HTC Desire, Officially Launched!

twL
post Mar 31 2010, 12:36 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

after i read this thread,
i have more interesting compare to iPhone,
but don know it will cheaper than HTC Legend or not?
is it HTC Desire is high end than Legend?
twL
post Mar 31 2010, 12:41 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Mar 31 2010, 12:39 PM)
Yes, it uses a 1Ghz snapdragon while legend is only 600Mhz something slower than it.
And also the screen size of desire is also bigger.
i think the price should be over RM2k...
but hope it will cheaper than the AP price of Nexus One in malaysia.
twL
post Apr 1 2010, 09:51 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

as the information from some forumers here,
it will be arrived to Malaysia on May,
right?
i cant wait to get the price now!
twL
post Apr 1 2010, 11:18 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Apr 1 2010, 08:55 PM)
Faster come in to Malaysia Htc Desire...So that the price for nexus one will go down...like what had happened to Htc Hero...
i think the price of nexus one wont go down because in malaysia do not have any official nexus one..

i check the price online,
i don know is it real o not,
the price cost Europe dollars 449...

twL
post Apr 2 2010, 09:48 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Apr 2 2010, 12:53 AM)
Hmm...what i mean is, those having nexus one maybe selling off their phone to purchase Htc Desire...
opps,
i am sorry,
i thought u r talking about new Nexus One. smile.gif

from some hk forum,
they said the price of Desire will be expensive than N1..
twL
post Apr 2 2010, 12:14 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Apr 2 2010, 12:04 PM)
desire's price should be lower than nexus. if they priced it higher, they are just profiteering ... then we must do the sane thing ... DON'T BUY!!!

im eyeing the desire too, but if they are priced illogically, i will get the n1. or maybe delay purchase till launch of galaxy s .. hehehehe
i also hope the price will cheaper than nexus one,
but desire is "same series" as nexus one,
if the price is lower than it,
i wonder is it google will complain it?

their specs are almost same,
but desire are better than it...

am i right?
correct me if i am wrong. smile.gif
twL
post Apr 2 2010, 12:40 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Apr 2 2010, 12:14 PM)
yaya, should be below 2k.. since spec also lower than nexus..
really?
i thought the specs of desire are higher than nexus one,
as the information from taiwan or hk...

if the price of legend is RM1999,
i think desire will be more than RM2k,
am i right?
twL
post Apr 2 2010, 11:15 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 2 2010, 05:40 PM)
Only HTC Msia at Plaza Berjaya Jln Imbi ( NOT SIS) will process any claims - you have to pay a service fee upfront first ( I think is RM 80) . First they will check whether your set is registered by the serial number - so I suggest you registered your set online first after purchased. You have to root your set and have it market enabled. All instructions clearly shown in this Android forum here

Added on April 2, 2010, 5:48 pm

There are pros and cons and I'd say there is no better set . It boils down to your preference :

1.  htc Desire comes with builtin htc Sense but you can similarly have this in Nexus One ( after root and injstall the Desire mod ) - well some prefer Nexus as you can have both UI available. I believe the guys at Modaco will also be working on Nexus UI for the Desire ( not available now , perhaps in the coming months )
2. Physical hard keys on Desire vs the tactile soft key on Nexus
3. Higher memory in Desire ?? - if this is important to you. But web reviews show this is not a major "attractive" factor
4. Build quality and looks ??? Anyway both manufactured by HTC
5. Voice cancelling features in Nexus vs none in htc - important for you ??
6. Pricing - if you are on a tight budget. Now nobody really knows whether the Desire is cheaper ; my guess should be similar to Nexus
7. Warranty - Desire with local htc/SIS support vs Nexus ( more hassle as best is to take it down to Spore though I believe htc KL will entertain )
as what u said,
their specs are almost same,
i prefer to buy HTC Desire,
at least i can get Malaysia warranty from SiS Malaysia,
and the most important is:
HTC Desire is the latest model. smile.gif
twL
post Apr 4 2010, 12:12 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(dreamitcentre @ Apr 4 2010, 11:37 AM)
the price of htc desire expected to be around with htc hd2.. haha we just wait and see.. very tempting phone smile.gif
is it mean around RM2500?
if true,
it is quite expensive,
i always cant understand,
y the Android phone from HTC are quite expensive..
twL
post Apr 4 2010, 08:28 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

as i know,
android phone do not need to pay expensive license fee,
am i right?
if yes,
why android cant cheaper than winmo phone?
twL
post Apr 4 2010, 08:50 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(MaggieMee @ Apr 4 2010, 08:33 PM)
1. Winmo's license fee aren't that expensive.
2. Android is harder to develop means there are more work to be done with it, therefore the R&D is passed to you.
when i compare the price with pc license,
i thought winmo's license are very expensive one.

but why Acer can manufacture an android phone below RM2k?
twL
post Apr 4 2010, 11:35 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Apr 4 2010, 10:24 PM)
look at acer laptop vs dell or hp. Acer is always the cheapest.
ya lor... acer laptop is quite cheap,
we even can get a Acer dual sim 3g phone at the price of RM1899..
twL
post May 26 2010, 11:45 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ May 26 2010, 04:58 PM)
considering it as selling 1500 (plan) vs 2300 (ori set soon selling)

Plan = Value 50, 500MB data plan + phone rm1500

RM50 + RM48 (maxis subsidised rm10 on data) + phone at 1500

calculate in 1 yr contract = [(50+48)x12] + 1500 = RM2676
Nonplan (estimating RRP as 2300 using prepaid and RM50 topup monthly)

RM50 + RM68 (500MB using mobile internet @ RM68) + phone at 2300

calculate in 1 yr usage = [(50+68)x12] + 2300 = RM3716

RM3716 is comparable to RM2676 which is on 500MB mobile internet data, without the mobile internet 500MB, it would cost RM2900 .. it is best to get data on it for GPS usage smile.gif
Summary :
Cost in a year, RM2676 (plan) VS RM3716 (non plan at phone price of 2300) .. Both are compared using almost similar characteristics. RM3716 is comparable to RM2676 which is on 500MB mobile internet data, without the mobile internet 500MB, it would cost RM2900 .. it is best to get data on it for GPS usage smile.gif
The price im using above is based on Estimated RRP.. what if the RRP is higher than 2300? Plan with be more beneficial. The current AP set now is already around 2200 already..
the price for hotlink users are RRP,
why still need to reload RM50 per month and pay RM68 for the data plan?

correct me if i misunderstand the details. smile.gif
twL
post May 26 2010, 11:52 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(tailesley @ May 26 2010, 11:49 PM)
Some people that can claim the phone bill from company wont have this problem.. SInce it been subsidy by the company... hahaha
i cant get this offer from my company,
i have to pay for my own,
haha..

anyway,
i hope that digi will launch Desire plan too,
i feel that the price of Desire and Legend are almost same,
if the RRP price is real,
i think i will go for Desire not Legend.

0.0372sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:35 AM