TSjean.c
post Nov 30 2009, 08:56 PM, updated 17y ago

Hi all sifus ...

need a lil' info/advice here...
bought an 3G iphone from "not-from-maxis"
been using abt 3 mths...
every mth the data bills charged was abt 300-350 EVERY MTH
i have checked my wifi is OFF everytime n im sure i did not do any browsing..
anyhow i can stop the hefty sum of data being charged ..?
or is this bcoz of my phone is bought outside instead of maxis?

PLS PLS PLS PLS help ....

Acquiesce
post Nov 30 2009, 09:18 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(jean.c @ Nov 30 2009, 08:56 PM)
Hi all sifus ...

need a lil' info/advice here...
bought an 3G iphone  from "not-from-maxis"
been using abt 3 mths...
every mth the data bills charged was abt 300-350 EVERY MTH
i have checked my wifi is OFF everytime  n im sure i did not do any browsing..
anyhow i can stop the hefty sum of data being charged ..?
or is this bcoz of my phone is bought outside instead of maxis?

PLS PLS PLS PLS help ....
perhaps your 3G is switched on. please check.
mikej1899
post Nov 30 2009, 09:33 PM

243 posts

try checking it out here,

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+4

hope it helps.
Duke Red
post Nov 30 2009, 09:39 PM

6,112 posts

If you have an iphone why would you not consider a data unlimited plan?
mikej1899
post Nov 30 2009, 09:50 PM

243 posts

maybe he just like the phone and not much on internet capabilities ehh..
tabs
post Nov 30 2009, 09:52 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

hmm but since so much better go check for the setting lo.. if like to online go for a data plan lo
Duke Red
post Nov 30 2009, 09:58 PM

6,112 posts

TS said that his data charges are between RM 300 - RM 350 per month which is ludicrous because Data Unlimited plans start from as little as RM 58 per month. A lot of money to be saved there.
dinozilla
post Nov 30 2009, 10:40 PM

1,680 posts

obviously some settings is done and causing data sync
such as Mail, Push notification...etc
if u did using them (exluding surf from safari)
tat is data usage...y not get a data plan...
TSjean.c
post Nov 30 2009, 10:50 PM

not planning to use much on internet browsing tats y not taking up maxis' data plans ...
if its abt unabling the edge availability on my iphone, ive tried http://iphonenodata.com/ as intro by other sifus here as well..
but when i launch my safari i cannot proceed on with "disable EDGE/3G"...
sob*sob* .. need all your helpzZz...

mikej1899
post Nov 30 2009, 11:03 PM

243 posts

There are some forumers that shared abt Push application eating up a hefty amt of data somewhere in the recommended iphone appstore application. TS might wanna checked there to know more abt applications that may have contributed to the hefty data costs.

(it's buried somewhere in the long thread. so i din post the link here. go and have a look.)

This post has been edited by mikej1899: Nov 30 2009, 11:05 PM
PeeEl
post Nov 30 2009, 11:25 PM

3,612 posts

TS, all said and done, just read the pinned threads, do what are stated there and you would avoid 'credit flying out the window'.................
davidgary73
post Dec 1 2009, 12:10 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thread Closed

Read the pinned thread or do a search before you post.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+4

3. Phone Credit Flying Out The Window? Turn 'OFF' EDGE

Thank you

0.0151sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:46 AM