or as a gift to someone...
kkm
post Dec 24 2009, 04:10 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 24 2009, 04:03 PM)
Ur Max still can be used or not?
Why, wanna buy it?
kkm
post Dec 24 2009, 04:19 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 24 2009, 04:15 PM)
no, i'm just asking since my old max also cannot be used anymore...
Feel a bit regretful because i paid RM80 to the installer to keep my Max...  cry.gif
but cannot be used... i though that I can watch all the recorded programme on max without satelite signal and smart card...
but unfortunately, it is impossible  yawn.gif
As I was saying, I'm thinking of either selling it to a standard Astro subscriber, or giving it to someone to use... Nothing there that I want to re-watch.
kkm
post Dec 24 2009, 09:36 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 24 2009, 09:33 PM)
The only way to test it out is during heavy rain and thick clouds between the dish and the satellites... will see, currently no worries...
Well, it rained quite heavily in my area this evening, but except for 1 brief flicker, the signal remained good all through!
kkm
post Dec 26 2009, 12:15 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ Dec 26 2009, 10:31 AM)
Getting Bored already..
waiting for new channel and new movies...
please dont play same movie over and over and over again...
Aiyah, I think the point has been made already - B.yond is not about new content, it's about watching content in HD. So don't expect to be excited by new programming, it's not gonna happen!

Unless you are excited over lots of local producers buying el-cheapo 720p video equipment and coming up with more rubbish to satisfy Astro's local content promises- ah, but it will be in HD!
kkm
post Dec 26 2009, 04:23 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 26 2009, 03:49 PM)
heh, heavy rain no picture.......
Yesterday my signal was ok in fairly heavy rain! Maybe the dish alignment is at fault. My decoder shows signal strength of 255 (I think it's max).
kkm
post Dec 26 2009, 10:05 PM

1,258 posts

Sigh! I'm now watching EPL on ESPN SD, picture is actually inferior to the Astro Max picture I used to enjoy. It's back to the blurry picture of the old Astro box.

May live to regret this...
kkm
post Dec 26 2009, 10:24 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(St.Paul @ Dec 26 2009, 10:07 PM)
EPL on HD good?
Should be, but belum ada leh...