Astro B.yond, HD Content Available
ecam
Dec 11 2009, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 11 2009, 05:39 PM) i hope they lay their hands off these hd channels from censorship (referring to HBO)... else its a big waste... censored hd channels =__= In Malaysia? You can only dream. But I saw tit covered with stars on Neo Geo HD. Hohoho
rayfoo
Dec 11 2009, 05:58 PM
if my current setup , i have the astro going to my LCD monitor, then downstairs to my normal Flat screen crt TV, if subscribe to astro beyond, can i watch HD on my LCD monitor and still watch normal broadcast on my normal flat screen crt tv using the astro beyond 1 dish?
ecam
Dec 11 2009, 06:08 PM

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 11 2009, 05:58 PM) if my current setup , i have the astro going to my LCD monitor, then downstairs to my normal Flat screen crt TV, if subscribe to astro beyond, can i watch HD on my LCD monitor and still watch normal broadcast on my normal flat screen crt tv using the astro beyond 1 dish? Astro to LCD using HDMI and Astro to CRT TV using composite or component. Can of course can. The analog output will display the same HD video in SD.
rayfoo
Dec 11 2009, 06:12 PM
the new box still have composite or component input ah? TQ QUOTE(ecam @ Dec 11 2009, 06:08 PM) Astro to LCD using HDMI and Astro to CRT TV using composite or component. Can of course can. The analog output will display the same HD video in SD.
AjkR06
Dec 11 2009, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(ecam @ Dec 11 2009, 05:50 PM) p/s: I got a unit with me. Wanna see the video and pic? BEG. Muahahahaha. I'll post if I'm not lazy. Yes...surely I wanna to see it  can post some screen capture for astro byond.. i will really2 appreciate it...  i'm still thinking whether i should change my astro max to astro byond...
kaspersky-fan
Dec 11 2009, 06:16 PM
ecam, show the pics video pls...lol i really wana see it...even though i've just called and subscribe to it lol
bryanyeo
Dec 11 2009, 06:20 PM
can anyone post a picture of the back of the decoder? I wanna see what audio output Astro B.yond using
pirateguy
Dec 11 2009, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(moomoos @ Dec 11 2009, 05:51 PM) congratz... so bro.... hows the 1080i HD demo?? I don't know if it was in 720p or 1080i. All I know is that it look much better. Actually, when I went to the Astro centre around 3pm, they have not set up the decoder. I told them if they know about the launch and they said they do but no idea when they can start registering. They told me to give them my number in case any news about HD registration. So I went hang out for a while at a nearby shopping complex and at about 4pm to call me to let me know they have the demo unit ready for preview. I quickly rush back and lo & behold, HBO HD!! Saw the preview for Incredible Hulk, Shrek, all very sharp.
ecam
Dec 11 2009, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 11 2009, 06:16 PM) ecam, show the pics video pls...lol i really wana see it...even though i've just called and subscribe to it lol I'll take the picture but please bear in mind that my camera is not HD. QUOTE(bryanyeo @ Dec 11 2009, 06:20 PM) can anyone post a picture of the back of the decoder? I wanna see what audio output Astro B.yond using It has this audio output: HDMI SPDIF Coaxial Stereo Red and White Composite output ____________________________________________ Pls take notice that there is NO OPTICAL OUTPUT.
AjkR06
Dec 11 2009, 06:26 PM
I already submit the forms for subscribing astro beyond on their website...now waiting for their call... but, when the installer will come to my home and install the new dish, decoder?? I bet it will take a very long time since the service only start at 18 December... And one other question, installation cost will be RM80, isn't it? This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 11 2009, 06:27 PM
ecam
Dec 11 2009, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 11 2009, 06:26 PM) I already submit the forms for subscribing astro beyond on their website...now waiting for their call... but, when the installer will come to my home and install the new dish, decoder?? I bet it will take a very long time since the service only start at 18 December... They promise in 10 days from your registration. Good luck on it. Make sure the installer is official one and align your dish using proper spectrum analyzer. If he doesn't know about it, call back and insist. If not you'll be having intermittent hd on cloudy day ( no rain yet ). No installation cost if you swapped ur old box out. But if you want to keep ur old box, u need to pay rm 80. That's it. Dun kena conned that he took the box and ask u to pay rm80. This post has been edited by ecam: Dec 11 2009, 06:31 PM
kobe24bryant
Dec 11 2009, 06:31 PM

can anyone gimme astro number?
ecam
Dec 11 2009, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Dec 11 2009, 06:31 PM) can anyone gimme astro number? Astro Customer Service : 1-300-82-3838For more info on Astro B.Yond or Astro HD, visit : http://www.astro.com.my/byond/index.aspForgot to say this, but if you live in condo or apartment and has centralized dish check with ur management if they oredi change it to new Astro one. If not, bug them out or ask them to allow installation of your own dish. This post has been edited by ecam: Dec 11 2009, 06:37 PM
kobe24bryant
Dec 11 2009, 06:38 PM

by the way i got two questions hopefully someone can answer me:
1) is it compulsory to change to b.yond? 2) i read few page back that installation is rm 80 and include HDMI wiring but i am connecting one decoder to two tvs in two separate roooms, so they going to do both wiring for free? and if not, can i choose the length because it's up to me if my decoder in one room, tv another.
This post has been edited by kobe24bryant: Dec 11 2009, 06:43 PM
ecam
Dec 11 2009, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Dec 11 2009, 06:38 PM) by the way i got two questions hopefully someone can answer me: 1) is it compulsory to change to b.yond? 2) i read few page back that wiring is free but i am connecting one decoder to two tvs in two separate roooms, so they going to do it for free? Not compulsory. If you want subscribe to HD then u get the box. They only do RF wiring from dish to your decoder. From decoder to TV is ur own. Aiyoo I should be paid for providing customer advice. This post has been edited by ecam: Dec 11 2009, 06:47 PM
AjkR06
Dec 11 2009, 06:52 PM
I managed to get the pictures of new dish and decoder... all pictures are credit to BUDIEY.COM (http://www.budiey.com/astro-byond-high-definition-tv-pertama-dilancarkan/)
* CREDIT TO : BUDIEY.COM [URL=i managed to get the pictures of new dish and decoder... all pictures are credit to BUDIEY.COM (http://www.budiey.com/astro-byond-high-definition-tv-pertama-dilancarkan/)]SOURCE[/URL] Added on December 11, 2009, 6:54 pmwow... the dish look very greynish.... Added on December 11, 2009, 6:56 pmQUOTE(ecam @ Dec 11 2009, 06:29 PM) They promise in 10 days from your registration. Good luck on it. Make sure the installer is official one and align your dish using proper spectrum analyzer. If he doesn't know about it, call back and insist. If not you'll be having intermittent hd on cloudy day ( no rain yet ). No installation cost if you swapped ur old box out. But if you want to keep ur old box, u need to pay rm 80. That's it. Dun kena conned that he took the box and ask u to pay rm80. Ok... Thanks for your explaination..... I really appreciate it..... This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 11 2009, 06:56 PM
Lone*Wolf
Dec 11 2009, 07:01 PM
Is the 'Smart'card slotted all the way in or does it juts out like that?
sil3ntHunt3r
Dec 11 2009, 07:01 PM
Now waiting for their call to install new decoder....hehe...Can't wait to see the quality of the channel...
kobe24bryant
Dec 11 2009, 07:04 PM

Okay I called them.
They have 4 HDMI ports so no need splitter and you can connect up to 4 TV. According to them, HDMI wiring will be provided up to 20 feet. Extra 1 feet = RM 2.50.
JayC75
Dec 11 2009, 07:05 PM
someone post detail front n back of the new decoder pls