i just noticed that scb oso has verified by visa/mastercard securecode now
Credit card V8, Anything about it
Dec 18 2009, 03:24 PM
4,090 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: USJ |
i just noticed that scb oso has verified by visa/mastercard securecode now
Dec 18 2009, 04:17 PM
2,991 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(elru @ Dec 18 2009, 01:02 PM) yup, i agree with you. but the way the Maybank's head of consumer banking delivered the message i cant say its good impression either, or maybe just me. What do you expect these banks to say? "We have significant number of card cancellations"? Of course all these banks will say, "Not much impact or cancellations" because if Bank A says they have a lot of cancellation, then the rest of cardholders from Bank A will wonder, "Why so many people cancel card from my bank? Maybe other banks offer better deal. Maybe I should also cancel." |
Dec 18 2009, 04:23 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 17 2009, 05:10 PM) anyway, swipe using JustOne, can't go thru A friend told me HSBC UK has started issuing a card that is just like Standard Chartered Titanium Mastercard. Eventually all existing HSBC UK customers will receive this new VISA debit/credit card. It's been a few months now since they issued out the first one and there has been no complain to date.lastly use pbb after 10 minutes, SCB called to enquire about the transaction take the chance to "praise" the cs, cannot go thru oso need to verify he did admit that SCB is working on how to improve the card's functionality:thumbs: QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Dec 18 2009, 08:52 AM) I have been informed by my CRM in SCB & HSBC that they will pay the RM50 on my behalf. This is a on a case to case basis and as such its a no brainer why I choose to use their cards. Basically its a win win situation since I give them profits by using their cards, its the least they can do to absorb the @##$ tax HSBC is going to pay the tax on your behalf ? That is good news ! I better go to their office to pressure them to pay for the taxes on my behalf too. Might not succeed but no harm trying |
Dec 18 2009, 04:27 PM
50 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(hye @ Dec 18 2009, 12:02 PM) Not just that ... not everybody read this forum. The general public would be happy with the piece of plastic that they own therefore not likely to hop around credit card like the folks here. I can't blame MBB's CEO for saying what he did, I mean even EON Bank published something similar. If you are the employee of that bank, you can't be giving out bad impression of your bank right ? Very true. Employees are not allow to tarnish the image of the bank otherwise disciplinary action will be taken against them. They have the Corporate Affairs Department to talk journalist and the public. |
Dec 18 2009, 05:00 PM
1,143 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Hi. I need help from the credit card masters.
I would like to do some sales on eBay but they insist us of having a credit card for that purpose. I have never used a credit card as I prefer to pay everything in cash. I do not like debt. I have only 1 bank account with CIMB bank. Any good recommendation? I will just be using the card for eBay purposes. How about the credit card fee that will be imposed which is proposed by the government? Thanks. |
Dec 18 2009, 05:14 PM
2,221 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 18 2009, 01:25 PM) when i enquire at my Maybank here, the officer said first 2 CC will be free from RM50. Third card onwards, you'll have to start paying RM50 each. This will be monitored by Bank Negara. You should take it with a pinch of salt. QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 18 2009, 01:51 PM) TreatsPoints now redeemable for RM50 Service Tax 10,000 points = RM50 voucher => No difference at all! Not a good deal.Card Type | Service Tax Imposed | TreatsPoints to Redeem Principal (per card) | RM50 | 10,000 Supplementary (per card) | RM25 | 5,000 URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions QUOTE(hye @ Dec 18 2009, 02:45 PM) Yes, I wonder if anybody would cancel the precious SCB JustOne. |
Dec 18 2009, 05:17 PM
84 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(fauzistt @ Dec 18 2009, 03:02 PM) ..count me in, i think i'mgoing to be stupid enough to pay for not one but maybe 2 principal cards and maybe a supp i recently applied.. i think some will also view me 'stupid enough' for voting oppposition in last GE (from the point of view of BN supporters off course)... I'm planning to cancel all my 3 Maybank cards too.One dilemma though .. for my Maybank Amex . The recent 15% cashback promo - I think I should have qualified for at least RM100 of cashback .... but this can't be confirmed yet and even if yes - it won't be credited back into my account until end of promo - Feb 2010. So smart of them ......... |
Dec 18 2009, 05:22 PM
1,230 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(fauzistt @ Dec 18 2009, 03:02 PM) ..count me in, i think i'mgoing to be stupid enough to pay for not one but maybe 2 principal cards and maybe a supp i recently applied.. i think some will also view me 'stupid enough' for voting oppposition in last GE (from the point of view of BN supporters off course)... Just to clarify, my comment was not meant to insult anyone but just my opinion as only a fool would choose to pay when there are obvious options not to, right? |
Dec 18 2009, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(Lis000 @ Dec 18 2009, 05:17 PM) One dilemma though .. for my Maybank Amex . The recent 15% cashback promo - I think I should have qualified for at least RM100 of cashback .... but this can't be confirmed yet and even if yes - it won't be credited back into my account until end of promo - Feb 2010. If you think you can get at least RM100 cash back after Feb 2010, then you should keep the card and thereafter cancel it soon after you receive the cash back.So smart of them ......... |
Dec 18 2009, 05:30 PM
102 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Dec 18 2009, 05:22 PM) Just to clarify, my comment was not meant to insult anyone but just my opinion as only a fool would choose to pay when there are obvious options not to, right? ..sorry, i take still offence to that.. in my opinion, my Amex gold cc (i miss on the SCB justone) is the best card i have and i'm sticking to it, stupid, fool or whatever labels... |
Dec 18 2009, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 18 2009, 04:23 PM) A friend told me HSBC UK has started issuing a card that is just like Standard Chartered Titanium Mastercard. Eventually all existing HSBC UK customers will receive this new VISA debit/credit card. It's been a few months now since they issued out the first one and there has been no complain to date. Actually there's no need to pressure them as they are more than happy to accomodate their value customers. All I did was just to ask them what's their stand on the issue & they assured me that there's nothing to worry about as the bank will take care of this for all their high value client. HSBC is going to pay the tax on your behalf ? That is good news ! I better go to their office to pressure them to pay for the taxes on my behalf too. Might not succeed but no harm trying |
Dec 18 2009, 05:39 PM
1,741 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Boon closed my topic ask me to post here pinned =(
K, juz want to let everyone know. I've been MBF credit card users for 6 years. Credit limit is 3k. I apply credit limit upgrade to 4k because I want to buy a notebook that cost RM3,500. Rejected. No reason given. I have a few times late payment but the next month I pay double the amount required. 5 years over my credit card expired. They send me a new one. I open letter. It's shining gold. I check online credit limit. Amazed it's still 3k. I send email to them in a sarcastic mean of describing my friend. My friend Citibank "CLASSIC" credit card users for 3 month. Payment good auto upgrade limit. No question ask. They called him and give him a special promotion on a loan of 9k with lowest interest rate that pay back on his credit card monthly. I'm amazed. MBF credit card. NEVER GOT ANY GOOD BENEFIT CALL FROM THEM EXCEPT LATE PAYMENT! If I don't get a good reply later, I'm going to cut it and change to Citibank. p.s. Forgot to add I'm actually ranting here lol. Really ma. I really want to ask them, you give me a card painted in gold but limit is still the classic limit why not you just give me the classic card, I don't really feel I'm having a gold card. zzz. I understand late payment, but I didn't just pay the minimum, there are even times I cleared the whole credit card. Somemore late payment they charge me interest they gain i lost wor =.=!! *sarcastically they didn't appreciate my tips (interest late) payment xD |
Dec 18 2009, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(fauzistt @ Dec 18 2009, 05:30 PM) ..sorry, i take still offence to that.. in my opinion, my Amex gold cc (i miss on the SCB justone) is the best card i have and i'm sticking to it, stupid, fool or whatever labels... Can understand where you are coming from, but compared to say the SCB VI, the Amex Gold CC just barely cuts it. But to each its own as I am a firm believer in free speech & the right to disagree. Peace Further, my comments were more targeted to those holding CCs with practically no extra benefits but yet will be paying for such mediocrity This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Dec 18 2009, 06:42 PM |
Dec 18 2009, 05:47 PM
84 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(winner @ Dec 18 2009, 05:27 PM) If you think you can get at least RM100 cash back after Feb 2010, then you should keep the card and thereafter cancel it soon after you receive the cash back. Yeah - that's what I'm probably doing. Though it's still a risk. If come end of Feb 2010 - and I didn't qualify for any cash back - I would have already paid the RM50 Service Tax. Which means I probably won't cancel it until the next yr round .... This post has been edited by Lis000: Dec 18 2009, 06:05 PM |
Dec 18 2009, 05:49 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Dec 18 2009, 05:36 PM) Actually there's no need to pressure them as they are more than happy to accomodate their value customers. All I did was just to ask them what's their stand on the issue & they assured me that there's nothing to worry about as the bank will take care of this for all their high value client. Ok. Was going to call them up yesterday but too busy then. Will do it next week. It will be a good Christmas present to me if they can absorb the tax on my behalf. Have to fork out RM150 myself just for my HSBC cards (2x principle + 2x supplementary) |
Dec 18 2009, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(shoduken @ Dec 18 2009, 05:39 PM) My friend Citibank "CLASSIC" credit card users for 3 month. It is the right time to choose a good card that suits you most, as banks are throwing freebies and promotions to attract customers in view of the declining numbers of cards.Payment good auto upgrade limit. No question ask. They called him and give him a special promotion on a loan of 9k with lowest interest rate that pay back on his credit card monthly. I'm amazed. MBF credit card. NEVER GOT ANY GOOD BENEFIT CALL FROM THEM EXCEPT LATE PAYMENT! If I don't get a good reply later, I'm going to cut it and change to Citibank. Btw, don't get trapped in easy money such as Personal Loan or Overdraft offered by banks. |
Dec 18 2009, 06:04 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(wu ming @ Dec 18 2009, 05:00 PM) Hi. I need help from the credit card masters. You have another alternative which is to get a Debit Card, check out the Debit Card thread and you'll note PBB Electron and Day2Day can use paypal. Debit cards are not taxed RM50 but there is an annual fee.I would like to do some sales on eBay but they insist us of having a credit card for that purpose. I have never used a credit card as I prefer to pay everything in cash. I do not like debt. I have only 1 bank account with CIMB bank. Any good recommendation? I will just be using the card for eBay purposes. How about the credit card fee that will be imposed which is proposed by the government? Thanks. QUOTE(shoduken @ Dec 18 2009, 05:39 PM) I've been MBF credit card users for 6 years. you open a thread to post above? what is your point? And for 6 years you never apply for another CC when you not happy with MBF? As you mentioned, just go get another card lah.Credit limit is 3k. I apply credit limit upgrade to 4k because I want to buy a notebook that cost RM3,500. Rejected. No reason given. I have a few times late payment but the next month I pay double the amount required. 5 years over my credit card expired. They send me a new one. I open letter. It's shining gold. I check online credit limit. Amazed it's still 3k. I send email to them in a sarcastic mean of describing my friend. My friend Citibank "CLASSIC" credit card users for 3 month. Payment good auto upgrade limit. No question ask. They called him and give him a special promotion on a loan of 9k with lowest interest rate that pay back on his credit card monthly. I'm amazed. MBF credit card. NEVER GOT ANY GOOD BENEFIT CALL FROM THEM EXCEPT LATE PAYMENT! If I don't get a good reply later, I'm going to cut it and change to Citibank. p.s. Forgot to add I'm actually ranting here lol. Really ma. I really want to ask them, you give me a card painted in gold but limit is still the classic limit why not you just give me the classic card, I don't really feel I'm having a gold card. zzz. I understand late payment, but I didn't just pay the minimum, there are even times I cleared the whole credit card. Somemore late payment they charge me interest they gain i lost wor =.=!! *sarcastically they didn't appreciate my tips (interest late) payment xD Having said the above, I can understand why MBF did not increase your CL, you must understand that RM3K CL is very very low and yet you can't even make RM150 (5% of CL) on time and have bad record payment history. Yes, Citibank Card do have all kind of "special promotion" loan (like blank cheque) but before you utilize/use these kind of "benefit", better ask yourself if you can pay back as the interest will be high. |
Dec 18 2009, 06:09 PM
1,345 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(shoduken @ Dec 18 2009, 05:39 PM) Boon closed my topic ask me to post here pinned =( You can actually pay RM500 cash and pay the rest with your credit card.K, juz want to let everyone know. I've been MBF credit card users for 6 years. Credit limit is 3k. I apply credit limit upgrade to 4k because I want to buy a notebook that cost RM3,500. Rejected. No reason given. I have a few times late payment but the next month I pay double the amount required. 5 years over my credit card expired. They send me a new one. I open letter. It's shining gold. I check online credit limit. Amazed it's still 3k. I send email to them in a sarcastic mean of describing my friend. My friend Citibank "CLASSIC" credit card users for 3 month. Payment good auto upgrade limit. No question ask. They called him and give him a special promotion on a loan of 9k with lowest interest rate that pay back on his credit card monthly. I'm amazed. MBF credit card. NEVER GOT ANY GOOD BENEFIT CALL FROM THEM EXCEPT LATE PAYMENT! If I don't get a good reply later, I'm going to cut it and change to Citibank. p.s. Forgot to add I'm actually ranting here lol. Really ma. I really want to ask them, you give me a card painted in gold but limit is still the classic limit why not you just give me the classic card, I don't really feel I'm having a gold card. zzz. I understand late payment, but I didn't just pay the minimum, there are even times I cleared the whole credit card. Somemore late payment they charge me interest they gain i lost wor =.=!! *sarcastically they didn't appreciate my tips (interest late) payment xD By the way, I have RM18k limit. I dun know why they want to give that limit to me who pay off everything. They did call me to offer loan, but I know the loan is not good for life. You spend what you earn, that is how things should work. Never enjoy when you have high limits, but rather you have enough cash in saving account, rite? By the way, you only have one card, so you are still under control.. Added on December 18, 2009, 6:18 pm QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 18 2009, 06:04 PM) You have another alternative which is to get a Debit Card, check out the Debit Card thread and you'll note PBB Electron and Day2Day can use paypal. Debit cards are not taxed RM50 but there is an annual fee. I don't know why bank wants to encourage us to take loan.you open a thread to post above? what is your point? And for 6 years you never apply for another CC when you not happy with MBF? As you mentioned, just go get another card lah. Having said the above, I can understand why MBF did not increase your CL, you must understand that RM3K CL is very very low and yet you can't even make RM150 (5% of CL) on time and have bad record payment history. Yes, Citibank Card do have all kind of "special promotion" loan (like blank cheque) but before you utilize/use these kind of "benefit", better ask yourself if you can pay back as the interest will be high. Some one called me: "We borrow you 11k, you can use it for business, whatever, no need to sign agreement also, just approved through phone." That is what my standard answer: "Sorry, we don't need it." I think borrowing is easy, but repaying back is so tough. I never take the instalment loan anymore after I paid 18 months of about RM150, feel like so long. Then I decided that I should just pay using cash. For me, loan only looks reasonable for the following three things: 1) Housing loan 2) Car loan 3) Educational loan 4) short term Medical loan The rests are not reasonable at all. Why enjoy now on what you don't have and suffer later? This post has been edited by epalbee3: Dec 18 2009, 06:18 PM |
Dec 18 2009, 07:04 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 18 2009, 06:09 PM) You can actually pay RM500 cash and pay the rest with your credit card. I don't know why bank wants to encourage us to take loan. Some one called me: "We borrow you 11k, you can use it for business, whatever, no need to sign agreement also, just approved through phone." As for the loan over the phone, yah HLB calls me often and say can give me loan for business and blah blah blah, HLB approval is over the phone and "loan" transfer directly into bank account. I did ask once can they actually approve it over the phone and was told conversation recorded. Alliance too always call me offering BT but need to fill in form I think. The point is for people with good payment records, banks are more than willing to loan money to them and increase their CL periodically even tho it is not requested. |
Dec 18 2009, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 18 2009, 06:09 PM) I don't know why bank wants to encourage us to take loan. Commercial banks nowadays are professional loan sharks. Some one called me: "We borrow you 11k, you can use it for business, whatever, no need to sign agreement also, just approved through phone." That is what my standard answer: "Sorry, we don't need it." I think borrowing is easy, but repaying back is so tough. I never take the instalment loan anymore after I paid 18 months of about RM150, feel like so long. Then I decided that I should just pay using cash. |
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:54 AM |