nooooooooo closing stages already... aaarrrrggghhhh.....
English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, FT:POR 1-4 ARS~Eduardo,Nasri,Ramsey,Song
Nov 25 2009, 09:24 AM
1,366 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
nooooooooo closing stages already... aaarrrrggghhhh.....
Nov 25 2009, 09:38 AM
1 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: CHERAS - NILAI - KLIA |
aduh!!bila clichy boleh main ni..??
Nov 25 2009, 09:48 AM
1,339 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Selangor , KL ,&Malacca |
lets take on chelsea with this good form..
Nov 25 2009, 10:00 AM
5,355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cera |
The Good:
1. We won with style. In contrast to the lacklustre display vs Sunderland over the weekend, today's performance was 100x better. The combination between the front three was superb - Vela started in the centre but often drifted to the left to drag defenders out of the way, Andy was pulling strings and making neat flicks in the hole, while Nasri galloped everywhere like a goal-scoring Hleb. 2. The return of Denilson gave us the required balance in midfield once again. Diaby, despite his dribbling and physique holds onto the ball too long and his passes often went nowhere, while Rambo is still too lightweight and often attempts overambitious through passes that amounts to nothing. Denilson, as usual, doesn't look dazzling on the eye but it's apparent that he plugs the holes in the midfield and allows Song and Fabs to do whatever that they do best. 3. The technique involved in our goals. Nasri was lucky to benefit from the Liege defender's slip, but the finishing was exquisite. Accurate lob which sailed past the keeper's who instinctively had his left side covered, leaving him no chance at all. Denilson's however was out of the blue... no one was marking him, and sensing that he immediately whacked it goalward. Whether it was a touch of luck or superb skill, the ball stopped swerving midway and went goal bound as the keeper dived left. Great stuff. 4. Passport gained, job done. The Olympiakos match is merely a formality, and we would probably get a chance to see kids like Rambo, Merida, or even Watt getting some showtime. The Bad: 1. We were once again absolutely wasteful. Liege was totally ripped apart by our passing but we only managed to score 2 out of umpteen chances. We have to stop missing the goal from 1 yard out, even though goal mouth scrambles aren't exactly the easiest chances available. It might be anal to pick on a result like this, but we could have easily achieved a scoreline like the one vs Everton on the opening day of the season. 2. Luck was on our side as Liege were denied a clear cut penalty. Unfortunate for Liege, but it's not our call. All our players were disgraceful for not stopping the game, reporting the incident to the referee, and offering a penalty to Liege. This act has undone all the good things we've achieved in our club's history, and we shall always be remembered as a team who cheats by tackling a player and not offering a penalty. See how stupid the Thierry Henry bashing sounds? 3. Poor Gibbs. Looks like the previous bruise was a lucky escape, no luck this time. 4. Lousy streams the whole morning... It's like watching something at 3fps. The Report Card: 1. Manny - Not too bad, commanded his box well and caught most of the crosses. He wasn't too busy to begin with anyway. 2. Eboue - Typical Eboue. Fun to watch but not much end product. At least he didn't keep whipping in useless crosses like Bak did vs Sunderland. 3. Gallas - Solid. Please for the love of 4. Vermy - When you see Vermy charging forward, you know we're owning the pitch. Solid as usual. 5. Gibbs - There's no way Traore's getting into the team with Gibbs in front of him... oh, well, there's the injury. Bloody hell. 6. Song - Enjoyed Denilson's presence and finally got an anchor point to pass the ball when he snatches it back from an opponent's feet. Which he does very often with much ease. 7. Denilson - Welcome back !! More long range missiles please. 8. Fabs - With Denilson covering his back, he danced around the box today and probably should have gotten more shots in and even a goal. Stupid to clash heads with Gonsalez but when you get kicked on the ground when you don't even have the ball anymore you'll be pissed too. 9. Nasri - Much better than the weekend performance. He seems to have a pretty good shot so maybe it's time to shoot more than pass it around. Anyway, it's good to see a Hleb who can score. 10. Andy - What a huge gash on the head. Looks more comfortable when given the freedom to roam, although no one truly got onto the end of his throughpasses today. We know he can run riot against big teams so hopefully he'll scorch earth vs Chelsea soon. 11. Vela - This is what we want from Dudu. He looked like a mini Robin today albeit with a less finesse first touch. He'll get there - I'm still waiting for the day where Vela+Theo will toy defences with speed and skill. 12. Silvy - Deputised decently for Bill but will he feature on the LB instead of Traore vs Chelsea? Or will he take Bill's place if the latter is unfit? 13. Theo - Va Va Voom... His pace will be essential when we are counterattacking or during the late minutes to peg the chasing teams back, but does that warrant a start over Nasri for him? I'm not sure. But he did well otherwise albeit nothing worth screaming about. 14. Tommy - Although Tommy harasses people more, I'd still prefer the Song-Denilson-Fabs combo as Denilson looks to be more tidy in the middle. He seems like a Flamini, i.e working hard and running everywhere, but needs to be more penetrative and decisive in his passes and shots. Chelsea Chelsea this coming weekend... We've got several issues now: 1. Vela or Dudu? 2. Nasri or Theo? Or even Rosicky? 3. Gallas ok or not? If not, then Silvy or Sendy? D-R-O-G-B-AAAAAAAA... 4. Traore or Silvy? |
Nov 25 2009, 10:13 AM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I'd say this game isn't the best yet. However, it's still good to see that the opponents couldn't find any space to go deeper. Im pretty impressed with how Eboue change the approach on the game and orchestrated some fine solo runs opening up spaces for the teammates to attack.
Nov 25 2009, 10:22 AM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Great stuff from Arsenal. Still undefeated for them in this season's UCL. But to tell you the truth, standard Liege got their fair share of chances. Referee was very lenient with the penalty calls from both sides.
Superb shot from Denilson if i got that right. It swerve in the air. Now thinking of buying a arsenal jersey with Nasri on it since my name is strikingly similar to his. |
Nov 25 2009, 10:57 AM
592 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
confirmed group leader right? This way we can rest most our starters during
the last matchday at olympiakos. BTW any ideas of arsenal next UCL opponent? |
Nov 25 2009, 11:51 AM
1,242 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Cheras |
I dont understand why Liverpool out. Is there 1 more match play?
nevermind, head to head against Lyon counting. A loss and draw doesnt warrant them another chance This post has been edited by Angel of Deth: Nov 25 2009, 11:59 AM |
Nov 25 2009, 11:52 AM
1,119 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Anyone can confirm if Gibbs really out for 3months?We need him badly this weekend as Traore is just a disaster waiting to happen.Not really confident of him handling the likes of Joe Cole or Malouda.
Nov 25 2009, 11:53 AM
590 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Mother Russia! |
the match between you guys and chelsea is this weekend or when? thanks
Nov 25 2009, 11:59 AM
86 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
good goal..just watch the goal highlight..
erm chelsea vs ars this saturday right? |
Nov 25 2009, 12:04 PM
1,366 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Nov 25 2009, 12:09 PM
735 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE Chelsea Chelsea this coming weekend... We've got several issues now: 1. Vela or Dudu? 2. Nasri or Theo? Or even Rosicky? 3. Gallas ok or not? If not, then Silvy or Sendy? D-R-O-G-B-AAAAAAAA... sweat.gif 4. Traore or Silvy? Arshavin Dudu Rosicky Denilson Fabregas NasriOWalcott Gibbs? SongOGallas Vermaelen Sagna perhaps something like this id like Rosicky to start,Walcott is kinda rusty. and we could use Rosicky experience so i tip Nasri over Walcott on the right wing if gallas is fit for this weekend, im not sure song or denilson will play along faby..but most likely song |
Nov 25 2009, 12:21 PM
67 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(Quick` @ Nov 25 2009, 12:09 PM) Arshavin Dudu Pretty decent line-up I'd say. It's a defensive approach and I guess the solo run baton will be passed on to Walcott. Rosicky Denilson Fabregas NasriOWalcott Gibbs? SongOGallas Vermaelen Sagna perhaps something like this id like Rosicky to start,Walcott is kinda rusty. and we could use Rosicky experience so i tip Nasri over Walcott on the right wing if gallas is fit for this weekend, im not sure song or denilson will play along faby..but most likely song |
Nov 25 2009, 12:31 PM
226 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Arsenal against Standard Liege replay on ESPN at 3 pm
those who missed this match yesterday can watch later |
Nov 25 2009, 12:34 PM
590 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Mother Russia! |
Nov 25 2009, 12:35 PM
1,119 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Nov 25 2009, 01:21 PM
54 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Tharsis Depot |
QUOTE(ncool15 @ Nov 25 2009, 11:52 AM) Anyone can confirm if Gibbs really out for 3months?We need him badly this weekend as Traore is just a disaster waiting to happen.Not really confident of him handling the likes of Joe Cole or Malouda. Yup, Arsenal.com confirm this....Vs Chelsea, Monday morning 12.00am... Really got bad feeling, Traore, guess not so reliable. Silvester- i think he lack the pace. Not a good time to face them.... |
Nov 25 2009, 01:27 PM
592 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
yea..not really a good time to face the red-hot form team like chelsea with some
of our key players missing..but..were in the right place right? Like ppl said "Right place but at the wrong time" We've formidable record at our own backyard, so I'm confident the gunners will achieve something from this game. This post has been edited by noir7559: Nov 25 2009, 01:27 PM |
Nov 25 2009, 01:53 PM
281 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
we should trust in wenger's decision on who to play at the left back position. i dont think traore's that bad but i dont think he's ready for joe cole yet. if we get this wrong, it might be another case of erik edman vs. aaron lennon. n btw thanks for the highlights as usual, ncool
| Change to: | 0.0802sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:01 AM |