[WTA]Is it possible to fix a cpu heatsink.., on XBOX 360 ?

TSBlueray16
post Nov 26 2009, 10:27 AM, updated 17y ago

47 posts

Is it possible to fix a desktop cpu lga 775 heatsink onto the xbox 360 gpu and cpu? I think it would cool down both gpu and cpu of the xbox tremendously if we can apply them isn't it.. So anyone ,plz giv ur opinion cause im thinking of fixing my rrod xbox myself by putting the desktop heatsink or watercooled cooling system.. sweat.gif
Cobby
post Nov 27 2009, 07:38 PM

63 posts

so u got the RROD? how long since u bought ur console? *just curious*
navigator
post Nov 28 2009, 04:13 PM

375 posts

I think it's not possible if it's heavy as it might cause the board to warp and ended up the same 3RRoD.

Better go for watercooling but mind the water leaks
poyohebat
post Nov 29 2009, 10:43 PM

47 posts

Some can some cannot. I guess. The problem is with the gpu. The gpu heatsink is small and can only be replaced with small heatsink. Now that sucks. The best way is to mod it into 12v fan I guess. It's not quite though. Sounds like a vacuum cleaner lol.
TSBlueray16
post Nov 29 2009, 11:08 PM

47 posts

em actually im planning to buy a rrod xbox n do some experiment on it.. But i ended buying with two years old, the previous owner sora123 realy know how to keep his xbox all this years.. Hehe.. Anyway after hearing ur comments im thinking on sticking a watercooling unit to the xbox.. So anyone could help me wit this experiment?
Jcsy
post Nov 30 2009, 02:34 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

just a few pointers up

i kena RROD memory 0110 which is overheating of the memory

your problems will involve the 4 main components of an xbox

CPU, GPU, Mainboard and memory

these errors are usually death for the console so water cooling is essential to cool all the above

there might be more, but it seems these top 4 hits the hardest
TSBlueray16
post Nov 30 2009, 03:08 PM

47 posts

hehe thanks tcsv, it realy help.. For the time being i just speed up the intercooler of the xbox by swapping the usb power connector to a 9v power adapter.. Now the stand intercooler sound like a vacum cleaner, hehe realy loud..

0.0184sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:07 PM