Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

dj.sars
post Mar 9 2010, 04:05 AM

255 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : dslr
Budget: 4k-5k
Your Location: penang
Preferable brand : nikon
Type of photography u want to do : taking photos in clubs, rave parties, normal parties, weddings, and outdoors.
Any specific models in mind? : d5000 or d90
Any specific features u want? : so far cant think of any specific features needed just want the pictures to look as natural and as nice as it can be
dj.sars
post Mar 9 2010, 08:59 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 9 2010, 08:10 AM)
if budget is more than 4k, and you want a nikon, of course is D90 since it has build in AF motor.

get D5000 and in future prepare to pay more got lens
sorry for a noob question
actually if got the motor and dont have the motor whats the difference ?
i was thinking of saving more in order to get lenses thats why i asked about d5000 as well
dj.sars
post Mar 9 2010, 10:45 PM

255 posts

thanks for the feedback smile.gif
btw i will be using it more on clubs parties and stuffs like that but im also gonna use it for normal outing usage as well
and all these while ive only been working with lx3 only
finally making a change to dslr so i just need ppls opinion to help me make my choice

dj.sars
post Mar 10 2010, 12:26 AM

255 posts

lol i work in clubs thats why i can take em into clubs im a dj trying to make a move into photography tongue.gif
actually i like the outcome of the lx3 but so far never tried getting any lenses for the lx3 as for limitations that wan i really not sure at all la
so far my lx3 satisfy me its just that im thinking of getting deeper into photography
thats why i plan on getting a dslr if i never thought that way i will just continue with it and not planned on getting a dslr
i just wanna find something else to do professionally

dj.sars
post Mar 10 2010, 03:26 PM

255 posts

yes jloi i heard someone telling me bout that difference between d90 and d5000 before and thats the person that made me want to wait and save up for it lol
btw what kinda lens you guys think i should go for ? i was thinking 50mm 1.4
dj.sars
post Mar 10 2010, 05:21 PM

255 posts

hmm then which lens would be recommended for taking pictures in places like clubs ?
dj.sars
post Mar 11 2010, 05:14 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 10 2010, 08:46 PM)
i think d90 kit lens (18-135mm, f3.5) + flash (built in or speedlight) will do..or if u aim for more zoom then can get 18~200mm lens..or get d tamron 17~50mm, f2.8..wider than kit lens 1mm and f2.8..i using this lens and is very good for most kind of shooting smile.gif
d5000 come with kit lens? hmm sound like worth it..coz new 1 with kitlens cost around 2.6~2.7k..i guess  tongue.gif
lol i dont want long long kinda lenses the 17-50 sounds good compare to 18-135 or the 18-200
longer lenses will be a trouble when a place is full of people
dj.sars
post Mar 14 2010, 05:03 AM

255 posts

id like to ask something here tongue.gif
is it ok to go for the d80 over the d90 ?
coz i think the difference isnt really much isnt it ?
dj.sars
post Mar 14 2010, 10:46 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Mar 14 2010, 02:32 PM)
The 15-85 would be better, though not much has been said about it, so we have no idea how it performs compared to the previous 17-85 IS it replaces.

The 24-105 is too wide for an APS-C frame, and even I struggle at 18mm with the noob kitlens. It's your choice, you should mount both lenses and see the difference in range. It'll help you make up your mind.
It's definitely okay. You will save a lot in the process as IINM, D80 kits (2nd hand) are going for RM2k+. Correct me if I'm wrong.

The D90 improves quite a lot, but if price-wise, definitely the D80 wins, hands down. Besides, we don't need HD video.
thanks for the feedback wandererx tongue.gif
btw d80 body got motor ?
dj.sars
post Mar 15 2010, 09:32 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Mar 15 2010, 02:06 AM)
got motor smile.gif but try to play around with one 1st. some ppl dun like the buttons
hmm how come the buttons are different compare to the buttons on d90 ?
dj.sars
post Mar 15 2010, 06:21 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Mar 15 2010, 02:39 PM)
got difference

this is D80

this is D90

some people say the directional pad of D80 not nice to use, also the D90 menu is easier

juz a small issue la i guess
thanks for the pictures
now only i know that differences =P

i guess ill have to go check it out first

0.0611sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:44 PM