Will Verizon Tour work with newly launched Digi BIS

iwan_iwan
post Dec 1 2009, 04:39 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(domokun @ Dec 1 2009, 04:14 PM)
Bro..how to check the APN ID?
I only know that it is under Option,Advance option,TCP/IP. If got other than this,someone please advise....
kray_zie
post Jan 31 2010, 05:04 PM

21 posts

Bros,

Finally got my Tour & successfully activated DiGi BIS on it. Web browsing, social networking, ALL okay. However, I'm having a problem making calls.

When I try to make calls to mobile phone numbers (eg: 016818****) it comes out "Number Unobtainable" & all I hear is an error dial tone. But when I dial with our Malaysia code "+6" in front (+6016818****) only THEN my call goes through. But when people calls me, my phone shows 016818****!!! WTF?! wacko.gif

Is there something wrong with my settings? Due to the Tour being a "world phone (CDMA/GSM)" phone perhaps? The last thing I wanna do is have 2 numbers for the same person stored in my phone... sad.gif

Pls help guys. Thanks! notworthy.gif
DT8
post Jan 31 2010, 06:25 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

QUOTE(kray_zie @ Jan 31 2010, 05:04 PM)
Bros,

Finally got my Tour & successfully activated DiGi BIS on it. Web browsing, social networking, ALL okay. However, I'm having a problem making calls.

When I try to make calls to mobile phone numbers (eg: 016818****) it comes out "Number Unobtainable" & all I hear is an error dial tone. But when I dial with our Malaysia code "+6" in front (+6016818****) only THEN my call goes through. But when people calls me, my phone shows  016818****!!! WTF?! wacko.gif

Is there something wrong with my settings? Due to the Tour being a "world phone (CDMA/GSM)" phone perhaps? The last thing I wanna do is have 2 numbers for the same person stored in my phone...  sad.gif

Pls help guys. Thanks!  notworthy.gif
Change the country code to "Unknown"
sonyclie77
post Feb 1 2010, 12:52 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(kray_zie @ Jan 31 2010, 05:04 PM)
Bros,

When I try to make calls to mobile phone numbers (eg: 016818****) it comes out "Number Unobtainable" & all I hear is an error dial tone. But when I dial with our Malaysia code "+6" in front (+6016818****) only THEN my call goes through. But when people calls me, my phone shows  016818****!!! WTF?! wacko.gif

Is there something wrong with my settings? Due to the Tour being a "world phone (CDMA/GSM)" phone perhaps? The last thing I wanna do is have 2 numbers for the same person stored in my phone...  sad.gif

Pls help guys. Thanks!  notworthy.gif
Press the call button.

Then BlackBerry button - Options - Smart Dialing

Change the country code to Malaysia (+60) and see if it works?
dreadlessdream
post Feb 1 2010, 02:20 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Feb 1 2010, 12:52 AM)
Press the call button.

It will work but... if someone sms you..and it appear +60123456789 and u wanna know then u call him back... u will get error because it will dial as +60+60123456789. So, better use DT8 method. wub.gif
simplifynet
post Feb 1 2010, 04:28 AM

71 posts

use DT8 method. BUT, your sms will have issue (mine got). you must put '+6' infront of every number, if not your sms will be in looooong delay or worse, wont reach the recipient.

luckily i saved all my contact with '+6' (since the era winmo) so i have no issue.

one more thing, once you change the country code to 'Unknown', there'll be slight delay (lagging sort-of) when dialing a number without '+6'. but with '+6' it will be instantaneous (normal la)

anyway, my mms work fine..

This post has been edited by simplifynet: Feb 1 2010, 04:30 AM
kray_zie
post Feb 7 2010, 07:07 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Jan 31 2010, 06:25 PM)
Change the country code to "Unknown"
drool.gif Hahaha! It worked! Thanks again! notworthy.gif
xsi
post Feb 8 2010, 11:42 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Feb 1 2010, 12:52 AM)
Press the call button.
Why i dont have this 'Smart Dialling' option? I'm on Tour too.
sonyclie77
post Feb 9 2010, 02:10 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(xsi @ Feb 8 2010, 11:42 AM)
Why i dont have this 'Smart Dialling' option? I'm on Tour too.
Which OS are you on?

And what do you see when you press the Call button - BlackBerry button - Options ?
carloSpencer
post Feb 21 2010, 07:42 PM

103 posts

guys...

im thinking to switching to BB verizon touch 9630 ...but my question is...my home only got gprs coverage & sometimes very weak signal...does BIS (digi) working well?... cause lastime my sis use bold & the BIS not working...FB notification not working..push mail also not working... only can make phone call...tq..

can it works on maxis?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1331607

This post has been edited by carloSpencer: Feb 21 2010, 08:10 PM
namiaz
post Feb 22 2010, 01:41 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(~Winter~ @ Nov 30 2009, 11:42 AM)
I'm using tour from verizon .. Working great. Coz I live at setapak I'm always on edge. Coz digi 3g only covers kl town n pj tat side smile.gif yup edge saves more batt n its relatively fast. But I would prefer to hav 3g.. Can't wait for digi to expand their coverage !!
dats why i use maxis, cover all side, even backside
levilau
post Feb 24 2010, 02:06 PM

120 posts

i'm a bb tour verizon user, i just succesfuly change to digi bis, glad everything works fine, BUT, i notice something is missing in the " phone - option " list, WHERE IS THE CALL WAITING AND CALL FOWARD??
any sifu here got any idea to retrive it back? T_T
MakNok
post Mar 4 2010, 11:47 AM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(levilau @ Feb 24 2010, 02:06 PM)
i'm a bb tour verizon user, i just succesfuly change to digi bis, glad everything works fine, BUT, i notice something is missing in the " phone - option " list, WHERE IS THE CALL WAITING AND CALL FOWARD??
any sifu here got any idea to retrive it back?  T_T
{ (Version 5.0.0.419(674) } and on Digi BIS account

my tour 9630 was working fine until i got problem sending sms to few Maxis number.
i can receive/send sms to Digi and Celcom without any fuss.

BUT for maxis,certain number cannot receive my sms although i can receive theirs.

after tinkering, i managed to solve the problem.

Go to "Option" and select "Phone Options"
Select " Smart Dialing"
Set Country Code "United States (+1)
Set National Number Length to 8 as default is 10(if setting=10...u get error "Number Unobtainable when calling the number"
Set "Use "1" for National Dialing = NO"

This will solve all sms to/fro FOR all telco especially picky Maxis number!

Set Country Code to "Malaysia (+60) will result in error for certain Maxis number delivery sms but receiving sms have no problem.
and Set Country Code to "Unknown" doesn't help as it delete all my previous "read" sms automatically and got some error in compose new sms as it will always lock to one contact number although have select different contact number.

#######################################################
Not sure whether this help as well;
Under "Option",select "Mobile Network"

Select Network Technlogy "GSM/UMTS"...
there got 3 option...2G,3G or 2G & 3G

Global setting also can work but 1XEV definitely cannot work for me.

########################################################

haven't try MMS yet!
so i am not sure whether it work for me as i rarely use the function.
nod.gif

Added on March 4, 2010, 11:50 am
QUOTE(namiaz @ Feb 22 2010, 01:41 PM)
dats why i use maxis, cover all side, even backside
Setapak got 3G signal lah.

This post has been edited by MakNok: Mar 4 2010, 11:52 AM
zariqcools
post May 21 2010, 11:09 PM

Kerr
711 posts

Does Tour still face this compatibility problem with carrier?
rynaldi
post May 22 2010, 01:13 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ May 21 2010, 11:09 PM)
Does Tour still face this compatibility problem with carrier?
It works fine on Maxis and DiGi. For maxis you need to go to their center and ask them to set. For DiGi, go to their center and register then wait for a while and its done.
Tour doesn't work on Celcom.

Locked4
post Sep 20 2010, 12:47 AM

QUOTE(domokun @ Nov 24 2009, 11:54 AM)
Im on DIGI BIS @ RM58 using Storm 2 9550 Verizon  rclxms.gif

Everythings work great except that I dont get Operator Logo showed on my home screen...instead it shows "Activation Required"  doh.gif

Mails, MMS, IP Modem, Chats, Browser all ok.....I guess Tour should be the same lar  hmm.gif

Cheers!

Added on September 20, 2010, 12:52 amHey bro...even i bought Storm 2 9550 Verizon and subscribed for DIGI BIS,it was working well for 2months and later i couldn't connect to the internet...i went to the Digi centre and they told me that,since it's a Verizon set, the plan will work only for few months and then it will automatically stop...and they advised me not to buy such Verizon sets...my BB is jus like a normal phbone now...i can't do anything with it...can u suggest me anything?

This post has been edited by Locked4: Sep 20 2010, 12:52 AM

0.0209sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:22 PM