Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

daryl.k
post Dec 9 2009, 05:54 PM

467 posts

US & bolehland...how to compare darr....will be happy to accept anything Astro throws at us consumers...be grateful we will get HD content at least...at least those with HDTV will not complaint about the awful PQ...

so now the launch date is 18-Dec pulak?? i tot was 11-Dec?
daryl.k
post Dec 10 2009, 06:32 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 10 2009, 05:03 PM)
so people in condos who share a single dish are screwed eh.

Oh well, looks like I'll need to get my HD fix from other sources.
u sure the entire condo block shares one dish? i remember last time when the Astro installer came & installed my 2nd decoder (current 2storey house) he told me one dish is good for up to 6 decoder nia..not sure if its different for condo/apartment application..

one question if anyone knows, the new HD dish, can still receive SD broadcast right? i mean even if change the dish, change to the new HD set up top box, i still can receive current SD channels...not necessary to subs to HD channels right?? or another scenario, change the dish, but maintained old decoder, can still receive current SD broadcast?

reason am i asking is if that's the case, at least i can propose to the management to replace the dish at my apartment & it wont cause any disruption to others not keen on migrating to HD....or if there's a few dish on the roof, they can identify which is mine and can change that particular one only (quite unlikely but one never knows)

yes, i'm really quite excited over this whole Astro HD thingy...been waiting for it so long and it sucks that i live in apartment and have no direct control over the Astro dish....hopefully some kinda solution will be announce by Astro tomorrow too for all condo/apartment subscribers..

daryl.k
post Dec 10 2009, 07:36 PM

467 posts

first, maxis relisted on BSKL...they got billions of cash...

then, Astro plans to sells off 580m worth of shares in India...

i wonder if something wrong with AK? the news report emphasis on Astro 'accelerated' introduction of HD content..means they may not be ready for it?? or means they weren't suppose to launch it so soon??

another concern, the bloody decoder so expensive mehh?? needs subsidy of RM500 per unit?? means ori price is much much higher?? geeshhh....but looking at it long term, they will surely make their monies back from Astro subs...

is there like a contract period for signing up Astro package? if like maxis, 2years contract for iphone, they make few iphones worth of profit per customer in return in 2 years..
daryl.k
post Dec 10 2009, 10:39 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 10 2009, 08:37 PM)
according to the astro tech whom i met a few months ago, he said in highrise condos thesignal strength is so weak by the time it reaches your unit it always poses problems for viewers.
i think it very much depends on the type of cables used..whether its good quality cables or not...i cant find article on net re the weaken signal for sattelite dish on high rise condo...guess will only knw when i install astro

btw, from wikipedia, RG60 cables, 50ohms, were branded as de cable to use for carrying HD signals...currently if not mistaken de connection between dish & decoder is via RG6, 75ohms?

Have a bad feeling cables needs to be changed too...anyways guess we'll find out tomorrow or at least can start sending astro questions after tomorrow
daryl.k
post Dec 11 2009, 09:52 PM

467 posts

suddenly lost interest in this liao...my condo using centralised dish, quite sure its not byond cos it was ready more than 1 year ago...pretty sure management wont allow me to install my own dish

Reinstallation & recabling between next 18-24months...hrrmmmm...feeling so so blue...but will still give it a shot coming monday...will check with managements & see what can be done...

Blue blue blue.....
daryl.k
post Dec 14 2009, 07:22 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Dec 14 2009, 10:40 AM)
kapultek: dream on, RM20 mkv HD player.... yeah right....

I have checked, for existing apartment/condo/high rise building that shares the dish (meaning you dont have individual dish sticking out yr balcony), there will be a wait of 18-24 months for them to change the dish/cable/infrastructure.

However, if you building has plenty of requests, they could escalate in installation process, but as for now, they are mainly catering to existing subscribers with their own dish units only.
i can confirm that oso....sent them an email last saturday, got a phone call from them 10mins ago....

altho the lady on the phone doesnt sound like she knows an awful lot...she confirmed some of my worse fears...

1) none of the condo/apartment using centralized dish is B.yond ready, meaning they will have to replace everything.

2) she say will need to replace the cabling also..this kinda baffled me cos all units is ready with concealed wiring & tv point. they can easily run new wiring in their risers, but how on earth they gonna go into each individual units & say "maam, can i come in hack your wall to conceal the new astro cables in order for you to enjoy HD?" who gonna pay for the repair + painting works??

the only other way is to run those cabling on the surface which will be ugly as hell...

either way, i still dun understand how the gonna replace the cables...

3) astro currently 'working' with all building managements to replace current dish...estimated duration, 18-24months..

whatever it is, unless my management allows me to install individual dish on the wall (also need to borrow their gondola to install it) there's no way to enjoy HD...i'll be very jealous of you guys....very very jealous....

i'm wondering if i can start a petition to get the management to speed up the upgrading works hmm.gif dunno how many souls in my condo as anxious as me getting HD content from astro tongue.gif

This post has been edited by daryl.k: Dec 14 2009, 07:26 PM

0.1407sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:15 AM