Paint, buy where?

adrianjc
post Sep 11 2011, 12:00 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Jul 30 2011, 01:03 PM)
my con quote me 3k for painting whole house internal + external + inclusive doors and grills
2k for skim coat all internal wall...

reasonable or not for this 2 item price???
The quote sounds like for workmanship only.
adrianjc
post Sep 30 2011, 08:23 AM

898 posts

I've asked this question before but can't seem to find my post. Just wanted to find out whether anyone has used Shell paints before?

Considering to use for my roof since it's bitumen based.
adrianjc
post Sep 30 2011, 12:14 PM

898 posts

It's house paint by Shell (as in petrol station that Shell). I've seen on their website that they have for interior, exterior and also some others.

Am considering the paint for roof tiles actually, as its bitumen based and slightly more waterproof than normal paint.

Just want to know if anyone has used their product before.
adrianjc
post Feb 6 2012, 03:53 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 6 2012, 12:00 PM)
hi, does anyone know of any shops that provide colour consultation advise if i buy all the paint from them?

My contractor has included workmanship in the renovation charges, so i only need advise in choosing colours and getting the paint.

Added on February 6, 2012, 12:05 pm

I see. thanks.

Do you have the number of the shop? It's very near from my house.
Check ICI and Nippon websites. I believe they provide consultation services.
adrianjc
post Feb 6 2012, 11:14 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 6 2012, 10:02 PM)
Hi, i looked through Nippon site but i have to snap photos and send it to them. My house is completely empty at the moment.

ICI has the same things too but it's free.
Doesn't matter if it's empty. They just basically want to see the type of space they're working with.
adrianjc
post Apr 7 2017, 05:06 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(conan86 @ Apr 7 2017, 02:03 PM)
hi all since this topic is about paint .. wanna ask how do i remove oil base paint from doors ?? ive tried sanding it down but takes too long .. ive also looked for paint stripper gel/chemical in ace but it cost RM80+ for a can ... any cheaper alternatives ??
You've got to sand down the doors before repainting anyway before repainting or staining the doors. Not too sure if paint stripper gels or chemicals would negatively impact the timber.

Have you tried using turpentine to soften up the paint?
adrianjc
post Apr 7 2017, 07:31 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(conan86 @ Apr 7 2017, 06:16 PM)
the current oil based paint is quite thin n i cant sand whole piece down wit a manual sander under i have the machine sander .. ive got like 6 doors to sand down tongue.gif
Try turpentine, would most likely be your best bet and it doesn't cost too much. Use a little on a discreet location on the door and test its effects before you go all out. Just in case blink.gif

lol
adrianjc
post Jun 10 2017, 06:06 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(kidjake @ Apr 16 2017, 06:14 PM)
Hi there,

Im planning to paint my Double story hse with jotun paint. From what i search, im going for the midrange majestic true beauty series. Now I hope the sifus can help me with these:

1. What is the diff between the majestic true beauty sheen and true beauty matt in terms of look. Is true beauty sheen really very glossy compared to the matt finish?

2. My contactor says going for matt finish is safer since the sheen series is not good if the wall finish is not good. Any opinion on this?

3. Anyone got knowledge of good pricing for the true beauty series(sheen and matt). So far the best price i got  are for several colours are:

true beauty sheen 5L = apprx rm128 - rm136
true beauty sheen 18L = apprx rm310 - rm330

So far i didnt get price for matt series. If anyone knw place to get good price for jotun true beauty pls let me knw. Thx.
Your contractor is right. Go for the matte finish. Sheen is a gloss type paint, any imperfections on your wall such as wavy surface, indentations, etc... Will all be very visible especially when under lights.

Some can accept the small imperfections but if your wall not at least skim coated before painting true beauty sheen, imperfections would almost be a definite.
adrianjc
post Aug 31 2017, 05:31 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(propnoob @ Aug 30 2017, 03:08 PM)
Hi all...

Does anyone knows why this happens?

The paint is peeling off.
Indoor or outdoor?

Could be caused by the old paint layer, or lousy quality paint, or wrong paint type used (example indoor paint used outdoors), or improper prep work prior to painting.

There are many potential reasons, maybe can share more information? Hard to say without knowing more details.

adrianjc
post Sep 5 2017, 06:18 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(sidq @ Sep 2 2017, 01:25 PM)
Indoor.

Original colour was white when I purchased this house. The paint-man had the wall skimmed first and then they paint the primer (Jotun Easyclean). After that they paint it over using Jotun Majestic True Beauty twice. The problem seems to only appear in this guest room.

Could the skimming be the culprit? Because after skimming they just wait for a few hours before painting the wall rather than a few days.

I think we can exclude the lousy quality and wrong paint type used.

Hope this helps.
Don't think skimming is the culprit if it was done for the rest of the house but only this area showing this. Is the other side of this wall the outdoors?

A potential cause to keep in mind is if there are hairline cracks on the outside, water could have seeped in and caused the interior paint to peel over time. Would recommend to look into that.
adrianjc
post Sep 5 2017, 06:20 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Sep 3 2017, 07:08 PM)
Where to buy paint with reasonable price at PJ?
You can try Sin Tuck Woh near the Taman Bahagia LRT station. It's at the row of shops facing the traffic lights.

0.0194sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:44 PM