Midfields by YTL, Anyone know?

vincci.vince
post May 20 2014, 01:36 PM

23 posts

Hi guys, I'm a recent subsale purchaser of MF1 Block A1 for for own stay, priced just right under RM500/sqft & been lurking this thread for sometime, feels like I should've gone to MF2 launch instead of confirming MF1 unit just a week before the launch sweat.gif doh.gif cry.gif

Anyway, I can see the most common complaints is mainly around bad paint job & parameter fencing, Unifi, swimming pool water and cigarette butt (which concerns me too, I'm on 2nd floor!). Even on my first day of visit with agent, the pool is cloudy with some weird stench. For existing MF1 residents, do you have any other issues? Somehow the creepers on parking roof top near BBQ looks really, really, really sad & probably dying, no maintenance?

Also, if you guys don't mind sharing, here's some question that I have got in mind for future renovation works once I've got the key;

1. How many of you guys has knocked down the dry wall & replace it with brick wall?
2. I hate there's no floor level difference in all bathroom (STRANGE!), did you guys just raise curb for shower or hack the whole floor? (If hack, how you deal with water proofing warranty from developer?)
3. Where's the water meter chamber? Does the chamber comes with floor discharge point for master filter back wash?
4. Do you guys use master filter at all?
5. I wasn't paying attention to the electrical programming when visiting the unit. How is the water heater electrical supply being done? I remember seeing a point above master bathroom, presumably for water heater, is that dedicated 30amp point with direct to MCB or has knocked off switch? Possible to use centralized water heater? Since 2 bathroom is right next to each other.
6. How strict the JMB toward renovation that may effect the facade? I'm thinking to change balcony sliding to a bi-fold metal door like image below, probably sealing the laundry yard with similar detail too

7. Did any of you guys whack the existing plaster ceiling way? Any idea what's the floor to under-slab height? I somehow feels the ceiling is quite low, I don't mind exposed ceiling with electrical conduit.
8. I need a proper store room too, anyone has done something similar by creating an extra utility room that can share for my reference?

That's all the question I have in mind now, hope you guys are kind enough to enlighten me biggrin.gif notworthy.gif
vincci.vince
post May 21 2014, 03:36 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(czlee88 @ May 21 2014, 12:15 PM)
Regarding your question:

1. How many of you guys has knocked down the dry wall & replace it with brick wall?
I think most of our residents here only knock down the yard glass door to extend the kitchen

2. I hate there's no floor level difference in all bathroom (STRANGE!), did you guys just raise curb for shower or hack the whole floor? (If hack, how you deal with water proofing warranty from developer?)
Just add a brick height divider like what we have to separate shower area will solve this problem.

3. Where's the water meter chamber? Does the chamber comes with floor discharge point for master filter back wash?
The water meter was infront of unit 4 each floor, just next to the garbage room.

4. Do you guys use master filter at all?
So far the water quality are still acceptable but sometimes will have some smell, expected that the water been store for a long period (usually during long holidays)

5. I wasn't paying attention to the electrical programming when visiting the unit. How is the water heater electrical supply being done? I remember seeing a point above master bathroom, presumably for water heater, is that dedicated 30amp point with direct to MCB or has knocked off switch? Possible to use centralized water heater? Since 2 bathroom is right next to each other.
If not mistaken my contractor told me both bathroom circuit are common to each other but goes to a 30/40amp fuse at DB. (not proven)
My suggestion is to get an instant heater coz centralized heater will used up more electricity (to boil that tank of water and have to wait for it to boil) unless you go for a DC type like SEERS. In that case you might need to hack your bathroom tiles to lay hot water piping too.

6. How strict the JMB toward renovation that may effect the facade? I'm thinking to change balcony sliding to a bi-fold metal door like image below, probably sealing the laundry yard with similar detail too

Please refer to management office for this issue.

7. Did any of you guys whack the existing plaster ceiling way? Any idea what's the floor to under-slab height? I somehow feels the ceiling is quite low, I don't mind exposed ceiling with electrical conduit.
Existing plaster ceiling only at walkway and bathroom, both are having wires and aircon piping above. You will need to relocate them if you are going to demolish.

8. I need a proper store room too, anyone has done something similar by creating an extra utility room that can share for my reference?
Build a full height shoe rack at entrance, full height kitchen rack and fully utilities the space.
BTW, if compare MF1 to MF2, the price is more or less the same but you have to wait 4 years to get your house.  tongue.gif
Thank you for your answer! Appreciate it. thumbup.gif cheers.gif cheers.gif

I'm actually toying the idea of running exposed copper pipes for the entire bathrooms like image with tankless heater (SEERS or Stiebel Eltron)

I somehow remember seeing cables dangling down from ceiling like image below, this shows it has plaster ceiling above the living/dining hall too. Otherwise the junction box in the slab will be exposed, right?

What about Astro? If I'm not wrong, considered no individual dish is allowed & without HSBB coverage, none of the resident here able to enjoy Astro Byond services then?

Well, MF2 is going for CONQUAS certification...which is a big plus for value compared to MF1 horrendous built quality...
vincci.vince
post May 22 2014, 10:55 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(czlee88 @ May 21 2014, 04:58 PM)
You can expose the copper pipe with mixer if you wanted. But I personally dont like to wait for the water to get boil when I wanted to shower.

You can call your contractor to conceal these cable if you relocate the lights. Not necessary to plaster it.
You can make a 6" drop plaster by installing LED downlight that will save energy too.

Regarding the Astro, block A already having B.Yond (if not mistaken) while B&C are upgrading (or maybe having it). I'm not Astro subscriber anyway.
Why need to wait? Are you having the impression that storage heater needs to be off? It should run all year round, 24/7. In fact, due to storage heater requires least wattage compared to a instant one, cuz of rapid heating, it generally be a lot friendlier to the home electrical loading, AC compressors, etc. A storage heater generally takes 0.5kW & up to 3kW during initial stage but every time you on an instant heater it takes as high as 5.4kW, which translate to about 10 ~ 12amp of electrical load is being drawn!

Yeah...I know but my point is trying to raise the ceiling higher. That's why I asked what's floor to under slab height, to determine whether if it's beneficial for me to do that or not. Actually, leaving so little gap for LED recessed fitting also not that great, as key point to LED light performance is heat distribution. The heat sink has no where to radiate the heat away efficiently with such tight & tiny space.

Yay! I can keep my PVR then! drool.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(confuzan @ May 21 2014, 06:02 PM)
Block B and C already has Astro Byond. You need to contact the sole vendor to connect your unit the the byond feed. they will do it for a cheaper rate if you register a new account with them.
Means cannot just contact Astro & ask for relocation service? Where can I contact them?

QUOTE(Minolta @ May 21 2014, 06:51 PM)
Seems like you have quite some work you're thinking of doing. Just be wary of your reno budget ya biggrin.gif
Well, I'm in architecture design industry myself. I have contacts from main contractor to my favorite stone suppliers, wood flooring, kitchen specialist, etc., they're ready to do me a small favor for a tiny little apartment, not necessary pro-bono but at least bona fide.

I also have clients that I kept good relationship with who allows me "tumpang" order of hospitality equipments (e.g. Seally Posturepedic mattress @ <RM2k, retail Rm10.5k) or tumpang shipment freight container to import my furniture from Bali (Teak & most solid wood furniture priced @ 10% of what we see in retail here!).

All these stretch my budget quite extensively. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vincci.vince: May 22 2014, 10:59 AM
vincci.vince
post May 22 2014, 06:15 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ May 22 2014, 03:54 PM)
i'm not sure how it works, perhaps you can contact astro and ask for relocation service.

at the same time you can ask the vendor in detail.

LS Ang Audio Visual Trading
03-7770 1086
Thank you for the contact.
vincci.vince
post Dec 5 2014, 02:11 PM

23 posts

Finally I'm the official owner of my MF unit after battling with a long 7 months of transaction processes, long story, I'll skip that for now.

Anyway, I'm here seek for advise what can I do or help in some of the pending issues being discussed here. I.e. UNIFI interest registration, is the booth still in our compound? Where can I get mine done to cast another vote, or it's wrap & over? Any other issues I need to know as an owner?

Also, last time when I was within the compound, I don't see any memo on pet policy but I saw there's one issued on June/July. How strict is that being enforced? I've been hearing dog barks here & there from various unit...I'm planned to move-in with my 2 years old fur daughter.

vincci.vince
post Jan 22 2015, 11:48 PM

23 posts

YES home fiber? Herm, that's interesting! Thank you for the update!

BTW, on communication again. I've recently moved in & struggled terrible bad with Maxis' mobile indoor reception quality. Filed a complaint & received technical department call today telling me that the reception in our area is just marginal in general & not surprise it's worse indoor yet no future plan in adding more tower just yet. Only thing they could do is monitor for future complaint before action taken....sigh
vincci.vince
post Jan 28 2015, 12:28 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(wuszhtag @ Jan 23 2015, 07:04 PM)
hopefully unifi will come fast. what else needed for that. hoping no more delay or excuses from the managements.
True to that! With YES Home Fiber, they might just accelerate the whole installation with YTL funding while UNIFI, may have lotsa obstacles from various "parties" before it's available…

Maybe Maxis & Celcom users can files complaint to their telcos to gather enough cases for them to install tower nearby too?

QUOTE(hvaly87 @ Jan 23 2015, 10:12 PM)
anyone here can share the contact number of plumber & electrician with good service & reasonable price that we can look for in case we need their service? Thanks
And iron grill maker that's typically supplied to the units here too maybe?

This post has been edited by vincci.vince: Jan 28 2015, 12:30 AM
vincci.vince
post Feb 24 2015, 12:31 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wuszhtag @ Feb 18 2015, 08:05 PM)
superstition'ly',  got ghost. huuuuuuuuu~~~~

together with sounds of furniture being dragged around....hahha  icon_question.gif
I used to get that a lot from my previous home but I just ignored it. Been living there for 10 odd years, no actual harm than some annoyance during one of those sleepless nights.

On the other hand, any of you are using Astro Byond PVR? I contacted the Astro agent posted on notice board & they told me it cost me RM680 to fully enjoy services for Astro package I've subscribed to as currently I can't watch any HD channel with standard installation done by another Astro agent.

Also, I'm currently suffering from waterproofing failure at unit above me which to date no action taken, it's rotting my bathroom ceiling away. Anyone else have such problem?
vincci.vince
post Feb 26 2015, 09:29 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(wuszhtag @ Feb 25 2015, 10:20 PM)
yes, LS Ang quoted me around that figure too for full installation.

btw if u having problem with waterproofing failure, you can contact the owner above as it should be under their responsibility to fix it.
But it's also at their liberty to take action or not...I guess if the neighbor not going bother then I'll have build a drip tray above my ceiling to catch it.
vincci.vince
post Mar 2 2015, 01:41 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Mar 2 2015, 12:47 PM)
that area alot ppl steal rims wo .. you can see many such car around petron.
Yeah, it appeared quite a rampant situation in the area.

Once my car halt at Petron with emptied tank & the station is closed, so much of unfortunate. Went to Shell across the highway & came back with the Petron cylinder truck driver who had done unloading his goods telling me to get my car away ASAP, motorbikes been circling around for a few rounds. I'm thankful for this good man who's so kind in staying back & keep an eye on my car before I became a victim of those bastard.
vincci.vince
post Mar 2 2015, 07:10 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Mar 2 2015, 01:49 PM)
very true, these culprits i think now is aiming midfields instead since its just beside. The security guards in Midfields really need to buckle up.
I think it's fine within the MFC compound so far, the guards are doing their job well. I'm quite close to the resident entrance gate, I can hear some idoit screaming at the innocent guards every now & then.

One who need to buckle up immediately is the gardener! Look at those newly planted plants, some has died & many are dying…
vincci.vince
post Apr 28 2015, 06:23 PM

23 posts

I'm extremely concerned that some short sighted people will jeopardize our property by forcing this UNIFI done improperly, cables & FTUs will be EVERYWHERE!

Also, I noticed MF2 has floor trap on their balconies which we don't. Look at Block A that's recently painted, some people just don't know how to maintain a building, the fungal & water marks already back! I know this myself, I have neighbor above who washes his/her balcony 3 times a day. Even the best exterior paint would fails in such scenario...In years to come, MF2 façade will look sparkling while our' damp & moldy. Need some solution on this too
vincci.vince
post May 23 2015, 09:32 PM

23 posts

Did any of you guys know why is the management changing all common areas lights to cool white instead from the original warm white?

I personally felt extremely troubled & offended by such action. The landscape is like a public park & lobby/corridor no different than a low cost flat…

In short, they're making the building EXTREMELY UGLY!
vincci.vince
post May 23 2015, 09:34 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(weng86 @ Apr 29 2015, 11:26 PM)
I only wash mine once a year... Also kena scold from resident cause dirty their clothing..i for once don't hang my clothing at the balcony... I told them this.. he still insist I can't wash my balcony walau wei then wait raining only wash Meh?

I saw it too the floor trap they should have done it for us too

Damn ytl...

3 times a day? maybe he/she like to roll at balcony or maybe sun tan at the balcony..

Looks like more and more car will be parking at the road side soon it will be more once the mf2 is up
I'm with the favor of mopping the floor just like how we treat our interior floor than washing it. It's just dust afterall…

Maybe we can raise this in future AGM, that we'll install it ourself?

This post has been edited by vincci.vince: May 23 2015, 09:36 PM

0.0231sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:34 PM