Samsung Series 9 55" LED LCD, True?

TSlow98944
post Dec 2 2009, 11:04 PM, updated 17y ago

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

I saw this Series 9 LED LCD in Best while I was visiting Singapore last week.

I never interested so I never check details for Samsung LED LCD. tongue.gif Today, I went to visit Samsung website for both Malaysia and Singapore, but I noted I can't find Series 9 LED LCD in the website.

This is photo taken in the front. Design seem like no bad. laugh.gif

OMG!!! I can't believe. doh.gif Is not that LED LCD suppose should be "slim"??? But why Series 9 is soooo "fat"? shocking.gif

The price for this model is S$12,999. So amazing... shakehead.gif

Can someone help me to identify is this real? tongue.gif I think this is real, just saw Samsung Aust got this model. doh.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Dec 2 2009, 11:09 PM
dopp
post Dec 2 2009, 11:19 PM

1,733 posts

If it is real, u want to buy?
TSlow98944
post Dec 2 2009, 11:35 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 2 2009, 11:19 PM)
If it is real, u want to buy?
Austrialia just sell this model at AUS$7000+. I don't think Singapore dollar is soo "big". This price is definately overprice. laugh.gif
e[X]treme[Z]
post Dec 2 2009, 11:55 PM

133 posts

Mahalnya...
ronnt88
post Dec 3 2009, 12:10 AM

2,353 posts

U guys should get out more... tongue.gif

this sammy series 9 is a 2008 model... it's localized dimming backlit LEDs which is why it's thicker than the 2009 edge lit LEDs w/o local dimming.

look at the new sharp LED TV... also not slim y??? because it's backlit LEDs as well... again not edge LEDs.

TSlow98944
post Dec 3 2009, 12:12 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:10 AM)

this sammy series 9 is a 2008 model... it's localized dimming backlit LEDs which is why it's thicker than the 2009 edge lit LEDs w/o local dimming.

look at the new sharp LED TV... also not slim y??? because it's backlit LEDs as well... again not edge LEDs.
I see. laugh.gif
ronnt88
post Dec 3 2009, 12:15 AM

2,353 posts

anyways i dunno y it's so mahal here... got mine for <RM12k a yr ago whistling.gif
TSlow98944
post Dec 3 2009, 12:22 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:15 AM)
anyways i dunno y it's so mahal here... got mine for <RM12k a yr ago whistling.gif
Elite spotted. brows.gif
apexg2
post Dec 3 2009, 07:55 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

another elite on the list....

bro, got in malaysia market ar?never seen one....here oni got till 7 series la...where goes 8 series?
DeZeque
post Dec 3 2009, 08:00 AM

218 posts

i've seen series 8 in few outlets.. seng heng... best... and harvey norman... but not 9 yet... i'm sure of this because is checked both specs and the only difference between the 2 is that the series 8 have 240hz motion plus whilst the series 7 only have 120hz... personally i dun think it's worth the extra bucks...
ronnt88
post Dec 3 2009, 08:42 AM

2,353 posts

alamak doh.gif

already said this series 9 is an old 2008 model but u guys still get confused & ask where got in M'sia??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

ronaldjoe
post Dec 3 2009, 09:50 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:22 AM)
Elite spotted.  brows.gif
QUOTE(apexg2 @ Dec 3 2009, 07:55 AM)
another elite on the list....

bro, got in malaysia market ar?never seen one....here oni got till 7 series la...where goes 8 series?
QUOTE(DeZeque @ Dec 3 2009, 08:00 AM)
i've seen series 8 in few outlets.. seng heng... best... and harvey norman... but not 9 yet... i'm sure of this because is checked both specs and the only difference between the 2 is that the series 8 have 240hz motion plus whilst the series 7 only have 120hz... personally i dun think it's worth the extra bucks...
Rontt88 is memang elite. tongue.gif thumbup.gif Can refer to home theater thread for his set up:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000020/+117

Btw this thread should be closed since this tv is nothing new but indeed it's a very good tv.
Please do more read up before opening up a thread in future. No hard feeling meant anyway. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Dec 3 2009, 09:50 AM
ar188
post Dec 3 2009, 10:46 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Dec 3 2009, 08:42 AM)
alamak doh.gif

already said this series 9 is an old 2008 model but u guys still get confused & ask where got in M'sia??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
maybe they should not be confused with 900 series than 9000 series.. (not just series 9) biggrin.gif

Added on December 3, 2009, 10:48 am
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:10 AM)

so ronn, your flagship TV can hold off (in performance) of the newer non local dimming LED (7000/8000) tvs or not?

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 3 2009, 10:48 AM
accs_centre
post Dec 3 2009, 02:26 PM

4,840 posts

Latest LED model start with UA..

This post has been edited by accs_centre: Dec 3 2009, 02:27 PM
apexg2
post Dec 3 2009, 02:51 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

ya la...this thread should be close..
squall_12
post Dec 3 2009, 05:07 PM

1,779 posts

me also own the same tv as ronnt and i can tell u is this 9 series tv when playback blueray movie u can see 3d effect without needing any 3d glasses....i got mine just recently..and i choose 9 series over any samsung newest 6,7 and 8 series slim led tv anytime..

Added on December 3, 2009, 5:09 pmAlso managed to get cheap deal also hehe for the tv

This post has been edited by squall_12: Dec 3 2009, 05:09 PM
ronaldjoe
post Dec 3 2009, 05:09 PM

3,569 posts

Wise choice. New 6,7,8 are just a marketing gimmick...
Elite Ronnt is using 55", what's your tv size?
Mind to share the price? Thanks
jimmyteng18
post Dec 3 2009, 05:30 PM

669 posts

46A950 display unit selling at rm7999 in Harvey Norman Penang. With this price, I can buy a new LED UA46B6000.

So, which one is a good buy?
ronaldjoe
post Dec 3 2009, 05:36 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Dec 3 2009, 05:30 PM)
46A950 display unit selling at rm7999 in Harvey Norman Penang. With this price, I can buy a new LED UA46B6000.

So, which one is a good buy?
Why not getting it from Ms Chua? Her price could be cheaper.
jimmyteng18
post Dec 3 2009, 05:54 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Dec 3 2009, 05:36 PM)
Why not getting it from Ms Chua? Her price could be cheaper.
46A950 no more stock and LED 46B6000 is quoted at rm8.3k without free gifts from Ms.Chua. So far, the best price.

0.0234sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:34 AM