Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Electrical Engineer's scope of work

views

SUSkl87
post Dec 7 2009, 05:17 PM, updated 15y ago

Casual
390 posts

I'm now a trainee in a consulting firm , M&E consulting in construction field. As i'm going to graduate after another 10 months, i think now is really a good time for me to think about my future.

Wat i notice, electrical can be divided into few main area

1. construction line

as what i'm doing now ^,^ . from the company i working for (now 2 & 1/2 month of my 3 months industrial training period), related to the construction field, doesn't care is a school , commercial building , supermarket, houses, bangalow, etc, is all the same , just a little difference from technical spec of view.

so wat the electrical engineer really do ? we will do the tender, meet the client requirement , design the electrical distribution line in the building, argue with main contractor, makan minum with m&e contractor, follow up the tender and then "con" the client , submit all the doc to government departments such as tnb , telekom ( this is only the electrical part, there is another mechanical part about the Bomba, water isue ) and wait for their comments , and lastly, going to meeting for argue or being scold by ur client once in a week or two.

don't be afraid, is not much of work, and mostly is about how to communicate with people, and this communication part is the most important one, as we will always go for meeting or finding those authorities. While the technical part is not really big problem (this is wat i think =.='' ) , coz u can gain exp while u going through the project.

And this communication part (or may be to say as "serve people") is the most important part, becoz a project could be last for few years, and u may keep looking at the same people everytime u go for meeting.... so if u are not very "ngam" with that guys , or the guys working attitude are rclxms.gif u will really rclxub.gif