Paint, buy where?

mini orchard
post Jul 24 2020, 09:15 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(dixonleong @ Jul 23 2020, 09:20 PM)
Want to seek advice. I'd had leaking and termite issues previously which had damaged some of my internal paint. Its sorted now, and after a very long time finally decided to fix repaint walls and replace skirting to pvc.
Question, the leak had quite a damage as per pctures. It flake the paint and i had scrap whichever portion i managed to. Evwn the undercoat or sealer was also easily scrap out which leaves a thick layer between the ok portion and bad portion.
I will later try to sand the area between the ok and bad ones to leave as smooth as possible finish between those.
Question, to fill the gap between the ok part and bad part, what is best material? I experimented putty fill (liquid type) but its hard as it cant coat thick layer. Would a normal paste putty filler does the job or there are better options?
And assuming if i manage to fill with putty and sand it to level, would i need primer or sealer on the repair part? Iplan repaint the whole wall, would there be visible mark on the repaired portion?

[attachmentid=10543269][attachmentid=10543273][attachmentid=10543278][attachmentid=10543280][attachmentid=10543281]
Use cement without mixing with sand.

Spray some water on the affected area b4 plastering. Just to make it wet for better plastering adhesion.

After plastering, use a palm sized wet sponge to lightly remove uneven/extra thickness. Dont use sand paper as it wont gives a smooth finishing.

Once dry, paint. Dont need sealer for the plastered area. Use your normal paint over the plastered area a few times first after each coat dry and then finished with the whole wall.

Filler dont work for large area like yours.

Buy normal cement and not those cement glue for tiles....1kg RM1 for loose packing.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jul 24 2020, 09:36 AM
mini orchard
post Jul 24 2020, 04:20 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(dixonleong @ Jul 24 2020, 04:08 PM)
Thanks for the advice. The cement to water portion use 1 cement :0.5 water ? In event i didnt do a good job on plastering the cement, can the cement be sanded via sanding machine probably with mid grit paper? Since i not very confident on my plastering skill with cement
I wont know the ratio as i dont measure it when i use. As long is paste form, then is should be ok. Add little water at a time. Initially it will be lumpy. Once sufficient water, it becomes paste form. If you have added too much water, just add some cement. So play around cement with water.

Yes you can sand it using machine and grit paper but it will be dusty. Wear mask. Using sponge is better as your palm can feel the evenness of the plaster with the other area.
mini orchard
post Oct 29 2020, 10:17 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Oct 29 2020, 09:39 PM)

I am planning to paint the wall as per photo attached myself.

My understanding to properly paint the wall, I need to:

- clean the wall with high pressure water jet. I believe this can be replaced with mopping with cloth + warm water;

- apply a layer of primer/ sealer;

- apply two layer of paints. Wait for the first layer dry and only apply the second layer.

Anything in details which I need to pay attention to?

Possible can skip any steps as I don't wish to spend so much money buying the paints and the primer. It looks more works that I original thought.
Cloth and warm water cannot give it a good clean. Garden cement wall plastering is not 100% smooth.

Primer sealer not necessary for garden wall fencing. Two coat of weather shield paint will last few years and ...

Use a garden hose to clean the wall occaionally to removed dirt.

Avoid having plants and trees next to garden wall. Dripping water from leaves after rain will leave dirt and water stain on wall.

I paint my garden wall every 3 to 4 years. About a week to complete including the metal fencing.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 29 2020, 10:22 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 4 2020, 04:15 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ponyznon @ Nov 4 2020, 03:06 PM)
Just do water proofing for my car porch roof and it is time for repair and paint my plaster ceiling.

Can get advice for experience user?

1. Jotun or Nippon? Nippon looks promising in their website tongue.gif

Did some research some said Jotun more tahan can last longer and Nippon normally 5 years tapao already .....

Tqvm tongue.gif
Dulux Maxilite also ok

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 5 2020, 06:54 AM
mini orchard
post Nov 13 2020, 07:31 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 13 2020, 06:53 PM)
Just finished painting one of the wall. ( pic before and after)

The upper part of the wall was less than perfect...hmmm

I have wash the wall with warm water with a bit of dishwasher liquid and later spray the wall with water garden hose. Later, I applied one layer of sealer and two layer of white paint on the wall. Look like it was not good enough...

Look like i may need the stronger water spraying tool such as high pressure water jet which used by some of the contractor to clean the wall.
Give it another 1 or 2 coats, it should looks white.
mini orchard
post Nov 13 2020, 07:53 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 13 2020, 07:40 PM)
the lower part of wall I only coat with 1 layer of paint

upper part of the wall already coated with 2 layers...but still no as good as lower part of the wall.
Is only a small section of wall. Use the left over paint to coat it few times rather than storing it for later use.

Garden wall tend to get dirty quick esp if is white.
mini orchard
post Nov 14 2020, 01:05 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 14 2020, 12:02 PM)
Long way to go. Obviously need lots of paints if every wall need 3-4 layers.
Invest in a pressure washer.

My garden wall is double your length ... I need to paint 2 sides ... incl backlane kitchen wall.

My advise ... NEVER use white. A darker colour will need lesser coat. Not necessary to use any fungus killer. Use weather shield paint ...it last longer, washable.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 14 2020, 01:28 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 14 2020, 03:42 PM

14,511 posts

Both wall painted in Jan/Feb 2020.

Left ... Nippon Weather Shield

Right .. Nippon Matex Emulsion

mini orchard
post Nov 18 2020, 08:56 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 17 2020, 05:34 PM)
anyway since some of you mentioned it, these are the paints and sealer that I used.

I didn’t add any thinner or water before painting. Any comment?
Your paint is ok ... did you stir the paint thoroughly b4 painting.?

Paint mixture sitting at home for 1 week is different from one that is just bought from shop.
mini orchard
post Nov 18 2020, 08:58 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Nov 17 2020, 05:43 PM)
How long do you normally wait for cement render to dry before painting? After 3 weeks of rendering, my wall still got plenty of dark grey patches sweat.gif
Internal or external wall and weather affects the drying process.
mini orchard
post Dec 6 2020, 06:41 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 6 2020, 05:19 PM)
hello all.  Want to ask noob stuff. My apartment has just been completed, vacant unit as usual. Basic white painting that comes from developer.

Developer used white cheap paint (Jotun Jotaplast Max). I planned to do another white paint over it (with Nippon Paint Easy Wash) once cabinet installations are done.

My questions:
1. I can just paint with Easy Wash paint on top of the Jotaplast Max, right?

2. After doing the Easy Wash paint and let it dry, do i need to use a sealer? E.g. Nippon Paint Vinilex 5200 interior Wall Sealer.
Firstly, is adviseable to paint first b4 installation of cabinets. Any stain or dirt mark after installation can be touched-up using balance paint.

1. Yes

2. No.
mini orchard
post Dec 16 2020, 06:48 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ceras @ Dec 15 2020, 09:19 PM)
Is it recommended to use Jotashield Extreme for plaster ceiling? Will it help to reduce heat radiating down from the roof? Appreciate some advice.
No

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 16 2020, 03:11 AM)
If developer punya paint chalky a bit how? When i swipe with finger, can see white on my finger.

Wipe with dry cotton cloth can? Before re-painting.
Ok
mini orchard
post Dec 16 2020, 03:50 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 16 2020, 03:31 PM)
I am not sure where to ask this, this is the most relevant active topic I could think of asking this question.

My scenario goes like this, I have asked my contractor to remove the tile in my kitchen wall (5 feet from floor) and ask them to patch them accordingly (I guess by cement render). But then the over filled the area, making it not level with the remaining top section of the wall. My question is, can I sand down the cement render to make it level with the existing wall?
If you want a smooth even looking wall, hack off some cement plaster of the entire wall and do a skim coating.
mini orchard
post Dec 16 2020, 05:54 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 16 2020, 05:24 PM)
That's what I asked him to do. But he has been delaying my request on that wall and saying that his painter will do that last.

I am planning for the worst, to level them myself. Only sanding down the cement is what I could think off. Skim coating isn't something that I could master in few try.
Firstly, I think there is a misunderstanding and price quote between you and the contractor regarding the job scope.

Removing the wall tiles and replastering that area wont give a smooth cement rendering with the untiled wall even if he is a sifu.

In your contractor's opinion, he has DONE the job....hack off the tiles and replaster.

Sanding down doesnt work as you will still notice the overlap join area.

The painter would most likely use the putty filler to 'smoothen' the join area to make is less obvious.
mini orchard
post Dec 16 2020, 06:28 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 16 2020, 06:23 PM)
I don't mind if it is 2-3mm off. But this is 10mm off. I guess that is "Malaysian Standard"

And yeah, the painter only smoothen the transition..
10mm is very thick .... any photos ?
mini orchard
post Dec 17 2020, 10:09 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(clare01 @ Dec 17 2020, 12:08 AM)
Hi, I was quoted RM2,300 for painting whole unit (~1200sf), ceiling, 5doors and grille. Labor only not including material. May I ask is this price reasonable nowadays?
If not, any recommendation for painter?

Thank in advance for your reply smile.gif
Approach any paint shops.... they will have contacts.

mini orchard
post Dec 17 2020, 10:14 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 17 2020, 09:19 PM)
Want to ask, can see this cacat thing around induction cap and holes on the wall.

Before i re-paint this area, how should i fix it? Need to buy cement, or putty or anything else? Need guidance
Cement
mini orchard
post May 13 2021, 10:46 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ May 13 2021, 10:27 AM)
For new condo, do I need to apply sealer or anything else before painting? Am thinking of Nippon Easy Wash for interior walls.

Also thinking of painting plaster ceiling myself, is painting Matex directly on it enough? Or they have to be primed/sealed first as well?
No

Yes
mini orchard
post May 19 2021, 09:23 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ May 19 2021, 08:45 AM)
Oic... Thanks sis.

Any solution to rescue my wall? Because my wall with 3 layer of hajj majestic seem weak now.

What do I need to do to rescue my wall?

Need to repaint it with pruner and paint again?
Show photos .... it says a thousand words.
mini orchard
post May 20 2021, 12:06 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 20 2021, 11:46 AM)
Likely the wall was hacked there, and repatched but not sealed afterwards, merely paint over. Unsealed patch (Putty or joint compound or cement) absorb water differently from the "rest of wall" so that's what happened with those hacked patch, thats why it look diff.

Need to seal those patches before repaint.
+1

QUOTE(Jitty @ May 20 2021, 10:59 AM)
Like this. 😔
Your problem solved with the photo as per reply above and use a darker paint color to cover the entire wall.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 20 2021, 12:17 PM

0.0573sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:37 PM