Humanities cloned meat, new type of meat

Channel84
post Jan 3 2010, 11:31 PM

245 posts

cloning is not so bad....it's like those test tube baby only....we just make sure the dna in the egg is the same with the dna from the host we wanted to clone. but trying to clone more complex organism like human and animal often result in unexplainable organ failure or other unexpected early decline...same case with dolly the sheep. when u want to make a offspring(baby) u need sperm and ovum each carry half of the genetic material needed to make a full set. so cloning is juz a method of putting a complete set of dna into the egg.

vegan beware cos the real dilema is the GM product or genetic modified product. it's everywhere and quite common. plant like tomato, soy bean and corn have proven quite successful in being genetically altered. they can make tomato plant that is resistance to certain powerful pesticide so that they can spray a lot of it and don't concern that the plant will die from it. The pesticide example is only 1 of the thing u can do with GM other include faster growth and better product etc. even like yakult(vitagen like) drink uses a special breed of lactobacillus which is also GMed.

GM product causes panic cos a lot of ppl worried that altering the genetic material of the organism may result in some unexpected dangerous result. maybe the new organism can cause cancer or may lead to an outbreak that turn ppl into zombie haha...mostly now scientist concern bout is those pesticide resistant gene get absorb into weed or other plant or into pest that we're trying to kill(imagine mosquito imune to shelltock)
Channel84
post Jan 4 2010, 06:27 PM

245 posts

in other word

clone = copy
genetic modified(GM) product=we make a new organsm(not found in nature)

so chee wei....it's not the same tongue.gif
Channel84
post Jan 10 2010, 08:31 PM

245 posts

refering to the 1st post i would say that clone meat and natural meat totally don't have difference at all(it's like would u consume a cow meat if it's a twin cow aka clone) and ppl will not clone animal to increase or solve food problem. the mentioning of gm is to clarify the difference between cloning and gm.

we do not want to spend extra few thousand dollar to get a cow that look like it's parent right? meat from cow A and cow B is the same to us as long as it's the same breed and quality. currently cloning of human is still ban and research is focus more toward stem cell research with hope of getting organ replacement or tissue repair but it's still in quite elementary stage.

0.0144sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:26 AM