143 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Midfields by YTL, Anyone know?

adamxx
post Jul 7 2014, 02:17 PM

83 posts

Hope my answers below are helpful. BTW, Im staying at B2 for 7 months already. I personally fine this is a good place to stay if you are a city person. Some claimed that having the car park on separate building is a problem. however, i prefer this arrangement because i can take a slow walk everyday and enjoy either the greenery or the swimming pool view.

QUOTE(jon1980 @ Jul 6 2014, 12:59 AM)
Hi everyone. I am considering purchasing a unit at Midfields 1 as a home for my wife and I.

I have read through almost every page of this thread and note the problems highlighted here last year. I would like to inquire whether these problems have been resolved - and if not resolved, whether concrete steps are underway to resolve them).

Specifically:-

1) I understand that there is a petition to install telephony and Unifi broadband services. The petition requires 400 signatures if I am not mistaken. What is the status of this petition?
- Spoke to management, they are engaging TM. Hope we have good news soon.

2) For those of you who are using YES, what is the cost and have you experienced any problems with YES?
- I'm using Maxis wireless. So far no issue except every expensive.

3) For those living in Block B2, do you encounter any noise and/or dust from the Midfields 2 construction site?
-past few months was bad. They started work on 7.30am for piling work. Now seems quiet. Personally, I'm fine with they start work from 8am onward. I straggle the most is on Sat morning.

4) Is open burning of plastics and other waste (from the nearby waste/recycling yard) a noticeable problem?
- Not that I know off. It is very windy except recently due to haze.

6) Is noise from the highways noticeably loud (the entire condominium in general but Block B2 in particular)?
- hardly can hear any. Still a distance away.

5) Do the landscaped grounds experience flooding when it rains?
- The JMB has done a good job to resolve this issue.

6) Do the pools (both the main and the smaller pool) still experience flooding from the grounds when it rains?
- Not sure

7) I read somewhere here that when the unit above washes his balcony, water will leak onto the balcony below. Is this true?
- Not for me.

8) Is the Management Office open from 9am to 6pm on weekdays only?
-Yes

9) it seems crime is also a problem (read about the murder of the Indonesian national and apparently car rims were stolen). Has Management taken any concrete steps to reassure residents or beef up security?
- murder case was outside of Midfields and at the roadside. I would have worried more if somebody can get through the guard and kill someone inside the premise.  For stolen car rims, did not aware of this other than reading from the post, so no comment.

10) Lastly, are there any other issues that I should be aware of?
- Be prepared for many defects. If you plan to buy one, please do it before the end of this year while you still enjoy the warranty. YTL defect team is very helpful. please dont blame them for the defects because they are trying to resolve the problem created by the developer.

Thank you so much and I do apologize in advance for the long list of queries (trying to do my due diligence before buying). Any assistance or advice is most appreciated.

Cheers

Jon
nookie188
post Jul 7 2014, 02:29 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(adamxx @ Jul 7 2014, 02:17 PM)
Hope my answers below are helpful. BTW, Im staying at B2 for 7 months already. I personally fine this is a good place to stay if you are a city person. Some claimed that having the car park on separate building is a problem. however, i prefer this arrangement because i can take a slow walk everyday and enjoy either the greenery or the swimming pool view.
problem with most malaysians is that they dont like to walk..if parking a car, they must park very near ..lazy to walk far..
for this dev, its covered walk way so it should be no problem..groceries too heavy, get a carrier bag with rollers..simple ..
YTLbestdeveloper?
post Jul 7 2014, 03:01 PM

13 posts

[SIZE=7]

Dear all,

One of the guard officer told me that there was a meeting between Midfields Management and Residence Committee last Saturday. Please correct me if I heard it wrong.

I know one of our friend here @ts1 is one of the committee member because I voted for her with full trust during the last election.

However I am bit disappointed to learn that our residence committee did not consult or get views from others whenever they want to propose something to the management. At least what they can do is to get views from this forum as I believe we also present good arguments in certain issues of our condo. In fact by giving heads up in this forum before the meeting takes place would help them to get some fresh ideas for the meeting and fight for the rights of majority of the residence.

So dear @ts1, can you shed some lights on what did you guy discuss during the last meeting? Is management going to put a curfew for us not to go out from condo after 7 pm soon and treat us like a hostel student? Is management going to increase more management fees so greater defense and security system can be installed in consequences the guard officers can just sleep at night? I can post some pics of our guards sleeping so I am not kidding on this.

Please..please i don't think I am the only one that not kept in the loop here. All you know there is new and new circular and instruction on the notice boards say that "IT HAS BEEN DECIDED BY THE MANAGEMENT AND RESIDENCE COMMITTEE" hmm.gif

[COLOR=blue]

This post has been edited by YTLbestdeveloper?: Jul 7 2014, 03:06 PM
jon1980
post Jul 7 2014, 04:13 PM

13 posts

adamxx and artsyfartsy, thank you very much

if anyone else can chip in or have any response to my queries, i would be very grateful

thanks again and looking forward to joining the MF community

This post has been edited by jon1980: Jul 7 2014, 04:14 PM
artsyfarty
post Jul 7 2014, 04:35 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(jon1980 @ Jul 7 2014, 04:13 PM)

if anyone else can chip in or have any response to my queries, i would be very grateful

You're welcome.

Overall, MF is quite a good place except the Internet issue. Location is good, near NSK is really a big plus smile.gif

gnuix
post Jul 7 2014, 04:40 PM

161 posts

i'm staying in b2, almost 1 year staying here.

Hi everyone. I am considering purchasing a unit at Midfields 1 as a home for my wife and I.

I have read through almost every page of this thread and note the problems highlighted here last year. I would like to inquire whether these problems have been resolved - and if not resolved, whether concrete steps are underway to resolve them).

Specifically:-

1) I understand that there is a petition to install telephony and Unifi broadband services. The petition requires 400 signatures if I am not mistaken. What is the status of this petition?

- status as mentioned by the other forumer.

2) For those of you who are using YES, what is the cost and have you experienced any problems with YES?

- using both maxis and Yes. maxis wireless (not stable on weekdays, stable on weekends). Yes its expensive but stable compare to maxis, but sometimes the connection drops. bad pings for gaming sad.gif

3) For those living in Block B2, do you encounter any noise and/or dust from the Midfields 2 construction site?

- didn't notice much coz i'm out before 7 and back almost 8. dust, depends on what floor and where you are facing at. i tend to keep my windows and doors closed or open it slightly (mon-sat).

4) Is open burning of plastics and other waste (from the nearby waste/recycling yard) a noticeable problem?

- sometimes in the morning will have some weird smell

6) Is noise from the highways noticeably loud (the entire condominium in general but Block B2 in particular)?

- not that noticeable. the highways facing our condos are not as bad as LDP. only during peak hours alot of cars noise wise is ok.

- the management have rectify the problems. don't really see it flood during the heavy rain season.

6) Do the pools (both the main and the smaller pool) still experience flooding from the grounds when it rains?

- not that i know of.

7) I read somewhere here that when the unit above washes his balcony, water will leak onto the balcony below. Is this true?

- no issue for my unit

- yes. 

9) it seems crime is also a problem (read about the murder of the Indonesian national and apparently car rims were stolen). Has Management taken any concrete steps to reassure residents or beef up security?

- can't really comment on this.

10) Lastly, are there any other issues that I should be aware of?

- check your defects thoroughly. remember to grill up your toilet window, and any room that is possible for break-in. study the windows surrounding, see is it possible to climb in from out side (if yes, grill it).

Thank you so much and I do apologize in advance for the long list of queries (trying to do my due diligence before buying). Any assistance or advice is most appreciated.

Cheers

Jon
maviko
post Jul 7 2014, 05:08 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(jon1980 @ Jul 7 2014, 04:13 PM)

Hi Jon,

I've been staying in MF for the past 1 year in Block A. I guess the rest of the ppl have replied to most of your question but I'll give my response to the first 2:

- Updates from the management is that there has been positive developments with TM to get Unifi installed via fiber infrastructure. It has been a long challenging "battle" to go this far but rest assured that the management together with the JMB committee is working closely with TM to get this implemented. I was told that some residents were rather uncooperative in completing the petition forms as a mark of interest (even though they were interested to get Unifi) and this has hampered us in getting the required numbers. Basically the more ppl we have filling up this forms, we will be in a better position to get Unifi with a lower cost from condo maintenance fund. So its a win-win situation for all. So if you happen to buy a unit here, do us a favour and complete the forms as well. cool2.gif

- I'm using YES postpaid plan S109. comes with 21GB quota (6.5 peak, 14.5 off peak). Signal has been stable and fast as there is a booster at every floor. I generally get 4-5 bar signal on my YES Zoom device. There was only once that the wimax service was down after a heavy thunderstorm. A call to yescare support got it rectified the next day.

Hope to have you as part of the Midfields family soon! smile.gif
Rand
post Jul 7 2014, 05:48 PM

319 posts

I'm staying in B2, my unit is facing the garden and blk c tho and it's one of the units in front of the lift. I can faintly hear the construction sounds from my master bedroom, it's not enough to disturb me. But when I go and throw my rubbish at the opposite end of the floor, the sounds are very very loud. In fact it gets really loud as soon as I step out of my front door.

I have never smelt or saw anything from my unit. In fact I've almost forgotten that the yard is there.

It's very quiet in my unit (in B2), can't hear anything unless got police siren.

It's gotten much better with the culverts being built beside the walkways. But you can see some water bertakung on the grass itself.

Not sure, never seen this happen ever.

Each balcony has a little hole with a pipe stuck into it to drain water from the balcony. For normal units the water should not touch the balcony under yours at all..

Yup

Like the poster above mentioned, there have been security gates installed and the number of security guards have been beefed up. I don't particularly feel threatened while walking anywhere in the compound or even to speedmart as there are at least 2-3 guards outside there at any moment.

I answered what I could and omitted the rest. Stayed here for around 9 months already in block B2, hope it helps.
Rand
post Jul 7 2014, 05:53 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Jul 7 2014, 02:29 PM)
problem with most malaysians is that they dont like to walk..if parking a car, they must park very near ..lazy to walk far..
for this dev, its covered walk way so it should be no problem..groceries too heavy, get a carrier bag with rollers..simple ..
I don't mind the walk, it's quite enjoyable unless there's a super rainstorm. What I'm not so happy about is the 8 floor drive. My carpark is on the 8th floor. But used to it already lah, what to do.
cfa28
post Jul 7 2014, 05:58 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(maviko @ Jul 7 2014, 05:08 PM)
Hi Jon,

I've been staying in MF for the past 1 year in Block A. I guess the rest of the ppl have replied to most of your question but I'll give my response to the first 2:

- Updates from the management is that there has been positive developments with TM to get Unifi installed via fiber infrastructure. It has been a long challenging "battle" to go this far but rest assured that the management together with the JMB committee is working closely with TM to get this implemented. I was told that some residents were rather uncooperative in completing the petition forms as a mark of interest (even though they were interested to get Unifi) and this has hampered us in getting the required numbers. Basically the more ppl we have filling up this forms, we will be in a better position to get Unifi with a lower cost from condo maintenance fund. So its a win-win situation for all. So if you happen to buy a unit here, do us a favour and complete the forms as well.  cool2.gif

- I'm using YES postpaid plan S109. comes with 21GB quota (6.5 peak, 14.5 off peak). Signal has been stable and fast as there is a booster at every floor. I generally get 4-5 bar signal on my YES Zoom device. There was only once that the wimax service was down after a heavy thunderstorm. A call to yescare support got it rectified the next day.

Hope to have you as part of the Midfields family soon!  smile.gif
what about standard Landlines. As u may be aware, complaints was send to the Ministry of Housing that YTL has not complied with the Last Mile Requirement for Public Utilities which includes Telephony services. u can refer to post by Nebosuke
gnuix
post Jul 7 2014, 06:20 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jul 7 2014, 05:58 PM)
what about standard Landlines.  As u may be aware, complaints was send to the Ministry of Housing that YTL has not complied with the Last Mile Requirement for Public Utilities which includes Telephony services. u can refer to post by Nebosuke
we might be fighting a losing war here regarding this matter. YES is under YTL Communications which is a telecommunication company. The telephony service is using the zoom device which you can plug in with a normal phone, 018 will be the number.

From Yes website:

1. Can I use Zoom to make voice calls?
Yes. You can plug in any ordinary analogue phone (e.g. your home telephone) to the RJ-11 port of Zoom. To make voice call, just pick up the phone and start dialing. Your telephone number will be the 018 number that comes with your Yes ID.

2. Can I connect a normal analog phone to my Zoom and start making calls?
Yes. To make a call, just dial the number including the prefix (e.g. 03, 012, 016, 019, etc).

with this they can counter saying that they did provide the service, its just the people are not using it. As for the competition act, wireless is their competition (you dont want to use YES, you got Umobile maxis digi, etc etc).

But i'm keeping my hopes high on the telekom solution. since fiber is the backbone of YES.

cfa28
post Jul 7 2014, 06:27 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(gnuix @ Jul 7 2014, 06:20 PM)
we might be fighting a losing war here regarding this matter. YES is under YTL Communications which is a telecommunication company. The telephony service is using the zoom device which you can plug in with a normal phone, 018 will be the number.

From Yes website:

1. Can I use Zoom to make voice calls?
Yes. You can plug in any ordinary analogue phone (e.g. your home telephone) to the RJ-11 port of Zoom. To make voice call, just pick up the phone and start dialing. Your telephone number will be the 018 number that comes with your Yes ID.

2. Can I connect a normal analog phone to my Zoom and start making calls?
Yes. To make a call, just dial the number including the prefix (e.g. 03, 012, 016, 019, etc).

with this they can counter saying that they did provide the service, its just the people are not using it. As for the competition act, wireless is their competition (you dont want to use YES, you got Umobile maxis digi, etc etc).

But i'm keeping my hopes high on the telekom solution. since fiber is the backbone of YES.
Some owners have made complains to Ministry and I was just informed that YTL has managed to CONvience Ministry that all is well and settled.

If you are among the owners or know who they are, please INSIST on a FACE to FACE Meeting with the Ministry and tell them that the matter is not resolved and what is your ultimate objective.

You want Landlines from Telekom

With Landlines - you want StreamyX and Unifi

Please also make complains to MYCC - it will be a good case for them to investigate

You have been deprived of Telekom Landlines which offers the cheapest rates

maviko
post Jul 7 2014, 06:34 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jul 7 2014, 05:58 PM)
what about standard Landlines.  As u may be aware, complaints was send to the Ministry of Housing that YTL has not complied with the Last Mile Requirement for Public Utilities which includes Telephony services. u can refer to post by Nebosuke
Err.. my basic understanding is that if Unifi is installed via fibre optics cables, it comes with Internet, phone (voice) and IPTV as a package. Correct me if I'm wrong.

The complains lodged by Nebosuke is for MF2, which currently under construction, has a chance of getting things rectified if action is taken by the Ministry and YTL listens.

I doubt YTL will do anything for current MF residents now and the best solution to get the infrastructure retrofitted is to approach TM directly and hope the cost is reasonable.
cfa28
post Jul 7 2014, 06:37 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(maviko @ Jul 7 2014, 06:34 PM)
Err.. my basic understanding is that if Unifi is installed via fibre optics cables, it comes with Internet, phone (voice) and IPTV as a package. Correct me if I'm wrong.

The complains lodged by Nebosuke is for MF2, which currently under construction, has a chance of getting things rectified if action is taken by the Ministry and YTL listens.

I doubt YTL will do anything for current MF residents now and the best solution to get the infrastructure retrofitted is to approach TM directly and hope the cost is reasonable.
yes, but some owners of MF1 have also complaint to MoH and YTL has managed to BS their way out.

Lets hope that they are active on this Forum

mervyn
post Jul 8 2014, 12:50 AM

1,160 posts

Wow, I can't believe the level of sarcasm in the post. Has the management or residence committee done something so bad to deserve this bashing? Curfew after 7pm? Are you kidding me?

I've seen guard sleeping at night too, but they are human too. Don't be too quick to pass your judgement onto others. If you normally work until the wee hours you'd see that the guards in our condo are not the only ones. I'm not saying this is the right way, but this is the reality. Do you expect the management office to punish the guards who were found sleeping?

So far I personally feel that the measures taken by the management and committee are quite commendable - definitely nothing worth the bashing in the post above. In case where some big decisions are to be made, I agree that it's best decided collectively through a residence meeting (though I don't agree that this forum is sufficient to represent the whole community).

YTLbestdeveloper?
post Jul 8 2014, 10:27 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(mervyn @ Jul 8 2014, 12:50 AM)

Wow, I can't believe the level of sarcasm in the post. Has the management or residence committee done something so bad to deserve this bashing? Curfew after 7pm? Are you kidding me?

I've seen guard sleeping at night too, but they are human too. Don't be too quick to pass your judgement onto others. If you normally work until the wee hours you'd see that the guards in our condo are not the only ones. I'm not saying this is the right way, but this is the reality. Do you expect the management office to punish the guards who were found sleeping?

So far I personally feel that the measures taken by the management and committee are quite commendable - definitely nothing worth the bashing in the post above. In case where some big decisions are to be made, I agree that it's best decided collectively through a residence meeting (though I don't agree that this forum is sufficient to represent the whole community).
Hi Mervyn,

I obliged to correct your statement. It was a view of what is happening right now at the condo. It is a fact and not a perception anymore.

Yes, I did mention on some of our guards who were caught sleeping. I think you are brilliant enough to know that these guys are not working 24 hours shift. They rotate their shift. Those that caught sleeping are normally working on midnight shift, and this is the period where the crimes normally happen, and had happened. FYI, I am also occasionally required to work on midnight shift but I bear the responsibility to perform my work and not sleeping just because it is night shift. I hope you understand the concept of working and not pleasure here. Furthermore, we cannot compromise our safety just to allow them to sleep and not do the rounding and routine security checks in the condo as what they supposed to. Remember, opportunities are necessary conditions for crime to occur.

Yes, I did say "AT LEAST WHAT THEY CAN DO" to listen the views from this forum. It is clearly says at least not entirely. I have been waiting for the next residence meeting but I did not see any invitation coming. Correct me if I am wrong on this. The last meeting I got invited is the last AGM where they announced the report and elected new members, and I ATTENDED the meeting.

I hope the above clarifies and I believe some of the committee members are reading this post too. Thank you for your attention and hope you can make some improvements on what I said in earlier post.

confuzan
post Jul 8 2014, 11:01 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(YTLbestdeveloper? @ Jul 8 2014, 10:27 AM)
Hi Mervyn,

I obliged to correct your statement. It was a view of what is happening right now at the condo. It is a fact and not a perception anymore.

Yes, I did mention on some of our guards who were caught sleeping. I think you are brilliant enough to know that these guys are not working 24 hours shift. They rotate their shift. Those that caught sleeping are normally working on midnight shift, and this is the period where the crimes normally happen, and had happened. FYI, I am also occasionally required to work on midnight shift but I bear the responsibility to perform my work and not sleeping just because it is night shift. I hope you understand the concept of working and not pleasure here. Furthermore, we cannot compromise our safety just to allow them to sleep and not do the rounding and routine security checks in the condo as what they supposed to. Remember, opportunities are necessary conditions for crime to occur.

Yes, I did say "AT LEAST WHAT THEY CAN DO" to listen the views from this forum. It is clearly says at least not entirely. I have been waiting for the next residence meeting but I did not see any invitation coming. Correct me if I am wrong on this. The last meeting I got invited is the last AGM where they announced the report and elected new members, and I ATTENDED the meeting.

I hope the above clarifies and I believe some of the committee members are reading this post too. Thank you for your attention and hope you can make some improvements on what I said in earlier post.
i have been pushing for a residence meeting/dialogue as well.

did you send in your email to JMB to ask for one?

we need to get more people to ask for the meeting.
jon1980
post Jul 8 2014, 12:13 PM

13 posts

gnuix, rand, maviko, cfa, and others: Thank you very much for your responses

This post has been edited by jon1980: Jul 8 2014, 12:14 PM
nookie188
post Jul 8 2014, 05:07 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(YTLbestdeveloper? @ Jul 8 2014, 10:27 AM)
Hi Mervyn,

the thing is if we are to accept that guards who are hired to guard a property can sleep because other condos also have sleeping guards can anyone see how flawed this type of justification is?? so other people also do means its ok lah?

might as well not have guards right..?? ridiculous..
Soros007
post Jul 8 2014, 09:41 PM

3,852 posts

Hire guards who sleep during duty and not performing his responsibility - why we need to pay him. Can pack his bag and go home yesterday.

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Jul 8 2014, 05:07 PM)
the thing is if we are to accept that guards who are hired to guard a property can sleep because other condos also have sleeping guards can anyone see how  flawed this type of justification is??  so other people also do means its ok lah?

might as well not have guards right..?? ridiculous..

143 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:12 AM