Usually it will be slow during peak hour after 8pm (subject to location). But surprisingly for ppstream and other video streaming application, it's quite fast and most of the time (inc peak hour) can go up to 500kbps of smooth streaming which enough for smooth streaming. So I can believe the issue is on the uplink but not the downlink. But if when upload doesn't work, webpage will be loaded slow like hell, which makes sense. To be frank, in term of service stability, p1 has improved over the past 1 year ... and now, the issue is mostly on the speed ... hope they can double up their action to resolve this issue, understand it's not easy to be a new player (as compared to 10+ years experience for StreamyX, Maxis, Digi and Celcom broadband) ... but if P1 wanna survive they need to do things 5x faster!
By observation, the speed is dependant on location, so it depends whether you are lucky ... that's why the first 7 days is crucial (my personal opinion is that if you find it slow, then dun expect p1 to resolve in 7 days, better return than wait! cause to solve congestion definitely is not 7 days work by common sense).
Another observation is that why some people (inc me) will encounter perfect quality during the first month than subsequently will slow down ... reason behind as i can see is because when new station is up (no subscribers), so of course fast! But as time past, more and more users subscribed under the same station (due to p1 agressiveness in sales) ... then it becomes slower ... it kinda make sense ... haha ... so rule of thumb ... wait 1-2 months after you first see the sales people asking you to subscriber ... then u will find the "actual" speed ...
The same will be faced by Digi Broadband, first question should be asked is how many subs they already have then will justify how how good is the speed ... if they only have <5k or so then it's possible it will still be running good, but when the number of subscribers under a station grows ... it will look like Maxis and Celcom ... Digi, Maxis and Celcom are using the same HSPA technology ... I do not see how Digi Broadband service can be any better as compared to Maxis and Celcom now ... it's physics, no escape for wireless broadband ... wait and see.
i would think high subscriber density in some area can be mitigated by setting up more towers and doing some load sharing (ie, make sure people get connected to the tower with lesser people)
so, spend more money adding tower to existing area and keeping existing customer happy rather than putting the money in expansion and marketing. yeah you earn less, but get way more goodwill and good word of mouth