US stock discussion v2
gilagolf
Dec 23 2009, 12:34 AM
Been following this thread and must say lots of experts around...i'm quite new to US investing, previously used Etrade but switched to Ameritrade lately. Anyone with any experience with Ameritrade?
1) It's been 3 weeks and they have not 'approved' my account yet! I asked them and they are still 'processing', does it always take so long?
2) Anyone with any experience withdrawing from Ameritrade into a local bank like HSBC? Their customer service been giving me strange answers and it doesnt look very straightforward.
Do I need to open a US account or can I have Ameritrade send direct to my HSBC?
gilagolf
Dec 23 2009, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 23 2009, 09:16 AM) 1) TD Ameritrade took 2 weeks to approve mine and I was able to fund it afterwards. It may take 3 weeks or longer during the holidays season (Christmas to New Year). 2) Ameritrade can't do ACH transfer with non-US bank. Just request a cheque or TT transfer. Best way is send in your documentation via Pos Laju and a bank draft for the amount you wanted to fund. Whole thing should take approx. 14 days. Good luck! Thanks DanMoonCake...yeah, I agree, probably send in a bank draft lah after the holidays...thanks a lot for the tip!