QUOTE(kpchow75 @ Apr 18 2010, 10:42 PM)
Iknow what you mean, I was at Lowyat today and so tempted to get the N1....best price was RM2.2K. I think I can still wait though HTC Desire, Officially Launched!
HTC Desire, Officially Launched!
Apr 18 2010, 10:45 PM
557 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Apr 18 2010, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(rkwan67 @ Apr 18 2010, 10:47 PM) wait no more, deal no more.. I know Terry selling but his stock still dunno when arrive. If he had ready stock this weekend I would've bought......nvm, just have to be patient I suppose. Another option is buy from HK as I have a friend coming from there, for around 2.4K I can get the Desire, spare battery, leather case and 16GB MicroSDHC, but still have to wait till May!i was wondering if HTC Desire come out with price tag of RM2100. then i going laugh out hell... |
Apr 19 2010, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(ineser @ Apr 19 2010, 05:24 AM) Price breakdwon: Sounds good but what's the process for SIRIM approval? Should be quite a hassle me thinks.GBP 330 + 34 shipping = GBP 364 Convert to RM = RM 1830 SIRIM = RM215 and tax around RM128.14 Total = RM 2173 Actually not bad if buying from Clove, but the thing is now the volcanic ashes in Iceland causing all flights cease to operate, we wont know when will the package arrive Bad thing is the warranty is 2 yrs covered by Clove which u have to send it back to UK if something happen to the phone |
Apr 19 2010, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 19 2010, 01:52 PM) i guess it is..once u root then ur warranty will void..but not sure the physical damage will void too or not There's one reviewer that seems happy with the battery life http://www.coolsmartphone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=33304 Apparently for him, he managed to get at least 1.5 days with a single charge.i can say tht iphone 3gs battery life is better than htc desire.. all users are struggling to get their battery last for 1 or even half day...but this because there are many processes running in android(especially multitasking).. Added on April 19, 2010, 2:08 pm QUOTE(ineser @ Apr 19 2010, 10:45 AM) Apparently quite a long proccess Phew - If the package goes to POS Malaysia, even with item marked as GIFT. Kastam/POS can open the package. - If the package contains a phone, you'll get a call & after 1 to 2 days you'll get a letter. - You are expected to go to SIRIM (Block 9) in Shah Alam to get an AP permit with the letter from POS. You will fill 2 forms and enter market value for the phone. AP permit is RM250 and for personal or sample items only. You can bring up to 3 units and not more. - You are expected to get the AP no & OGA no from SIRIM. It will be ready in a hour and you leave can call back to get it. - With this details & the letter proceed to POS KLIA (actually it's next to LCCT) - Go to the guard post & give your driving license to get a visitor pass - Go to POS Counter 2 (not Kastam Counter 2) which is on the way to the toilet - You are asked to proceed to Counter 1 (POS) to give your visitor pass, collect the package, and return to Counter 2 (POS). - Provide the documents & the details (AP & OGA). Here you have declare the phone value AGAIN. Keep it below RM500 and you only have to pay RM18 for EDI service. More than that you'll have to pay 10% to Kastam. Go to Counter 6 (POS) to make the payment and return to Counter 2 (POS). - Proceed to Counter 2 (Kastam) and pass the document. The officer will ask you to open the box (usually they have opened the box before & resealed it). - Proceed to the Counter next to it for final clearance/tax payment and then you have to proceed to Counter 1 (POS) to collect your pass. Done! Source - http://forums.ebay.com.my/thread.jspa?threadID=500000887 This post has been edited by zackloy: Apr 19 2010, 02:08 PM |
Apr 19 2010, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(7CY @ Apr 19 2010, 02:57 PM) Apparently for android phones such as HTC Desire, the apps can only be installed in their internal memory. Haven't heard of anyone running out of space cause most people I know just root their Droid and save apps on the sd card. Don't worry too much, most apps are not more than 2MB in size. Eventually Google will release a new version of Android which will allow us to save apps to sd card.According to gsmarena.com review "The HTC Desire has 512MB ROM and almost 80% of it is used or reserved for the Android OS. This leaves you with 120MB free space for all your apps and games. As you may know, the Android OS still doesn’t support installation on memory cards or even extended inbuilt storage (such as the 8/16 GB of the Samsung I9000 Galaxy S, which are listed as internal drive). So you have only 120MB to install what you need" Does it show that it's a downside of Desire? Anyone encounter any problem regarding no enough space for apps? |
Apr 19 2010, 04:26 PM
Guys, opinion please....I have a friend that is in Dublin for training and coming back in a couple of weeks, should I ask him to get the Desire? Only problem is warranty...
Apr 22 2010, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 22 2010, 04:32 AM) You sure about that? I thought Google's turn by turn navigation is only available for the US market (Ooops my bad seems UK too now supported but no mention of Malaysia). Or is it another software you're talking about?Added on April 22, 2010, 8:43 am QUOTE(wztech @ Apr 22 2010, 12:46 AM) I think that's for the US market exclusively so I won't hold my breath waiting for it.This post has been edited by zackloy: Apr 22 2010, 08:50 AM |
Apr 22 2010, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(sajy2k @ Apr 22 2010, 10:58 AM) haiz... getting oldr n older waiting for the desire in malaysia... pls release it fast... any miracles than can make it launch early in malaysia / I know exactly how you feel.....we need SIS to launch it now not May! But seriously nothing much we can do, it will launch once HTC and SIS are ready. |
Apr 23 2010, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 23 2010, 11:50 AM) desire have more ram with sense ui but i still prefer trackball than optical scroll...n1 can have sense ui too but u need to root it As I understand, the pointing devices whether track ball or the optical scroll are nice to have. With the touch screen being as responsive as it is on the Desire wouldn't that make these pointing devices unnecessary for most tasks (except taking pictures for example)? |
Apr 27 2010, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 27 2010, 09:56 AM) Agreed. There should be an update to improve video playback and perhaps 720p recording in Q3. I feel however that we won't see much of a difference playing HD videos vs DVD quality on a 3.7" screen IMHO. |
Apr 28 2010, 11:04 AM
Heard from SIS source that Desire coming out soon but price wise still not confirmed...expect HD2 pricing or thereabouts.
Apr 28 2010, 11:22 AM
Apr 28 2010, 02:27 PM
Apr 28 2010, 03:20 PM
Apr 28 2010, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(ayiezs @ Apr 28 2010, 03:28 PM) RM2299 looks reasonable. This is because if we take the price from clove.co.uk + shipping will total RM1760 (exchange rate 4.95 from BNM website). Then add 30% import tax equals RM2278. Agreed but I still don't get why we still need to impose the tax (besides the obvious $$$ to the Govt)....isn't the Govt. pushing for adoption of tech?My guess only... |
May 6 2010, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(reiki_longtime @ May 6 2010, 09:33 AM) Did you ask the seller on the warranty; If anything happens where should you return it to? Do share some feedback please Why don't you try this seller, he claims to give 15 months warranty and has an "office" in Menara Citibank. Price wise also reasonable RM2050:http://automationbites.com/category/mobile-phones/ |
May 6 2010, 03:29 PM
Just came back from Lowyat, some phone sellers there really are trying to cash in on people wanting to buy the Desire now, prices range from RM2650 to RM2700++....crazy!
May 6 2010, 05:34 PM
May 7 2010, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(Cynox @ May 7 2010, 10:46 AM) the Desire looks very tempting but after bump into HTC Evo 4G, I decide to hold on to my 3 years old Treo 680 until the Evo comes. I know it is a CDMA phone at the moment and cannot be used in Msia but just cross my finger that HTC will port it over to GSM. I like the slick black colour better. Yeah I agree with you. If Evo 4G available I'd choose that over the Desire but Desire is more or less confirm going to launch soon....cannot tahan to wait some more for the Evo Edit: Photo to tempt you. ![]() |
May 20 2010, 11:07 PM
HTC Desire will be launced by Maxis (exclusively for 1 month or so I heard) next week. Price dunno yet but RM2199 is very likely.
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:12 PM |