24 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

leong2084
post Mar 9 2010, 03:55 PM

89 posts

yeah true also ler the delima...i believe that if those like using bare bottom aquarium like me, the uv filter wont be too good as it will kill the free floating bacteria...unless the filter used is very big to contain lots of bacteria housing. (i'm talking like a sump tank system same size as the aquarium tank itself filled with 90% bacteria housing filter media)

For those using gravel (where bacteria can attach itself to the gravel), and using sump/canister filter i guess uv filter can be more beneficial cuz the amt of bb killed by uv filter this way is insignificant due to having plenty of surface area for bb to colonize.

in short:
bare tank + uv filter = not so good

Gravelled tank + uv filter = very effective

critisim and comments on this welcomed lol

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 9 2010, 03:56 PM
leong2084
post Mar 9 2010, 05:13 PM

89 posts

yaloh....Beaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!! icon_question.gif
WHERE ART THOU!!!!!!?!?!??! unsure.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 9 2010, 05:14 PM
leong2084
post Mar 9 2010, 08:32 PM

89 posts

as in the light tube darken d?
leong2084
post Mar 10 2010, 10:53 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(cphcphcph @ Mar 9 2010, 11:13 PM)
althrough UV can kill bacteria and line worms as well....
but BB is more important than whether viny worms is appear onot, a clear water BB is very important...
for me UV light is juz a best choice for pond use to prevent greenish algae colour appear....

for the line worm problem we can use the traditional ways EG : put tiger barb, add salt....or add "S1" den remain the water change....
but if dun overfeed in the tank....that rare case viny worms appear....
yeah i feel the same too, bb is more important.

Most of the sites i visit always relate uv filters with ponds, very little on aquariums.
my filter got built in uv filter bulb but i never use it ... cuz i feel the water is clean and fish are healthy and thus no parasites anyways

Added on March 10, 2010, 5:47 pmi have a question, do you guys feed mp with or without shell? haha

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 10 2010, 05:47 PM
leong2084
post Mar 10 2010, 10:09 PM

89 posts

i think tail and head, the head got that sharp sharp thingy also >.<
leong2084
post Mar 11 2010, 08:29 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(IZZDANISH @ Mar 11 2010, 12:00 AM)
just wondering, how much does it cost for 5x2x2 tank + sump tank with solid wood cabinet?
depends on the lfs you getting from, however you can expect a price above rm2k
leong2084
post Mar 11 2010, 04:33 PM

89 posts

Wah,.,,,very buff, cheeks showing color development d.
How big and how old? biggrin.gif
leong2084
post Mar 11 2010, 06:10 PM

89 posts

sounds like tong yan aro to me biggrin.gif hehe where did you get this beauty?
leong2084
post Mar 12 2010, 12:03 PM

89 posts

holyf#$%

how'd you get him into the tub, carry him?
leong2084
post Mar 13 2010, 02:13 PM

89 posts

Hi all biggrin.gif

Here is an updated vid of my red arowana tongue.gif

You will notice a container hanging above the water level. I'm trying this method out to help prevent drop eyes.

So far the results are better with crickets than with worms.
When i put crickets it will jump to bite the container every 15minz or so as compared to wormies which is less often.

The jump is not dangerous at all as i put the container about 2cm above water level only. So it just does a tiny poke above the water at the container.

You will notice in the vid that the aro doesnt really care about the container with wormies much....cuz i actually just put it there for show in this vid, the aro was already fed with lots of mp.

The schedule i put the container is like this:

morning wake up, feed a bit of wormies.
tie container above water level about 2cm (i find crickets more effective)
go to work.
come back from work take away the container with crickets
wait about an hour (so it will forget the crickets)
feed mp (really eats the mp like pig)

continue your life, go to sleep...

next morning repeat process...

Comments and critisism and ideas are welcomed biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 13 2010, 02:47 PM
leong2084
post Mar 13 2010, 05:51 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Mar 13 2010, 05:38 PM)
lol whats with the smiley ruber balls xD
lol 2nd idea to prevent de....give the some items to dodge in the water

to be able to dodge it, it has to look at it (look down less) brows.gif

Added on March 13, 2010, 5:53 pm
QUOTE(Daniel Chok @ Mar 13 2010, 05:45 PM)
Wahh, good idea la. i wanna try that too. And ur Aro is Gorgeous!
hehe thx tongue.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 13 2010, 05:53 PM
leong2084
post Mar 13 2010, 07:37 PM

89 posts

hehe thx all biggrin.gif

@bensow
ya ben, i'm using rambo air pump. Its got ac/dc and can kick in up to 10hours when there is no power. i've been using it since like...early last year till now, no issues and works like i cant even remember any time i ever worried about air pump....it is so effective that there was this one time i had to bring some fishies from k.l to seremban for my little niece and i was worried there wont be enuf o2 in the water for the long journey...so i unpluged my rambo and it still pumping o2 all the way there and back home..lol cost me about rm200 but worth every sen...cuz it also has got charger kits where you can hook it to car battery or any battery for that matter

@ Devillsin
yeah, i've gotta take the smileys out when it gets bigger tho it doesnt bug them at all, but for the moment they kinda look kewl haha, esp with the lights on in the tank.

pretty occupied with the container of crickets mostly haha.

@Daniel Chok
The black background is to help bring out the colors of the red arowana.
The black surroundings somehow mentally affect the arowana to do so.
For me i like it black anyways cuz its like contrasting color to red hehe tongue.gif

haha love your aro too tongue.gif

not my camera btw LoL i just borrowed my collegues, not dslr, just using normal cannon camera. The pic i posted was the best of the whole 1hr session of taking the pix lol, being mostly blurry pictures >.<

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 13 2010, 10:31 PM
leong2084
post Mar 14 2010, 10:15 AM

89 posts

not only not to aro but to wormies and crickets too =.="

gotta starve em insecs before they even start eating them zzzz

ironicly, i tried feeding the cheap brown sa branded pellets to the insects and they went bonkers over it....

leong2084
post Mar 14 2010, 10:44 PM

89 posts

lol i give up oledy, i just starve the insects and give the insects eat the hikari instead then feed them to the aro wheneva

today i discovered something new....about mp

I went to the market and i swa there where 2 diff type of mp being sold...one is like redish and bigger in general and the other is the slightly smaller but darker colors in general.

The guy who sold me told me one is from laut and the other is from river 0.o?!

i was like wuteva, so i chose the bigger sized ones which had reddish brown shells. I brought it back home, and wash and put into fridge and take only 1 piece to feed my aro tongue.gif

To my surprise my mp loving aro suddenly dont like this mp after chewing it for a bit....just spat it out....i gave another piece...and it also spat it out...3rd piece and just ignored it....

Now the difference here was the type of prawn i bought. Previously i was using the slightly smaller and darker (or rather black-grey) shelled prawns (supposedly river prawn as told by the guy selling it).....and it loved it....

But with the laut prawns it didnt like it o.o

Wow?!?! lol

So for those who are struggling with getting thier aro to eat mp....this cud be the reason, maybe try buying other type of prawn and you might see a difference !!
leong2084
post Mar 15 2010, 11:00 PM

89 posts

Thx Zulkarnaain biggrin.gif

It is certified chilli/blood red from xlsa smile.gif
but by looking at its tail shape now and going by international standards i'd probly says its more chilli red than blood lol.

My aro is about 7-8 months i guess, i only got it recently since middle of last month smile.gif

my tank is 5x2.5x2
the tank mates are 3 bichirs, 1 rope fish, 2 unknown type fish lol
and recently added one bandaraya fish to help clean
leong2084
post Mar 18 2010, 05:55 PM

89 posts

yeah, we must do arowana parrrrtttttteeeehhhhhhhhhh!!!!!
leong2084
post Mar 18 2010, 08:00 PM

89 posts

show us the picture!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
leong2084
post Mar 19 2010, 04:50 PM

89 posts

hehe yeah i know...the exciting feeling...and the worrying feeling at the same time too....and the budgeting lol

Take your time to pick bro, me went and look for hours there and then go home and then go back again...and then go back...and then go back again stare staaarreeee many times and ask and ask questions etc until i satisfied only buy

When you do, please share pictures rclxm9.gif haha

we love to see more aro ppl !!!

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 19 2010, 04:51 PM
leong2084
post Mar 22 2010, 01:19 AM

89 posts

haha thats great news!! keep it up tongue.gif

i'll share a new trick i learnt a week back...

now this doesnt really always work but there is a way to feed hikari sticks and mp at the same time....

usually the mp i only cut off the head and the tail ends....leaving the body untouched, intact with the shell...

I use scissors to cut it into separate pieces,

Each separate piece has a hole in its body.....sorta like *****, you need break the hikari stick into a few pieces (like 2-3 pieces), small enough to hide it into the mp parts...

Just push the smaller hikari sticks into that hole, just like ***** and make sure it is somewhere in the middle....where its concealed....

now...at this point you think you just throw it in and the aro will eat rite?...WRONG LOL....

The aro can smell the hikari on the mp and wont eat it.....you need a separate small bowl of water where u can swish the mp around in it for a bit, make sure you use your fingers which you use to push the hikari sticks in too...so that the both get washed of the smell...

once that is done....try throwing into the water and watch the aro chomp it down unknowningly.......its really amazing lol

once you have tried this and it works for you, the next time, just take some time, to finish pushing the smaller hikari sticks into all the mp parts, then wash with the bowl with the same fingers, this is a good way to prevent the smell from going onto the next mp parts....as compared to doing one, wash then throw chomp, then repeat process etc, you get the drill...

So far it has worked out for me, but there was a few times my aro found the hikari stick concealed in the mp by chomping on it too much...then the whole mp part smelt like hikari so it basically just spat it out....after that my aro didint trust me anymore...just kept ignoring all the mp for a while....i had to starve it for 1.5 day before it started accepting the mp again....

So ya, do at your own risk lol, but its working great for me smile.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 22 2010, 01:30 AM
leong2084
post Mar 22 2010, 02:45 PM

89 posts

err...stuff it at roach butt?....i shudder at the thought of it like a nightmare from gay roach hell >.< LOL

yeah anyways for starving i dont wana go across 2 days...i feel very sad for it wan :S

If you do starve the aro for that long and it accept it after that, you must not stop feeding it the hikari sticks...gotta keep feeding for a week until it get used to taking hikari food as its staple food...then only can slowly give it the variety...

If you starve it and then give hikari and it accept for 1st day, then next day give roach again it will go back to being picky with not eating hikari...then gotta starve again lol

This post has been edited by leong2084: Mar 22 2010, 02:46 PM

24 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:42 AM