-= Naza-Kia Forte =- <Club>, Leaves You Speechless

bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 12:14 AM

57 posts

Hi to all, especially those tested or owned the 1.6SX.

I have some questions / doubts that need your helps. I tested the 1.6SX at Kia @ Crystal Point, Penang today. First half, I am the driver and my wife sat at the left side at the back as usual when I am doing test drive. Right after we left the showroom and hit the road, my wife started to ask, what is that noisy sound. she described that sound as like "Groong Groong" especially when the car gaining more speed. That is even with the radio is turned on at a volume. We off the radio and hearing some noise from the back.

I then pulled over and let my wife take the wheel and I sat at the back. As soon as the car picks up speed about only 50km/h. I am hearing very noisy road noise .. that exactly like what she described... like running an empty barrel on wheels.. very noisy. I cannot imagine if someone has to be in that environment for higher speed for long period of time. (The noise even covered the conversation sound level at certain points)

I kept asking the SA if they have adjusted the tires pressure from the 300psi to normal psi and he said he was the one that adjusted all tires pressure before sending the car for registration.

So, anyone can shares their experience on their 1.6SX rides especially the experience as a passenger sitting at the back at higher car speed. This is especially I read from most posts here saying the NVH is better than some of the C-Segment car. I am planning to pay a visit to Autocity Juru to try on another car to see if the experience would be the same... if the results are the same.. I will have to reconsider if this is the car or not. rclxub.gif

When I asked the SA if anyone before us has complaint about the noise and he said we were the first. He will try to test it out when has the chance ( btw, this branch practiced the "Pull the plug" on the test drive unit. Pity to the owner who will end up own this car thinking it is new. The SA also said they have discussed with the branch Manager that there is potential chances for changing the 17" tires to 15" tires if the owner request for it ( with rims ). When I asked what about changing to 16', he said that could probably do able with some charges. ( 17" to 15" - FOC, 17" to 16" - Charges )

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 13 2009, 12:16 AM
bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 12:31 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(lwkong @ Dec 13 2009, 12:20 AM)
i have sit at the back before during test drive, don't have the loud noise that you describe. maybe he got put thing in the back?
We open the boot to check after the test drove. There are nothing extra at the boot. Spare wheel is inside.
bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 10:57 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Dec 13 2009, 01:27 PM)
266K go test @ Juru Auto City lah.
I visited Kia AutoCity today.. asking for test drive. They said... "Today is Sunday.. no appointment = no test drive !!". These people do not know how to do business lah vmad.gif vmad.gif .. the test drive car is sitting there.. no appointment and they do not let me test drive. I said I just want to verify something very fast.. no need to drive far.. just the road beside the showroom in less than 5 Mins.. the sales there insisted.. No Appointment = No test drive.. I left the premises and went to Mazda showroom instead... Started to feel like I will go back to decided between the Mazda 3 and 407

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Dec 13 2009, 02:48 PM)
i heard the noise too... but not too annoyed since attracted by the whole package. it sounds a bit hollow, right?
no. 1, same case as yours. i'm not planning to pay, but will ask my SA to settle with his runner.
Yes, sounded like Hollow barrel which like Groong Groong Groong...

QUOTE(fortesx16 @ Dec 13 2009, 07:43 PM)
When i did my test drive 2 weeks ago with my friend (car mechanic), he told me it was the 17" low profile tyre that causes that noice. He also susgested to me, if want quite, change to Michellin tyre but cost about RM 500++ per tyre. Alternatively, we can also change it to high profile tyre.
I wonder if changing to 16" will ease out the noisy cabin sound or not.

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 13 2009, 10:58 PM
bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 11:05 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(4te @ Dec 13 2009, 11:00 PM)
Hi Fortelover, yhlee & limeuu,

Thanks a lot for your reply, actually I got my PJL myself at JPJ and the RM150 is aside from the number plate or car registration fees, its what AP inspection fees. I will call the careline tomorrow since Fortelover doesn't pay for that too.

Actually i did request to use trailer instead of driving down from Sri Hatamas all the way to Penang (300+ KM gone) and willing to wait for the trailer, but my SA said there is no option for trailer. I think i will check with the careline too when i call tomorrow.

Hope that the rest from Penang do not experience this.
There were at least 5 or 6 EX and SX sitting outside of the Autocity showroom where SA said all are pending for registration.. they don't look like traveled on the Highway before.
bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 11:08 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Dec 13 2009, 11:06 PM)
bbear: What was the name of the person in Juru Auto City who told you that?
Norhafiza and another staff also..
bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 11:15 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Dec 13 2009, 11:11 PM)
Good that you got the name. Call toll-free 1-800-888-542 and report.
Nevermind lah.. I already cool down.. but I did purposely drive cross the bridge there to test the car to verify the noisy cabin problem. Probably wait until the 2.0 is here before testing again.. or when i can find an EX to test out with the 15" wheels. I did told her that.. i actually purposely cross the bridge to visit them for the test drives but they do not care.

The worst part is.. I am bringing my father in law there as i need to convince him Korean car is not that bad after all.

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 13 2009, 11:16 PM
bbear
post Dec 13 2009, 11:32 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(4te @ Dec 13 2009, 11:22 PM)
BikerVoodoo, I read from the Singapore forum that even the dealer in Singapore pays ManCanDo to install the electronic retractable side mirrors, but dont know how true is that. But of course it may void the warranty if ManCanDo were to screw up the electronics.

bbear, dont give up ... Forte is a very good car and value for money, just that the SA at the Penang branches (both Macalister Road and Juru) are a bit lousy (my own experience too from both branches).
Just cannot imagine have to deal with them for long term.. e.g. for servicing, warranty ... after sales service. If not because of the Spec and Price... I would have just move on.

Some extra frustration is the news / stories from each different SA are different.. the uncertainty on the cars are just too much. The same SA that refuse to give me test drive.. saying 2.0SX are under assembly line now at Gurun and hence no car to deliver and there will be no CBU.. only CKD.... if that is the case.. my choice will be easy... to leave the Forte out of the equation that is spinning in my head.

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 13 2009, 11:36 PM
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 09:37 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Dec 14 2009, 06:41 AM)
About the tyre noise, it is more apparent when the cars are well noiseproofed. In cars with good NVH like the Forte, tyre noise (due to road surfaces) becomes more obvious.

BBEAR: After telling you they cannot let you test drive, did they even get your details, phone number, etc. to follow up and get you to test drive the Forte?  rclxub.gif
Note, she does not even try to ask if I am interested to schedule a proper test drive and send me off. If there are another SA there that serve me.. I will on the spot place the booking in front of the SA to show her what she is missing... but cannot do that because I am only going there to verify something.. not to book a car there.
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 10:15 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(cylee911 @ Dec 14 2009, 09:40 AM)
Hi bbear, i not sure whether this info are help for no test drive, but what i knew is saturday night somebody are crash the back portion of the test drive unit....
I saw the test drive unit there in good shape. But anyway, I will continue to wait.

Does not want to disclose this much earlier.... I actually had a booking for the 2.0SX Clear White / Bright Silver since last month. According to the SA in the Bayan Lepas whom I booked the car from. I was the 1st or 2nd in that branch that booked the 2.0L. They requested Booking fees of RM2k... I am now pending for my personal loan approval which will take longer than the normal loan application process. Planning to take RM80K Loan for 5 years with 1.56% interest rate.

My SA said since actual car is not available for viewing / testing, the Booking fees are refundable and in order not to have some problem afterwards. I had him written on the booking receipt with carbon copy stating Booking fees to be full refunded if I cancel the order. Last week when I went for the 1.6SX test drive.. he confirmed that my order is in the system but he does not know where am I in the waiting list for the whole Malaysia... i.e. my trip to Autocity is entirely for the confirmation of the cabin noise / NVH of the car.
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 10:33 AM

57 posts

hewyk, letmein & phelix

It is part of employee's benefit from my company blush.gif .

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 14 2009, 10:35 AM
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 10:40 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Dec 14 2009, 10:31 AM)
that is personal loan.. is not hired purchase....
different story...
and u have to have very high income to get 80k loan.

opss.. wrong quote
Is not really personal loan.. it is a valid hired purchase deal just like what Tan Chong Motor is offering their 1.99%.. i.e. the loan is from Tan Chong. For my case.. the Loan is from the company i worked for.

- Get quotation from Dealer
- Submit loan application, the panel will review and let know approve or disapprove
- Company to prepare under-taking notification to the Dealer
- Dealer to submit allocated Chassis & Engine no when available
- Company's panel to take cares of the E-Hak Milik with JPJ and info again returns to Dealer
- Dealer to process car's registration at JPJ.
- Insurance can only be done with company's identified company.

a lengthy process to get the 1.56%

high paid ??? err.. I don't think I am getting high paid lah.. if not.. don't have to think too much on getting car.

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 14 2009, 10:42 AM
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 11:13 AM

57 posts

By the way... you guys should be feeling proud as I am comparing the Forte 2.0SX with Nissan Selphy, Mazda 3 2.0L and Peugeot 407. Not like some that comparing it with Toyota's Vios, Honda's City and Nissan Latio.
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 11:35 AM

57 posts

Can someone shares if the car's back seats are capable of ISOFIX mount ? Don't want to ask the SA since I doubt they knew what is it.
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 01:07 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(choobee @ Dec 14 2009, 12:23 PM)
confirm dun have, by Kia Msia  :-/
Hav to use seatbelt to install child seat... KM also gave this site for more info -> http://www.edmunds.com/advice/womenfamilie...81/article.html

quite sad to see how little malaysians (and msian gov) care about protecting our little loved ones...  shakehead.gif
Thanks for the information and links. btw, another 2 cars that have ISOFIX within my budget is 308 and 407
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 01:26 PM

57 posts

Actually, I am thinking of there will be any bulk buy for K&N filter for the Forte.. My current iswara using the drop in K&N which allows the car to be more responsive than the stock. Thinking of doing that also if i am picking up a new car.
bbear
post Dec 14 2009, 08:53 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(elim78 @ Dec 14 2009, 07:00 PM)
Anyone made a booking for 2.0SX with Penang branch (Island)? The SA told me the booking period is 3 months but most likely there'll be stock starting end of Jan. Just wanted to check if those who booked with the Penang branch (Island) hears the same thing. Thx!
My SA said they have no idea when the 2.0SX will be available. Crystal Point's branch... wonder if the same SA is telling different story ?

bbear
post Dec 16 2009, 09:54 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Dec 16 2009, 12:21 AM)
that is normal on the last 50km the system won't show.. so it's impossible for u to see something like 5,4,3,2,1km to empty...
all the car is same. once reached the last 50km then turn to --:--
When I test droved the Mazda 3. it was showing 12km to empty when i started the car and after a few 2 to 3 km drive.. it shows 8km to empty.. and that is when my SA decided to fill the gas tank for me to continue the test drive. I have driven other car that showing sub 50km to empty so far.

The last time i test drove the Forte.. it is also showing --/-- to empty... even after refueled
bbear
post Dec 16 2009, 03:01 PM

57 posts

If only they have something more useful on the updates in the FB.. e.g. a finite weeks or dates on when the 2.0SX can be available rather than kept saying 90-120 days ( is that including early booked customers ? or only new customers ? early booked customer waiting time = 90-120 days + prebook ~ launching days ? )
bbear
post Dec 16 2009, 03:25 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(kop1813 @ Dec 16 2009, 03:09 PM)
they claim the car inspection was done at Putrajaya
The test unit I droved... all electronics on the dashboard is without power. I wonder how much they have clock the car on top of that 135km you are reading. By the way, the Test drive unit at Juru, Penang. It was one of the car the Journalist tested back in Nov.. those WTF car.. and the one at Juru is WTF 4780, Red... of cause, that one with the dashboard powered...

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 16 2009, 03:26 PM
bbear
post Dec 16 2009, 03:48 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Fortelover @ Dec 16 2009, 03:27 PM)
guys, not all WTF Forte are test drive unit, ok...
my Forte is brand new but since I bought the number from JPJ earlier, hence getting WTF plate like those test drive units.. laugh.gif
FL,

What I meant is the unit there was one of the car that were seen / used during the media test activities back in Nov. tongue.gif

Due to the uncertainty of the 2.0SX.. CFO is suggesting to make a decision between the Forte vs 407 before end of this month as 407's promo only valid if car is delivered in Dec... headache sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bbear: Dec 16 2009, 03:50 PM

0.0512sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:03 PM