iamyuanwu
post Aug 22 2010, 12:48 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 22 2010, 12:17 AM)
but.. I almost bought a Senn HD595... tongue.gif
Oh the 595!
Boleh beli the 555 and mod it into 595. Just need to remove a piece of thick foam only. Though no one has verified that it sounds like 595. But it 'looks' exactly the same as 595, and uses the same driver.

Added on August 22, 2010, 12:50 amMod your cans, yo!
It's so easy, even I can do it. I've never taken apart any headphones before & no soldering experience, yet I still managed to recable it into dual entry at first try.

Is there a difference?
Aesthetically, it looks more ganas with a fat as heck plug & ghetto looking cables.

Sound-quality wise... I dunno. My friend claims it's placebo. LOL!
So I dunno... maybe we can have modded Superlux TT and see what kind of mod does what.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 22 2010, 12:54 AM
iamyuanwu
post Aug 22 2010, 01:08 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 22 2010, 01:05 AM)
Kinda hard to justify to the Mrs. why I need a headphone+ an IEM.. but maybe after Raya eh? wink.gif

That reminds me.. need to DIY a new HQ headphone amp pulak..  brows.gif
What amp? drool.gif

iamyuanwu
post Aug 22 2010, 07:18 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Aug 22 2010, 07:12 PM)
no one had it 4 recabling? brows.gif
I have. nod.gif

iamyuanwu
post Aug 22 2010, 09:33 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Aug 22 2010, 07:23 PM)
hows d result?any btter than d recabled ksc75?
Don't have the recabled ksc75 for comparison. Maybe one fine day we can have a TT and find out.
No idea about the improvements either, since I don't own any other pair of headphones for comparison. Maybe I'll get my friend's virgin unit and do a comparison later.

Added on August 22, 2010, 9:34 pm
QUOTE(Watta?? @ Aug 22 2010, 08:44 PM)
okay.. i remember there was a construstion site on the left of esso.. so its jus beside the construction site?
There are a few Instraco stores in Jalan Pasar itself. And their signboards are old, faded and obscure. So you'll have to search properly.
But they are on the main road, you'll definitely find it if you go shop to shop looking at the signboards.
And it's on the southern side of the road.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 22 2010, 09:34 PM
iamyuanwu
post Aug 23 2010, 05:39 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(yuheng @ Aug 23 2010, 04:11 PM)
No offense taken. nod.gif
You don't have to feel sorry for anyone. No one here needs it. Lalalalalalala.....

The fact that it's RM130 is enough indication that it's not going to beat MS1 or any big name brands even with all the mods in the world. Though, I did wish that it would. =P
For what it's worth, it's a good entry level HP... especially for those who wants to start modding stuff. It's just so freaking easy to mod and have some DIY fun! I don't even need to drill holes for dual entry recabling.

Besides, to impress Yuheng & PcWork would take a lot more effort. They've got some serious toys yo! What more Yuheng has so many more poisonous stuff to poison people all day long! Tak boleh tahannnnn... drool.gif

Added on August 23, 2010, 8:26 pm
addendum:

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 23 2010, 08:23 PM
iamyuanwu
post Aug 24 2010, 01:21 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Aug 24 2010, 12:44 AM)
i guess not  sweat.gif it can be consider like the "fan pan" (cheap china rip off) of akg headphones.. beyer headphones.. and sony iem. but with their own brand logo
since jaben only sell genuine stuff so i assume this is a nono
No lah. Superlux stuff are genuine. Just that they immitate the outer design only, most probably to save cost and time. Superlux's website says that it is a "supplier of high quality earphone, mini speaker, diaphragm membrane", so it's not surprising that they have the technical know how to build good headphones.

But I agree lah with you Bonchi, it really does look like typical China 山寨 products... Jaben regulars would not be attracted to this kind of look.
And it would not fit well to Jaben's branding. I mean, it would be down right weird to have Superlux & AKG in the same shop... how to explain to customers it's not a fake/China rip off item? I wouldn't believe it myself have I not read up about superlux.

Added on August 24, 2010, 1:21 am
QUOTE(chingwooi @ Aug 24 2010, 12:51 AM)
I don't think that's considered as counterfeit rite, and I thought the Hippo mp3 they're selling also copying the er Rocco?
Rocco A is the OEM supplier to Hippo. Hippo merely rebrands it (probably a few minor UI tweaks also).

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 24 2010, 01:21 AM
iamyuanwu
post Aug 31 2010, 12:22 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Aug 30 2010, 11:48 PM)
burning in really helps this superlux alot.. cuz if you realize.. the driver membrane is pretty thick and stiff
How you know? You go poke-poke to check is it? brows.gif
iamyuanwu
post Sep 13 2010, 05:52 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(junfu1988 @ Sep 13 2010, 05:35 PM)
i check some website from taiwan selling ti arounf $2400, around 230-250rm... T__T so expensive eh
Apparently, I've heard of some mentioned that it's more expensive to buy it in Taiwan than anywhere else. No idea why is that so.

Maybe it's like Proton.
iamyuanwu
post Sep 16 2010, 04:32 PM

2,425 posts

Recabled to dual entry. Cable held in place using bunched-up rubber bands---works as well any other cable strain relief.
Canare plug which is 2x as thick & almost as heavy as the Sony digital audio player (DAP).
Blu-tac behind the driver magnet.
Added rolled tissue paper in the earpad/cushion.
Foam disc and 'acoustic damper' paper removed.
A pair of socks over the earpad/cushion so that it doesn't become sweaty and sticky.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Sep 16 2010, 05:04 PM

iamyuanwu
post Sep 23 2010, 03:45 AM

2,425 posts

I'm curious, are MiniDisc players & discs still available new nowadays?
iamyuanwu
post Sep 26 2010, 05:49 AM

2,425 posts

Uncle Jazzy,
Senn 598 (and 558) sudah keluar oh. Updated version of the old 595. Headfonia.com ada review... cepat pi poison yourself! tongue.gif

Perhaps you should get the HD600 or HD650 instead? brows.gif
----------
QUOTE(Aku_Lugua @ Sep 26 2010, 12:48 AM)
Mak ai....stokin pun naik sampai telinga lol

But its really a creative idea dude!

The stock pad make my ear easily warm and sweat. Will doing that mod to mine soon.

Anyway...still waiting for my gumstick from yuheng. Wonder how good this gumstick perfomance with HD681 and HD668B.  brows.gif
Hah hah! Some dude in Head-fi did this on Shure headphones. No point getting those AKG velour pad when they cost almost as much as a 681... I figured the 681 would make a better purchase vs velour pads.
And that pair of socks which I cannibalised are still wearable... though a bit loose. LOL!
iamyuanwu
post Nov 23 2010, 06:59 PM

2,425 posts

how much is instraco selling HD681? I didn't bother to check when I was there last time.
iamyuanwu
post Nov 27 2010, 10:56 AM

2,425 posts

668B sounds pretty good just by itself. An amp and some simple mods would make it better. I plug it in directly into an MP3 player without an amp and it plays superbly.

Best if you go and try it, if you know friends who own one.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Nov 27 2010, 11:04 AM
iamyuanwu
post Nov 29 2010, 02:41 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ Nov 27 2010, 11:23 AM)
Oooh.. considering still :/
Sadly I live in Penang.. friends around me aren't that much into stuff like this lol, can't find a shop to test out either @_@

How long did you burn in your 668B btw doh.gif
Don't quite remember. Approx 4-5 days, using pink noise and some drums and some music. It already sounded pretty good without burn in.

If you don't mind the Made-In-China kind of look are willing to do some simple mods, go for it.
iamyuanwu
post Dec 4 2010, 10:48 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(jonralf @ Dec 2 2010, 11:42 PM)

spammmmmm
Mod mod mod mod mod mod!
MOD IT!

iamyuanwu
post Dec 5 2010, 01:12 AM

2,425 posts

Err, no pic of the process yet. But it really is damn friggin easy to open it up.

Just place a knife tip/mini screwdriver on the 12 o'clock position (there's a small space below the cap at that position)and pop the caps (the ones labelled 'Superlux' and 'HD668B 2x56 ohms').

Then it's just simply unscrewing a few screws and fooling around with it.

Later I post some pics when I'm not so swamped with work.

iamyuanwu
post Dec 7 2010, 12:53 AM

2,425 posts

Why dual entry?

1. So both L & R signal pass through the same amount of wire. I don't trust that steel cable headband as a signal conductor. And some users have reported that when the head band vibrates (due to movement or whatever), it affects the sound.

2. Because I can. My listening ability is not good enough to notice any differences... I just do it for the heck of it. =D
iamyuanwu
post Dec 7 2010, 04:59 AM

2,425 posts

You can actually notice the difference without one to compare with on the spot? Wow.

I'm interested in getting the AKG K240 velour pad to see if there are any improvements as mentioned here:
http://www.soundtrackforum.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=257

17 Euros (shipping not included yet). I wonder how much is Jaben or anywhere is selling.
iamyuanwu
post Dec 12 2010, 12:43 PM

2,425 posts

The amplifier has been out quite some time loh. Just that Headfonia recently reviewed it.

IIRC, Instraco uses it with the 681 for customers to test the headphones.
iamyuanwu
post Dec 13 2010, 12:18 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 12 2010, 09:00 PM)
Thanks for the info. Bro Hitman66 just tipped me off just now as well ;P

Anyway, I just paid for the HD668B. Hope to do head-to-head comparison when this arrives along with my Sennheiser HD650 end of this year. Stay tuned for impressions and hopefully reviews wink.gif
HD668b sure kena pwnz... 10-15x price difference leh. But would be fun to see how close (most probably how far) the Superlux stacks against HD650.
Mod the 668B and and compare.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0312sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:07 PM