Paint, buy where?

blasto
post Dec 2 2009, 04:02 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 1 2009, 06:40 PM)
Hi All,

any of u paint house recently? where did you purchase ur paint? is there any place to recommend with discount etc?

if you have cornice, do you use tape on the cornice to avoid it being paint with other color? will mask tape peel off paint on the cornice?
Mostly all paint price is standard, unless you buy 5-10 cans.
New catalog 2009 for Nippon & Dulux already out.
I normally buy at PJ old town, is best to buy at old timer shop, they know stuff better & can advise
better rather than ACE hardware fellers who say... nie ok. nie bagus craps..
icon_rolleyes.gif

blasto
post Dec 6 2009, 01:21 PM

1,139 posts

guys...just to share, i started painting this room last night....

i been using matex rm35-45 (special colors)... value for money & easy to paint, no need mix water, whack 2 layer its good. (i update pictures if got time) for normal use its ok lah, worth painting.

then i try Federal Paint (this paint is a real pain in the ass) poor quality... its a waste of money & afford. the color is white & cost rm25 for 7liter. now i fully avoid this brand.

satin glo, nippon .. 1st time i try this paint, its totally different . The quality the color... the mood, unusual...
i buy 4 cans @ 5liter after discount (5% +)
i buy at the shop i know many years, last time i ask cincai doscount.
now i push then for discount, they give more.. (you have to push then they give)
ended i pay RM 400.00 .

this is the room picture im painting now, it will have 3 different color ... all satin glo.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
blasto
post Dec 7 2009, 12:19 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 6 2009, 05:45 PM)
All I can say is Matex is the easiest-to-paint emulsion paint in the market..The reason is the amount of powder is the most in Matex. Therefore, it is the easiest to paint..

Federal Paint..A company which doesn't really prioritize the quality..They might not have the right formula to produce paint..Enough said..

The market of paint is not the same as 10 years ago..One tip for you, try this method if you want to lower the price..Tell them(paint shop) that you asked from somewhere else(another paint shop) that they are selling at a cheaper price..Not too much la...Like the price they are giving is 100, you tell them you can get for like 95..But as far as I know, Satin Glo doesn't costs that much..less than 100..Do you mind telling me which shop you went?
bro... can kindly tell more what the diffrent abt the paint market last time vs.now..
currently im confortable with this shop... all old timer seller since my grand dad till my parents get stuff here.

i dont think i dare to say this to them lah, most time i joke-joke korek some discount only..

that day, i waited more than 1hour plus for them to mix the paint. (dunno why never ask, but geram) i hang in & out the shop. suddently many customer, so sibuk until customer ask customer for price.. they style like a sparepart shop..

i went to PJ oldtown same row as UOB building, the raw got many pajak gadai wan. icon_rolleyes.gif

blasto
post Dec 7 2009, 12:26 AM

1,139 posts

what a sunday .... some pictures for all...

so far this is my favrouite roller (recycle but performance best) got for rm5 each.
The green (2nd color) 1st coat.
this is how i keep my tools. jk icon_rolleyes.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
blasto
post Dec 7 2009, 10:58 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 7 2009, 09:40 PM)
Y do u keep ur thing inside fridge ?  tongue.gif
Wat do u mean by recycle roller ? I tot every roller can be wash and use to paint different color of paint ? Am i rite ?  laugh.gif
lazy to wash bro.. that fridge already kong. (air tight so the paint will not dry) laugh.gif
the hardware fella told me boleh recycle. some roller bulu become lesser when wash. icon_rolleyes.gif

blasto
post Dec 8 2009, 04:27 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 8 2009, 09:07 AM)
My house door oredi been painted dark chocolate paint but the workmanship very poor. Think to repaint the door.
Do I need to sand/scrap off the old paint ?
What type I paint do I need to buy ? I think the original paint is oil based glossy paint.
I heard spraying is better but wat tool do I need ?
my workmanship lagi teruk...
your door overlapping paint or uneven paint or dripping paint ?
can you update us with a picture of the door ?
(i think with picture, pros here can advise better)

spraying... you need a very powerfull compressor... the paint is very thick. icon_rolleyes.gif

blasto
post Dec 10 2009, 11:25 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 9 2009, 09:37 AM)
I think the door quality is poor, surface very rough. They haven't clean the door yet, full of cement stain/dusk. I oso headache now.. duno how to clean all the thing.  rclxub.gif  Anyone hire profesional cleaner to clean ur newly completed house ?  hmm.gif How much to clean double story terrace house ?
..if i were you, the problem here is making the poor door look nice & acceptable..
i would kau-kau clean with a mircofiber cloth, then scraper off the cement or debris ..
do this when door is dry & carefully, or else your scrapper will scrap off some door chunk. after scrap, then sand paper it, then smooth it. masking tape the knob... wolla
apply under coat (if needed) then just paint with brush or roller... no need spray wan lah..
doing the base is very important, take your time & afford. the end result reflect on it.

if you hire ppl to paint, they one shot will do all the cleaning for you..from toliet to back door yard, roof, tangki, etc.
make sure you hire the right fellers & better to be there to instruct & look2 see2.
if you not there they just whack wan.

if you look at the whole picture, i also pening dunno where to start to clean..
plan nicely, clean bit by bit, section by section. i normally start of with area less use then last is toliet. icon_rolleyes.gif

blasto
post Jan 2 2010, 02:37 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Dec 31 2009, 09:34 AM)
I also planning to paint my house soon. I already ask one painter and he quote we the labour cost is similar as the paint cost. In my case, the paint cost will be 2.5k max and the labour also 2.5k (interior and external).
when does this idea comes in the market?
if my paint cost 2.5k i kena pay the labour 2.5k ka?
is this like buy 1 house for the price of 2 ?

i know 1 painter (chinese uncle) PJ old town, he cat my neighbour whole exterior house ...
those 1970 old double story ... charge only less than 1k.

Added on January 2, 2010, 2:40 amQUOTE(yeeck06 @ Dec 30 2009, 04:48 PM)
I just bought 7 cans of Nippon satin glo barley white...RM70/can....Will spent my time painting my living room and kitchen during long holiday......

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Dec 31 2009, 11:22 PM)
very cheap......i got RM86 per cal 5 L with free 8 100 Plus shocking.gif
i got 100/per can ... shacks ... shocking.gif

mine sharing where you got such a good deal ... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by blasto: Jan 2 2010, 02:40 AM
blasto
post Apr 28 2010, 12:44 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 6 2009, 05:45 PM)
All I can say is Matex is the easiest-to-paint emulsion paint in the market..The reason is the amount of powder is the most in Matex. Therefore, it is the easiest to paint..

Federal Paint..A company which doesn't really prioritize the quality..They might not have the right formula to produce paint..Enough said..

The market of paint is not the same as 10 years ago..One tip for you, try this method if you want to lower the price..Tell them(paint shop) that you asked from somewhere else(another paint shop) that they are selling at a cheaper price..Not too much la...Like the price they are giving is 100, you tell them you can get for like 95..But as far as I know, Satin Glo doesn't costs that much..less than 100..Do you mind telling me which shop you went?
Thanks bro, well said, I will never use federal paint again. Want cheap got poor quality.

At this moment I am planning to get 3-5 cans Nippon 5L satin glow.
Can please recommend where can get cheap in PJ area ?

I went to PJ old town bus stop upper part, same row as UOB & Maybank.

& Kindly advise how is Dulux quality ?
Is their paint semi gloss like Nippon satin glow ?
Is Dulux light & space effective making the area more spacy, is it semi gloss also ? Never use dulux before lah. TQ icon_rolleyes.gif
blasto
post May 12 2010, 08:12 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(trdcelica @ May 9 2010, 03:53 PM)
some 1st april and some 1st may..
and some are yet to increase their price..

Added on May 9, 2010, 4:01 pm

bro, not sure bout where to get..

dulux light&space is effective in making your area look spacier because all their colours are light colours and yeah it shines...but it's too pricey..
then i better stay with nippon satin glow saja...
wah increase price how many % ? alot ka ?

blasto
post Mar 30 2011, 12:12 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Nov 1 2010, 12:55 AM)
Hi guys, my rented house now look like shit. Thinking of repaint it as i will be moving in for own stay.

Can i use Matex white colour to paint the whole house first and then use Jotun Strax to paint on the colours?

Matex is the cheap one. RM60+ for big tong, 18 liters i think.
I normally matex it all white, my best choice coz I budget..
once it goes white, the color will stand out.
bro ... where you get RM60 (pls let me know, wanted to buy for new condo) icon_rolleyes.gif

blasto
post Apr 24 2011, 12:41 AM

1,139 posts

Guys ... kindly advise/recomend where in PJ sell cheap paints ?

I am looking for Nippon Matex 18 Liter x 2

Many Thanks. smile.gif
blasto
post Jan 18 2013, 11:39 PM

1,139 posts

Guys need some advise & tunjuk ajar ...

Does Dulux Light & Space halp at this area ?
Is it real it reflect light up to 2 times (like said in catalog)
anyone used before > kindly comment ?

I never use Dulux before, tried nippon satin glo, kinda powder puff..
Now my choice is either Jotun majestic optima or Dulux pearl glo..
Still looking for a dealer for good price around PJ area, any recomendation ?

.... lastly do i need to apply under coat for new paint ?

many thanks in advance .. notworthy.gif

edit : picture & btw can give price of the above

This post has been edited by blasto: Jan 18 2013, 11:53 PM

0.0212sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:42 AM