5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V2, Official Owner's Lounge (V1 overloaded)

cy-yang
post Jan 15 2010, 03:36 PM

563 posts

how about a asus G71gx vs alienware M17x ??

cy-yang
post Jan 18 2010, 11:08 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 18 2010, 09:52 PM)
I used to think,

"aiya weight is not an issue, i'll carry it around"

but.. maybe its just me, its okay to carry it around, but not for TOO long.
oh btw, i'm using the Alienware Orion Backpack, its a solid and "not so light" backpack. tongue.gif
wow.. u guys think can i built a M17x as my desktop replacement?
i currently don have any desktop, but suffering abt this problem..
u guys own a desktop?
cy-yang
post Jan 18 2010, 11:32 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 18 2010, 11:19 PM)
As for me, I have 3 notebooks and no desktops. I mean, the only 3 computing devices I own personally, not family... So I don't forsee myself getting a desktop but I would get a desktop replacement like a m17x Or a possible newer model from Alienware which is 17" or above.

I feel you can build a M17x as a desktop replacement and I support the idea of being able to carry your desktop around and being more mobile. The only catch is that you will have to invest more to make a notebook a really good desktop replacement. Lets say you want the best GPU with SLI, you have to spend few K more to upgrade the standard single NVidia GTX 260M to either a Double 260M or a Double GTX 280M. And get a good processor and 4-6GB Ram with a good HD and you should be good to go.....

But if you're gonna spend on a M17x, Go all the way.... smile.gif
yea.. thats what im thinking in my mind...
is more portable compare to a gaming desktop 15kg above..

so, u getting all the notebook as replacement because of portable?
cy-yang
post Jan 18 2010, 11:52 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 18 2010, 11:35 PM)
As for now, i only want a portable machine, in other words a portable desktop. So yea, AW is the answer for now.

Might wanna get the AW desktop when i start to work in the future. tongue.gif
wow.... AW desktop lagi drool.gif
nice 1..
btw, u guys think AW is a good replacement?? since u guys using it will know more..
my dream is AW too.. my skul getting 1 AW for my courses lecture for only presentation.. sweat.gif
cy-yang
post Jan 18 2010, 11:57 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 18 2010, 11:51 PM)
Yup. Thats the idea. End of the day. The notebook is not comparable to the high end desktop when it comes to performance, but I can live with that knowing I can bring my work around.
Like Screemo said, Maybe in the future, for me... when I settle down.... and buy my own house ..... Who knows? Mindset might change and I might get the desktop instead. But since I'm still mobile and always travelling.... Im sticking to my notebook. But every photographer would need a notebook anyway, So I forsee myself having a mobile system at least in the future as well..... icon_idea.gif
oh yea.. u mind thinking same with me... lol

Added on January 18, 2010, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 18 2010, 11:54 PM)
+1
What school??  drool.gif
limkokwing.. coz my major r games tech..
but v still cannot touch the AW... but nvm.. v still have many things to play..
PS3, Xbox and so on..
rock band really rock us around..

This post has been edited by cy-yang: Jan 18 2010, 11:59 PM
cy-yang
post Jan 19 2010, 12:22 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(syazwankiller @ Jan 19 2010, 12:07 AM)
Anyone can recommend me AW laptop ? I need a light one , able to handle high graphic games . thanks alot
wait for m11x.. high end gaming netbook..
weight less than 2kg but 11" only..

cy-yang
post Jan 19 2010, 12:43 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 19 2010, 12:40 AM)
Yo doc, what QFT?
same question here unsure.gif
cy-yang
post Jan 19 2010, 01:26 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 19 2010, 12:47 AM)
its Quote For Truth.

meaning that i am totally agree with your statement smile.gif
okay.. i see.. haha biggrin.gif

Added on January 19, 2010, 9:39 am
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jan 19 2010, 01:25 AM)
wa, wa,wa im back guys, wanna sell my mouse at RM200
selling ur AW's mouse at RM200???

This post has been edited by cy-yang: Jan 19 2010, 09:39 AM
cy-yang
post Jan 19 2010, 06:45 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 19 2010, 02:02 PM)
Puto sold off his AW STuff and the mouse is one of the accessories he's letting go. its at least cheaper by a hundred than buying outside.... smile.gif
haha.. yea.. I know him
but consider cheap what at this price..
cy-yang
post Jan 22 2010, 07:11 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jan 22 2010, 03:19 PM)
Got a call from Dell sales rep. He inform me that the m17x R2 with i5 & i7 will be online by tomorrow in www.dell.com.my 

Shopping Time!
hahaha... rclxms.gif
I waiting for i7 at M17x only.. is time to own a M17x .. kaka
btw, will increase the price?
cy-yang
post Jan 24 2010, 12:00 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 23 2010, 11:20 PM)
Erm, sometimes the 9 cells do give you an edge. For example, during classes, when im using only flash/photoshop, the 9 cell batteries will last me the whole lesson without needing the power supply. If I'm using the 6 cells, i will need to plug in the power half way thru. But of cuz gaming, you need the battery. For casual usage, 9 cells FTW!! biggrin.gif
wow...
u bring ur m15x to class??
not heavy??
cy-yang
post Jan 26 2010, 05:49 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jan 26 2010, 03:16 PM)
Metalic Nebula Red
Core 2 Q9000 (2GHz / 1066FSB / 6MB Cache)
8GB DDRIII 1333MHz
SLI Dual 1GB GDDR3 nVidia GeForce GTX 280M
1TB 7200RPM SATA RAID 0 (2x 500GB)
8x DVD-RW Drive
3 yrs premium complete cover

Upgrading to
i7 820QM
Dual 1GB ATI Crossfire 4870
17-inch WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 RGB LED
The rest will be the same as above

[attachmentid=1418997]

more photos: http://ldragon.fotopic.net/c1806194.html

Anyone manage to get the M17x to output audio thru SPDIF? i tested using optical & coaxial SPDIF it doesn't work..i was trying to output Dolby Digital & DTS to the external decoder.
how much u brought this babe?
cy-yang
post Jan 27 2010, 02:20 AM

563 posts

Do any1 here purchase their AW at US??
coz planning to cal my aunty get for me..
She told me if upgrade the warranty to at least 3 years then will change to international warranty dy..
But i want to know will malaysia charge the tax?
cy-yang
post Jan 28 2010, 11:31 PM

563 posts

hey all AW's owner, which colour of AW nice?
silver or black? personally love silver.. but didn't view a real AW before..
cy-yang
post Jan 28 2010, 11:39 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 28 2010, 11:32 PM)
NEBULA RED!  rclxm9.gif
look like a toy lerh.. haha
dunno la..
but interested only in silver or black only.. biggrin.gif
cy-yang
post Jan 28 2010, 11:47 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 28 2010, 11:42 PM)
Lets poison him!  brows.gif
NEBULA REDDDD!
show me some picture pls..
i going to order my m17x ..beh tahan dy...
but choosing color now
cy-yang
post Jan 28 2010, 11:52 PM

563 posts

not i7.. why dell malaysia website didn't change to i7 since every1 said m17x R2 release ?
cy-yang
post Jan 28 2010, 11:54 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 28 2010, 11:53 PM)
Takes time for it to come here. 1Malaysia  cool2.gif
haha.. lol
but i7 will more xpensive then..
cy-yang
post Jan 29 2010, 12:04 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jan 28 2010, 11:55 PM)
baru ma.. lol.. i wonder what the next proc will be name after?
but i7 actually not suit for gaming yea..
cure quad better..
cy-yang
post Jan 29 2010, 12:39 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Jan 29 2010, 12:34 AM)
BLAAAAAAAAACK!!!
=D
why no silver here ya?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:02 AM