Credit card V8, Anything about it
tinkerbel
Sep 23 2009, 12:48 PM
Fanaddict!
Hi, I go away for the weekend only to come back to Credit Card V8!?! So fast lah U people. Anyhow, was just reading a couple of pages back and noticed some people complaining about Malaysian issued cards not usable overseas? I've been using a Credit Card since 1994 and I haven't had any problems using my cards overseas. Also, just to keep everyone informed re CL on the Amex Gold Credit Card of mine. I didn't get an increase in CL - it shares the same combined CL as my existing Amex Platinum Credit Card *sucks* but ah well, I don't need so much CL anyways  @david_kiat, For a fresh graduate, U may want to consider a FFL (Free For Life) CC hence perhaps u should check out Direct Access (DA)
tinkerbel
Oct 16 2009, 10:53 AM
Fanaddict!
@lowyat888, I experienced 2 encounters of fraud cases on my Citibank CC. Upon it happening, Citibank suspended my CC account (in the meantime, issuing me a new card with a new number). I was also asked to proof I've not left the card; I did not have to bear the charges which weren't spent by me.
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 01:34 AM
Fanaddict!
@Faidzal, By now the application should have been processed and the physical CC sent or delivered to U. I suggest you get her to contact the bank; maybe the application form was lost and wasn't put in or something happened along the way.
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 12:12 PM
Fanaddict!
@wvt, I've been getting the Amex Gold CC statement each month ever since I put in my application for the card. The RM5 charge is not reflected in their bill. I notice; the only difference between the Gold & Platinum bill is the envelope colour
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 12:49 PM
Fanaddict!
@ahgan84, Amex Gold CC is also FFL
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 06:24 PM
Fanaddict!
I certainly ain't happy with the new rule implemented; and I doubt a lot of people here are going to be upset too. I feel the bank shouldn't be imposing on the consumers; instead of they want to charge they should start charging the banks; it is after all them who benefits the most from us [provided the card is used and not kept for keepsakes] Also, if I'm oredi paying RM800 AF for a CC, Y should I pay an extra RM50? Just so our national education institutions can go buy RM40k+ outdated computer? I'm not going to do anything; will just sit and wait for the bank to send me letters and then I'll decide. Looks like I'm gonna give up on several cards. Maybe banks will decide to pay for those who actually uses the card? This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 23 2009, 06:26 PM
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 06:31 PM
Fanaddict!
@tgeoklin, That's not going to be possible before Jan 2010 and it's not like I voted for the current one  LOL Damn.... I shouldn't have given up that Australian PR; think it's time to reconsider it now!
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 06:39 PM
Fanaddict!
@claricecmw, Looks like it. Am actually wondering if this Service Tax is applicable to Charge Cards?! Damn.. I better go put an application in for the Amex Charge Card *grins*
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 07:22 PM
Fanaddict!
@simplesmile, The CS might not be pretending; the budget speech was just announced hours ago; do U think the banks oredi had time to brief their staff?
@zenquix, There's this thing called the "early payment fine" or something [forgot what the actual term is] but basically banks will charge U for paying up the installment plans ahead of time - go read the fine prints; it's there.
This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 23 2009, 07:24 PM
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 07:25 PM
Fanaddict!
@simplesmile, I'm sure there are lots of eager beavers out there but until a proper briefing has been given to these CS i'm quite sure they aren't going to be able to give u the information u want so might as well just wait for directive from the bank, right?
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 07:32 PM
Fanaddict!
@hye, Hmm... so this has been introduced before? And what happened to it then? Banks started introducing Annual Fees and they'll use these fees to offset the Service Charges? I guess if I could get Amex to give me a waiver for RM800, I should be able to convince them to give me another RM50 waiver right?!  PS: I'm not old enough to know the history so be great if u can shed a light.
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 07:40 PM
Fanaddict!
@simplesmile, Like I said, the budget speech announcement was just done. If they weren't listening to it they wouldn't be aware of such new policies! Hence, they probably weren't pretending when they said they had no idea of such new policies; maybe they got some form of an idea since like U said ur not the only one who's called to enquire but give them some time la.
Yeah, just give them some slack. Y so antsy?
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 08:14 PM
Fanaddict!
@lee9171, The Service Fee is applicable to ALL Credit & Charge cards issued in MY. @hye, Ah well.. perhaps I should go get a SG based Amex  LOL Yeah you're not *that* old. Looks like i'm going to haf to give up the SCB VI and sooner than I thought; damn I didn't even get to use the PP
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 10:34 PM
Fanaddict!
@Aeon_Clock, It will be imposed effectively 1st January 2009. Eh look on the bright side; there's no increment to sin products  *OopS*, 1st Jan 2010! This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 23 2009, 10:52 PM
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 10:56 PM
Fanaddict!
@hye, Yes as I've mentioned there are pros and cons. No longer will we be able to 'collect' credit cards unless we don't mind the RM50 fee. I still don't think people will be more prudent because some way some how if you're a spendthrift and oredi living on credit u will continue to do so. The only way to stop is if change ur lifestyle and discipline urself to stop spending tomorrow's morning. I've recently quit my job so I'm spending everything in reserve so *sigh* no more going on buying sprees  TBH, I probably would prefer an increased in prices on sinned products since that doesn't affect me at all, maybe once in a while but.... @zenquix, Act, if u look at it, it is FFL still; it just doesn't include the fees u need to pay to the central government  @tgeoklin, I've a feeling somewhere down the line, banks will start offering more debit cards + somehow this debit card will turn into some sort of OD aka credit This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Oct 23 2009, 10:57 PM
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 11:12 PM
Fanaddict!
@simplesmile, No.. I'm no longer going on shopping & buying sprees is because I'm now living on reserves, not because of the stupid RM50 Service Fee rule
tinkerbel
Oct 24 2009, 01:06 AM
Fanaddict!
@andrekua, Basically, they should go tell the banks to stop issuing us so many CCs !
tinkerbel
Oct 24 2009, 03:37 AM
Fanaddict!
@saiga, I'm quite sure there's no turning back on this particular announcement. No, U can't close an account until U haf finished paying up all balance owing.
tinkerbel
Oct 24 2009, 11:47 PM
Fanaddict!
@Darkmage12, Good in what sense? Go check and see if you'll utilise the benefits; if U do then it's good lor, if u don't and if U can't take advantage of it then it's no good
tinkerbel
Oct 25 2009, 12:14 AM
Fanaddict!
@Darkmage12, There's always a pre-set; am not sure how this one works though cause I was oredi holding the UOB Platinum when they introduced this Preferred Platinum.
You probably won't need the kinda CL they offer; mine is almost as much as my gross annual income!