Overclocking 5870 PHAILED!, grey/red/chocolate bar screen

TSHou_JaI
post Dec 6 2009, 10:29 AM, updated 17y ago

1,129 posts

I am trying to overclock my graphic card, from hardforum, some dude managed to pump his card to 1050/1300@1.28V ... I have use MSI after burner to do the same but to no avail .... the moment i start playing MW2, the entire screen just go grey or sometimes red bar all over the screen...

edit to add link on how that fella over clock

http://www.hardforums.com/showthread.php?t...=overclock+5870

Can help me plz? tq notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Hou_JaI: Dec 6 2009, 10:31 AM
bryanyeo87
post Dec 6 2009, 11:23 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

Overclocking milage varies. Your card can be a card that cannot clock at all, or it can clock like hell.

//Moved to Hardware Q&A
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 6 2009, 12:07 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

The card probably can't run well at that clock. Lower it and see if that helps wink.gif
lex
post Dec 6 2009, 12:37 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

This is why I usually never mention nor recommend overclocking graphics card.. Lots of cards don't overclock well and/or might end up damaging the card itself.. tongue.gif

Note: Yet some forummers here insist on it over in this section... you can easily guess who are they.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 6 2009, 12:38 PM
Najmods
post Dec 6 2009, 12:39 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

What kind of games requires you to overclock HD5870 to play? Dont just overclock for fun, if its play games just fine why overclock?
TSHou_JaI
post Dec 6 2009, 12:55 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Dec 6 2009, 12:39 PM)
What kind of games requires you to overclock HD5870 to play? Dont just overclock for fun, if its play games just fine why overclock?
i understand tongue.gif just wanna push the limit ... anyway ... i managed to overclock the card after clearing all the drivers and then flash the card's bios ...

now at 1000/1300@1.28V ...

DarkSilver
post Dec 6 2009, 12:59 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

To play safe OCing, I didn't use any other 3rd Party Softwares to OC my HD5870 and I hate FLASHING the GPU too.
I just use the CCC to OC the HD5870 slightly(may OC more in the future but now no need that much).
Moreover, I do not prefer to higher the Voltage for OCing, it's the NO.1 rule for me.
Najmods
post Dec 6 2009, 01:17 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Dec 6 2009, 12:59 PM)
To play safe OCing, I didn't use any other 3rd Party Softwares to OC my HD5870 and I hate FLASHING the GPU too.
I just use the CCC to OC the HD5870 slightly(may OC more in the future but now no need that much).
Moreover, I do not prefer to higher the Voltage for OCing, it's the NO.1 rule for me.
I agree with the no Vcore increase when overclocking GPU. And most importantly, dont mess with Vmem and memory timing, its a surest ticket to hell. Both of them can reduce lifespan of the card significantly
chchyong89
post Dec 6 2009, 01:23 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

1.28v, when come to dual monitor, no problem as well? shocking.gif
DarkSilver
post Dec 6 2009, 01:31 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Dec 6 2009, 01:17 PM)
I agree with the no Vcore increase when overclocking GPU. And most importantly, dont mess with Vmem and memory timing, its a surest ticket to hell. Both of them can reduce lifespan of the card significantly
I suppose changing of Memory Clock is safe but changing it's Voltage and Timings are ridicolous. LOL.
I wonder why they want to OC the GPU crazily without having good cooling system? Push it to the maximal to burn it?
Moreover, each GPU even the same models have difference capability of OC. Some of them can OC very much but some just can't. This is due to the Build itself, because each GPU even the same model have different amount of Chemicals and Elements. So, the better quality(lucky) 1 will have better OC power! smile.gif
If I live in a very cold place(snowy and icy), I don't mind OC the GPU and CPU to the maximal. LOL.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 6 2009, 03:28 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

If you insist on o/cing such a high end card, wait for aftermarket coolers.
owikh84
post Dec 6 2009, 03:37 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ Dec 6 2009, 12:55 PM)
i understand tongue.gif just wanna push the limit ... anyway ... i managed to overclock the card after clearing all the drivers and then flash the card's bios ...

now at 1000/1300@1.28V ...
most prolly it has reach limit bro don't be so depressed.
it depends on how ur psu draw the power to ur gc too.
try change to a better psu like hx1000w & see..
i just let the fan spin static at 60%. phailed me when auto fan speed. that's for 5850 case lah.
temp is not the enemy at all since max temp hit 82C with 60% fan speed.
wira020
post Dec 6 2009, 03:44 PM

111 posts

Important stuffs to consider when OCing;

1. Consider the room temp.. dont just go for the best OC that people from countries with snow can do... we have a very hot climate... the card is already fed with higher than most temp in our country...
2. Watercooling is much better when OCing.. better heat removal... make sure watercool setup allow cold water to the heatsink on gpu.. not heated water from cpu heatsink... try putting radiator in between...
3. Not all chips acts the same... some extra overclocked gpus are hand picked for better durability and higher clock... same wafer does not mean same potential...
4. Good power supply... make sure enough Amps on the 12v rails... sometime can fail during loads...
5. Pray to god more... lols tongue.gif...

Anyhow, i gotta say you're pretty brave to OC it.. i'm too scared haha... maybe after i got more backup money i will try mine... and thats a pretty respectable oc too...
cyberloner
post Dec 25 2009, 07:46 PM

1,560 posts

oc is like a decease la... once oc keep wan oc... lol
such expensive card.. i choose use 1st.... until it slows on game only oc...

DarkSilver
post Dec 25 2009, 08:17 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Dec 25 2009, 07:46 PM)
oc is like a decease la... once oc keep wan oc... lol
such expensive card.. i choose use 1st.... until it slows on game only oc...
It's disease, I presumed?

Yes. I do agree with you that OC is like a disease or addiction.
Once you know how to OC, you will surely OC to hell. LOL.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 25 2009, 08:24 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Yep. Just like me. When I got my Zalman GV1000 cooler for my 9800GT back then, I only overclocked a lil ( 50MHz Core Increase, Shader forgotten ( linked with the Core ), and memory the same. ) Then a few days later I decided to overclock it real high.

750MHz 1825MHz 1000MHz clock for it. And it ran fine for a few weeks till I foolishly decided to remove the cooler and reapply thermal paste ( first time use idle was 42, then later became 44 and then 45 ). And I spilled a drop of thinner near one of my VRAM chips sweat.gif, was like shocking.gif and quickly wiped it off, applied the TIM, and got it back into my system. And it ran. Was relieved, but when I tried playing games, it would randomly freeze cry.gif. I tried lowering the clock from 750MHz to 740 and still freeze, got it down to 710MHz and it ran fine sweat.gif. Kept trying ways to get it back to 750MHz but couldn't. But now, I got it back to 730MHz hmm.gif Might be the new drivers Nvidia came out. 195.62. nod.gif. Gonna try going higher, but not now sweat.gif.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Dec 25 2009, 08:24 PM
DarkSilver
post Dec 25 2009, 08:34 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Dec 25 2009, 08:24 PM)
Yep. Just like me. When I got my Zalman GV1000 cooler for my 9800GT back then, I only overclocked a lil ( 50MHz Core Increase, Shader forgotten ( linked with the Core ), and memory the same. ) Then a few days later I decided to overclock it real high.

750MHz 1825MHz 1000MHz clock for it. And it ran fine for a few weeks till I foolishly decided to remove the cooler and reapply thermal paste ( first time use idle was 42, then later became 44 and then 45 ). And I spilled a drop of thinner near one of my VRAM chips sweat.gif, was like shocking.gif and quickly wiped it off, applied the TIM, and got it back into my system. And it ran. Was relieved, but when I tried playing games, it would randomly freeze cry.gif. I tried lowering the clock from 750MHz to 740 and still freeze, got it down to 710MHz and it ran fine sweat.gif. Kept trying ways to get it back to 750MHz but couldn't. But now, I got it back to 730MHz hmm.gif Might be the new drivers Nvidia came out. 195.62. nod.gif. Gonna try going higher, but not now sweat.gif.
Thermal Paste caused faulty? I heard Thermal Paste can cause problem if applied wrongly(slightly) or applied too much.

I still wonder my Laptop GPU(Geforce 9500M GS) can let me OC like crazy. >.< Compared to my Desktop GPU(Radeon HD5870), it's like heaven and earth.
A laptop GPU OC ability beats a desktop GPU's. OMG. Check my Signature to LOL.
Najmods
post Dec 26 2009, 01:38 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Dec 25 2009, 08:34 PM)
Thermal Paste caused faulty? I heard Thermal Paste can cause problem if applied wrongly(slightly) or applied too much.

I still wonder my Laptop GPU(Geforce 9500M GS) can let me OC like crazy. >.< Compared to my Desktop GPU(Radeon HD5870), it's like heaven and earth.
A laptop GPU OC ability beats a desktop GPU's. OMG. Check my Signature to LOL.

Some thermal paste are condictive, not all are non conductive. Be very careful not to get excited when applying thermal paste

The performance also like heaven and earth, why do you think they have different overclockability? For starters look at the transistor count, which one is much easier to clock higher, the low end simple 289 million transistor or high end very complex 2.15 BILLION transistor chip?
owikh84
post Dec 26 2009, 01:46 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Dec 26 2009, 01:38 AM)
Some thermal paste are condictive, not all are non conductive. Be very careful not to get excited when applying thermal paste

The performance also like heaven and earth, why do you think they have different overclockability? For starters look at the transistor count, which one is much easier to clock higher, the low end simple 289 million transistor or high end very complex 2.15 BILLION transistor chip?
GELID kills my GTX285AMP! dont drop the TIM on PCB!
sevensigns
post Dec 26 2009, 01:50 AM

"Cinta Sempurna"
1,180 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Dec 26 2009, 01:46 AM)
GELID kills my GTX285AMP! dont drop the TIM on PCB!
so can rma this? hmm.gif

0.0153sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:02 PM