Credit card V8, Anything about it

hebe87
post Oct 25 2009, 01:00 PM

935 posts

Our PM blog stating the new budget..

Perhaps go there and leave some comments?

http://www.1malaysia.com.my/index.php?opti...emid=54&lang=en
hebe87
post Oct 26 2009, 09:40 PM

935 posts

simple, 3 principal cards mean rm50 x 3, regardless it belongs to same bank or not

hebe87
post Oct 26 2009, 11:10 PM

935 posts

Mostly and the easiest way to impose this policy would be asking the bank to collect for goverment, which is this will appear at the monthly statement

Added on October 26, 2009, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 26 2009, 11:09 PM)
Yeah, I have a feeling if we all moved from credit/charge card to debit card, G will find way yo tax debit card too...

I there's still no better way to overcome this RM50 tax, I hope banks will focus on debit card and allow debit card to have about the same benefits as credit/charge card. Like 5x points for petrol and groceries...

If we cant change the environment, we should change ourselves...
we cant change the environment, but we can change the government. we are the one who decide on the policy.

This post has been edited by hebe87: Oct 26 2009, 11:12 PM
hebe87
post Oct 26 2009, 11:18 PM

935 posts

not that easy to kll credit card industry. i bet many ppl out there will still keep at least 1 credit card. the benefits of having credit card outweight the rm50 service charge/tax.

unless u holding multiple cards, dats the different story

hebe87
post Oct 28 2009, 12:27 AM

935 posts

Debit card will not be as good as credit card. For instance, debit card cannot be used for autobilling purposes in majority of the cases. Also, rewards points/rebates for debit card is for more lower than credit card
hebe87
post Oct 30 2009, 06:03 PM

935 posts

platinum card does not mean that the person has high income
u just keep your account at least 100k in a bank and the bank will offer you free platinum card
hebe87
post Oct 30 2009, 06:31 PM

935 posts

lol... those with 100k in bank can be those with annual income of less than 30k also la
hebe87
post Oct 30 2009, 07:23 PM

935 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Oct 30 2009, 07:09 PM)
i got 3 cards stil not activate should i keep or throw back to them?

1. rhb travel money card
2. rhb tesco card
3. ambank realreward card

please help me to decide.. rclxub.gif
i dont shop in tesco...
Better cancel your card and account. i dun think there is any point for you to keep them, even there is no service tax
hebe87
post Oct 31 2009, 05:49 PM

935 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 31 2009, 05:34 PM)
What's your personal feel about this whole issue? I can think of 3 outcomes. Which outcome is the likeliest? Any other possible outcomes?
1. The Government reverses it's Budget proposal in view of pressure from the public and card issuers. I cannot recall any proposals being withdrawn from previous Budget annoucements.
2. The card issuers absorbs the service fees.
3. The card issuers pass on the service fees to the consumers.
i think the card issuers will absorb the service fee provided you meet certain requirements, ie you transacted more than 10k in a financial year / swipe more than 10 times per month, etc..
hebe87
post Nov 1 2009, 06:01 PM

935 posts

You may apply for one, if you pledge a Fixed Deposit with the card issuer. However, your credit limit will be the same as the Fixed Deposit amount that you place.
hebe87
post Nov 2 2009, 09:37 PM

935 posts

ya.. its promotion only limited to klang valley stores, its unfair.. sad.gif
hebe87
post Nov 3 2009, 09:35 PM

935 posts

i think it is same also for other card issuer, not specific to cimb bank only

i think not much ppl will purposely keep other bank's card and cancel cimb card just because of its CEO
hebe87
post Nov 3 2009, 10:26 PM

935 posts

rm150 per year for you.. llol
hebe87
post Nov 3 2009, 11:29 PM

935 posts

depending on your credit card spending, keep 1 credit card is better than using debit card despite the rm50 service tax. the benefit that you can gain from credit card outweight debit card, provided you spend a lot on credit card

ya, MBB card is good, with the on the spot redemption, the point is more worth its value
hebe87
post Nov 4 2009, 12:11 AM

935 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 4 2009, 12:04 AM)
Your only reason is because of evergreen points?
Since I will console most of my spendings to Amex Gold, I believe transaction for the other CC will only as backup in case Amex not accepted and also for insurance premium payment. I still unsure should I pay RM50 for this backup card...

As for MBB on the spot redemption, is it during treatpoint roadshow?
ya, AMEX offers at least 1% rebate on all purchases, up to 5% rebate... however its acceptance is low

MBB on the spot redemption is available at participating outlet, and you can redeem the same item for less treatpoint because they don't have to courier the item to you. just go http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions for more info
hebe87
post Nov 6 2009, 10:40 PM

935 posts

although the bank has no authority to waive the rm50 service tax DIRECTLY, i think the bank can compensate us by giving us rm50 annual rebate to offset the service tax INDIRECTLY

guess government cant stop bank from doing this. but its the decision is up to the bankers
hebe87
post Nov 7 2009, 03:37 AM

935 posts

1. It depends on your credit history. Gold card and Platinum card do not mean that one will get higher credit limit. Sometimes, even Classic card user can have higher credit limit than Gold and Platinum. Gold and Platinum card offers users with more benefit, such as travel insurance, higher rebate, access to premium or private club/vip area, etc.. Apart from that, they are just all the same. All in all, credit limit depends on, your annual income and your credit history.

2. For collection. laugh.gif
hebe87
post Nov 7 2009, 12:25 PM

935 posts

carefully read their t&c, usually they will say whether retail purchases include OR exclude petrol transaction one
hebe87
post Nov 8 2009, 09:22 PM

935 posts

you can even tell them that your card is lost and you would like to cancel your account as well
hebe87
post Nov 9 2009, 05:53 PM

935 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Nov 9 2009, 11:45 AM)
i recently cancelled my maybank cc at their branch, i saw my card still in M2U, when i call their CS, said it will still show there, until u request to take off from M2U ..which i requested, but till today..still can see my card there

Added on November 9, 2009, 11:48 amMerchants can’t impose fees on users of credit cards
PETALING JAYA: Credit-card users who are told to pay extra if they use their cards instead of cash should be aware that merchants are not allowed to impose merchant fees on users as stipulated in the card associations’ operating regulations.

“Under the Bank Negara credit-card guidelines, banks are required to display prominently on the credit-card application forms their fees and charges table,” said Association of Banks in Malaysia (ABM) executive director Chuah Mei Lin. “Banks are also required to print on the monthly billing statements to credit-card holders information on the various charges imposed on the oustanding balances and method of computation of such charges.’’

A comparison of rates charged by banks can be obtained from the bankinginfo.com website.

RHB Bank head of retail banking, Renzo Viegas, said banks would act on complaints from cardholders on “unacceptable practices by merchants’’.

“For example, cardholders should not accept any imposition of surchange, report such incident to the bank or go to other merchants that do not impose surcharge,’’ Viegas said.

At Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank), merchant activities are continuously monitored to curb incidences of surcharge.

“Appropriate action is taken on merchants who flout the rules,’’ said Lim Hong Tat, Maybank’s senior executive vice-president and head of consumer banking.

On leakage of customer information, Chuah said: “We wish to reiterate that member banks treat customer information with the greatest confidentiality and not sell or use information indiscriminately outside the confines of the banker-customer relationship.

“Banks will not hesitate to take disciplinary action and report employees who breach laws, regulations and policies.’’

In fact, members of the public are encouraged to contact the ABM in respect of any suspected breach of confidentiality on the part of member banks, Chuah said.

Education in card acceptance procedures is especially important in cases where merchants face high staff turnover. There is inhouse training and continuous education on adhering to charges and security issues. — By YAP LENG KUEN
Hi, for you guyz info, AirAsia is now charging covenience fee to customer who book ticket online using credit/debit/charge card, which is rm5 charged per one way ticket bought.

Is this against the Bank Negara Rules?

Pretty sad with their implementation of this rules.I think BNM should take actions against them, because they are one of the largest creditcard merchant in Malaysia, and it should not be the bad example to others

for more info about this, http://airasiafansclub.blogspot.com/2009/1...-for-value.html

0.0453sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:48 PM