Credit card V8, Anything about it

simplesmile
post Oct 23 2009, 07:11 PM

2,991 posts

LOL just for the fun of it, I called the CIMB card centre. Told them that I have a FFL card. Asked them is it still FFL considering the RM50 service charge by the Govt. The operator who answered my call pretended not knowing anything about this and will call me if there's any update.
simplesmile
post Oct 23 2009, 07:24 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 07:22 PM)
@simplesmile,
The CS might not be pretending; the budget speech was just announced hours ago; do U think the banks oredi had time to brief their staff?
please la. i;m not the first to call in asking about this.
simplesmile
post Oct 23 2009, 07:33 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 23 2009, 07:25 PM)
Don't think he/she were pulling your legs. Since this news is still very new most likely they still do not know about it.
It applies to charge card as well.
They need to wait for instructions from the senior management lah mister ! Just like all of us the calling centre staff do not know anything more than us at the moment.
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 07:25 PM)
@simplesmile,
I'm sure there are lots of eager beavers out there but until a proper briefing has been given to these CS i'm quite sure they aren't going to be able to give u the information u want so might as well just wait for directive from the bank, right?
The CS could have just acknowledged the issue and tell me the Bank/Management/Boss will update them when ready. Instead of pretending not knowing the issue at all. This reflects on the professionalism on how the bank handles its customers.
simplesmile
post Oct 23 2009, 10:43 PM

2,991 posts

Wah! Najib really living up to his 1Malaysia vision la. He wants to rub off his enthusiasm on us by encouraging us to preach 1CreditCard. To do this, he imposes fees on all credit cards. Naturally people will reduce their cards to one or two, thus realising the 1CreditCard way of life and the bigger 1Malaysia vision.
kekekekeke.

QUOTE(claricecmw @ Oct 23 2009, 10:20 PM)
wahhhhhhhhhh 30K, what you swipe lah?

Added on October 23, 2009, 10:23 pm
Well it's called killing 2 birds with 1 stone...  tongue.gif
We're the birds la. Najib's killing us.

This post has been edited by simplesmile: Oct 23 2009, 10:44 PM
simplesmile
post Oct 23 2009, 11:09 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 10:56 PM)
@hye,
Yes as I've mentioned there are pros and cons.  No longer will we be able to 'collect' credit cards unless we don't mind the RM50 fee.  I still don't think people will be more prudent because some way some how if you're a spendthrift and oredi living on credit u will continue to do so.  The only way to stop is if change ur lifestyle and discipline urself to stop spending tomorrow's morning.

I've recently quit my job so I'm spending everything in reserve so *sigh* no more going on buying sprees sad.gif

TBH, I probably would prefer an increased in prices on sinned products since that doesn't affect me at all, maybe once in a while but....

@zenquix,
Act, if u look at it, it is FFL still; it just doesn't include the fees u need to pay to the central government tongue.gif

@tgeoklin,
I've a feeling somewhere down the line, banks will start offering more debit cards + somehow this debit card will turn into some sort of OD aka credit tongue.gif
See? It's working! The Government's aim of making people spend prudently is working. And you're the living proof of this.
simplesmile
post Oct 23 2009, 11:21 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 11:12 PM)
@simplesmile,
No.. I'm no longer going on shopping & buying sprees is because I'm now living on reserves, not because of the stupid RM50 Service Fee rule smile.gif
Sorry about that. Good luck with your hunting.
simplesmile
post Oct 24 2009, 06:38 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Oct 24 2009, 04:38 PM)
yeah....that's in consumer point a view...

as for the government, what they earn from this must be utilized to improve on something....such as upgrade facility or subsidize more merchants/shops/restaurants to rent cc terminal from banks for the convenience of cc user....example like kedai mamak or kedai runcit also can provide cc payment facility instead of conventional way of cash payment.......this will lift us towards develop country......not only by collecting service tax from cc user & use it to their own pocket... at least show some improvement back in term of facility to the cc user...
The Government's using this extra money to do one of the 4 things. Buy another submarine. Pay for pension, you know la, now retired govt servants live longer, the govt need to find money to keep paying these people. Pay for civil servants bonus. Pay for MACC & policeman increment (even though they may not deserve it.)
simplesmile
post Oct 25 2009, 01:17 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Oct 24 2009, 11:35 PM)
Agreed, as I was trying to point out yesterday in this very thread. I know ppl are upset (I have 11 cards, trust me, I AM upset), but we've got to grow up and realise that there is a valid reason behind this. As corrupted as the government may be, they don't just table unsubstantiated budget proposals in Parliament; I'm sure they don't wanna look too ridiculous themselves.

But yes, continuing from the point that was raised by the forumer debunking me yesterday, I would think that this move is definately not the most effective of ways. Ppl who are desperate won't mind the extra RM50 on their bill. Still, as hye pointed out, the point is to re-educate ppl and not let them fall into such a trap in the first place.
Believe me, prudent spending is just an excuse to mask their real reasons or intentions.
When the country was just starting to fall into recession, Govt keep saying "our economy is resilient, US subprime crisis won't affect Malaysia".
When the Government will defer projects in Pakatan states and say because Government no money. You think the Govt really have no money?
You trust what the Government says?
The real reason for taxing on the credit cards is because the Govt wants to tax, but don't want to affect poor people. So... how to tax the middle income and the rich? Raise the income tax rate? No way,.. this will surely kick them out during next General Election. So.. what do middle income and high income people have? Properties and credit cards. So... bring back the RPGT and tax credit card holders. You think the govt really wants to encourage prudent spending? There are other more effective ways to encourage prudent spending as suggested by other forumers.

Bottom line is, this RPGT and service tax on credit cards are designed to MILK the middle income and high income.
simplesmile
post Oct 25 2009, 11:51 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Oct 25 2009, 10:59 AM)
What a brilliant thought! His math phailed.
1. Those paying 27% are earning at least RM100k per year. RM50 is nothing to them. And they get a 1% reduce in tax. ==> how about those low-middle level
2. The RM1000 tax relief, doesn't mean that we have extra RM1000 for spend. It just mean that Rm1000 is exempt from tax.

Say if my current income is Rm2500, with 1 month bonus. Total yearly income is RM32500. The income tax would be around RM539. After the extra RM1000 tax relief, the income tax would be around Rm472. the saving is RM67. If I have 2 card. then I pay more tax..!!
The Rm1000 relief and EPF RM1000 relief is to CATCH UP WITH INFLATION. When was the last time these reliefs were increased? The increments this time is just merely catching up with inflation. It is not something extra, it is not a gift.
The RM50 tax on the credit cards is NEW. Therefore, don't tell us that we get more benefits because.
1. The reliefs were long overdue and just merely catching up with inflation.
2. You impose new tax on us.
simplesmile
post Oct 26 2009, 07:26 PM

2,991 posts

Najib is so brilliant! He has successfully united Malaysians from all races and all economic status to come together to object to his policy of RM50 and Rm25 service tax on the credit cards. This is 1Malaysia! rclxms.gif
simplesmile
post Oct 26 2009, 07:58 PM

2,991 posts

Had faxed in to cancel my UOB MC and UOB One Card.
Next on my list is CIMB.
simplesmile
post Oct 26 2009, 11:36 PM

2,991 posts

Boy, I want to keep my SCB Just One card because of the 2% to 5% rebate. But alot of merchants don't know how to use this card. Most of them give the card back to me and say "Cannot read". When in fact, the card has both the credit card and debit card combined into 1 card. So the merchant needs to select "credit" to process a credit charge on my card.
So.. thinking if I should keep my SCB card or not.
simplesmile
post Oct 31 2009, 05:34 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 31 2009, 09:21 AM)
Maybank has also made an announcement regarding the service fee for credit card. Read it here > Maybank Announcement
What's your personal feel about this whole issue? I can think of 3 outcomes. Which outcome is the likeliest? Any other possible outcomes?
1. The Government reverses it's Budget proposal in view of pressure from the public and card issuers. I cannot recall any proposals being withdrawn from previous Budget annoucements.
2. The card issuers absorbs the service fees.
3. The card issuers pass on the service fees to the consumers.
simplesmile
post Nov 1 2009, 07:30 AM

2,991 posts

All the card issuers say they are waiting for directive from BNM. When do you think BNM will sort out this issue and issue a directive?
simplesmile
post Nov 1 2009, 05:02 PM

2,991 posts

OK, this is what I think the REAL intension of RM50 service fee on the credit cards.
The Govt is not happy with just taxing the middle income earners. It wants to tax the low income earners too.
Previously, if your annual income is below RM24k a year, you don't need to pay tax after deducting your personal relief, epf relief and the RM350 rebate.
The govt not satisfied. It wants to tax the people who earn RM18k and above, via credit card. Previously, this group of people didn't need to pay tax. Now they have to pay in the form of service fee. I'm going to put this up on my blog.
simplesmile
post Nov 3 2009, 08:13 PM

2,991 posts

Does anyone of you have the Jusco-Aeon credit card? Are you canceling this too?
simplesmile
post Nov 7 2009, 10:21 PM

2,991 posts

Here's my take.

UOB Master - Cut
UOB OneCard Visa - Cut

HSBC Master - Cut
HSBC Visa - Keep

CIMB Petronas Master - Considering - For petrol 2% and retail 0.5% rebate.
SCB JustOne Titanium - Considering - For retail 2% to 5% rebate. This card contains the Debit card and Credit card in one. I want to keep, but very frequent when I use this card to pay, the cashiers will say cannot select "credit" function because the terminal cannot support. What's the point to keep this card then other then the 5% rebate? But if the terminal can't read the card, then I won't get the rebate at all.
simplesmile
post Nov 8 2009, 09:26 AM

2,991 posts

Do you know if SCB Justone card also give 2% rebates for petrol?

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 7 2009, 10:39 PM)
I encounter this problem all the time and 9/10 times after asking the cashier to select the "credit" function then the transaction goes through. There are occasions that the merchant terminal does not support this card. Play the active role in asking the cashier to press / select the correct menu and you should be fine.

You can cancel this card but there are a lot of people out there who wants to apply this card but can't coz it is not available for new application anymore. I'm not advocating this card but you gotta admit, if you plan and time your purchases that 5% rebate on a Friday is pretty attractive and not to mention that 2% rebate on any other days.
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 8 2009, 08:22 AM)
I agree with you. SCB Justone cc will be the FIRST to be retained among all my CCs. Most of the retail transactions can be successfully done if we ask the cashier to select credit function early. In fact, I conducted about 25 transactions on this card and received the max rebate of RM600++ in 2 months. If we plan our purchase properly, we can fully utilise the benefit of this card.
simplesmile
post Nov 8 2009, 11:01 AM

2,991 posts

I see. Then there's no reason to keep the CIMB Petronas card anymore.... except that it still gives me a rebate of 10% when buying at MPH on Sundays. I'll most likely terminate my CIMB card and keep SCB JustOne and HSBC Visa. So that's it. RM100 service fee for me.

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 8 2009, 10:16 AM)
The quick answer is yes but it depends whether the petrol station terminal can process this card or not. I can tell you Shell No and Petronas is a Yes but it's always possible if you use the card inside instead of outside.

It's one of the reasons why I don't bother looking @ CIMB / DA cards anymore for quite a while already.
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 8 2009, 10:29 AM)
For Shell, the card has to be swiped inside the cashier counter.
simplesmile
post Nov 8 2009, 11:21 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 8 2009, 11:12 AM)
Is the 10% rebate at MPH still ongoing ? Many promotions have ended such as the 10% off total bill on certain days at ISETAN, KFC etc.
The last time i bought some books at MPH was 2 months ago. The promo was still available then. Not sure about now.
I wished that the SCB JustOne rebate is not capped at RM600 a year. What am I going to do when the rebate is maxed out? Sigh.

0.0542sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:39 PM