Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

AronC
post Sep 11 2010, 01:21 PM

302 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital SLR
Budget: RM3,000-RM4,000
Your Location: Kota Kinabalu
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : All sorts
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 550D, Canon EOS 60D (upcoming)
Any specific features u want? : User-friendly, getting serious in photography

By the way, want to ask all DSLR owners with HD/FHD video recording feature, how often do you use your video recording feature when you got your gadget? Thanks in advance. smile.gif

I don't know whether I should get the Canon EOS 60D with video recording or Canon 50D with magnesium alloy body.

This post has been edited by AronC: Sep 11 2010, 03:57 PM
AronC
post Sep 13 2010, 01:08 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(frensucker @ Sep 13 2010, 12:32 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR for beginners
Budget:around 1.6K and BELOW
Your Location: KL  
Preferable brand : SONY/CANON/NIKON
Type of photography u want to do :COLLEGE EVENTS & GATHERINGS
Any specific models in mind? :ANY
Any specific features u want? :BEST FOR BEGINNERS.

PLEASE AND TQ
For your budget, I suggest Canon 1000D with 18-55mm kit lens. Spend more time in taking photograph and you shall gain some experience. Get lenses based on your needs. Good luck dude. smile.gif

QUOTE(hazremi @ Sep 11 2010, 11:17 PM)
do u know where to find the price list of canon's crazy sale?
As far as I know, the price varies from shops to shops. Shop in any Canon Authorized Dealers and get their brochures.

This post has been edited by AronC: Sep 13 2010, 01:10 AM
AronC
post Sep 13 2010, 06:34 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(umarluffy @ Sep 13 2010, 04:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  dslr
Budget: 1500-2000
Your Location:   johor bahru
Preferable brand :  any brands
Type of photography u want to do :  potrait, landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  entry-level
Any specific features u want? :  best for first time user

i want to buy a dslr for my dad. he is never used a dslr before. so he asked me to find a friendly user dslr so that he can use it properly.
he is a teacher and also a part time work as artist(pelukis)
anyone can help me to decide which is the best entry-level dslr for me to buy..
which brands can offer auto focus lens and friendly use dslr for my dad.
Actually most of the DSLR offers auto focus lens. Canon EOS 1000D with kit 18-55mm is a great package for entry-level. User-friendly, budgeted DSLR too. Unless you have more budget then go for Canon EOS 550D. drool.gif

QUOTE(xdeer @ Sep 13 2010, 06:24 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: Below 1.5k
Your Location:   Melaka
Preferable brand :  nikon or canon
Type of photography u want to do :  all type of photography
Any specific models in mind? :  d40/d70
Any specific features u want? : 
-occasionally doing hdr so auto bracketing is a plus
-always shoot in low lighting condition(inside building), iso range is usable below iso 1600
You should get a Canon EOS 1000D as well. Used it before, ISO up to 1600. Canon Gila-Gila Sales are on now. You can get the package around the price. Remember to bargain for freebies. thumbup.gif
AronC
post Sep 14 2010, 07:21 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Sep 14 2010, 08:24 AM)
with the 3.5k u can get a Nikon D90+ 18-105mm lens +50mm f1.8 or a Canon 550D + 18-135mm lens both are almost the same price.
I don't know about Nikon, his suggestion is great, but I would rather getting a Canon 550D with kit lens 18-55mm. Depends on your need, can try to get extra lenses - Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II and Canon EF-S 55-250mm.
AronC
post Sep 14 2010, 10:54 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(LazyChildren @ Sep 14 2010, 07:36 PM)
can u explain me bout the lens?? i know nth bout slr.. ><
lens 18-55mm and 18-135mm wat the different??
then wat is EF 50mm f/1.8?? and so on??
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 14 2010, 08:30 PM)
lol I think it's best you just stick with the kitlens, and start learning about the gear you're using smile.gif Rather than splash on stuffs you don't even know or how to use.
QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Sep 14 2010, 08:51 PM)
yeah either u stick with kit lens OR u go to papa Google or mama  Wikipedia for answers
Sorry for the late reply LazyChildren, yeah they're right. Stick to kit lens. 18-135mm has more zoom than 18-55mm. EF 50mm is a prime lens. Don't worry, you will know more when you get your DSLR. tongue.gif
AronC
post Sep 16 2010, 10:37 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(kadz @ Sep 16 2010, 06:46 AM)
is it worth to buy eos 550D with kit lens or separately ?
If you demand for a whole new kit lens, then of course buying the bundle kit will be worthier. Else, you just buy the body only and search for the kit lens in LYN. There's a lot of people who sells a new / superb condition kit lens with RM300++. Good luck. thumbup.gif
AronC
post Sep 20 2010, 11:49 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Confession @ Sep 20 2010, 02:30 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM1500+/- include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : Basically everything, would like to learn more on photography and this will be my first DSLR
Any specific models in mind? :
Any specific features u want? : As long as it is value for the money paid =)
Canon EOS 1000D + Kit Lens 18-55mm or Nikon D3000 with Kit lens 18-55mm,
No offence to Nikon user, but I prefer Canon biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Johnny_Boy @ Sep 20 2010, 04:38 AM)
Canon 330 vs 550 ..

for a noob .. what has to be choose?
Can you clearly state what model and series? doh.gif
AronC
post Sep 24 2010, 03:00 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Jason5877 @ Sep 24 2010, 02:04 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accessories : DSLR
Budget: Around 3.5k
Your Location: PJ
Preferable brand : Nikon or Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, product, and portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D90(18-105mm kits), Canon 50D(18-55mm kits) / 550D
Any specific features u want? : Video doesn't important. I need nice quality picture, color and low noise high ISO.

Any recommendation? Choosing between D90 or 50D, already headache...
Since you said you do not mind about video, I will recommend you to buy Canon EOS 50D. The magnesium body is drool.gif
Don't go for 550D, it's entry level body, 50D is semi-pro already. smile.gif

AronC
post Sep 26 2010, 09:15 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Jason5877 @ Sep 25 2010, 10:38 AM)
The seller said the Nikon will provide sharper image. And the Canon 50D will give u faster focusing.
Nikon doesn't provide sharper image, maybe the seller referring to AF accuracy. Hence he concluded AF accurate = sharper. However, it still depend on your lens, and skills. biggrin.gif If your handshake easily, fails you too. smile.gif Go for what you like.

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Sep 25 2010, 12:09 PM)
I got problem choosing dslr right now. budget is 2.5k to 4k. now got few candidates: Canon 50D, 60D, Nikon D90. Any recommendation? Mainly use for overall photography. I have decided to purchase tamron 17-50mm without VC.
50D and 60D not really the same anymore. Yes 60D is a replacement for 50D, but 60D do not have the Micro AF Adjustment and magnesium alloy body. If you do not need a video recording feature, I will recommend 50D. No comment for Nikon D90. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nicklaus @ Sep 25 2010, 10:02 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :DSLR
Budget : around RM 2700 and below
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Night mode, behind the glass feature, sunset, model photography (beginner)
Any specific models in mind? : Not really(looking at 1000D, D90, 550
Any specific features u want? : Battery life, Good image stabilizer (for shaky hands), must be able to handle future upgrades of lens
Canon 550D / Nikon D90 with kit lens 18-55mm. Have no idea, kindly refer http://www.digitalreview.ca/content/Canon-...Nikon-D90.shtml
AronC
post Sep 27 2010, 09:50 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 27 2010, 08:44 PM)
Newbie here actually. Not sure how big is consider big hand. Shud be big hand kua... My budget is possible less than RM3500. Any recommended shop? Previously using Sony T10 now can't satisfy me anymore.
Canon EOS 550D with 18-55mm kit lens. With Canon Gila-gila sale you should get the price around RM2700-2800, can get a battery grip or any accessories. Depends on your need also. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cherryfrut @ Sep 27 2010, 09:32 PM)
Hi... im currently looking for a dslr... kinda new to it.. not planning to get an entry lvl though (save the money if wanna upgrade later?)..

Type of camera/lens/accessories : DSLR
Budget: below 4k is fine i guess (flexible)
Your Location: Pg
Preferable brand : Nikon or Canon (wat do u actually think of sony nex? O.O)
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, product, and portrait (anything.. hobby thingy)
Any specific models in mind? : D90, 50D, 60D (is 550D good?)
Any specific features u want? : nice quality picture and colour =D
any recommendations? i know i need to do some research myself as well.. but wud really appreciate what u all think~

Thanks alot =D
Since you mentioned you are not planning to get an entry level DSLR, go for Canon EOS 50D, or probably a 60D after it has officially released. It's a semi-pro body. Canon EOS 550D considered as the best entry level body, so you wouldn't want it. smile.gif
AronC
post Oct 4 2010, 07:26 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(asiahost @ Oct 4 2010, 07:04 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: RM 4K
Preferable brand: Canon
Type of photography u want to do:  Indoor, Travel, outdoor, food, landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 550d / 60d
Any specific features u want? :  -
With budget RM4000, go for Canon 60D or 50D. Canon 550D is entry level DSLR but I do not recommend. Make your wise choice, if you can afford higher-priced then get the best APS-C body - Canon EOS 7D. RM4300 body only is the cheapest bargain I know.
AronC
post Oct 4 2010, 09:04 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 4 2010, 07:29 PM)
It depends on your needs. if u do not need the high high speed shutter and articulating screen why not go for 550D and take the balance of at least RM750 u can get other good lens.

If u need the above mention 60D is ideal for you.

Here the comparison

Quality output is quite close
3 different level DSLR, hardly to be compared together.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 4 2010, 07:29 PM)
I'd still go for an "entry level" body and spend the budget on nice lenses.
Depends, if you're really into photography, I prefer nice body with kit lenses. Save up for nice lenses later on. If body itself couldn't perform good, even you have a very good lens also useless. So you would just need to upgrade your lens but not body anymore. IMO. smile.gif
AronC
post Oct 7 2010, 10:10 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 4 2010, 09:07 PM)
the benefit in investing in lenses even u upgrade your camera u still can use back your lenses
Yes I agree, but IMO just go for the best body you can afford. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 4 2010, 09:18 PM)
Different level?How so?These 3 share similar image quality,so how can they be on different levels?We're not comparing a 5D mark 2 vs and entry level APS-C body here,neither a 1D mark 4 vs a 7D.

Aiya, what do you mean hor?Magnesium alloy body can produce better pictures than a plastic body izzit ? laugh.gif

Again said, how can a better build quality perform better?LOL unless you're talking about taking heavy knocks/drops here and there or in extreme weather until it's totally unusable liao, then i can understand.But what you mentioned i really cannot comprehend,seriously

I'd rather go for a 450/550D with an L rather than a 60D body with a "kit" anytime any day,even though i really like 60D body much more smile.gif

Exactly, and also body tends to get outdated much faster compared to lenses

1. Do you mean their mega-pixels are almost the same, hence they share similar image quality? laugh.gif
2. That's definitely an advantage. If you like a light-body then it's up to you. I never say that too. laugh.gif
3. Try compare the image quality of a L lens on 550D, and L lens on 7D. Canon EOS 7D has a BETTER AF system than 60D and 550D. Yes, 60D 9 cross-type AF can hardly be compared with 7D 19 cross-type AF. But have you ever try the cross-type AF before you prefer a 550D with an lens? laugh.gif

Added on October 7, 2010, 1:45 pm

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 4 2010, 10:23 PM)
+1 yea i agree. if u watch the video except shutter speed and body build it dont make much different.should go for L lens for the additional quality and speed focus
No point going for L lens for additional quality and speed focus if your body AF isn't fast enough.

This post has been edited by AronC: Oct 7 2010, 01:45 PM
AronC
post Oct 7 2010, 10:09 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 7 2010, 10:00 PM)
So in other words my budget cant afford any canon DSLRs? sad.gif
Save up and get a better one. My friend using 1000D with EF-S 17-55mm Hidden L lens also started to piss about the 1000D, yes it's an entry level one, but get out of focus easily. The AF system itself not too good. IMO. biggrin.gif
AronC
post Nov 21 2010, 12:13 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(siowcharbor @ Nov 21 2010, 10:35 AM)
heyz there!

im looking for this type of camera:

Type of camera/lens/accesories : point and shoot
Budget : <rm1.5
Your Location: KL or singapore
Preferable brand : any brand
Type of photography u want to do : potraits, dance video
Any specific models in mind? : non atm
- HD movie recording (if not, at least got good reviews about the recording; hope to get 30fps)
- good battery life
- NOT touchscreen (means most of sony's pns are out of my list)

anybody can recommend? thanks in advance
Panasonic LUMIX DMC-LX3 - http://www.panasonic.com.my/web/pid/5859
Panasonic LUMIX DMC-LX5 - http://www.panasonic.com.my/web/pid/9743
Canon PowerShot S95 - http://www.canon.com.my/p/EN/114-Digital-C...-PowerShot-S95/
Canon PowerShot G12 - http://www.canon.com.my/p/EN/114-Digital-C...-PowerShot-G12/

I would personally recommend you these 4. First timer for compact camera?
AronC
post Nov 21 2010, 07:52 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(siowcharbor @ Nov 21 2010, 12:29 PM)
yup yup. first timer.

wow these camera really cost alot. >.< and the lumix cam is too manual. haha. any other camera that has good movie recording (with or without the hd recording; as long as it is good) >.<
Not really, the price you saw on the official website is actually RRP, which will be slightly higher than the market price. Kindly refer to the LYN Garage Sales for the price range - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1226457

QUOTE(miss_syafiqah @ Nov 21 2010, 04:12 PM)
Mau beli DSLR tp xtau nk beli yg mana.. budget dalam RM1000-1200. ade sape2 leh bg cadgan? saya bru2 nak blajar guna.. 2nd hand pun xpe.. tq~ miss_syafiqah@yahoo.com
Tambah RM200-RM300 untuk Canon EOS 1000D.

QUOTE(zackrock @ Nov 21 2010, 04:53 PM)
Hi guys!
Can you all give me some opinion about dslr camera since it will be my 1st dslr camera.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Camera
Budget: 2K
Your Location: Perak
Preferable brand : Nikon / Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Macro
Any specific models in mind? : 1000d or d3100
Any specific features u want? : best quality

Do you think it is valuable if i buy canon 1000d + 50mm 1.8 or just buy a nikon d3100?  I thinking if i had a budget about 2k, i can get either both of them. Before that i already know that d3100 don't have motor in body so this camera should need af-s lens that will be more expensive.

Need help from you guys! Thanks!
Both the specific models in your mind would be fine. Canon and Nikon both have their pros and cons. I prefer Canon myself. smile.gif
AronC
post Nov 21 2010, 08:00 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 21 2010, 07:52 PM)
AS you know, D3100 has no AF motor, so damn annoying unless you can afford lens with AF >">
Huh? I thought most of the lenses on the market got AF? Even the kit lens 18-55mm? sweat.gif
AronC
post Nov 22 2010, 12:36 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Nov 21 2010, 10:28 PM)
i wanted to ask for the market price(KL) for 550D + 18-200mm kit lens?

it is around how much?
If I am not mistaken, there is no bundle for 550D + 18-200mm, and I personally do not recommend you to buy the 18-200mm lens. It's overpriced, the price-performance sucks to core. The lens itself costs RM2500. With that price I can buy a decent lens / 18-55mm kit lens + 55-250mm lens with extra money for good camera accessories, I bet you know the Mathematics. biggrin.gif

PS: Next time use the search button yo. wink.gif

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 21 2010, 11:54 PM)
Plus minus 3k that region. Refer garage sales biggrin.gif
Don't mislead others. It will never be RM3k for 550D + 18-200mm.
AronC
post Nov 22 2010, 01:52 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(kelvink @ Nov 22 2010, 04:11 AM)
Budget : Around 3500
Preferable brand : Nikon, Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, scene
Any specific models in mind? : D90, 50D, 60D
Any specific features u want? : -
I don't know about Nikon D90, but it says 60D is an upgrade from 50D. However some of the features that 50D owns were removed on 60D - like magnesium alloy body, micro AF adjustment. However 60D got video recording feature that 50D do not possess. I would say depends on your need, both will just do extremely fine. smile.gif

QUOTE(kribz @ Nov 22 2010, 08:57 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Non Dslr Camera
Budget : RM1500
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic DMC-FZ100 , Canon G11 , Panasonic LX5 , Canon S95 , nikonp7000

Guys really need some help here ... im kinda lost , do not know what model to buy
These 3 are your choices I would recommend:
Panasonic LUMIX DMC-LX5 - http://www.panasonic.com.my/web/pid/9743
Canon PowerShot S95 - http://www.canon.com.my/p/EN/114-Digital-C...-PowerShot-S95/
Canon PowerShot G12 - http://www.canon.com.my/p/EN/114-Digital-C...-PowerShot-G12/

First timer for compact camera?

QUOTE(xdenama @ Nov 22 2010, 11:07 AM)
looking for new camera

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: below 2800
Your Location:   Seremban
Preferable brand :  Canon / Sony
Type of photography u want to do :  Portrait and landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  Alpha A33 (twin lens package) / Canon 500D

This is my first DSLR, don't know pro and cons about this two model, please guys help me.
Sorry that I couldn't help on Sony Alpha A33, will do more research. However why not Canon EOS 550D?

QUOTE(fuzzyguy @ Nov 22 2010, 11:47 AM)

Need some advise here. I wan to buy a camera but do not know which one should I buy. In my mind, I intended to buy semi-pro camera but my fren told me not do buy semi-pro. Go for DSLR. Any idea? Semi-pro or DSLR?
If you're serious into photography, you can go for DSLR. What kind of photography you want to do?

QUOTE(night @ Nov 22 2010, 12:39 PM)
Budget: RM3.5k - RM4k
Your Location: Klang / KL
Preferable brand : Strictly Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Scene, Portrait and landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D90 or Canon 550D. You may recommend other model as well.
Any specific features u want? : I would want my camera to be able to zoom far and near with one single lens due to travelling purposes. Do enlighten me on this matter. What would be your best advice.
In that case, Canon 550D with 18-55mm kit lens, and add-on 1 more EF-S 55-250mm lens. Never ever go for a 550D + 18-200mm lens. I know it's convenient, however the price performance is like bloody hell. The bundle kit 550D + 18-55mm kit + 55-250mm will costs you around RM3700, but 550D + 18-200mm will costs you around RM4400. With the difference of RM700 you can buy a lot of camera accessories already.
AronC
post Nov 22 2010, 11:20 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(kribz @ Nov 22 2010, 05:33 PM)
how about nikon p 7000? is it comparable to canon s95 ?

nope i have used 2 ther compact cameras before... olympus and nikon , but that likle 3-4 years old smile.gif
http://photography.bhinsights.com/content/...-canon-s95.html
http://asia.cnet.com/crave/2010/09/08/niko...x5-s95-and-ex1/
I do not own these compact cameras. However, S95, G12 and LX5 has a maximum of f/2.0 aperture, Nikon P7000 has only f/2.8. Can somehow differs a bit. More specifications and comparisons can be referred at the websites provided as it will be a long story for me to 'elaborate'. I would say buy the one which catches your sight. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(natasha2301 @ Nov 22 2010, 06:55 PM)
@aldosoesilo & @Tony Stark, so to speak, it actually really depends la on what the photographer needs? and the lack of AF can be aided by lenses?
IMHO, lack of AF cannot be aided by lenses. Say the AF system isn't good, even you have the best grade of lens, you will get out of focus easily.

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Nov 22 2010, 08:45 PM)
No worry still! People are learning more on manual focus.  cool2.gif
Not really. laugh.gif You will hate to do manual focus.

0.0616sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:39 PM