Nikon D90 v5

@meno
post Dec 2 2009, 11:44 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Dec 2 2009, 07:10 AM)
alamak, need suggestion~! where to put all these word eh?
Bro, imho, the words are distracting...If you want, maybe something small and only the main title will do.
And the sky part, i don't know how to comment about it, but i feel the clouds should have a slightly not so contrasty look. But tats a very subjective thing lar...

Sidewinderz, time to sell off ur d90, spoit edi.
Since damaged so badly i buy from u for rm500.
Money ready... tongue.gif Then u can go on and get a D300s.... drool.gif
@meno
post Dec 4 2009, 11:50 AM

2,386 posts

If you're finding a 50mm F1.8, let me know your budget.
I have a spare unit to let go...tongue.gif

1750VC if you want a versatile indoor lens with decent bokeh.
18-200(get the old version is good enough, anyhow it's the same VR II mechanism) if you want something which will be easy for you, but willing to sacrifice a little on the sharpness and IQ.
35mm F1.8, my personal opinion, not a lens i will get. Tested it, didn't like it. I feel my 50 F1.8 is way better.

85mm F1.8 if you intend to shoot more portraits, SP90 if you wanna do more to macros.

The old 1750 was not as good as the new one. Try it out and you will see the difference. Even the overall build quality feels better.

IQ wise should not have major differences.
But for me, i prefer my 50mm even on crop factor.

Get the 1750 VC bro, i think that's the best choice u have now apart from Primes.
I'm looking at that too, just that the moo factor slowing things down...
@meno
post Dec 14 2009, 11:44 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(invisibl3boyz @ Dec 14 2009, 12:32 AM)
yaya...he said this is a very good bag....water prve.........bt im noob....doesnt really knw it...haha...but thnk god i got a real great deal..
Water prove lowepro? The bag itself would have cost half a bomb...
Btw guys, watch out when buying Lowepros nowadays, i heard there are Imitation ones out there selling for the same price as we got our genuine ones.
I've seen a couple of em, from looks, you'd only be able to tell if you really know the bags inside out and compare almost every single detail.
But in terms of material quality, it feels slightly different.

QUOTE(invisibl3boyz @ Dec 14 2009, 01:09 AM)
owh ya...i hv question to ask here... u all shoot using Adobe RGB or sRGB? i want quality where can edit in Photoshop and print out.....
I shoot using Adobe RGB, but when i work on them, i discard the profile and use my spyder color profile instead... tongue.gif

@meno
post Dec 14 2009, 12:57 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(invisibl3boyz @ Dec 14 2009, 12:22 PM)
thanx for ur opinion guys.. so...does it mean i hv to use sRGB ...rite? o_0
well....seems like i hv created some issues on lowepro bag...lol.. nvm...see later if free i wil take pic and let u guys see...
No issues lar bro, it's always good to share.
Faster show pics, maybe it's a great deal and other forumers should go there for their purchase...
@meno
post Dec 14 2009, 02:32 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Dec 14 2009, 02:29 PM)
lolx...xandman coming back to D90...D3 gone...
I saw him posting to sell the 200mm F2 only...
Y gone? Tired and bored of it d?
@meno
post Dec 15 2009, 10:04 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Dec 15 2009, 07:46 AM)
I also want spam some pics  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Nice framing there... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(dezmo @ Dec 15 2009, 09:51 AM)
hi guys! new guy here. Just go a D90 to photograph jewelry. So far i only know how to use the macro setting which most of the time is over exposed with the flash. Can the sifu here teach me the best setting with the original kit lens for shooting jewelry.

No i cant afford a macro lens or any other lens yet. hehe tanks
Hi Dezmo, i'm no expert either but just to share some stuff i know.
For shooting products, it is always not recommended to use your pop up flash as it will tend to be a bit harsh and will cause a lot of shadowing.
What i can suggest is for you to build something like this in this link:
http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/07/how-t...oto-studio.html
But i'll assume you do not have an external flash, so instead of using an off camera flash, u can use some white lamps or bulbs instead.
And remember to mount ur camera on a tripod.

Btw, try to shoot in aperture priority, and somewhere between F8-11. That will give u optimal sharpness for your Kit Lens.

This post has been edited by @meno: Dec 15 2009, 10:04 AM
@meno
post Dec 16 2009, 03:35 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(joshuawks @ Dec 16 2009, 03:28 PM)
hey guys, i found tat the operating temperature for D90 is between 0-40C. But i wanna bring mine to a place which is -ve degree.. can i?? will it spoilt my D90???
I'm going to Harbin next week with mine... tongue.gif
And i think the only thing to worry is condensation when bringing the camera from outdoor to a warmer indoor.
And also battery life might suffer a little.
I'll just bring some spare alkaline batts, kept inside my jacket and my battery magazine along...tongue.gif (Just in case if my Lithium Ion runs out of power)
@meno
post Dec 16 2009, 05:14 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(joshuawks @ Dec 16 2009, 04:27 PM)
is there anything i nid to take care of? i mean i needa b extra careful on??
Apart from the condensation which could be a bit worrisome, i think basically there's no other major concerns.
I would rather worry if i can withstand those weathers... tongue.gif
Expecting -30c at night, and wonder if i can handle the cam with the thick gloves.
U know of anywhere to get some decently thin and warm gloves?
@meno
post Dec 18 2009, 11:00 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(joshuawks @ Dec 17 2009, 03:16 PM)
hey, thanks alot.. haha.. i am currently not in malaysia.. dont reli noe where to get gloves.. good luck bro!!
No Probs bro.
I'm still searching for my gloves, and also a smaller bag which i can dump into a big plastic bag when i go indoors to avoid condensation.
My Flipside 400 will only fit into the black garbage bags, but those r so damn big and thin... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Dec 17 2009, 09:45 PM)
pics spam

Nice one there bro...
Keep it up, get more B&W here... smile.gif

My turn to start spamming pictures...
CC appreciated

This post has been edited by @meno: Dec 18 2009, 11:14 AM
@meno
post Jan 14 2010, 05:09 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jan 14 2010, 04:58 PM)
got money 1.4 lo...smile.gif....
i am using 1.8D la...i am afraid 1.4 might be hard to control because of the shallow DOF:)
85mm 1.8D DOF is already pretty shallow for me
Get the 1.4, shoot at 1.8-2.8...
If you intend to shoot F4 or higher, get the 1.8 enough...
But i seldom shoot wide open, usually stop down a little.
@meno
post Jan 14 2010, 05:20 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jan 14 2010, 05:14 PM)
i shoot around 2.2 nowadays wink.gif
I usually stop my 50mm F1.8 down to either F2.8 or F4.
F4 is the sharpest point for that lens. I only go below that when i really want shallow DOF.

I do intend to get a F1.4 so that i could stop down and shoot at about F1.8 when necessary...

@meno
post Jan 15 2010, 11:37 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Jan 15 2010, 04:07 AM)
Thanks for the feedback guys..now need to start saving money, will probably get the 1.4d smile.gif
Yeah, if you could afford it, it's always better to get the 1.4d.
The bokeh is just different from the F/1.8.
I'm also thinking of getting a 1.4d if i can get one for a reasonable price.

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jan 15 2010, 09:33 AM)
what zm__ said is right!
VR in action!!!
Lol, i heard it's even worse when the Tamron VC is working... tongue.gif

@meno
post Jan 15 2010, 02:40 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jan 15 2010, 11:48 AM)
circular smooth bokeh uh~ drool.gif  drool.gif
Yeap...the rounded color balls... biggrin.gif
But sometimes, the edged bokeh from the 1.8 looks nice also in certain pictures...

@meno
post Jan 25 2010, 03:26 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 25 2010, 07:36 AM)
Good morning brows.gif

Nice one BB.
I got something similiar sometime ago on my flight to China, but it was through the dirty mirror of the plane, so a lot of distractions jz like snapping through a dirty lens...
Never even thought about the shot after that until i see yours.

QUOTE(qpywsqp @ Jan 25 2010, 01:43 PM)
35mm

Looks a bit under to me, but not sure if it's only me... icon_rolleyes.gif
@meno
post Jan 25 2010, 03:32 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(qpywsqp @ Jan 25 2010, 03:30 PM)
Hehe... sorry, neebie here. Dont know much on photographer language yet  laugh.gif . What do you means "under" ? hmm.gif  icon_question.gif
Sorry bro...
I mean looks a little underexposed.
You might want to tweak the exposure a bit to make it better exposed.
@meno
post Jan 25 2010, 03:43 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(qpywsqp @ Jan 25 2010, 03:40 PM)
Oh okok... got your means. Thanks. Still learning, own the gear not more than 2 month. hahaha
Nvm, this is the use of a forum anyway, to learn and share...
I bet most of us here are still learning...

Keep it up, post more here so that we can learn from your pics as well... laugh.gif
@meno
post Jan 25 2010, 04:07 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Tenshi @ Jan 25 2010, 04:02 PM)
Hi all, I'm not sure is this the right thread for me to post but I have something to ask...

Wondering, when we buy D90 kit, does it comes with the lens hood? smile.gif
If you bought a D90 Kit, yes the 18-105 Kit Lens should come with a hood.
Except if your Kit is not a 18-105 Kit, then i'm not very sure.

@meno
post Jan 26 2010, 01:42 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Jan 26 2010, 02:05 AM)

Added on January 26, 2010, 2:09 amanyone here use 80-200mm push pull that don't have tripod collar version?? did u all know where i can find 3rd party tripod collar eh? its really tired to hold the lens all day..
This is what you're looking for:
https://www.ppsna.com/product_info.php/products_id/721

I'm not sure of where to get it here, maybe you'll need someone to get you one from the states.
I gave up on finding one, thats y bought a 2 touch straight... tongue.gif
@meno
post Jan 26 2010, 06:24 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Jan 26 2010, 04:43 PM)
that one very expensive  sweat.gif ..hmm...why dont anyone  do a diy tripod collar for this lens laugh.gif ...hehe
Haha...
I know somebody is thinking of DIY-ing one, but so far only talks and no actions yet... tongue.gif
Well, if he really succeed in making one, will let you know...

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 26 2010, 05:52 PM)
D90 + 50mm shud be around 3.7k perhaps
shakehead.gif
How come so expensive?
D90 body is RM3k, 50mm F1.8 is RM370.
RM3.7k is so expensive...
@meno
post Jan 27 2010, 01:47 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(honght @ Jan 26 2010, 09:48 PM)
Hey anybody here can recommend tripod for D90?
I'm looking for one , budget less than RM300.
Any suggestion ?
Get a Benro A300/350EX with a BH-00 or BH-01 ball head.

QUOTE(veron208 @ Jan 27 2010, 08:23 AM)
Hey guys ... what backpack do you guys use ?

I am currently looking at the Kata 3N1-20 model. Any feedback on the bag ?

My current lineup is D90 kit with SB900.
I use a Lowepro Flipside 400AW.
You might want to consider the other Lowepros, or thinktanks...

The Katas IMHO is not worth the price...

0.0549sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:42 PM