594 posts

AirAsia looks so desperate.

Want to check-in luggage? Pay.
Want to choose seat? Pay.
Want food? Pay.
Want water? Pay.
Want blanket? Pay.
Want to watch movie? Pay.

And now, want to buy tickets with credit card? Also Pay.
wirelessdude
post Nov 19 2009, 03:58 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 19 2009, 03:34 PM)
I wonder what the hell they wanted to have a copy of your cc. If I were you, I won't let them photostat my cc except passport. I would only let them photostat the front page only if they insist on having it. Normally hotel will only swipe your cc and block a certain amount during check-in.
It's because he's using the card for his friend, i.e. he's not present. If you've bought MAS airtickets for other people using your credit card, it's the same procedure - you need to bring a photocopy during check-in just in case of changes.
wirelessdude
post Nov 20 2009, 10:05 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 20 2009, 05:15 PM)
Curious about credit cards with frequent flyer miles rewards. Anyone use them? What's the best ones around? I'm looking at specifically the Kris Flyer Amex or the CIMB Enrich cards, both are at around RM2 per 1 mile which is pretty attractive.

Malaysia Airlines Enrich deals are better though, round trip tickets to London for example is only around 60k miles, the equivalent on SQ Kris Flyer requires 70k miles.
Been using CIMB Enrich since Feb this year. IMO, it's a really poorly executed program:
a) half the partners don't even have a clue about the program.

b) many of the partners have dropped out of the program, e.g. Tony Romas and even MAS themselves. FYI, MAS used to give 1 Enrich mile per RM1 spent.

c) you'll not get a discount if using CIMB Enrich, e.g. I had to pay more for my car rental when using a CIMB Enrich - the merchant said because they have to pay CIMB extra money for our miles. So effectively, the miles are not free/bonus - you're paying for it.

d) then there are clueless partners who give you both discount and miles ...I've no complaints about such partners.

e) unlike HSBC, things like credit limit increase, etc have to fill up form.

f) automatic annual fee waiver is ridiculous - you have to charge RM50k/year to get waiver for gold and RM150k for plat. The income requirement for gold is RM50k/year so meaning you have to charge your entire annual income to the card??

g) CIMB also quite kiasu. When you call, they verify by asking really silly questions like what's your Enrich membership number or when's your bill cut-off date - who remembers such things (imagine you're overseas)? If you pump petrol at 1am, they'll call you at 1am. Credit limit also the lowest among all my cards (i.e. RM15k) and very difficult to increase - end up I charge most of my transactions to my HSBC cards.

I already have 70k miles this year. Once I reach 100k, I'll potong.
wirelessdude
post Nov 22 2009, 05:40 PM

594 posts

Only thing nice about HSBC are the occassional bonus points during CNY, etc.

Locally, I get better discounts (e.g. food) with CIMB and Citibank. As for their Home & Away program, you can get better hotel discounts for example, using 3rd party hotel websites.

Most of the time, their program have a limit so you are just "getting a chance" like the 2x points for overseas spent. Since HSBC cardholders are supposedly big spenders, such promos are practically useless.

It's also very difficult to win in their contests like "be the biggest daily spender and win...". I swiped RM30k once on a weekday and another on a weekend but still didn't win. tongue.gif
wirelessdude
post Nov 22 2009, 11:41 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Nov 22 2009, 08:11 PM)
Sorry to burst your bubble but you need to top RM150k to have any chance to be the biggie of that day  tongue.gif
See what I mean? And everytime, their promo is like HSBC is giving away bonus points for overseas spending and then in fine print "limited to 6 million points blah, blah, blah". In the end, you're unlikely to get the bonus points unless you spend right at the beginning of their promos.
wirelessdude
post Dec 4 2009, 12:19 PM

594 posts

Just potong my Citibank card. As usual, they tried to convince me otherwise but luckily the force is strong with me. smile.gif

Maybank - no chance at all - their hotline is constantly busy. Makes me appreciate the prompt and friendly service I get from HSBC.
wirelessdude
post Dec 5 2009, 05:21 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 5 2009, 03:25 PM)
Perhaps it is their strategy to delay and prolong card cancellation process. smile.gif
I did see the newspaper advertisement. The promotion is limited to specific days and even particular hours within the specific days.
And as usual, there's a maximum number of points i.e. 16 million a week.
wirelessdude
post Dec 18 2009, 12:03 AM

594 posts

I when to Maybank to potong my Petronas CC last Thurday but it's still showing in my Maybank2U. Does that mean that the card is still not cancelled yet?

0.0439sec    1.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:53 AM