QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Nov 25 2009, 11:50 AM)
Ya lor. In my case it was AirAsia who is doing this monkey business. I don't think I can afford to boycott them coz the alternative is to go for full price airlines.Credit card V8, Anything about it
Credit card V8, Anything about it
Nov 25 2009, 12:37 PM
3,395 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 서울, South Korea |
Nov 26 2009, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 26 2009, 10:17 AM) Petrol charges are included for rebate entitlement. The RM20,000 retail spending target can be achieved by any average spender because spending can be accumulated within the calender year. That's why I find no other cc can match this card in regards to rebates offered. Any one wish to disagree ? From the point of total rebates offered ... a likely yes. However, you can't just take it from that single perspective. I mean to enjoy 1% rebate you have to spend more than $6k and to enjoy 3% rebate you have to spend more than $20k. Would anyone disagree with me that it is quite a lot of money to spend on a monthly basis ? |
Nov 26 2009, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(axlkey @ Nov 26 2009, 01:19 PM) And just now, MBB called me and they want my verbal saying "yes" for them to channel my saving to settle the bill by today..however if i didn't call them by today,they will still debit my a/c.. I am sorry the decision was not in your favor. But this serve as a lesson for all of us who are MBB card users.Right now I doubt if decision by FMB is out and favour me, will the bank credit the money back to my a/c..?? Their MBB executive also says that they can't guarantee that.. i doubt about their trick in saying that actually... hmmm... Just to share my experience several years back when there were massive petrol station frauds and card cloning were rampant. I had fraudalent petrol bills charged (if I remember it correctly) to my cards from Citibank, UOB and RHB. I didn't have problems writing the transaction off with Citibank and RHB. (RHB asked a fair bit of questions when I sent in my dispute but they didn't gave me any trouble) UOB took many rounds of calls and negotiation coz they think that the charges were mine. In actual they were hesitatant to write off the transaction coz they had plenty of these cases coming from their customers and of course they want to recover as much as possible. Well I said, "We can challenge this further but really you have my petrol buying patterns for years as proof and clearly this is an anomally. Plus, there were other petrol transactions in my statement and in fact they are more expensive but I'm not disputing those. I'm disputing those which I know is not mine". After a few weeks of haggling, they gave up. After that ... I will only support cards which give me a piece of mind. Even though they dangle huge discounts of multiples points, I don't care. That's why I felt credit card is very much a personal preference. Everyone has in mind what they want and different cards offers different service preposition. |
Nov 26 2009, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(axlkey @ Nov 26 2009, 03:03 PM) when i read this --- > landmark case on fraudulent credit card usage it was clear that if we not satisfy with FMB decision, our next move should be bringing the matter to High Court.. ..only then we can fight for our right Yup ... and you'll need a lot of staying power. Not to mentioned need to be prepared mentally and the bundle of inconveniences, all of your assets will likely be frozen once the bank begin their battle with you. I've experienced this just because my "good" friend did not pay up and I was the guarantor. I marched to the bank and told them they need to clear my name (remove from being blacklisted) as a condition before I pay off my friend's debt. And I'm not walking out without that B&W guarantee. Initally they were hesitant and I told them it is to your KPI advantage that you can close this case and you don't get anything if you want to fight with me ... so now you want this money or not ? Well ... I got that letter 5 mins after that. This post has been edited by hye: Nov 26 2009, 04:11 PM |
Nov 26 2009, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 26 2009, 04:48 PM) That's why I hate Citibank.... uncover this dirty trick and cancelled it after utilising the rebate. You just need to pump Shell once and clear all the rebate. What do you expect? After all it is a Co-Branded card, defintely the benefits is going to favor Shell.Another trcik is the rebate will only be credit into your CC if total rebate collected is above RM30. |
Nov 28 2009, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(neveek1 @ Nov 28 2009, 12:22 PM) Besides the premium, you can save a lot from your retail spending as well as petrol. I think I need not say further. 1) I won't be too quick to say this because the calculations is made by OCBC itself and of course they want to say something to their advantage!Platinum Card Savings Table Typical household spend (small family) ![]() On top of that: 1) GE and OCBC had came out with an agreement to offer policy holders a RM55 cash back rebate - for limited period only.. You can look at it as offsetting the gov service fee as well(you need a new application form. The old one is invalid - code different. I can send you the new one). 2) 1st year annual fee waived. (My advise is use for 1 year, if later no good, still can cancel it - lose nothing) 3) You’ll also enjoy up to another additional 3% rebates when you charge other retail purchases (including petrol) to your card. (I dunno about you guys, but this is pretty good. First you save on your premiums and now this as well!) 4) Very little paperwork and hassle free documents - Just need application form and photocopy IC. 5) Automatic switch to the new GE card with Great Eastern Easi-Pay Service (auto debit) for your Great Eastern/OAC Insurance to enjoy the Insurance Premium Rebate of 3%! So, if you are a GE policy holder, you definitely won't lose in taking up this card. Plus it was created specially for GE policy holders. 2) 3% is after your spend how much? Why don't you disclose that information as well ? 3) Not everyone here is a GE policy holder + the fact that you are also promoting this card in another thread, can I say you have vested interest in this card when people sign up for it via you? This post has been edited by hye: Nov 28 2009, 12:52 PM |
Nov 28 2009, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(neveek1 @ Nov 28 2009, 06:22 PM) Yes. Anyway, all the details are here. So feel free to ask me anything if any are interested. Is exclusively for Great Eastern Policy Holders only. I have no objections of people promoting their cards here but they need to be transparent about the promo. I don't really appreciate the notion that I need to refer to a link when asked about T&C but the person was so excited and lively when it comes to promoting the card. If the person is just keen on promoting the card then this is not the place.Lots of people read this thread for reference and at least there need to be some sense of responsible reporting. |
Nov 29 2009, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(neveek1 @ Nov 29 2009, 12:23 PM) I'm sorry you felt that way. But the CC industry is now a revolutionizing biz. The banks are changing, so as the people working for them are trying to. Don't judge everyone the same. Anyway, it was good knowing. There are forummers in this thread who are regular and long time users of credit cards. In fact some of them have experience with most (if not all) of the banks in Malaysia, myself included. We speak based on our experience and while everyone have different experiences but in most cases the general sentiment towards a certain idea or the bank are the same.Yourself are not the 1st case of a promoter that is not transparent about the cc product. I don't blame you for sounding that way but like what was mentioned, there's a lot of people reading this thread. The last thing we need is someone running to register for that cc after reading this thread but in actuality misunderstood the product offering thanks to an cc promoter information - either intentionally or not. You can say what you want but your earlier post can easily confuse the consumer with that 3% rebate ploy. Even just now myself came back from KLCC Convention Centre and the promoters there are saying got rebate for RM50 service tax but if you scrutinise carefully, there's no physical black & white guaranteeing (or mentioning) the consumer of that RM50 rebate, it is just word of month created by the agent to get people to sign up. So you are saying that the "CC industry is now a revolutionizing biz" - emmm ... there were 3 banks (1 foreign bank and 2 local banks) @ the KLCC convention centre (Harvey Norman) promoting cards now and all of them are telling that the RM50 service fee will be "taken care of" of in one form or another. Tell me who is being ethical or where is the revolution part here. This post has been edited by hye: Nov 29 2009, 04:01 PM |
Nov 29 2009, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(eses @ Nov 29 2009, 08:04 PM) There are indicative news that the RM50 tax will be imposed effective 1.1.2010. You can make a decision to cancel your cards already.I'll advise you not to wait till the last minute as all the credit card call centre will be flooded with card cancellation requests soon. This post has been edited by hye: Nov 29 2009, 08:21 PM |
Nov 29 2009, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(wiind @ Nov 29 2009, 09:28 PM) I'm thinking to cancel my AEON Jusco credit card (my only card) and go for Maybank Visa Flex as the replacement. The reason I think so is that I found that AEON cards is less privileged than other bank's CC. Any comment on this? It's your own personal choice. Personally, AEON Jusco card tops my "Cards that I'll stay clear list" |
Nov 29 2009, 09:48 PM
Nov 29 2009, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(wiind @ Nov 29 2009, 09:28 PM) I'm thinking to cancel my AEON Jusco credit card (my only card) and go for Maybank Visa Flex as the replacement. Set me thinking ... with the introduction of RM50 service tax, people would be scrambling to cancel their cards. Highly likely the smaller cc players such as AEON, BSN and Bank Rakyat will suffer as their base would be too small to support their backend cost perhaps. Would we see cc providers closing shop or consolidating their operations if their customer base drops to a non-sustainable level ? |
Nov 29 2009, 09:53 PM
Nov 29 2009, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Nov 29 2009, 10:32 PM) RHB is so persistant. Im at a loss. Im being told that if I proceed with my card cancellation, they will bill me the lump sump of whats left in my installment plan. They were reluctant to give me the things that I wanted most which is the fullset of monthly statement of the remaining sum that I needed for my company claims. Actually all banks will do this. Most EZPay plans will trigger a full settlement if you cancel your card.Added on November 29, 2009, 10:41 pm QUOTE(wiind @ Nov 29 2009, 10:36 PM) I got a question here, the credit card application form require the applicant to enclose the latest BE form, so what if I do not have one? Do I still be eligible to apply for the card? Depends ... I almost never had to enclose this form, mainly coz I have preexisting cards in hand. I'm not sure what your scenario is but if you have been working for at least 1 year and/or holding other cards then you can almost certainly ignore the BE form. To be certain, just ask your cc agent if you are applying through them.If you call in directly to the bank, they will ask you to include this BE form. Good luck ! This post has been edited by hye: Nov 29 2009, 10:41 PM |
Dec 1 2009, 08:21 PM
Dec 2 2009, 11:11 AM
Yeah ... don't be too quick to post Service Tax waiver unless other forummers can locate the advertisements in newspapers or websites.
So far there has been only 1 case of the waiving the Service Tax but I'm sure it is an isolated case and not officially representing the bank's policy. The official release from UOB only stated indirect waiver mechanisms since users can get rebates from the card and that rebate will be used to offset the service tax. BUT no mention about direct service tax rebate. That CS would be scared out of her wits now with so many callers asking for her. For all you know she could be in trouble with her boss on this incident. |
Dec 2 2009, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Dec 2 2009, 05:06 PM) noted with tx. jst wonderin whether to accept this card or reject due to the rm50 fee starting next yr. Your RM will probably say the card is necessary to identify you as the Premier customer. But I say you can always delay or decline the card while the status of the RM50 is clear. I don't think any PB customers from any banks will tell you their bank have announce for PB customer, bank will absorb the service tax. do u know the credit line of this card will share with other hsbc visa cc? or separate? Premier card will have seperate CL from your regular HSBC cc. I gotta warn ya ... priviledge wise, it is no different from HSBC's Platinum. If I remember there could be a "World" word printed on the card but don't be fooled - HSBC Malaysia is not listed as one of the World Mastercard issuers by MC International. So you will wonder what's so special about the card. |
Dec 2 2009, 06:37 PM
Dec 3 2009, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(cheez @ Dec 3 2009, 08:59 AM) I tried to cancel my CIMB by faxing the cancellation letter. You are not the only customer that they have. Probably with the service tax, they have hundred of thousands or millions cancelling their card by now. I know banks need to be efficient but I think your comments is slightly uncalled for. Even if just wanting to confirm whether they've received the letter also takes them 36 hours and counting to response. Either they're really busy or their effectiveness is questionable. FYI, I am not working with them and already cancelled my cards with them. |
Dec 8 2009, 10:58 PM
Quoted from TheStar.com.my -> Tuesday, 8th December 2009
(Actually I'm rather amused that they mentioned that have no problems with credit card cancellations. In fact they are very optimistic with customer base growth for next year) EON Bank targets 750,000 credit cards next year KUALA LUMPUR: EON Bank Bhd expects to have 750,000 credit cards in circulation next year against 660,000 cards issued in 2009. The Group's Chief Executive Officer, Micheal Lor, said the company is now planning more promotions and campaigns to make the target a reality. "With our best selling GSC-EON Bank Visa Card still growing in terms of circulation, we don't think reaching the target will be a problem," he said. Speaking to reporters after a prize presentation ceremony for a movie premiere contest, he said there were now 23,000 GSC-EON Bank Visa Cards in circulation since its launch in May. On a related development, Lor said the bank's credit card business only suffered a slight setback after the government announced that a RM50 service tax would be imposed on each credit card in circulation, next year. "The most significant impact we experienced since the announcement was a 50 per cent drop in credit card application. "But, I am sure the announcement impacted all banks offering this service but from my point of view, the RM50 service tax should not pose a threat to consumers as they spend thousands of ringgit every month," Lor added. He was confident the bank's credit card business would not slow down, despite the service tax, as its cards were value-added products. Meanwhile, Lor said credit card receivables rose to RM1.4 billion this year and was expected to increase between an average of 10 and 15 per cent in 2010. EON Bank plans to launch another credit card, next year, for discerning shoppers. - Bernama |
| Change to: | 0.0479sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:04 AM |