HTC Desire, Officially Launched!

Cynox
post May 7 2010, 10:46 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

the Desire looks very tempting but after bump into HTC Evo 4G, I decide to hold on to my 3 years old Treo 680 until the Evo comes. I know it is a CDMA phone at the moment and cannot be used in Msia but just cross my finger that HTC will port it over to GSM. I like the slick black colour better. thumbup.gif

Edit: Photo to tempt you. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 7 2010, 10:51 AM
Cynox
post May 7 2010, 11:30 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Just hope that my Treo 680 can last until then. Recently my Treo 680's screen will become very very dim suddenly, only a reset of the phone will bring back the normal brightness. Most likely the LCD's CCFL is going to blow soon.

If (touch wood) my Treo can't make it until the Evo come out then most likely get Desire. tongue.gif Btw, do they have a all black colour Desire? I dun quite like the current colour scheme. sweat.gif
Cynox
post May 20 2010, 10:42 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Singapore official local set (no contract) is priced at SGD898. Street price is the same at the moment with free extra battery and pouch.

I think SRP RM2,199 for Malaysia is expected.
Cynox
post May 21 2010, 03:01 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(reiki_longtime @ May 21 2010, 02:46 PM)
Can anyone confirm wheter SGD898 is without or with contract from telcos?  hmm.gif
confirm SGD898 is without contract, but with free 1 original battery and pouch. laugh.gif

RM2,199 with contract is total rip off. Maybe I can organise a mass order to buy from Spore to earn some pocket money. tongue.gif
Cynox
post May 21 2010, 03:16 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(cOMMANDER pRASNTH @ May 21 2010, 03:07 PM)
Guys,

I bought mine from www.htcpedia.com on the 18th of April 2010 and it's a :-

- Original unlocked set shipped from USA
- Provide 2 years international warranty by HTc (double-confirmed this with the tech support guys of HTCPedia)
- Free FeDex International Priority Shipping to Malaysia
- You need to obtain a SIRIM import permit for RM100 (some local regulation that telco devices need to have this)
- You need to clear the customs (10% of the phone price + shipping insurance premium)
- 15 day return policy (if you're not satisfied with the phone, you can return it; that would be an insult to the Android community as the phone is superb)

The good thing is that you get the phone fast and it costs USD600 without SIRIM and Customs.
The bad thing is that you need to go down to SIRIM @ Shah Alam, and pay the customs duty (unless you know someone inside).

I think this should be a safe bet for many as what you're getting is an original product. The IMEI in the phone and on the box perfectly matches, so rest assured it's not an AP set.

The accompanying manuals for warranty included also specifically mention 2 years and places apart from US / Europe will still be elibible for warranty at a repair basis.
looks like expensive with all the costs added. Probably just travel down to Singapore and buy from retail is faster and more economical.
Cynox
post May 21 2010, 04:04 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

from you guys' experience, is 3gb enough for heavy surfing, checking email (with some office attachment sometime), and some IM like googletalk/msn chat?

I presume 3gb is more than enough if no serious downloading is made.
Cynox
post May 21 2010, 04:22 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(AngelSlayer @ May 21 2010, 04:14 PM)
Just for your info, I'm using my HTC Dream to
- surf net 24hours
- Facebook
- Email including GMail, company email
- Stock exchange from 9am-5pm
- Around 10-20 mins of google map surfing
- Watching some youtube, youku and 康熙来了 for around 15 mins occationally
- Some online games

With the above activities in a month, I never hit 1Gb of my network usage.
great info you have there! thumbup.gif
Cynox
post May 25 2010, 09:47 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(linkz @ May 24 2010, 10:16 PM)
Anyone can answer my question?
since the fon can syn with gmail's contacts, can the calander and ToDos be syn as well?
i think you can find the answer in Desire user guide/manual. It is easily downloadable from HTC web site.
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 10:04 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(triplexpresso @ May 27 2010, 09:52 AM)
anyone knows the monthly charges to the 500mb/1gb/1.5gb plans?
I just check at Maxis web site - RM58, RM78 and RM88 respectively and need to bundled with at least a RM50 value call plan. Thus, minimum is RM108 per month. rclxub.gif

Digi data plan is more suitable for those like me who seldom make call - RM68 unlimited data plan and call charges will only be incurred when you make calls, no minimum fixed charge of RM50 like Maxis.

Cynox
post May 27 2010, 10:07 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 27 2010, 10:04 AM)
@ bold : only subscribe to Data plan ? No need to subscribe rate plan ?
Need to subscribe to at least a RM50 call plan. sweat.gif
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 03:10 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

So for current RM50 value plan user like me (not contracted), the price of RM1,499 is effectively buying the Desire at retail price and get 14 months free 500MB data plan. hmm.gif

RM1,499 + (RM58 - RM10 rebate) x 14 months = RM2,171 still cheaper than upright retail price of RM2,199.

And now the Desire is cheaper than Mototola Milestone at Maxis web site. sweat.gif

My Treo 680 is acting weird recently... time to switch? drool.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 27 2010, 03:11 PM
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 03:15 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ May 27 2010, 03:13 PM)
"14 months free 500MB data plan..." - not 12 months meh?
becoz i work out the other way round:

RM2,199 - RM1,499 = RM700 / (RM58 - RM10 rebate) = 14.58 months of usage.

EDIT: What i mean is the discount of RM700 by contracted for 1 year can pay for about 14 months of 500MB data usage.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 27 2010, 03:17 PM
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 03:26 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 27 2010, 03:18 PM)
@ bold : Free ?? blink.gif
If using my comparison, it would be "not smart" to buy the Desire without plan for RM2,199 if you are already Maxis user and not planning to switch to other Telcos. Becoz by signing up the contract for 12 months, you can save RM700 which can be used to pay the 14 months 500MB data usage.

BTW, I am not adbvertising for Maxis but I am a Maxis user myself for quite some time. Now waiting next month for DIGI's offer.

Added on May 27, 2010, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(draco82 @ May 27 2010, 03:22 PM)
He means that the RM2199 if you use to sign up Maxis plan is equals to phone + 14 months of 500mb data plan
so it is consider free loh, only applicable if you are value 50 maxis user~~
Only you understand my thinking. nod.gif

yup... this calculation only for existing value 50 user. If you are changing from the Yellow or Blue camp, you need to add in the minimum RM50 voice plan in the calculation.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 27 2010, 03:28 PM
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 03:31 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(linkz @ May 27 2010, 03:29 PM)
From the way you calculate.. i think DG might be cheaper for u....
i will be waiting until next month for DIGI's offer.
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 03:36 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ May 27 2010, 03:32 PM)
Yellow camp's Smartphone plan doesn't have minimum $ per month Call plan requirement.  smile.gif
yalor... that's my main consideration actually as my phone call usage is actually very low every month. For those whose call usage is around/more than RM50, then may not have much different between the 2 telcos. But DIGI data plan is unllimited.
Cynox
post May 27 2010, 10:49 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

what are the apps that come with Desire? i can't find a list in the user guide.
Cynox
post May 28 2010, 12:16 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benleong2008 @ May 28 2010, 12:09 AM)
Why not consider this way to get the Desire 'without' the contract
Buy the phone at 1499 and sign up for the 12-month contract.
Then just pay for the first month(50+58), cancel the contract and pay a penalty of rm500. In total it's just about rm2100.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i dun think it is a good option. Why not be contracted since the phone will definately need a data plan to fully utilised it 24 hours. biggrin.gif The choice to me is either get it contracted under Maxis or Digi. imho, buying it at retail price is silly (no offense intended). The only reason i can think of to get at retail price is becoz you already stuck with a contract now.

0.0445sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:28 AM