Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 01:59 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(Fly1968 @ Dec 24 2009, 01:55 PM)
Aiyoh, problem leh ! my inlaws usually bring their own astro card when they come and stay with us during weekend to watch the channel which I did not subscribe.
If I upgrade my decoder, then they could not use their card loh !?
try ask your in-laws to bring along the smart card, decoder and remote...
because you can use byond dish with old decoder....
AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 04:03 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Dec 24 2009, 02:22 PM)
I happened to have a spare standard decoder lying around (still working), so I gave him that instead. I reckon my Max is certainly worth more than RM80, either to sell, or as a gift to someone...
Ur Max still can be used or not?
AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 04:15 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Dec 24 2009, 04:10 PM)
Why, wanna buy it?
no, i'm just asking since my old max also cannot be used anymore...
Feel a bit regretful because i paid RM80 to the installer to keep my Max... cry.gif
but cannot be used... i though that I can watch all the recorded programme on max without satelite signal and smart card...
but unfortunately, it is impossible yawn.gif

AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 06:13 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ Dec 24 2009, 06:06 PM)
at last...after 11 days of waiting..they came today..
btw..no ESPN HD..?? i can only view 4 channel only..?
anyone can xplain..?
ESPN HD coming soon on January 2010... smile.gif
I read in other forum.., they said that astro still "nego" with ESPN since TM also interested to include ESPN HD into their new IPTV...
It's rumours only... i don't sure whether it is true or not.... blink.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 07:07 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Dec 24 2009, 06:58 PM)
Want to know from those who have install B yond whether the dish facing direction need to be change or same old facing direction.
still the same direction....

AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 07:40 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Dec 24 2009, 07:14 PM)
Thanks, by the way i ask the question becos i am worry the installer nowadays got so many customers n they simply fix n go off without using the signal tester n moreover my 2.5 storey house they might not interested to install becos too high, but anyway i have to keep my finger cross n just wait.
The installer who came to my house, I saw him used signal analyser to align the dish...
AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 08:45 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 24 2009, 08:34 PM)
Let's talk about alignment and signal strength for a while...

Mine used an equipment with an analogue (needle pointer) meter, that also whistles, the stronger the signal the higher pitch the whistle gets... And my installer looks like he's over 60 years old, hopefully he can still hear the high pitch sound, I was actually concerned he'll fall off my bedroom balcony while fixing the dish which is quite a stretch to reach...

After aligning the dish, unfortunately because of the long reach required, he can't disconnect the cable to his meter and reconnect my cable without having to turn the dish, so I think he made a mark on the metal structure so that the dish can be turned back to the aligned position after reconnecting my cable...

Attached image below is the signal strength I got... I understand that the right bar (signal quality) must always be at 100% or 0.0e-7 BER (bit error rate). As for the bar on the left, the signal number is at the bottom, in my case, it's always fluctuating between these two numbers 201 and 198, but sometimes can see a 206. So, at 201, it should be at the 21st bar (of total 28 bars in the graph), which is the bar below 80%... sorry my old camera colour rendition is a bit bad.

Well, I found a surprising thing, when the signal sometimes momentarily hits 206, the familiar "toot toot" sound is heard (although the "toot" is lower frequency than on the old Nokia/Philips set), no sound at 201, does this means that my signal level is still below the optimised level (when at 198-201)?

So, what are you fellas getting for the signal level? Any consistent "toot toot" sound like the old set?

My location is southern part of Penang island, if you look at the map showing the turtle-like shape of Penang island, I am right at the a$$ of the turtle, right in the middle where the missing tail is...  tongue.gif  Understand that the signal strength of Measat 3/3A is just a little bit lower in Penang when compared to central region, this is based on Measat website footprint graph.

I got 222 and sometimes 225 on the signal bar....

AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 09:04 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 24 2009, 08:59 PM)
On the DD5.1, I think Astro need to relook at their overall audio quality, of course they also need to get the DD5.1 right... Right now the SD channels are so much softer compared to the HD channels when in DD5.1, quite annoying when switching channels...

Here's the audio as detected by my Yamaha, DD5.1 is only at 384kbps, I only have Nat Geo HD, History HD and Supersports HD to compare, not sure about HBO HD...

How much is the price for ur Yamaha system?

Added on December 24, 2009, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 24 2009, 09:02 PM)
So do you have continuous toot toot sound when displaying the satellite signal screen?

My cable to the dish could be 18 metres long, embedded in the wall, not changed during installation.
yes.. I can hear the continuous low pitch "toot... toot..toot.." ( actually it sounds much like beep..beep..beep...) sound when displaying signal screen....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 24 2009, 09:06 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 24 2009, 09:43 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 24 2009, 09:07 PM)
Bought almost a year ago, at RM4200 I think, just the AV Receiver amplifier only. Used back my existing super rojak speakers...
whoa!! too over budget for me... sweat.gif
my budget was just about RM1500.... and it must have digital coaxial input... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 24 2009, 09:44 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 25 2009, 02:48 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(JOR23N @ Dec 25 2009, 02:05 PM)
Using existing cable or new cable?
nope...
using the new cable...
AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 07:33 AM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 26 2009, 01:20 AM)
wow! your neighbour dish was so old-school... biggrin.gif
From the dish stand and LNB itself looks very old-school...
I think, it was the first batch ODU unit from astro since their first launch in 1996...
the price of astro set for that time was about RM1.5k ++ notworthy.gif

If I, I will keep it.... laugh.gif

AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 09:00 AM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 26 2009, 08:55 AM)
would like to ask can byond output both hdmi n svideo simultaneously? as my recorder can only take svideo input which im currently using svideo splitter
cannot.... byond did not have s-video output.... sad.gif
it has been replaced by Component output...
so, ur choice now is composite output only...
AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 01:53 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 26 2009, 01:52 PM)
avermedia capturehd  card paired with dell 3008wfp lcd

*The 1080i will only function when the signal source comes from 1080i format.

hmm just check their specs..got this note
eh, where you bought that capture card? How much is the price?
AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 05:15 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Dec 26 2009, 04:58 PM)
Actually, come to think of it, I have no idea what's going on, many people would have just gotten their sets and requesting for feedback so fast... sounds like there's some hidden agenda there.
what u mean by "there's some hidden agenda there" ?? hmm.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 05:29 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Dec 26 2009, 05:20 PM)
You could always ask for their contact number and verify it with Astro. That way you know if it's on the up and up.

Who knows? Astro may want to enroll you in B.yond max as a Beta tester.
fuad
OMG!!! i thought Byond was the latest decoder from astro... rclxub.gif
surely byond max will cost daboom to the subscriber like their earlier max

AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 05:50 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 26 2009, 05:43 PM)
Astro Max was a flop we were cheated by astro,the set could not perform eventually. I wl say NO to another Max !  mad.gif  vmad.gif
Byond in future time also ready for PVR, isn't it? just need to connect external HD to USb 2.0 port...
and why need another PVR?? or byond will be re-brand to byond max whistling.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 26 2009, 06:49 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 26 2009, 06:03 PM)
max has 2 tuners, it can record one channel and view another channel at the same time, current HD box only has one tuner

if you look at pace's higher end model such as TDS850 which has 3 tuners, it can lets us watch one channel and record another, or record two and watch one stored programme
http://www.pace.com/corporate/products/pro...tID=DSAT-TDS850
so, when astro enable the PVR functions on byond decoder with their latest firmware..., it can be record the channel that we watch? and we cannot watch other channel recording other channel, isn't it? shakehead.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 27 2009, 11:06 AM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Dec 27 2009, 10:49 AM)
Just leave the decoded on standby u can see the firmware updates

Yeah want to know what firmware do u use? Which version ?
the latest one if i not mistaken is 1.0.0.001 NOV 12 2009

Added on December 27, 2009, 11:10 am
QUOTE(mansorlow @ Dec 27 2009, 10:40 AM)
mine,installer did their job yterday morning( after 10 days waiting)...they did properly. use device to detect the signal ,just 5 minute to activate my accnt.

they told me astro assign them..1(subscrbs)  and another not at same location, so they have to wait next assign to group and do installation one shot for certain location.

HD channel are so good in term of video and audio,  less channel( just the issue ) but SDchannel is  BAD compared wth old decoder.

technically speaking HDMI cnnction is better than analog cnnction but wth byond the fact is twisted.( my old MAX just S-VIDEO but good in PQ qlty ) ...SO BYOND NOT FOR SD CHANNEL !!  i hope astro add more channel in HD as soon as possible .
Yes... I also agreed with you! SD Channel seems a bit lower quality compared to the old decoder....
sometimes I can see a bit of flickering effect... especially TV3, ESPN, Astro ria.... sweat.gif but the sound quality seems have improvement (SD Channel)..
maybe it is transmitted in purely digital signal....

for HD channels it was superb! biggrin.gif maybe for those who are using digital coaxial facing a bit problem like echoing, sound delay etc...
but for me who depends on TV speaker, it seems very ok....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 27 2009, 11:10 AM
AjkR06
post Dec 27 2009, 03:01 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Dec 27 2009, 02:55 PM)
Since you're using HDMI to view HD and SD channels, it's safe to assume that the built-in upconverter in the B.yond decoder is not as good as the upconverter in your TV. The SD signal coming from the satellite is the same as before.

Depends on the box, the upconverter can be hardware or software. If it's software, Astro can upload a better software to improve the quality.
This could be true but it's a complicated way of handling it. In the future, there could be only two decoder boxes: B.yond and B.yond Max (with two tuners). But the way the can handle HD channels is the same way as they handle all the various packages - HD channels must be enabled from their side. So having a B.yond box doesn't mean you can have access to HD channels. Conversely, having HD channels without HDMI output enabled is equally stupid.

It's supposed to work like a BD player. You get SD when you put a DVD and HD when you put a BD, all while connected with a HDMI cable.

===========
Any volunteers that can take off the cover and take pix of the internals of the B.yond box?
fuad
astro really can "control" us with this new byond box... sweat.gif

and when i saw RTM1 just now, the picture quality seems so.... sad.gif
too many ghosting and flickering effect when see it in front of TV.... is that mean that i should buy component cable to watch SD channel instead using HDMI... or I need to set HDMI output from originally 720p to just 576i or 576p?
hopefully after future firmware update, it will be OK....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 27 2009, 03:05 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 27 2009, 03:07 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(StapZz @ Dec 27 2009, 03:05 PM)
heyh .
sorriey .
a noobie here .
i wanna subcribe astro b.yond when it available .
a big tv fan here .
but ..
my 32" Lcd TV is now dead ..
can i watch it at my monitor ?
its 21.5" with HDMI port .
if ur LCD monitor have HDMI input and it support HDCP, then it should be ok.... thumbup.gif
just maybe the screen seems a bit small la... tongue.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0220sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:49 PM