US stock discussion v2

danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 01:01 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(motolola @ Jan 23 2010, 12:46 AM)
all bulls full speed ahead! imo is just suffering from indigestion the past few days, after getting the diarrhea out the bulls will continue to run!

bought some brkb for ultra long term cool.gif
Yes, the market in the 3rd day of hangover and puking after over-eating up to (Dow) 10700+ calories.
What goes in, must come out. laugh.gif

Silver (SLV) is looking attractive here. Therefore, I'm scooping up some at 16.60. nod.gif

zamans98
post Jan 23 2010, 01:34 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 23 2010, 12:47 AM)
Actually you don't have to cut loss 'cos it will rebound back...
Cut loss is my strategy, I'm holding LVS 1,000 at avg 16.35, just dumped all at 16.48, cut loss lo.

Enter ING x400 @ 9.70. Insurance company not impacted by the recent move of Financial Sector.
danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 01:41 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jan 23 2010, 01:34 AM)
Cut loss is my strategy, I'm holding LVS 1,000 at avg 16.35, just dumped all at 16.48, cut loss lo.

Enter ING x400 @ 9.70. Insurance company not impacted by the recent move of Financial Sector.
zamans:

IMO, I think 16.35 or lower is doable. IMO, the gambling stocks in the
mid term they don't do well, perhaps short term, they may rise.

Depending on your trading time line, cutting loss and freeing some money
should be a good approach here. nod.gif

wildthings73
post Jan 23 2010, 02:03 AM

118 posts

Oh...Baby... It's going up 10Cent for my C. Isn't it great ?
Thanks to OBAMA.

The bull is back to town. Come to papa. smile.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 02:15 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(wildthings73 @ Jan 23 2010, 02:03 AM)
Oh...Baby... It's going up 10Cent for my C. Isn't it great ?
Thanks to OBAMA.

The bull is back to town. Come to papa. smile.gif
Patience is virtue.. rclxms.gif

My other favorite stock FCX hits its low in 72 this am. Grab a small position here for mid-term play.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 23 2010, 02:16 AM
wildthings73
post Jan 23 2010, 02:17 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 02:15 AM)
Patience is virtue..  rclxms.gif
biggrin.gif You r the best.
zamans98
post Jan 23 2010, 02:29 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

These are my holding as at today

C (when can I quit C??) - long way to go, perhaps on Jan 2011
AA - long term play, as dollar is still cheap and commodities will raise again
S (on board today) - theme play, US 2nd biggest carrier.
ING (on board today) - not affected by Banking "crisis"
STEC - Semi Conductor, more volatile than the rest or mother peer INTC. Speculative play only. Not for short term

All cash, no CONTRA or on LOAN/Credit

Anything happen, I can sleep well

Added on January 23, 2010, 2:48 amwow, late afternoon dumping in progress.

ZZZZ, time to sleep.. kenot tahan liao. Again, 3 digits down?

This post has been edited by zamans98: Jan 23 2010, 02:48 AM
danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 03:53 AM

10,123 posts

Yeah, 3 digits tonight.. we're closing back to 50 day MA on the majors.

If we touch 10000 and can't close above, look out below.

Hang on to your hats! tongue.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 05:35 AM

1,121 posts

did u all see tat? ain't obama great, the master in mega sales rclxms.gif maybe time for klse & s'pore pasar to get the hint wink.gif
for those of u who hav not met a dip which never recover, maybe time for u to meet one blink.gif
heard before the teori of bear jump out window doh.gif wonder wil there be rebound nex week? or panic sellers rule rclxub.gif
trigger my cut loss bye.gif moneyflies.gif heat (b: cut:13.50), hog (b: cut:23.59) oh well, u all know wat to do nex ya... nod.gif

danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 05:41 AM

10,123 posts

Closing update

Dow 10172.98 -216.90 -2.67%
Nasdaq 2205.29 -60.41 -2.21%
S&P 500 1091.76 -24.72 -2.16%

G' morning.. I guess it may not be too good this weekend. sad.gif

Just take 3 days to shave out 500+ points and 5%.

Thanks to Obama, half of my portfolio in red now. doh.gif

We're testing support at this time, if we get another leg down next week.. the trap door will open. nod.gif
Also, as protection, I've bought some puts. Better be paying for some premium than be sorry later.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 23 2010, 05:44 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 05:55 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 05:41 AM)
Closing update

Dow 10172.98 -216.90 -2.67%
Nasdaq 2205.29 -60.41 -2.21%
S&P 500 1091.76 -24.72 -2.16%

G' morning.. I guess it may not be too good this weekend.  sad.gif

Just take 3 days to shave out 500+ points and 5%.

Thanks to Obama, half of my portfolio in red now.  doh.gif

We're testing support at this time, if we get another leg down next week.. the trap door will open.  nod.gif
Also, as protection, I've bought some puts. Better be paying for some premium than be sorry later.
at least tell ur gang wat 'put' u bought la wink.gif ur gang follow u buy the dip, so optimistic, suspek now they in confusion mode rolleyes.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 06:26 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 23 2010, 05:55 AM)
at least tell ur gang wat 'put' u bought la  wink.gif ur gang follow u buy the dip, so optimistic, suspek now they in confusion mode  rolleyes.gif
I got followers? laugh.gif

Anyway, I'm projecting worst case scenario if we dive below 10K or S&P 1080 from here.
Therefore, I bought some Feb puts of VTI 54, TCK 33 and XPP 60.

I don't expect we will break below S&P 1080 but the way the market sentiment is going, you never know. sweat.gif

Oh..btw, I'm hoping Obama now can shut up. mad.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 23 2010, 07:04 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 07:28 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 06:26 AM)

Anyway, I'm projecting worst case scenario if we dive below 10K or S&P 1080 from here.

I don't expect we will break below S&P 1080 but the way the market sentiment is going, you never know.  sweat.gif

Oh..btw, I'm hoping Obama now can shut up.  mad.gif
they dun call u doomcake for nothing, any doom & gloom, u wil go to klse lyn & giv them a scare + wake them up from bull dream cool2.gif
dunno abt ur followers, but I have lighten up my gambling stock holding positions & those etf just bought, r for scared sheeps to hide in laugh.gif
anyone knows when date ben is to be confirm? guess is he wil be confirm rolleyes.gif coz there is no other better successor... haha

Short Week Yields Big Losses

5:15 p.m. Update: U.S. stocks fell hard Friday as bank worries persisted. A delay in confirming Ben Bernanke for a second term as Fed chairman also weighed on sentiment.

The Nasdaq dived 2.7%, hurt by semiconductors and a number of high-profile issues. Citigroup downgraded seven chip gear makers. The Philadelphia semiconductor index swooned 5.3% and sliced its 50-day moving average.

Meanwhile, the S&P 500 dropped 2.2%. It turned lower for the year and sliced its 50-day moving average. The Dow and NYSE composite lost 2.1% and 2%, respectively.

Volume fell across the board. But trade was above average on both exchanges. Friday's sell-off changed the outlook to market in correction.

For the week, the NYSE composite dumped 4.4%, Dow 4.1%, S&P 500 3.9% and the Nasdaq shed 3.6%.

Existing-home sales will also be out Monday.
danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 07:38 AM

10,123 posts

Personally, I've learned my own lessons from the last bear call.
I was too bearish last time, eventho I managed to score few. My timing was off and I did missed some opportunities. tongue.gif

This week, I learned another one. NEVER ignore Obama and his plans. doh.gif

He's not Bush. He is serious when he said he's going to punish the banks for their past mistakes. mad.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 23 2010, 07:40 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 07:49 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 07:38 AM)
Personally, I've learned my own lessons from the last bear call.
I was too bearish last time, eventho I managed to score few. My timing was off and I did missed some opportunities. tongue.gif

This week, I learned another one.  NEVER ignore Obama and his plans.  doh.gif

He's not Bush. He is serious when he said he's going to punish the banks for their past mistakes.  mad.gif
they voted for hope & change
we must profit from it cool2.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 23 2010, 08:02 AM

10,123 posts

On Monday, I expect the existing home sales will be bad for December as it has always been for winter months.
Therefore, I don't expect a catalyst until FOMC meeting. Even that.. Consumer Confidence report may sink things since jobless claims rose last month. Looks like dark clouds for the storm is forming. whistling.gif

Time to plan for bear raid this weekend. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 23 2010, 08:03 AM
epalbee3
post Jan 23 2010, 08:33 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 23 2010, 05:35 AM)
did u all see tat? ain't obama great, the master in mega sales  rclxms.gif maybe time for klse & s'pore pasar to get the hint 
for those of u who hav not met a dip which never recover, maybe time for u to meet one  
heard before the teori of bear jump out window doh.gif wonder wil there be rebound nex week? or panic sellers rule  rclxub.gif
trigger my cut loss bye.gif  moneyflies.gif heat (b: cut:13.50), hog (b: cut:23.59) oh well, u all know wat to do nex ya...
sulifeisgreat:

What do you mean by a dip that never recover?

Added on January 23, 2010, 9:27 amI have 155 C at 3.34, will hold long..

I guess there will be continue dip for next week.

In news, china will raise interest in next quarter..

Added on January 23, 2010, 9:29 am
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 06:26 AM)

I don't expect we will break below S&P 1080 but the way the market sentiment is going, you never know.  sweat.gif

Oh..btw, I'm hoping Obama now can shut up.  mad.gif
So you are buying insurance so that someone will buy all your shares at $54, if the market really read? wink.gif

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Jan 23 2010, 09:29 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 09:54 AM

1,121 posts

for now, I rather eat popcorn & watch the usa, klse & s'pore show brows.gif
for me, feels is a bit too late to short now & awaiting stabilization... before shorting flex.gif
understand there r obama luvers around, so no offense ya for my 'uploads' on ur luver rolleyes.gif

if u ride up for profit since last year, u mus learn how to keep ur profit & try dun ride it down to longkang, anyway, wateva it is, best stick to ur own plan whistling.gif
who knows? maybe tis is jus a minor earthquake shakeout & sunny times will be back sooner or later laugh.gif

http://www.democraticunderground.com//disc...&mesg_id=143863

http://conservativedatingsite.com/blog/201...f-barack-obama/

http://www.marketoracle.co.uk/Article16672.html

below r uploads to lighten up ur day, since obama lighting up ur bank ac shocking.gif

I love to watch this video of the Obama Putin so called “power breakfast”. The body language of Obama and Putin are very interesting. It is fun to watch the feckless Obama try to stay “in command” of the breakfast. You will see Obama trying to exert control with an “um” before he is even completely sat down. You will notice Putin examining a roll, then rejecting it while Obama drones on about... Well, nothing. You will see Obama repeatedly try to gain control with body language, nasal rejection, holding his hand up. You will see the Russians in a very relaxed way just sort of ignoring him.

America’s image is better, no doubt, but uncertainty and procrastination prevail. One major international political leader recently put it well: “Not only does the leadership of this region not think that Obama is strong enough to confront his enemies; they aren’t sure he is strong enough to support his friends.” The administration seems “hopelessly naive,” according to one Arab foreign minister, and unable to face the full truth about Islamic terrorism.

zamans98
post Jan 23 2010, 11:06 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

oh! Just great... another huge 3 digits.

Wipe out -2K of my holding. WTF, I was only expecting <100 pts drop.

STEC is the worst performer in my holding.
epalbee3
post Jan 23 2010, 01:42 PM

1,345 posts

If the dip persists, should I buy FAS in large scale?

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:32 PM