benny888
post Apr 2 2010, 05:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shohoku1 @ Apr 2 2010, 04:35 PM)
guys....lets say i buy desire from uk, the warranty is international rite? means that when i come back to malaysia i still can bring to HTC to repair it if anything goes wrong rite??n can it be use it malaysia if i buy it from uk?? can i get into the android market in malaysia coz so far i heard that malaysia android application market is still not open to public yet...rite? is there any other way for me to dl the application from the android market??
Only HTC Msia at Plaza Berjaya Jln Imbi ( NOT SIS) will process any claims - you have to pay a service fee upfront first ( I think is RM 80) . First they will check whether your set is registered by the serial number - so I suggest you registered your set online first after purchased. You have to root your set and have it market enabled. All instructions clearly shown in this Android forum here

Added on April 2, 2010, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 2 2010, 03:53 PM)
how can u say desire is better than nexus?

go to xda forum and see the problem they are facing with the desire.. like the 3G issues, amoled screen.. all the same like nexus.

they are like twins that wear different clothes smile.gif
There are pros and cons and I'd say there is no better set . It boils down to your preference :

1. htc Desire comes with builtin htc Sense but you can similarly have this in Nexus One ( after root and injstall the Desire mod ) - well some prefer Nexus as you can have both UI available. I believe the guys at Modaco will also be working on Nexus UI for the Desire ( not available now , perhaps in the coming months )
2. Physical hard keys on Desire vs the tactile soft key on Nexus
3. Higher memory in Desire ?? - if this is important to you. But web reviews show this is not a major "attractive" factor
4. Build quality and looks ??? Anyway both manufactured by HTC
5. Voice cancelling features in Nexus vs none in htc - important for you ??
6. Pricing - if you are on a tight budget. Now nobody really knows whether the Desire is cheaper ; my guess should be similar to Nexus
7. Warranty - Desire with local htc/SIS support vs Nexus ( more hassle as best is to take it down to Spore though I believe htc KL will entertain )

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 2 2010, 05:48 PM
benny888
post Apr 6 2010, 07:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

AP sets you sent it back to the shop where you buy it. Normally these sellers will return the problem set to their respective supplier. For htc products, my seller told me if his supplier unable to rectify the problem , it will then be sent over to SIS.

i have a experience with my one of previous htc phone ( AP set ). The motherboard was replace FOC and I got it back 10 days after I return the set. I'd consider this very good service and time frame of repair since motherboard need to replace. And I don't have to pay a single cent for it. So if you want to buy AP buy it from the established shops and not through a 3rd party chap who has no shop or just a small kiosk in some mall. He told me if SIS set, probably I can get it back in 7 days

Added on April 6, 2010, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(whitelove90 @ Apr 5 2010, 10:36 PM)
With htc desire, will android market be available?
NO ! - this is what a Android loyalist told me recently. It will only be available if you root it. I believe is same for previous htc HERO /Magic models which is supplied by SIS - can some owners of this confirm this

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 6 2010, 07:53 PM
benny888
post Apr 29 2010, 06:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

HTC Desire official launch confirmed at Spore 14 May 8pm at Suntec. I have signed up to attend

Added on April 29, 2010, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(kaioucat @ Apr 29 2010, 05:32 PM)
OK, lemme clarify. There are 2 possible ways of getting the N1 in Singapore - buy online from Google.com, and buy from local stores (who imported them, either from Google.com or from other countries). The local stores are selling N1 at SGD950. But if I buy online, I pay only SGD820 (all in, including shipping).

Now, the Desire, HD2, and Legend prices listed are all local distributor's price i.e. not "imported" sets.

I know prices in Singapore aren't that relevant in this forum, but what I'm trying to share here is the price scale between the N1, Desire, HD2, and Legend. It should be the same in Msia, I think.

*Edit: Btw I just read that HTC Desire is launching in Singapore on 14 May. Any news when it will be launched in Msia? Would be great if I could compare prices on both sides before buying.
Actually spore prices quite close to Msian prices - the difference if any usually less than +- RM200

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 29 2010, 06:14 PM
benny888
post May 5 2010, 02:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

APN for celcom 3G is : celcom3g . Other fields just leave it blank
benny888
post May 6 2010, 06:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Merang @ May 6 2010, 11:35 AM)
Now that you mention it, it does feel warm a little, especially when got connected to 3g or H signal. Not much to be bothered by it though.
I am using the NexusONE which has same processor as htc Desire : it is indeed much warmer , very obvious = you can feel the heat especially when charged or prolong use , say after an hour. I compared it with my other HD2 whose warmness is negligible

benny888
post May 8 2010, 05:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(winniechen @ May 8 2010, 10:48 AM)
The phone is not officially on sale in Malaysia yet but it's interesting that:-
1. This LYN thread is on Page 56 !!!
2. There are already about 10 (or more) owners reported here
3. The phone has officially been rooted
4. HTC has moved on to hype about their 4G phones and Desire seems like "OLD" news oredi.
5. Many iPhone fanbois are looking at this as a replacement and know this to be THE iPhone killer.

and PS. I couldn't wait and got myself the Legend instead. But might still be swayed to buy this once I feel it in my hands... Desire indeed.
looking at your "track" record, i am very sure 99% the Desire will be in your hands once is available
benny888
post May 13 2010, 03:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Torn between Nexus and Desire : read my review here where I feel the Desire is better : http://bennyleemn.blogspot.com/2010/04/htc...-nexus-one.html

I will be attending tomorrow launch at Suntec Spore . Will report back what is the pricing and any other special. Maybe being a sign up attendee can get discount ??
benny888
post May 14 2010, 06:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

u guys will know by tonight. I am now at Suntec - launch will start by 8pm. Registration start 730pm
benny888
post May 14 2010, 08:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The launch took only 30 mins. More than 20 sets were available for user to feel and test in the lounge beside conference room. About 200 people attended. Price confirm retail S$898 available end May.

My brief report at : http://bennyleemn.blogspot.com/2010/05/htc...-singapore.html

This post has been edited by benny888: May 15 2010, 11:58 AM
benny888
post May 15 2010, 04:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

If you dun mind buying a Spore set , wait till say June when Spore telcos start offering it with contract . Then on the net you will see many sellers reselling out their units . This always happen in Spore and is one way to get a cheaper official set. At current S$898 retail - you will see prices reselling out at S$600 to S$700. Usually tied in 2 year contract with telcos unit sells for about S$200-$300 so those who recontract or sign up a new line make fast bucks reselling.

This post has been edited by benny888: May 15 2010, 04:07 PM
benny888
post May 15 2010, 08:11 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ May 15 2010, 06:59 PM)
if u wan good camera can go for x10, 8mp.. thumbup.gif
stick to the local set with wrnty better.... just wait the ori announce the price 1st...
far to claim wrnty also very headache... sweat.gif
I'd say buying Spore set is good for Johore guys ; infact most of my pda I buy from Spore. Nearer and faster going to Spore than to KL

Added on May 15, 2010, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ May 15 2010, 04:57 PM)
Guys should i ditch my N1 and get the Desire?After watching the review on youtube,feel like getting the desire sweat.gif

Cause now ap price also RM2050 already drool.gif

What do u guys think?Should i jump to desire?
If you like to tinker with roms, kernels etc and always need to have latest firmware updates - NEXUS. Actually since you have Nexus - why dun you try the Desire roms - though not 100 % perfect - I believe the limitations should be resolved by end month as the Desire kernel was released yesterday and the cooks working hard on it now

This post has been edited by benny888: May 15 2010, 08:14 PM
benny888
post May 15 2010, 10:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Ver 2.2 released in June expect to see it on htc phones by Sept
benny888
post May 16 2010, 11:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 16 2010, 01:17 AM)
Just received my desire and I'm having lots of fun with it.

I wanted to use a picture I took as a wallpaper and whenever I do that, there is always a green box I need to drag and when I set it, the picture becomes really big at the home screen.

Does anyone know how to make the wallpaper 'fit' the screen?

Many thanks!
I always use my desktop ( photoshop) to resize it - I find is much better way to preserve the resolution. On the phone you have no other option - maybe there are 3rd party solutions but I did not check this up as I only have 2 favourite wallpapers which I also used on my htc HD2

benny888
post May 26 2010, 12:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(RedDonut @ May 26 2010, 12:29 PM)
other state have to wait

until its available nationwide

its like launching iphone all over again

available on launching event, then wait few weeks, available nationwide doh.gif
HTC product launch events in Msia are never widely publicized. It is often restricted to selected parties only. I have read somewhere in this forum last year, Msian launches are subdued due to budget and costs. That is one of the main reasons most layman do not know who or what is HTC ?? Only guys/gals like us who are freaks on smartphones will know.

Compare this to the Spore launch of the Desire - it was widely promoted at Spore SimLim/Funan ( these are Spore most popular PDA/Computer centres like LowYat Plaza) and at some local pda websites. It was open to the public - I registered and attended and it was literally jam packed . Best attraction was : more than 20 units available to the public to test with many htc staffs attending to all your queries. I reported this event at my blog : http://bennyleemn.blogspot.com/2010/05/htc...-singapore.html

This post has been edited by benny888: May 26 2010, 12:45 PM
benny888
post May 26 2010, 07:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(effilizham @ May 26 2010, 06:21 PM)
currently, i'm on the maxis BIS plan (but not contracted). can i terminate my BIS and register the data plan, on the spot tomorrow? (to enable me to get the Desire at RM1,499).
Unlikely as the telcos will always ask you to get a new line. If still using a old number - means no extra business for them

0.0682sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:08 AM