Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

Frenly
post Apr 13 2010, 02:37 PM

381 posts

Dear Sifu,

Planning to get a gold arowana for myself. Other than XL, Shah Alam any other shop does provides authenticate arowana? I don't intend to get cert for that arowana as i know the prices will be cheaper.
Does 5 X 2 X 2 suitable for Gold arowana? How much will the tank cost ( standard Aquariun, with pump n filter)?

Frenly
post Apr 13 2010, 08:15 PM

381 posts

2k plus for the tank ....
aro i think 2k ...
as mention planning to get gold aro without cert ...
any realiable seller out there??
Frenly
post Apr 14 2010, 10:12 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(pigpig @ Apr 13 2010, 08:27 PM)
what kinda gold you are looking for.?

rtg only cost you less than 1k.. go for XB
Frenly
post Apr 15 2010, 02:52 PM

381 posts

wow 2k cant even get a gold arowana ...
Frenly
post Apr 23 2010, 10:38 AM

381 posts

Finally, make my trip to XL Shah Alam and check for the price tag of XL MG arowana.
5 inch XL MG tag price is around 3plus but was given a discount - rm 2600.00
i was advise some tips to rear the XL MG

1. get a fully white tank - 5X2X2 will be sufficient
2. was told to fill the aquarium only half tank of water - reason get the fish fully tan ..
3. try to wash the aquarium once a week

i agree with the above tips given by the sales manager but i'm not sure about the tips no # 2

any advise?
Frenly
post Apr 23 2010, 11:24 AM

381 posts

something related to the scale or the top body of arowana...
this is what i understood
Frenly
post Apr 23 2010, 01:38 PM

381 posts

pigpig - yes i was told that too..the water level of the tank should be half of it for couple of month ...
Frenly
post Apr 23 2010, 02:25 PM

381 posts

it would be weird if u have a 5X2X2 tank with half of the water...
Frenly
post Apr 23 2010, 04:03 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(moe81 @ Apr 23 2010, 03:44 PM)
WTT- white tank treatment. is done by painting the outside of the glass with white paint. gloss paint i suppose. it has been discussed here before. WTT gives more shine to the gold and black background tank give more intensity to the gold.

but the effect is pretty much temporary. if u move ur fish to different background, the shine or the intensity change. i believe, as the fish matures it's gold shine will too. there's no short cut to increase the shine of ur fish.

i'm not quite sure bout tip no 2.. never heard about that before..

but tip no 3 on the contrary is pretty subjective.. if u gon clean ur fish tank every week for the rest of ur fishes life. then be my guest. but if u miss a week or 2 sudden amonium and nitrite explosion may occur in ur tank..

but if u want a hastle free fish keeping hobby, i suggest u establish a good nitrogen cycle in ur tank and good water conditions. where u let the good bacterias do all the dirty work for u..
thanks for your info ....
im still looking for the right price for a tank ....most of the tank is rm 2600 above ...kinda expensive

Frenly
post Apr 23 2010, 11:30 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 23 2010, 11:19 PM)
i asked a lfs today and a 6 x 2 x 2..just for the tank will cost you 700+....if come with the cover would be 1000+
but if you are looking for those beautifully decorate closet, then.. those are much more pricey
fishboy - bro, nope havent book the fish yet ...scout for the tank first..

Leggedy - have check with several fish shop and the price is almost the same.

Frenly
post Apr 25 2010, 01:53 PM

381 posts

finally, i booked a a MG Arowana from XL, Shah Alam ...
awaiting for the tank this Tuesday and will pick my Aro next Sunday
will try to snap some pictures .
Frenly
post Apr 26 2010, 06:06 PM

381 posts

[quote=fishboy,Apr 25 2010, 08:22 PM]
[quote=Frenly,Apr 25 2010, 01:53 PM]
finally, i booked a a MG Arowana from XL, Shah Alam ...
awaiting for the tank this Tuesday and will pick my Aro next Sunday
will try to snap some pictures .
bro today me also book one next week also tapau which u choose bro?
u buy from ah kok or ah rock?

[/quote]

bro, i bought it with ah rock .....
will tapau this coming sunday
awaiting for my tank arrival tomorrow.

Frenly
post Apr 26 2010, 07:36 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(gabriel han @ Apr 26 2010, 04:07 AM)
Hello all bros there. I'm Gabriel, and just getting interested with aro recently. Glad to see this nice forum here. Bro, may i know how much a MG cost nowadays ? I mean those from XLSA.
Hey Gabriel.

The XL MG SA will cost from Rm2600 - RM 4500 depends on the quality of the fish. It is around 5 inch to 6 inch Arowana.

You have to go there and have a look yourself.
My friend told me that the Gold Arowana in Rawang is cheaper and their quality is better.

Frenly
post Apr 27 2010, 10:42 AM

381 posts

off topic - regarding bout feng sui ..
now the headache part, where should i put my new tank?
Hmm.. i plan to put inside my room at the lower floor? Does anyone place your tank there?

Frenly
post Apr 27 2010, 01:36 PM

381 posts

leong bro,
nolah, normal double storey house ...
total 4 room ..3 room above and 1 more at ground floor ...well i can said it is a store room ...
Frenly
post Apr 27 2010, 06:49 PM

381 posts

Guys, thanks for the advise.
i will stick with my plan - inside my room as i can enjoy watching my aro alone without interference from my gf
noise levels shouldnt be a problem.

by the way, tank will arrive tomorrow ...sigh ...

do you guys put salts after changes water ?
Frenly
post Apr 27 2010, 08:41 PM

381 posts

Leong Bro,

doesn't know what you mean ..but anywhere ..will use the normal filtering system built in on the aquarium
Other than that, i bought an ac/dc air pump n sponge filter from XL
Frenly
post Apr 27 2010, 09:57 PM

381 posts

Leong,

thanks for the advise. will go through it
Yes. i will definitely delaying the arowana for another week.
or might get my arowana tanks mate first b4 bringing the arowana back ...
and below are the liquids recommended by Rock

This post has been edited by Frenly: Apr 27 2010, 10:34 PM
Frenly
post Apr 27 2010, 11:17 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 27 2010, 10:36 PM)
Dont need the PSB bacteria, just read about fishless cycling and it is the best way to go. smile.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9E21dIdJLbs&feature=related
Frenly
post Apr 28 2010, 07:48 AM

381 posts

Bro Leong n CKK125,

Thanks for the advise.
Anywhere, awaiting for my tank to arrive this afternoon.
Will basically clean the tank ....fill up the tank with water and let it run for a day then empty the tank again
As, Im planning to WTT- white tank treatment for the arowana, i going to fill in water around 8-9 inches .. then will get some tanks mate for my arowana and let it run for couple of days b4 i bring the aro back from XL

Anywhere, i will get some tips from the fish shop around my place that sold arowana .....
By the way, i am staying in cheras ...

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:13 AM