Blackberry Bold 9700 Review

TSReuben
post Dec 1 2009, 12:31 AM, updated 16y ago

Firo
667 posts

Update 29 December 2009

So I have been using the Bold 9700 for almost a month now and can now comment on its long term usage. Have upgraded to v.5.0.0.351 without any problems.

Battery life remains superb, I however found myself longing for the keyboard of the Bold 9000 as the 9700's one feels more stiff and less easy to type on. In fact give me a Bold 9000 with a better camera and optical trackpad and I'll gladly switch to the old form factor.

Prices on the Malaysian market have dropped significant ranging from RM2.1k to RM2.4k (depending on warranty, addons and also whether it has a tattooed telco on it).

The audio on the speaker is also a LOT more tinny after listening to it extensively in the car and comparing it with my old Bold.

Finding a micro-usb cable besides the one provided is also a daunting task which is rather annoying since I tend to like to have my cables ready to plugin at several locations at a time.

I'm still pretty happy with the phone though still think it's not really worth it for current Bold users once they have upgraded to OS5.0.

Original post is from the BolehVPN Blog.

There have been quite a few reviews on the Bold 2 9700, but thought I would share my own personal thoughts of it especially in relation to its use in Malaysia and a direct comparison to its predecessor the Bold 9000. To avoid confusion I would refer to each of the Bolds by its model number.

Looks: Size & Weight:

The 9700 does look quite sleek but doesn’t push any design boundaries sticking very firmly to its Blackberry roots. Rubberized buttons, chrome finish and a leather backing still makes it feel like a premium phone but it doesn’t stand out as much as a phone say like the Droid. In fact it looks very similar to a Tour + Curve combined.

The 9700’s size has been shrunk a lot and is now just very slightly longer than the Curve 8900 (in fact unless you put them side by side, you won’t see the difference). It is a HUGE difference from the 9000.

Weight of the 9000 is 136 grams while the 9700 is slightly lighter at 122 grams. Holding it in your hands, it’s hard to tell the difference except that the 9700 feels a lot more ‘dense’.

9000 on the left, 9700 on the right

Back view. Both using the leather backing.

As you can see the 9700 is slightly thinner

The memory card slot is only accessible once you take off the cover on the 9700. It's that groove in between the camera and flash.

Minor gripe is that unlike the 9000, the 9700’s memory card slot can only be accessed when taking off the battery cover. The 9700’s battery cover mechanism is a simple sliding mechanism as compared to the 9000’s dual clips but the 9700’s cover still fits snugly without rattling and makes those battery pulls a lot easier.

Keyboard:

The keyboard has been shrunk slightly and those who are used to the 9000’s plush keypad will find that it takes a while to get used to the 9700’s. However it is worth noting that the 9700’s keyboard occupies almost the entire width of the phone as compared to the 9000 which still has a chrome edge, so you aren’t losing as much as space as you would think.

Tactile wise, there’s a good bounce to the keypad, similar to the 9000 and typing is a pleasure and feels less plasticky than on the 8900 or the 8520 .

Trackball vs Trackpad:

This is an obvious win for the 9700. The first few seconds felt weird when you were used to feeling a sphere for rolling about but the trackpad works VERY well. Slight strokes were detected and it was a lot more responsive than the trackball. No more dirt and grime to ruin your experience and no more replacement trackballs.

After a few days of use, you realize how it changes your experience of your Bold positively and to me is a significant step forward.

Battery Life

This was another very pleasant surprise. Now the Bold 9000 and 9700 use the exact same battery. For testing purposes, I used my 9000 battery inside my new 9700 one just to see how much of a difference it would make. Previously on OS5.0, the 9000 would last maybe about 14-16 hours before going into the red with moderate use. Now this jumps DRASTICALLY with the 9700. Using the exact same 1500 mah battery, it lasted past the 20-22 hour mark with moderate to heavy use with 3G on. In fact I think it might have gone well past 24 hours but I decided it was best to charge it to prepare for the upcoming day. This is pretty amazing considering it packs the same processor and it’s on 3G.

The 9700 also seemed to get a lot less hot than its predecessor which sometimes can feel a bit toasty.

Call Quality/3G Signal

Nothing that notable here. Similar sounding to other Blackberry phones. It is perhaps a little clearer as the ear piece is less depressed as compared to other Blackberry models. I haven’t had extended time to test whether calls are dropped but as of yet, no dropped calls yet.

I found something particularly peculiar. Whenever I streamed Youtube or Flycast my connection to the Blackberry servers will cut off but the streaming will go on with no issues. Once the youtube video ends, it would resume the 3G connection after a short wait. Not sure if this is a telco, OS or hardware issue. I had similar issues with the 9000 so perhaps it’s a telco issue.

Speaker

The sound from the speakerphone seems slightly inferior to the Bold’s sounding slightly more tinny and had a more ‘echoey’ effect. This is probably a result of the shrinking of the form factor. It is however still decent and can be used for casual listening.

OS5.0 and Responsiveness

I won’t cover this too much here as I have done so in my previous post but compared to the 9000 running on OS5.0, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it did seem a tad snappier and more responsive than the 9000 despite it running on similar hardware. I believe I can attribute this to the 9000’s OS5.0 build still being a beta unreleased version while the 9700 being a more refined version.

Browser did feel more snappy with it loading pages with no issues.

I did notice that the Blackberry Messenger now allowed you to decide which size to send your pictures in (something I did not notice previously on my 4.6 build which forced you to send in full resolution) which is a very important and nice touch. Having already wiped my previous Bold of all data, I am unable to test if that BBM had a similar feature.

Camera

The pictures the 9700’s 3.2 megapixel camera takes are pretty respectable and performs its job well. I’ll let the pictures do the talking. Last pic is a low light picture taken at 6.40 PM.

Screen

Screen is luscious with it boasting a 480×360 resolution (same as the 8900 curve and the Storm 2) which is up from the 9000’s 480×320 resolution. Ultimately this to me makes little difference as the screen is too small to actually notice such minor differences.

New Buttons

There’s now ‘buttonless buttons’ on top of the 9700. The left one locks the keypad while the right one sends the device into standby. A nice touch but I remembered accidentally putting the phone on standby and looking all over for the Mute button. Yes, real men don’t read manuals…

Price Currently

The 9700 is available in Malaysia from unofficial sources ranging from MYR2500-3000. Prices are similar in Singapore. Prices are now starting to dip as 9700 sets become more available. I bought mine at MYR2700.00. Frankly this is way too much to pay for a slight revamp of the 9000. I expect prices to be a lot lower once Celcom and Maxis officially release it though there has not been a price indication so if you are not in a hurry, I suggest you wait.

For reference when the Bold 9000 was first released it was at RM1800.00 and then price increased to RM2.2-2.4k.

Conclusion

The Bold 9700 is a good update improving on all of its predecessor’s shortcomings (browser is still not perfect but has improved). However it also does not introduce anything really new or revolutionary and hence cannot be considered a ‘must-upgrade’. I would however recommend this highly for anyone moving from the older 8xxx series or are new to Blackberries. The Bold 9700 provides a stellar ‘Blackberry’ experience with no major gripes besides its currently high price.

Pros:

* Amazing battery life
* Great trackpad experience
* No obvious flaws
* Good responsiveness
* Camera is pretty respectable

Cons:

* Currently expensive price
* Nothing revolutionary, just an update of the Bold 9000
* Still needs a new browser
* Smaller keyboard might not suit those with big fingers

This post has been edited by Reuben: Dec 29 2009, 11:17 AM
zajun80
post Dec 1 2009, 08:30 AM

234 posts

price? biggrin.gif
Spoodo
post Dec 1 2009, 08:41 AM

130 posts

it's in his review. read.
chialatz
post Dec 1 2009, 12:31 PM

198 posts

Great review!!
v i n c
post Dec 1 2009, 12:39 PM

496 posts

great review as always. Keep us updated
cmlow0
post Dec 1 2009, 03:20 PM

26 posts

Thank for the detail reviews. Still enjoying my bold 9000 for now smile.gif
-renoma-
post Dec 2 2009, 10:35 AM

430 posts

Nice review. thumbup.gif
yusvogue2379
post Dec 2 2009, 02:39 PM

32 posts

Great review as always!
Hhhmm.. maybe i will consider this, but as for now am happy with my Javelin smile.gif
mymerodiianne
post Dec 2 2009, 06:32 PM

I am considering which blackberry model to buy.. 9000 or 9700.. may I know where can I buy the 9700 if I want to buy now.. actually can't wait sad.gif I'm using a loaned phone.. so, I urgently need to buy the phone.. will it still be under warranty if the phone is bought before the official release date?

i'm new here. please forgive me if I sound stupid..
TSReuben
post Dec 2 2009, 07:28 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(mymerodiianne @ Dec 2 2009, 06:32 PM)
I am considering which blackberry model to buy.. 9000 or 9700.. may I know where can I buy the 9700 if I want to buy now.. actually can't wait sad.gif I'm using a loaned phone.. so, I urgently need to buy the phone.. will it still be under warranty if the phone is bought before the official release date?

i'm new here. please forgive me if I sound stupid..
Lowyat and the Garage Sales has quite a few ppl selling it. Warranty is based on whoever u bought it from so you are taking a risk.

CapKapak
post Dec 2 2009, 09:46 PM

240 posts

Just got mine in today. Came via FEDEX. Ordered from Expansys SG and paid via PayPal. No problem whatsoever. Total cost including freight was RM2200, much cheaper than those on Lelong.com.my. Also the units are UK unbranded Bolds with warranty by Expansys.

So that's your alternative instead of paying those ridiculously marked up prices on the grey market.
mymerodiianne
post Dec 2 2009, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 2 2009, 07:28 PM)
Lowyat and the Garage Sales has quite a few ppl selling it. Warranty is based on whoever u bought it from so you are taking a risk.
QUOTE(CapKapak @ Dec 2 2009, 09:46 PM)
Just got mine in today. Came via FEDEX. Ordered from Expansys SG and paid via PayPal. No problem whatsoever. Total cost including freight was RM2200, much cheaper than those on Lelong.com.my. Also the units are UK unbranded Bolds with warranty by Expansys.

So that's your alternative instead of paying those ridiculously marked up prices on the grey market.
Thank you for your suggestions..

I would also like to know is "local AP warranty" considered original warranty? will this kind of warranties give me any problem? I;m quite worried. I intend to go Lowyat tmr to see around.. whereabouts of Lowyat that sells blackberry may I know? hmm.gif
TSReuben
post Dec 3 2009, 08:01 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(CapKapak @ Dec 2 2009, 09:46 PM)

That's an awesome deal biggrin.gif Care to share the contact?
SUSarjunawong
post Dec 4 2009, 07:43 AM

22 posts

yeah, care to share?
MattJ
post Dec 4 2009, 08:44 AM

769 posts

Guys,

CapKapak did mentioned Expansys Singapore in his post. That's where you should buy. With current exchange rate a tad under RM2200 courier to your door by FEDEX, much cheaper than GS or Mudah.
TSReuben
post Dec 4 2009, 08:47 AM

Firo
667 posts

Yea I did see expansys singapore smile.gif guess I should google!
-renoma-
post Dec 4 2009, 09:13 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Dec 4 2009, 08:44 AM)
Guys,

CapKapak did mentioned Expansys Singapore in his post. That's where you should buy. With current exchange rate a tad under RM2200 courier to your door by FEDEX, much cheaper than GS or Mudah.
Hi, may i know is it safe to buy from there?
MattJ
post Dec 4 2009, 10:10 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Dec 4 2009, 09:13 AM)
Ask Capkapak. He bought from Expansys. BAsically its the same from any part of the world for that matter when come to the issue of buying online.
Bought stuff from Hong Kong, the States online and they're OK and I think our southern neighbour also OK mah.
domokun
post Dec 4 2009, 11:29 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Dec 4 2009, 09:13 AM)
Should be ok...just have to crack your head when it comes to warranty issues..yes u play few hundreds cheaper, but no warranty how?
MattJ
post Dec 4 2009, 02:24 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(domokun @ Dec 4 2009, 11:29 AM)
Should be ok...just have to crack your head when it comes to warranty issues..yes u play few hundreds cheaper, but no warranty how?
Sama je bro, you beli local pun warranty tak tentu juga unless Celcom and Maxis bawa masuk official set nanti.
Kalau ada masalah hantar balik kat Expansys lah, that's the risk you have to take.
-renoma-
post Dec 4 2009, 07:12 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Dec 4 2009, 02:24 PM)
Sama je bro, you beli local pun warranty tak tentu juga unless Celcom and Maxis bawa masuk official set nanti.
Kalau ada masalah hantar balik kat Expansys lah, that's the risk you have to take.
Thanks smile.gif
CapKapak
post Dec 5 2009, 01:02 AM

240 posts

Hi guys, I got PM's from some forummers regarding the custom issue. Its a hit and miss thing unfortunately but I think the quantity plays a bit part in determining if your unit gets stuck in customs or not.

Me and my mate ordered a single unit and it manage to get pass customs with no issues.
beguiler
post Dec 5 2009, 01:37 AM

145 posts

i sent my bold 2 months + ago back to maxis for warranty and guess what almost 3 months still no news about it + their stupid customer services and lousy blackberry knowledge from the so called maxis blackberry expert , i decided to skip maxis , not worth for the money u paying extra to those telco at all..i rather to get an AP with warranty, much more cheaper and much more faster during RMA

Added on December 5, 2009, 1:40 am
QUOTE(CapKapak @ Dec 5 2009, 01:02 AM)
Hi guys, I got PM's from some forummers regarding the custom issue. Its a hit and miss thing unfortunately but I think the quantity plays a bit part in determining if your unit gets stuck in customs or not.

Me and my mate ordered a single unit and it manage to get pass customs with no issues.
yes i bought nokia 8800 carbon arte from US and shipped by fedex and got stuck by stupid sirim stuff..damn troublesome..thats the risk have to take..

This post has been edited by beguiler: Dec 5 2009, 01:40 AM
MattJ
post Dec 10 2009, 11:24 AM

769 posts

Checked with a friend who works for Kastam and he confirmed mobile phones, smartphones will be subjected to scrutiny if shipped by FEDEX and entering the country via Aircargo. Kalau ada kawan duti senang skit. Otherwise will have to pay duties and SIRIM again, Haiz......
-renoma-
post Dec 10 2009, 01:18 PM

430 posts

Reuben,

Do u find that the right shortcut button is less sensitive den left shortcut button ?

chypmun77
post Dec 10 2009, 04:27 PM

I just got mine for rm2,400.00 !!
domokun
post Dec 10 2009, 04:29 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(chypmun77 @ Dec 10 2009, 04:27 PM)
I just got mine for rm2,400.00 !!
Hello chypmun brows.gif ...I'm ur fren!!! wOot!

Someone told me Puchong can get for 2150 doh.gif

This post has been edited by domokun: Dec 10 2009, 04:30 PM
MattJ
post Dec 10 2009, 04:44 PM

769 posts

Bro checked out LYN Garage sale, search under blackberry one forumer, Gadget Junction selling at RM2150 in LYN. TMobile set (AP). If expansys, no marking set, but no difference at all as I learnt while using my Vodafone Bold with Celcom.
domokun
post Dec 10 2009, 04:50 PM

707 posts

Bold 9700 is ok regardless of where its from..CDMA on the other hand cant be use for CELCOM!
ooikl
post Dec 10 2009, 07:25 PM

421 posts

sorry for newbie question, is the bold 9700 can read and write in chinese character?
chialatz
post Dec 10 2009, 07:52 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(ooikl @ Dec 10 2009, 07:25 PM)
sorry for newbie question, is the bold 9700 can read and write in chinese character?
yes all BB can read & write chinese character. u just have to install the east asian OS.
mikelanding
post Dec 10 2009, 10:03 PM

2,865 posts

At this moment, I don't think there is an east Asia OS for 9700 yet.

So no Chinese input at this moment for 9700
ooikl
post Dec 10 2009, 10:35 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 10 2009, 10:03 PM)

can it read chinese if its not east asia OS?
i need to read chinese instead of write... smile.gif
mikelanding
post Dec 10 2009, 10:43 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(ooikl @ Dec 10 2009, 10:35 PM)
cant read and write at this moment
bearbrick
post Dec 10 2009, 11:21 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 10 2009, 10:03 PM)

Got east asian OS already.installed on my 9700 can read write chinese.

QUOTE(ooikl @ Dec 10 2009, 10:35 PM)
mikelanding
post Dec 11 2009, 01:08 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(bearbrick @ Dec 10 2009, 11:21 PM)
Got east asian OS already.installed on my 9700 can read write chinese.
wow..that is great new. Mind to share the download link here for the benefit of forumers here. smile.gif

Added on December 11, 2009, 1:20 amAfter some googling, I got this

9700EastAsia_PBr5.0.0_rel541_PL5.1.0.96_A5.0.0.344_Bell_Mobility_Inc.exe

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 11 2009, 01:22 AM
ooikl
post Dec 11 2009, 09:02 AM

421 posts

thanks for the info guy.... biggrin.gif
-renoma-
post Dec 11 2009, 03:06 PM

430 posts

Upgraded to East Asian FW. So far so good rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ooikl
post Dec 11 2009, 03:40 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Dec 11 2009, 03:06 PM)
Upgraded to East Asian FW. So far so good  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
once upgrade to east asian, the menu is in english or chinese?
stephenw84
post Dec 11 2009, 03:44 PM

36 posts

my 9700 can read and write. i did it myself, very easy~
i can share with u how, add my pin

Added on December 11, 2009, 3:44 pmmy pin 21604320,

This post has been edited by stephenw84: Dec 11 2009, 03:44 PM
-renoma-
post Dec 11 2009, 10:59 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(ooikl @ Dec 11 2009, 03:40 PM)
once upgrade to east asian, the menu is in english or chinese?
ENglish..but i can switch input to chinense. and now I can read chinese for my mail. smile.gif
beguiler
post Dec 13 2009, 05:31 AM

145 posts

yeah lowest from T-mobile 9700 so far i heard is 2100 only..might hand itchy enough to go get it -.-
sr_reyes
post Dec 13 2009, 07:27 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Dec 13 2009, 05:31 AM)
yeah lowest from T-mobile 9700 so far i heard is 2100 only..might hand itchy enough to go get it -.-
yup, i think thats the lowest price currently. booked mine from alvinthz biggrin.gif
ryukick
post Dec 13 2009, 11:25 PM

746 posts

Anyone know where to get the screen protector for the 9700 Bold yet? Can't seem to find it..how about cases??
bearbrick
post Dec 14 2009, 03:06 AM

363 posts

Well im doing a promo price pre order for lyn.
RM2060 interested party can head to my 9700 thread.
-renoma-
post Dec 14 2009, 10:22 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(ryukick @ Dec 13 2009, 11:25 PM)
Anyone know where to get the screen protector for the 9700 Bold yet? Can't seem to find it..how about cases??
I got my screen protector for bold 2 9700 @ ss2. RM 15. biggrin.gif
ryukick
post Dec 14 2009, 01:26 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Dec 14 2009, 10:22 AM)
I got my screen protector for bold 2 9700 @ ss2. RM 15.  biggrin.gif
Oh thats good...which shop in SS2? Let me know so I can get it today tongue.gif
-renoma-
post Dec 14 2009, 01:56 PM

430 posts

add me in BMM. check ur inbox
zoey77
post Dec 14 2009, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(sr_reyes @ Dec 13 2009, 07:27 AM)
yup, i think thats the lowest price currently. booked mine from alvinthz  biggrin.gif
think can get about rm1.9kish from lelong now?
TSReuben
post Dec 14 2009, 03:31 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Dec 10 2009, 01:18 PM)
Reuben,

Do u find that the right shortcut button is less sensitive den left shortcut button ?
Not that I notice. I did notice that I do have to press a bit for it to trigger.
FaLLeN-786
post Dec 14 2009, 04:46 PM

100 posts

i thought the right button is a 2 step button, normally meant to use camera function, so you can focus first, then capture, aint it?
anyway, is it possible to use proxy on bold 9700, am trying to work my way around slacker radio...
ahnien
post Dec 14 2009, 08:49 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

hi guys, i'm surveying around for a BB. and had finally put my eyes glued to this babeh.

i was wondering since its not officially launched by maxis & celcom.
the sets selling out ther in the market (most providing 12month warranty) - those are oversea sets rite??

cuz i came across one seller selling:
-T-mobile sets
and
-AP sets

asuming t-mobile sets are oversea sets??
and AP are approved local sets?? t-mobile sets price are slightly lower than AP sets.
anyone know the difference? and is the warranty accountable & valid?
TSReuben
post Dec 15 2009, 06:44 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Dec 14 2009, 08:49 PM)
hi guys, i'm surveying around for a BB. and had finally put my eyes glued to this babeh.

the sets selling out ther in the market (most providing 12month warranty) - those are oversea sets rite??

-T-mobile sets
and
-AP sets

and AP are approved local sets?? t-mobile sets price are slightly lower than AP sets.
I really doubt the local warranty...

T-Mobile was probably built originally for T-Mobile with the branding and what not and then unlocked subsequently. As usually the warranty comes from T Mobile but you are unlocking it...then I would think the warranty just comes from the seller which is always not a 100% thing. Same with AP sets.
sonyclie77
post Dec 16 2009, 11:56 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Dec 14 2009, 08:49 PM)

-T-mobile sets
and
-AP sets

T-Mobile sets are definitely overseas sets.

And warranty is most probably by the local supplier.

It's best to check what does the warranty cover before deciding to buy from the person, as each AP distributor has different terms when it comes to warranty.
typical9
post Dec 16 2009, 02:41 PM

41 posts

hello... am very newbie to BB... been reading threads here about BB and all to get more infos..

if i may ask, where can i get BB 9700 at lowyat or anywhere nearby KL with reasonable price + good condition + warranty?

sometimes i feel afraid if they sell phone with non-original items n warranty..

thank you...
fareed
post Dec 17 2009, 11:59 AM

any chance of gettin this below rm2000? mybe around 1500-1900?
typical9
post Dec 17 2009, 02:47 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(fareed @ Dec 17 2009, 11:59 AM)
any chance of gettin this below rm2000? mybe around 1500-1900?
yea i think got... at lowyat got 1 place selling RM1900... at first floor...

and just now a guy at celcom told me a person offered him BB2 around rm1500... but not sure where...
beguiler
post Dec 17 2009, 02:52 PM

145 posts

wow where to find such low? if found PM me the location and details pls , i dont mind to get another one if really that cheap
WN16
post Dec 17 2009, 03:46 PM

Hi
I'm new here.
I just bought a new unlocked BB9700 from the UK and I have never use a BB before. I went to Celcom to change my current plan to one with unlimited internet but they told me that I need some kind of PIN and ID.

Can someone please tell me the procedures..??

Many thanks.

WN
sampride
post Dec 17 2009, 04:54 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE(WN16 @ Dec 17 2009, 03:46 PM)
Hi
I'm new here.
I just bought a new unlocked BB9700 from the UK and I have never use a BB before. I went to Celcom to change my current plan to one with unlimited internet but they told me that I need some kind of PIN and ID.

Many thanks.

WN
Go to Options -> Status -> You will see PIN and IMEI there.
mikelanding
post Dec 17 2009, 04:54 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(WN16 @ Dec 17 2009, 03:46 PM)
Hi
I'm new here.

Many thanks.

WN
For PIN, U can get it by take out the battery and look into the sticker.
or
On the phone, Setup Folder --> Option --> Status --> PIN

For ID, I think is IMEI not ID
Press *#06#

WN16
post Dec 17 2009, 05:06 PM

Thanks for the info, Sampride & Mikelanding.

I hope it will work. Some retailers at Blue Cube said that there is no unblocked blackberrys. But the one I bought says that I can use any service providers as it is unblocked. So I am rather confused!

WN
fareed
post Dec 17 2009, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(typical9 @ Dec 17 2009, 02:47 PM)

and just now a guy at celcom told me a person offered him BB2 around rm1500... but not sure where...
wow! thanks for the info! u really boost my morale in getting a bold 2! my htc tytn II oready KO (hardware prob) haiya

This post has been edited by fareed: Dec 17 2009, 08:13 PM
eb0nY & iv0ry
post Dec 17 2009, 11:28 PM

44 posts

wah..i envy everyone who has a 9700 >.<
i want one too..
MattJ
post Dec 18 2009, 01:53 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(typical9 @ Dec 17 2009, 02:47 PM)

Typical9,
Mind sharing name of shop on 1st floor Lowyat selling Bold 29700 at RM1900 thru' PM.
Thanks, Sis

aruja_69
post Dec 19 2009, 01:59 PM

3,786 posts

R sure BB2 for 1500 pls pm me too..
jon_jai
post Dec 21 2009, 12:52 AM

184 posts

Just got my 9700 smile.gif
i'm selling my bb 9000 if anyone is interested. used for 3 weeks, no scratch.
selling for $450 CND
poque
post Dec 21 2009, 11:24 PM

23 posts

Mine bought bb bold 9700 last weekend, price 2200 @ss2..., bb with 'at&t'(not sure is it version or what) & the sales guy said its already unlocked ver.,try to download the app, but failed & also cannot send sms too. Went to maxis & they said my bb not fully unlocked(only can call & received sms only) & ask me to check with shop where i buy it...really upset, you pay more than 2k & cannot send sms lah(cheap hp below than RM100 still can sms...). Decide to meet the sales guy today & suddenly he said that my at&t bb cannot use maxis sim card because maxis technology is advance from the firmware in my at&t bb(only digi & celcom can work), luckily he promise to change my bb to new t-mobile ver.(according to him this model can work with maxis sim card)so need wait for my new bb tomorrow..smile.gif
petepix
post Dec 22 2009, 02:00 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(poque @ Dec 21 2009, 11:24 PM)
Mine bought bb bold 9700 last weekend, price 2200 @ss2..., bb with 'at&t'(not sure is it version or what) & the sales guy said its already unlocked ver.,try to download the app, but failed & also cannot send sms too. Went to maxis & they said my bb not fully unlocked(only can call & received sms only) & ask me to check with shop where i buy it...really upset, you pay more than 2k & cannot send sms lah(cheap hp below than RM100 still can sms...). Decide to meet the sales guy today & suddenly he said that my at&t bb cannot use maxis sim card because maxis technology is advance from the firmware in my at&t bb(only digi & celcom can work), luckily he promise to change my bb to new t-mobile ver.(according to him this model can work with maxis sim card)so need wait for my new bb tomorrow..smile.gif
A BlackBerry is no ordinary phone, u need to do research 1st

DT8
post Dec 22 2009, 03:17 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

what's the latest OS for bb2 bold 9700?
TSReuben
post Dec 22 2009, 03:24 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 22 2009, 03:17 PM)
what's the latest OS for bb2 bold 9700?
Official? v5.0.0.351 (which is available from Celcom/Maxis already)

Leaked? v5.0.0.421

DT8
post Dec 22 2009, 03:41 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

If I change my OS, without BIS can work?
TSReuben
post Dec 22 2009, 03:45 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 22 2009, 03:41 PM)
If I change my OS, without BIS can work?
You need BIS/BES no matter what OS you are on.

It'll still work as a regular phone though just no internet nor e-mail.
DT8
post Dec 22 2009, 03:52 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 22 2009, 03:45 PM)
You need BIS/BES no matter what OS you are on.

It'll still work as a regular phone though just no internet nor e-mail.
I mean, cos I haven't activate my BIS yet, in the mean time can I install new OS for my bb? or other 3rd party applications.
TSReuben
post Dec 22 2009, 04:38 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 22 2009, 03:52 PM)
I mean, cos I haven't activate my BIS yet, in the mean time can I install new OS for my bb? or other 3rd party applications.
Yes should be fine.
DT8
post Dec 22 2009, 11:22 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

So does it necessary to upgrade the OS to the latest build?
TSReuben
post Dec 22 2009, 11:35 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 22 2009, 11:22 PM)
So does it necessary to upgrade the OS to the latest build?
It's never necessary to upgrade.

It's whether you want to or not. The later builds don't have that much of a compelling upgrade and still some bugs. I did upgrade to 351 tho.
DT8
post Dec 22 2009, 11:42 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

ok another question here.

How come all my SMS+Emails are all mixed up? How to categorize them into respective icon?
jon_jai
post Dec 23 2009, 01:57 AM

184 posts

DT8: Hide the Message Icon and use the SMS/MMS icon only.

do you guys use Keypad lock or Standby mode?

This post has been edited by jon_jai: Dec 23 2009, 01:58 AM
Byron46
post Dec 23 2009, 08:57 AM

Iam using blackberry bold 9700 on accessorygeeks.com, this candy is has a large, hi-res screen that displays over 65,000 colors; creating a vivid viewing experience for all your photos, videos, files and websites. This have trackpad navigation. BlackBerry Bold 9700 smartphone features video camera functionality. record and view videos on the hi-res screen, and share them through email, text messages or social networking sites.
bettysr20
post Dec 23 2009, 09:03 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(jon_jai @ Dec 21 2009, 12:52 AM)
Just got my 9700 smile.gif
i'm selling my bb 9000 if anyone is interested. used for 3 weeks, no scratch.
selling for $450 CND
bro... rm450 or usd450 or isit sgd450?

Added on December 23, 2009, 9:03 amif rm450 i want la bro

This post has been edited by bettysr20: Dec 23 2009, 09:03 AM
Spoodo
post Dec 23 2009, 10:37 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(bettysr20 @ Dec 23 2009, 09:03 AM)
bro... rm450 or usd450 or isit sgd450?

Added on December 23, 2009, 9:03 amif rm450 i want la bro
$450 CND (Canadian Dollars)..........
red-queen
post Dec 23 2009, 11:43 AM

1,310 posts

how much is the Bold9700 in canada? might ask my cousin to help bring one back.
MariMo
post Dec 23 2009, 12:03 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

hey guys, got my bold, but i am not sure if my BIS is activated.
My 3g is in big caps like "3G"
other than this , is there another way to clarify my BIS is activated?
my dad subcribed BIS for me , but i have yet to ask him as he's overseas now smile.gif
DT8
post Dec 23 2009, 12:06 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 22 2009, 07:54 PM)
1) Check your phone is sim lock or not
Go to
Option -> Advance Optio--> sim cards
Type MEPD

If your Network is Active or Enable = LOCKED
If nextwork is Inactive or Disable mean your phone is unlocked and can use on Malaysia telco. smile.gif

2) For 8900 model, it will work on all Malaysia telco. So no worry

3) If U have signed BIS package. To know if U have connection to BIS server. Your signal will show BIG CAPITAL LETTER example 3G, EDGE, GPRS

Smal letter like 3g, edge, gprs mean U are not yet connection to BIS or Your BIS is not active yet.
MariMo
post Dec 23 2009, 12:11 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

DT8 thanks for ur help so i suppose mine is already activated.
How u set up ur push button? smile.gif
DT8
post Dec 23 2009, 12:13 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

Just activate from maxis, if your BIS has been activated, go reboot your bold and then you should see the BIS connected. if you're under maxis, go www.maxis.blackberry.com do your email thingy.
MariMo
post Dec 23 2009, 12:19 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

Yes , my 3G is in big caps and there's one WIFI icon below of the 3G.

Did the email thingy try www.maxis.blackberry.com

but there's no Welcome to BlackBerry email from the Activation Server. hmmm
annesemut
post Dec 23 2009, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(MattJ @ Dec 18 2009, 01:53 PM)
Typical9,
Mind sharing name of shop on 1st floor Lowyat selling Bold 29700 at RM1900 thru' PM.
Thanks, Sis
Pls put me in the loop too! I'm now waiting (impatiently) to get my hands on a 9700. However the current price still scares me biggrin.gif. BTW my friend just told me she got hers at RM2K in Wisma Sentral this aft. under GT mobile service.

Too bad Maxis/Celcom/Digi haven't jump into the 9700 bandwagon.. I'm sure it would be a bit cheaper..
mikelanding
post Dec 23 2009, 05:03 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(MariMo @ Dec 23 2009, 12:19 PM)
Yes , my 3G is in big caps and there's one WIFI icon below of the 3G.

Did the email thingy try www.maxis.blackberry.com

but there's no Welcome to BlackBerry email from the Activation Server. hmmm
FOr push mail setting. U dont need to go to www.maxis.blackberry.com

Just set it up on your bold.

Go to Setup Folder --> Email setting
Add up to 10 personnel accounts

Less hassle and dont need pc + net to do it.
MariMo
post Dec 23 2009, 05:38 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

hey Mike i don't think my BB bold's BIS is activated yet even if it's in caps "3G" ( withot bb symbol )

inside my Email setup (bb's ) it online gave me an option which is BES option .

because i had just dwled the BB facebook app and it says " Could not connect because data service is not available "

Gotta ask my dad if he activated it yet smile.gif

This post has been edited by MariMo: Dec 23 2009, 05:39 PM
sampride
post Dec 23 2009, 05:40 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE(MariMo @ Dec 23 2009, 05:38 PM)
hey Mike i don't think my BB bold's BIS is activated yet even if it's in caps "3G" ( withot bb symbol )

because i had just dwled the BB facebook app and it says " Could not connect because data service is not available "

Gotta ask my dad if he activated it yet smile.gif
If your BIS is activated, there is a blackberry icon beside the CAP 3G. edge or gprs do not have this icon.

try restart your phone. unplug your battery and plug in back.
MariMo
post Dec 23 2009, 05:54 PM

- El Nino -
706 posts

QUOTE(sampride @ Dec 23 2009, 05:40 PM)
If your BIS is activated, there is a blackberry icon beside the CAP 3G. edge or gprs do not have this icon.

try restart your phone. unplug your battery and plug in back.
hey thanks for the info, i guess my BIS is not activated yet, no BB icon beside the caps . as my dad's the main line gotta wait for him to go along and subcribe 1 smile.gif

maxtor1
post Dec 23 2009, 06:16 PM

990 posts

I am planning to get it too, now still on consideration between bold 2 or storm2.
Tire with my iPhone 2g 16gb. I also have a 8900 with maxis BIS. Everything is working well.

Going to sell my iPhone and 8900 to get bold2 maybe...
I found a seller at ss15 subang jaya, selling 9700 at RM2,000.00 only. With full warranty. If anyone interested, I will provide u the contact number.
MattJ
post Dec 23 2009, 09:01 PM

769 posts

Max,

Can get it at Subang Square for <2000. Look in Lelong
satanchild
post Dec 24 2009, 10:10 PM

92 posts

Help! can someone teach me how to install Chinese in my 9700??
poque
post Dec 24 2009, 11:14 PM

23 posts

Finally my bb can work after change to new t-mobile set..next looking to subscribe maxis BIS to enjoy full bb service..smile.gif
weileong
post Dec 25 2009, 08:57 PM

"The Idea Is To Die Young As Late As Possible"
1,720 posts

anyone looking for bb 9700 screen protector pls pm me for best price smile.gif
sacrosanct
post Dec 25 2009, 09:38 PM

243 posts

I was talking to the guy in Celcom Blue Cube today and he said that they will only be launching BlackBerry Bold 9700 in January and the price is set to be RM2799?!

Whereas, I heard from a colleague that the price is only about RM2400. So, what is the speculation for the price or there has been a confirmed price?
weileong
post Dec 25 2009, 10:00 PM

1,720 posts

the price would expected about RM1.9k -2.2K depend on contract plan, as SRP...dunno can get outright purchase from Maxis,celcom or Digi ?
ariefamron
post Dec 25 2009, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(weileong @ Dec 25 2009, 10:00 PM)
the price would expected about RM1.9k -2.2K depend on contract plan, as SRP...dunno can get outright purchase from Maxis,celcom or Digi ?
icon_rolleyes.gif Cool, if the price is going to be in that range then, I'll just wait. My brother bought 2 pcs Bold 2 recently for RM 2600 each (AP local warranty). Would be interesting to see how Digi is going to take part in this BB war smile.gif
weileong
post Dec 25 2009, 11:02 PM

1,720 posts

i'm still waiting Maxis or Digi set..pefer without "Tatoo" version.
sacrosanct
post Dec 25 2009, 11:21 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Dec 25 2009, 10:00 PM)
Usually can get outright purchase from Maxis and Celcom without the contract - but if the price is going to be high might as well source it from Singapore or other countries? Lol!

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(ariefamron @ Dec 25 2009, 10:44 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif  Cool, if the price is going to be in that range then, I'll just wait. My brother bought 2 pcs Bold 2 recently for RM 2600 each (AP local warranty). Would be interesting to see how Digi is going to take part in this BB war  smile.gif
Wow, that is really steep. Akin to the price of a new iPhone already. Heehee.

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(weileong @ Dec 25 2009, 11:02 PM)
i'm still waiting Maxis or Digi set..pefer without "Tatoo" version.
Oh.

I checked with Maxis also today. They are not too sure when the launching would be - that was what the lady told me.

=.=

I also prefer the device without the emblazonment of any telco companies. My current Bold is w/o the tattoo. Heehee.

This post has been edited by sacrosanct: Dec 25 2009, 11:23 PM
melthq
post Dec 26 2009, 06:42 PM

613 posts

Well I'm selling a brand new bold 2 that is SIM-FREE, no unlocking needed tongue.gif for only RM2300 ( AP local warrranty ) comes with 2gb sd card + screen protector + car charger biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by melthq: Dec 26 2009, 06:46 PM
TSReuben
post Dec 29 2009, 11:17 AM

Firo
667 posts

Have posted update on this review after almost one month of use.
jcwc23
post Jan 29 2010, 09:03 AM

36 posts

Guys, im new with BB. Planning to get 1 9700 while using iphone 2g. Hehe. I have few question here and hope someone could clear my doubt.

1. What does BIS mean?
2. I am using maxis line, can i use digi or celcom BB service?
3. Does the maps in BB working in M'sia?
4. Does the battery allow to charge frequently like iphone? I mean won't cause any damage to the battery if I suka suka or have time then charge the battery in my car.
5. Is BB stable (hardware/ software)? My bought my AP iphone for 2 years and have no problem so far (touch wood). Hope won't have a chance to use BB warranty like iphone does.

TSReuben
post Jan 29 2010, 09:15 AM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(jcwc23 @ Jan 29 2010, 09:03 AM)
Guys, im new with BB. Planning to get 1 9700 while using iphone 2g. Hehe. I have few question here and hope someone could clear my doubt.

1. What does BIS mean?
4. Does the battery allow to charge frequently like iphone? I mean won't cause any damage to the battery if I suka suka or have time then charge the battery in my car.
5. Is BB stable (hardware/ software)? My bought my AP iphone for 2 years and have no problem so far (touch wood). Hope won't have a chance to use BB warranty like iphone does.
1. Blackberry Internet Service, you need it to use the internet/e-mail related functions of the Blackberry. BES is Blackberry Enterprise Service for those who maintain their own Blackberry e-mail server.
2. Nope u have to use Maxis BB service if you're using a Maxis line
3. Yes it does though it's kinda basic. Google maps which is freely downloadable offers a better experience.
4. Yes no problem with this. Lithium Ion batteries like to be topped up.
5. Yes it's stable unless you frequently update your device to leaked OSes or load a lot of 3rd party apps which may not be so well designed. But for the most part it's great especially with the 9700.
jcwc23
post Jan 29 2010, 09:31 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Jan 29 2010, 09:15 AM)
1. Blackberry Internet Service, you need it to use the internet/e-mail related functions of the Blackberry. BES is Blackberry Enterprise Service for those who maintain their own Blackberry e-mail server.
2. Nope u have to use Maxis BB service if you're using a Maxis line
3. Yes it does though it's kinda basic. Google maps which is freely downloadable offers a better experience.
4. Yes no problem with this. Lithium Ion batteries like to be topped up.
5. Yes it's stable unless you frequently update your device to leaked OSes or load a lot of 3rd party apps which may not be so well designed. But for the most part it's great especially with the 9700.
Hi Reuben,

Thanks for your quick reply. From your thread, i knew you have a good experience with your BB thumbup.gif

1. I heard ppl said celcome BIS/ coverage is way better than maxis, is this true?
2. Which mean BIS is for internet, email, msn etc and BES is for those technical guy to maintain their company email server?
3. How can we update BB OS? Download to PC and install from there?
4. Will the phone get lock like iphone while update OS?
5. If we caught in trouble (BB hang etc) after install 3rd party app, can we troubleshoot by ourselves?

sorry for asking so many question here, as i need to get full review/understanding before i buy smile.gif
Thanks for taking time on my question. Appreciate it. notworthy.gif
7thsky
post Jan 29 2010, 09:33 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(jcwc23 @ Jan 29 2010, 09:03 AM)

1. What does BIS mean?
hi,
1. http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-lectu...ats-difference; http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-how-lecture-series
2. you can use any telcos as long as your unit's PIN is released. more here: http://forum.lowyat.net/Blackberry; http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1193190
3. yes but mine is BES; also see these too: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1303219&hl=map, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1296941&hl=map and this http://forums.crackberry.com/f41/real-fix-...-v1-0-a-192999/ for future referrences
4. yes as long as it's the right charger
5. very stable - unless you're unlucky; it's meant for corporate sector whom abuses their units uncompromisingly!

loads of info in this forum/section, just take sometime read before buying one and u'll be alright.
cheers!

jcwc23
post Jan 29 2010, 09:41 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Jan 29 2010, 09:33 AM)
hi,
1. http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-lectu...ats-difference; http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-how-lecture-series
2. you can use any telcos as long as your unit's PIN is released. more here: http://forum.lowyat.net/Blackberry; http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1193190
3. yes but mine is BES; also see these too: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1303219&hl=map, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1296941&hl=map and this http://forums.crackberry.com/f41/real-fix-...-v1-0-a-192999/ for future referrences
4. yes as long as it's the right charger
5. very stable - unless you're unlucky; it's meant for corporate sector whom abuses their units uncompromisingly!

loads of info in this forum/section, just take sometime read before buying one and u'll be alright.
cheers!
Hi 7thsky,

Thanks for your details information. I'm sure will get a better understanding on BB with your provided link. Thanks bro. Cheers. thumbup.gif
TSReuben
post Jan 29 2010, 11:31 AM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(jcwc23 @ Jan 29 2010, 09:31 AM)
Hi Reuben,

Thanks for your quick reply.  From your thread, i knew you have a good experience with your BB  thumbup.gif

1. I heard ppl said celcome BIS/ coverage is way better than maxis, is this true?
2. Which mean BIS is for internet, email, msn etc and BES is for those technical guy to maintain their company email server?
3. How can we update BB OS? Download to PC and install from there?
4. Will the phone get lock like iphone while update OS?
5. If we caught in trouble (BB hang etc) after install 3rd party app, can we troubleshoot by ourselves?

sorry for asking so many question here, as i need to get full review/understanding before i buy smile.gif
Thanks for taking time on my question. Appreciate it.  notworthy.gif
1. Depends on area. I can't comment but in Kuching, Celcom has better coverage.
2. BIS is for consumers, BES is for enterprise users (if you don't know what it is you probably don't need it). You will be using BIS.
3. Yes download to PC and install from there. Upgrading takes a while about 45 minutes.
4. No unless you have a power surge while updating. In that case very easy to wipe the phone and do it again.
5. Yes there's always wipe + restore option.
arcbound
post Jan 31 2010, 11:38 PM

71 posts

Dear all,

I just got my BB 9700 and currently using the RM40 Maxis BIS plan (5mb data)

Have a few question regarding 5mb data and WiFi connectivity, on which bandwith is being used.

1. Internet browsing: I believe as long as I'm connected to my WiFi and I set my browser to HotSpots, I should be using my WiFi bandwith.

2. MSN messenger, google talk, facebook (applications from RIM), if i used these applications (WiFi connection still on), which bandwith am I actually using? My WiFi or my 5mb data plan?

3. I got informed to upgrade my blackberry messenger software, which downloaded a 2.5mb update. I was connected to WiFi, but question again is whether the bandwith was using WiFi or 5mb plan?

4. I created my blackberry email account. If I'm home and I receive emails, is it WiFi bandwith? And if I'm outdoor with no access to WiFi, I guess my 5mb bandwith is the one right?
GsQuiggle
post Feb 1 2010, 11:38 PM

I want one 9700! Cant Wait! = ]
7thsky
post Feb 11 2010, 07:08 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(arcbound @ Jan 31 2010, 11:38 PM)
Dear all,

Have a few question regarding 5mb data and WiFi connectivity, on which bandwith is being used.

1. Internet browsing: I believe as long as I'm connected to my WiFi and I set my browser to HotSpots, I should be using my WiFi bandwith.

2. MSN messenger, google talk, facebook (applications from RIM), if i used these applications (WiFi connection still on), which bandwith am I actually using? My WiFi or my 5mb data plan?

3. I got informed to upgrade my blackberry messenger software, which downloaded a 2.5mb update. I was connected to WiFi, but question again is whether the bandwith was using WiFi or 5mb plan?

4. I created my blackberry email account. If I'm home and I receive emails, is it WiFi bandwith? And if I'm outdoor with no access to WiFi, I guess my 5mb bandwith is the one right?
hi,
1. wifi [ assuming your browser is not set to bb ]
2. bis for all bb native applications
3. bis if it's ota download
4. bis as it's 'push' technology

most casual users get by with that 5mb bis data plan as it's all compressed data via rim server but do scrutinize your biling the first 3 months for uncanny suprises as it's maxis, bro! cheers!
kezsz
post Feb 12 2010, 06:30 PM

168 posts

anyone knows where i can get the craddle?? shops in KL area
weileong
post Feb 12 2010, 09:40 PM

1,720 posts

heard KL pavilion Celcom B.Cube had it. u may check from there.
zergg
post Feb 12 2010, 09:46 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Jan 29 2010, 11:31 AM)
1. Depends on area. I can't comment but in Kuching, Celcom has better coverage.
2. BIS is for consumers, BES is for enterprise users (if you don't know what it is you probably don't need it). You will be using BIS.
3. Yes download to PC and install from there. Upgrading takes a while about 45 minutes.
4. No unless you have a power surge while updating. In that case very easy to wipe the phone and do it again.
5. Yes there's always wipe + restore option.
hey man, i just noticed that you are from sarawak..
i just wanna ask something...since im currently in sibu now, maxis connection real suck...!
iphone 3g cant really work here.anyway, i just wanna ask which one is a better offer since im seirously considering bold2 now....
maxis offer is real tempting with 360 per year payment, but celcom is the best choice in regrds with the connection as for now..
so, what are u using?never used bis service in sibu so far....do throw in some info if you have any idea
humanjoy
post Feb 13 2010, 06:53 AM

63 posts

hey there,

I've written a quick guide on How BB works - http://www.kawanbb.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=45

Do check it out...
little_pixie
post Feb 13 2010, 11:28 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(humanjoy @ Feb 13 2010, 06:53 AM)
hey there,

I've written a quick guide on How BB works - http://www.kawanbb.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=45

Do check it out...
Naice!!!
outdoorxplorer
post Feb 13 2010, 11:39 AM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

QUOTE(kezsz @ Feb 12 2010, 06:30 PM)
anyone knows where i can get the craddle?? shops in KL area
QUOTE(weileong @ Feb 12 2010, 09:40 PM)
heard KL pavilion Celcom B.Cube had it. u may check from there.
I got mine via eBay. The OEM version is as good as it should performs...
zhou86
post Feb 15 2010, 11:04 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(arcbound @ Jan 31 2010, 11:38 PM)
Dear all,

I am having the same problem. Whenever I am connected to Wifi and the 3G, when i surf, it uses my Maxis credit...how to make the browser and all the app to use the wifi connection whenever it is connected...and is there a easy way to switch the browser from myMaxis Mobile Portal browser to Hotspot Browser

Hotspot Browser meaning it uses the wifi connection right?
2bella3
post Apr 20 2010, 10:05 PM

Digi offers the cheapest 9700 Bold. but i just change my maxis to celcom and celcom dont hv any cheap promo do you think i can get 9700 bold cheaper at low yat or other phone shops? same like the price that Digi offers? around 1.3k-1.4k

btw if your blackberry spoil or need service whatsoever just go to popmyberry at subang jaya ss15

lostasylum
post Oct 28 2010, 12:43 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

got a question about the bb bold 9700. is there any way for the phone NOT to display email contacts when i type in a name? it's terribly irritating when i get multiple entries when i type in a name, but one is actually an email contact (from when i synchronised with outlook) while the other is the phone contact (from my previous phone)....
dicksonbell
post Oct 28 2010, 01:40 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

There is an option inside outlook, don't sync the email, just sync contacts...
JenLOI
post Oct 28 2010, 09:12 AM

351 posts

Desktop manager's sync is far way behind if compared to nokia sync.
dicksonbell
post Oct 28 2010, 11:05 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

They just need time to develop it only... More function and other setting will be included in the upcoming Desktop Manager...
lostasylum
post Oct 30 2010, 09:57 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 28 2010, 01:40 AM)
There is an option inside outlook, don't sync the email, just sync contacts...
but if that has already been done, is there a way to just delete all email contacts? i can't seem to find much information regarding this... perhaps i'm looking for the wrong words or something...
dicksonbell
post Oct 30 2010, 11:39 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

You have to use Desktop Manager and Microsoft Outlook to do it...
lostasylum
post Oct 30 2010, 11:55 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 30 2010, 11:39 AM)
this is gonna sound stupid but i really can't find the option. i have the bb desktop manager installed, and the only options i see are:

Media
Device Switch Wizard
IP Modem
Application Loader
Email Settings
Backup and Restore
Synchronize

I've tried going through it all and I can't find anything that helps me delete all email contacts, unless you meant going through each and every entry and then deleting it one by one. If that's the case, i can do it from my phone, but that's gonna take a LONG time...

Please let me know if i'm understanding you wrongly... thanks!
lostasylum
post Oct 30 2010, 12:34 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

so i thought of synching my contacts with my outlook (from bb -> outlook) and then delete whatever i don't want and then sync back the other way...
then i saw a new problem.....

i synched my contact list / address book previously with yahoo mail, so when i synched with outlook, only the new entries that i saved via my phone was synched with outlook. all other entries don't move...

i noticed this, the entries that moved, when i view the contact details show this at the top: synchronise using desktop
the ones that failed to sync properly had this at the top of the contact details: synchronise using myemail@yahoo.com

how do i get the sync to NOT use yahoo anymore and instead sync to outlook?
dicksonbell
post Oct 30 2010, 12:36 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Possible for you to printscreen your DM please...
aspirez
post Oct 30 2010, 08:30 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 30 2010, 11:39 AM)
how come my bb bold always asked for my email password. Is it normal? rclxub.gif
dicksonbell
post Oct 30 2010, 08:32 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

If it is in Apps World then is normal, if email then setting problem.. Just delete the account and run setup properly again.. (if you got important email then dont delete)
aspirez
post Oct 31 2010, 11:18 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 30 2010, 08:32 PM)
If it is in Apps World then is normal, if email then setting problem.. Just delete the account and run setup properly again.. (if you got important email then dont delete)
Thanks, but the message quite annoying. rclxub.gif
dicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 11:32 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

For security reason, just let it be...
rattan
post Oct 31 2010, 01:10 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

There is no way to save password on BB world. U have to key in the password every time u run BB Apps. I find it annoying too but no choice.
dicksonbell
post Oct 31 2010, 04:27 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Unless you downgrade to older version Apps World... The newer one need password for security reason...
likkylooq
post Nov 1 2010, 12:45 AM

243 posts

gosh. lucky found this thread bfore buying 9700.. whew
dicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 01:07 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Read properly before you buy... Especially on how to check on new, used and recond set...
rattan
post Nov 1 2010, 04:32 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(likkylooq @ Nov 1 2010, 12:45 AM)
gosh. lucky found this thread bfore buying 9700.. whew
Very lucky u get exposure here before u get yr BB. Check if recon/PIN can use then only buy. Alot of recon set with new price tag. Spotted a few dishonest sellers claiming its new set. Alot of them. Be extra careful.
xtremez
post Nov 1 2010, 07:50 AM

576 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 1 2010, 04:32 AM)
Very lucky u get exposure here before u get yr BB. Check if recon/PIN can use then only buy. Alot of recon set with new price tag. Spotted a few dishonest sellers claiming its new set. Alot of them.  Be extra careful.
Sucks to know that there are such dishonest people around.
dicksonbell
post Nov 1 2010, 09:10 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Dealer and reseller also alot at outside now, just becareful...
ethansid
post Nov 2 2010, 02:29 PM

Hi.

I'm planning to get an ori blackberry 9700 at a cheap price, preferably below RM1.5k. anyone knows where i can get it?

Also, I've found a seller who's willing to sell his for RM1.3k. He claims that it is an ori set which he bought from a BB dealer a month ago for RM1 750. I enquired about it and he told me I can have a look at it before deciding to purchase it.

How do I check if it's an ori set and are there anything else I should check on before buying it?

Thank you! (:
dicksonbell
post Nov 2 2010, 02:43 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

DiGi is offering RM999+RM500 (Advance payment, for new line and BIS Contract 24 month)... Or if you buying used set you need to check all this below:-

At the home screen of your Berry
press: alt + shift + h

this is what gonna appear

Your PIN will be shown, but If the PIN: Suspended, means u can't use BlackBerry Internet Service. Don't Buy it!!!

To Check Your Device Voice/Data Usage:
A Brand New item should not exceed the limit

Go to: Options > Status > Type: BUYR (for qwerty KeyPad)

Go to: Options > Status > Type: BUZR (for qwertz KeyPad)
Definitely Brand New Device

Not Brand New

If The usage not exceed, perhaps is just for testing purposes

To Check Your Device Locked or Unlocked:

Go to: Options > Advanced Options > SIM CARD > Type: MEPD
Device Locked by Provider

Device Fully Unlocked
lostasylum
post Nov 3 2010, 07:06 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 30 2010, 12:36 PM)
Possible for you to printscreen your DM please...
i've finallly found the solution to my problem after scouring the net high and low....

http://www.getblackberry.info/how-to-un-sy...th-email-yahoo/

the screenshot of the problem i was having is given in the URL above, while the solution i found here:

http://forums.crackberry.com/f172/how-un-s...787/index2.html

For those who are lazy to go to the URL, the solution is pretty simple:

go to your contact>options and from your Contact List (email) select it and turn wireless sync off. Repeat to all.
dicksonbell
post Nov 3 2010, 09:50 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Thanks for sharing...
lostasylum
post Nov 6 2010, 12:02 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

does anyone know where to get nice ring tones / message tones for free?
dicksonbell
post Nov 6 2010, 08:41 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Just find your fav song and cut it and use it as ringtone smile.gif
lostasylum
post Nov 8 2010, 01:46 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 6 2010, 08:41 PM)
Just find your fav song and cut it and use it as ringtone smile.gif
i'm already doing that actually.. just wanted to know where other people get really catchy sounds / clips for their message tones and ringtones.. then at least got variety to choose from mah... =)
dicksonbell
post Nov 8 2010, 02:11 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Mr. Google is your answer...

0.1088sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:11 PM