Acer Aspire CPU upgrade..., It is a Laptop CPU upgrade!!!!???

TSmochachoke
post Dec 3 2009, 04:53 PM, updated 16y ago

PGB GPS
766 posts

I need some expert.....

Just bought the laptop Acer Aspire. Its running an AMD Athlon 2650e 64 processor at 1.6 Ghz. I have a AMD Athlon X2 5200+ 2.8Ghz 2000FSB and 1Mb L2 which both are same socket which is AM2 that I want to install cost only RM195. I know it will fit the computer but is it safe to make the switch. Should make Vista run faster and help my video analysis software run smoother. However, will the computer freak when I change it, will it overheat? Just curious? Looking for any advice
d4rkholeang3l
post Dec 3 2009, 06:35 PM

1,373 posts

err..you cant change ur lappy CPU....
TSmochachoke
post Dec 3 2009, 08:48 PM

PGB GPS
766 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Dec 3 2009, 06:35 PM)
err..you cant change ur lappy CPU....
Of course can... One of my mate have change the amd cpu in her lappy... Only amd can but intel and other cannot...
But just curious what will happen in acer machines...
Json188
post Dec 4 2009, 02:43 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Dec 3 2009, 09:48 PM)
Of course can...  One of my mate have change the amd cpu in her lappy... Only amd can but intel and other cannot...
But just curious what will happen in acer machines...
it's not just the socket have to be same to change the cpu..
it's the motherboard that can support what processor..
not all motherboard have same spec and same requirement..
one of the example is how much FSB do your laptop's mobo can support?
u have to check back your laptop motherboard 1st to do so..

and one other thing, but just my opinion..u can ignore below thing if u dun like it..
what is the advantage of a laptop?
it's only the mobility of a laptop that makes everyone so fond about it..
laptop will never be better than a desktop in term of perfomance plus economial..
that's y it's not really worth to upgrade a certain part of a laptop..
if i was you, i did rather buy a new laptop instead of upgrade it..

This post has been edited by Json188: Dec 4 2009, 02:47 PM
TSmochachoke
post Dec 4 2009, 03:13 PM

PGB GPS
766 posts

I hav made a survey.... They all hav upgrade it and overclock the upgraded cpu without experience thermal shutdown, battery lifespan, and blue screen... They were using 5050e and LE based processor awhich its TDP of 45W...
Spade
post Dec 15 2009, 12:34 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Dec 4 2009, 03:13 PM)
I hav made a survey.... They all hav upgrade it and overclock the upgraded cpu without experience thermal shutdown, battery lifespan, and blue screen... They were using 5050e and LE based processor awhich its TDP of 45W...
AMD mainstream notebooks are only suppose to support 35W TDP. I just don't think 5050e (destined for desktop) will suitable for a notebook.

By the way, where do you get this 5050e? Sounds nice. Any idea the price? Thanks.

This post has been edited by Spade: Dec 15 2009, 12:37 PM
TSmochachoke
post Dec 18 2009, 09:06 PM

PGB GPS
766 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 15 2009, 12:34 PM)
AMD mainstream notebooks are only suppose to support 35W TDP. I just don't think 5050e (destined for desktop) will suitable for a notebook.

By the way, where do you get this 5050e? Sounds nice. Any idea the price? Thanks.
well mine adapter 90W so different 10W maybe not significant changes in laptop performance or else... Since i have check the processor in the notebook....seems like just same like desktop processor... well Athlon 2560e just same as 5050e in term of its socket which AM2 and its pin 940...and the size almost the same as stock processor... huhuhhu... thanks.. smile.gif

i get this processor at ebay because this AM2 is an old stuff... now lowyat sell AM2+ and AM3 socket processor... sad.gif
this processor cost RM140...
Mr.Docter
post Dec 20 2009, 05:15 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/863032

good luck.
Spade
post Dec 22 2009, 07:05 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Dec 18 2009, 09:06 PM)
well mine adapter 90W so different 10W maybe not significant changes in laptop performance or else... Since i have check the processor in the notebook....seems like just same like desktop processor... well Athlon 2560e just same as 5050e in term of its socket which AM2 and its pin 940...and the size almost the same as stock processor... huhuhhu... thanks.. smile.gif

i get this processor at ebay because this AM2 is an old stuff... now lowyat sell AM2+ and AM3 socket processor... sad.gif
this processor cost RM140...
Hope the mainboard and the BIOS can support the processor. Anyway, do keep us updated on your endeavor. Good luck to you man.
sharonk868
post Dec 30 2009, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Dec 3 2009, 04:53 PM)
I need some expert.....

Just bought the laptop Acer Aspire. Its running an AMD Athlon 2650e 64 processor at 1.6 Ghz. I have a AMD Athlon X2 5200+ 2.8Ghz 2000FSB and 1Mb L2 which both are same socket which is AM2 that I want to install cost only RM195. I know it will fit the computer but is it safe to make the switch. Should make Vista run faster and help my video analysis software run smoother. However, will the computer freak when I change it, will it overheat? Just curious? Looking for any advice
Thanks you for the post.
Hi guys, Im a newbie. Nice to join this forum.
post Jan 6 2010, 11:16 PM

PGB GPS
766 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 22 2009, 07:05 PM)
Hope the mainboard and the BIOS can support the processor. Anyway, do keep us updated on your endeavor. Good luck to you man.
hahaha... im sucessfully update my lappy processor.... 5050e do well in my lappy... huhuh from solo core to dual core... tongue.gif

0.0190sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:05 AM