5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 16 2010, 01:43 PM)
its okay , u can get my siberia v2 T_T
What about me? cry.gif

QUOTE(m4sh @ Jun 16 2010, 03:51 PM)
No wo, why ah?
Oo... then what's tempting you

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Jun 16 2010, 04:52 PM)
@alex 6gv2 no hand rest right
Nope, but not as bad though without it.

Added on June 16, 2010, 6:36 pmOh yes, Moderno maybe getting stock of 2 6G V2 tomorrow.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jun 16 2010, 06:36 PM
AlexLai
post Jun 16 2010, 06:54 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 16 2010, 06:45 PM)
you said u buy ur siberia edi..wtafak..okay come come alex..siberia on sell now..will put on thread later on garage sales  cool2.gif  cool2.gif  currently in need of money..dun wan burden my father anymore  cry.gif  cry.gif
Ok come find me at ASGF. Don't expect me to reply til tomorrow though. No way to get online.
AlexLai
post Jun 17 2010, 07:36 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 17 2010, 12:06 AM)
asgf not sure coming or not..if i come maybe come for mash..biggrin.gif
If you come, I will be the guy in the red marshall shirt.
AlexLai
post Jun 17 2010, 03:49 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 17 2010, 10:23 AM)
wafak , since when you become a marshall..good luck bro biggrin.gif
Since this ASGF?

Come and see la. If you bring the Siberia, can only deal during my 10 minute break time between matches.
AlexLai
post Jun 17 2010, 07:26 PM

5,531 posts

SteelSeries 6Gv2 Review

We all know what SteelSeries is about so I'm going to save you the fluff and other things that beat around the bush and go straight to the point.

The 6Gv2 is the second reiteration of the popular 6G mechanical keyboard made by SS. Truth to be told, it doesn't look like the original 6G at all but instead looks like a spitting image of the popular if expensive 7G.

First impressions:

This board features SS more or less trademarked no-nonsense look to it. Nothing too eye catching is present which can be a plus or minus point depending on the person. The white leds for the Num, Caps and Scroll locks are a nice aesthetic touch. And yes, it's heavy!

Design:

Design wise is where the board suffers from a lack of originality. I'm guessing SS was sticking to the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." mantra?

While retaining the body of the 7G, there's nothing too different from it's big brother bar the lack of the USB ports, audio jacks and the unbraided and non-gold plated cable. It uses USB as a standard but a PS/2 adapter should you wish to use it. It's metal chassis gives it adequate substance and the rubber feet at each corner makes if difficult to push around when laid flat on a surface.

As with the 7G, the underside of the board is shaped so that one can put the board on their laps though it's not recommended as one would have to sit with their legs quite close together in order to fit the grooves.

The left Windows key as you would usually see on most other keyboards has been replaced by a key with the SS logo on it. Pressing this key will allow you to access the SS media buttons assigned to the F1 to F6 keys.

Comfort:
However, the lack of an included wrist rest may be a problem to some as the bottom of the board to the top of the keys measures a good 2cm in height and can get tiring after typing a while with raised hands arching over the board. Personally I didn't feel fatigued using it since the overall height of the board felt lower compared to the 7G for whatever reason.

Performance:
Having tested the board for Left 4 Dead 2 (L4D2), Defense of the Ancients (DotA), Call of Duty 4 (COD4) as well as O2Mania, I can safely say this board delivers when it has to. The anti-ghosting feature was very useful when playing O2Mania or similar games. In fact, the build was so solid that the keys did not jam on me even when I was banging the board in a moment of rage and let me continue playing as per normal after that.

Typing on it was a dream. The keys requiring just a slight amount of force to fully depress and register. The tactile feedback of the mechanical keys managed for faster typing on my side compared to using membrane keyboards but your mileage may vary.

Other thoughts:
While SS is a company that makes gaming peripherals and of course target their products at gamers in general, the 6Gv2 however can also serve well as a typist keyboards. It also makes a rather pleasant *click* when the keys are depressed. This board requires totally no drivers and everything (media keys included) works straight after plugging it in.

Summary:
A superb mechanical board that features mechanical gold plated keys with anti-ghosting technology at a great price. Definitely something for those that want incredible key tactility, long lasting, simple keyboard that gets the job done. Typist and gamers who are in the market looking for a new keyboard should have a look at this awesome board before making a decision.

The good:

Mechanical keys
Anti ghosting
Great price
Solid build quality

The bad:
Lack of wrist rest may be an annoyance to some
May outlive the user

Rating:
Build: 8
Performance: 8
Value: 9
Overall: 8.3/10

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jun 18 2010, 06:30 PM
AlexLai
post Jun 20 2010, 06:48 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 20 2010, 05:22 PM)
Hello Dood , Today i went to lowyat to check out some things..

6gv2 got 3 more left @The Hub... get ur own now !

p.s : I still havent see 7H around -.-
Moderno got 2 in stock. 7H still pending release.
AlexLai
post Jun 22 2010, 08:22 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 22 2010, 12:15 AM)
so how come your boyboy alex can buy his 6Gv2 from you at RM339? tongue.gif
QUOTE(moderno @ Jun 22 2010, 12:39 AM)
no dude..he didn't bought from us..he bought at The Hub there..  smile.gif and oso he's not our boyboy or staff here smile.gif
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hopefully Mr. Jack @ edifier can clarify on this pricing matter. smile.gif
Lol, so I dapat durian runtuh then? laugh.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 22 2010, 02:08 AM)
hmm i think my soundcard mic input got prob.
mic not loud enough, record also got choppy sound.
tried both my sib v2 and 4h also same prob.

EDIT.
hmm ok, after googling, seems its an issue with creative audigy drivers on win7 64bit...
stupid creative.
there is no workaround, cept for plugging the mic into the mobo sound or get a seperate usb mic.
stupid creative.
and stupid creative doesnt seem to want to release a driver to fix it, since last yr already got ppl complaining.
stupid creative.
did i say that again?
oh well, stupid creative.

thats why ladies and germs, constant driver updates are essential.
stupid creative.
Which sound card? shocking.gif

And yes, that's why I don't buy Creative.

AlexLai
post Jun 23 2010, 09:10 AM

5,531 posts

Skype is too resource hungry imo.

AlexLai
post Jun 23 2010, 05:35 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jun 23 2010, 04:13 PM)
anyone went The Hub today? is there any 6Gv2 left?
Apparently they had a few more iinm. But since the retail price is like RM399, I dunno whether it's worth the time to go there.
AlexLai
post Jun 24 2010, 09:06 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 23 2010, 09:17 PM)
if still rm339 tmr i go straight buy liao.
I'll check for you today. I'm going there again to pick up some TX-3.

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Jun 23 2010, 10:32 PM)
Ai,retailer in Malaysia like to hold onto the so called 'retail price'.Sad....
Anyway,is there any news about 7H(any new features or any new compare to 7G).
Err... 7G is a keyboard and 7H is headset...

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Jun 23 2010, 11:08 PM)
If wan get cheap Siberia v2 go czone lo tongue.gif
C-Zone selling at RM499. The pricelist is still not corrected yet. doh.gif
AlexLai
post Jun 24 2010, 06:09 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jun 24 2010, 02:28 PM)
SteelSeries is pleased to announce the release of original co-branded gaming peripherals for gamers eager to jump back into the epic struggle between the protoss, zerg and terran races

SteelSeries Prepares Players For The Launch Of Blizzard Entertainment's StarCraft® II: Wings of Liberty With New Gaming Gear
Sweet, if only they sell the keyset alone, would make me think twice about selling my ZBoard and the Hub has the mousepads there already. .

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jun 24 2010, 04:17 PM)
went The Hub for 6Gv2 today. apparently they really have a lot of stocks. i saw like around 9 units there today. RM389.
even those with old price tag of RM339 been tagged new RM389.

those of you who got it for 339 really lucky rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif but not me sad.gif

and wow the keyboard is kinda heavy. drool.gif
Went to check just now too, it's heavy cause of the mechanical keys and the metal chassis.
AlexLai
post Jun 25 2010, 09:16 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jun 24 2010, 07:58 PM)
6Gv2 uses black cherry same as 7G right? but how come i see the outside of the box it shows a spring, kinda like spring bucket hmm hmm.gif

but the key is really soft to press thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
thought that black cherry should be stiffer, but maybe because never press blue and brown before blush.gif

Apparently they are cherry blacks, but then again since they didn't give much info about it... I can't be too sure.

It feels the same as a 7G though.

Added on June 25, 2010, 6:18 pmSteelSeries promo at Moderno!

Buy a Siberia V2 and get a Kinzu OEM,

Siberia V1 USB and get a QcK,

Purchase of a Xai gets a MYM QcK+,

Kinzu retail is also selling for RM99!

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jun 25 2010, 06:23 PM
AlexLai
post Jun 26 2010, 08:11 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Jun 25 2010, 07:28 PM)
OMFG SIBERIA 2 free kinzu i wan wei, but no money  doh.gif

and soon trials spm  doh.gif   cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

is it limited stock?
Yes, distro wide promo so stock is limited.

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 26 2010, 06:28 PM)
Phew , just went back from Lowyat ..

Just got my 4HD +  6gv2 .. OMG !! I damn fell in love with 6gv2 now..the keys are damn soft man.. now i know the differences between membraine keys and mechanical keys..

p.s : my 4hd  price @ viewnet was rm 119..later gets rm105..aha

Added on June 26, 2010, 6:29 pmoh yea , i saw Kinzu Retail @ The Hub for Rm 99 just now..and Xai Bundled with MYM Qck+ for rm369
And I got my Siberia V2 from this guy. wink.gif

And now you know the perfection that is mechanical keys.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jun 26 2010, 08:11 PM
AlexLai
post Jun 26 2010, 09:31 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 26 2010, 08:14 PM)
Now waiting patiently for 7H USB to come out -.-
QUOTE(Edifier @ Jun 26 2010, 09:22 PM)
7h will reach next mth
See, you got your wish and it's coming.
AlexLai
post Jun 26 2010, 10:29 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(kko217 @ Jun 26 2010, 09:55 PM)
All above offers also available in lowyat: the hub and ATOM, One utama: Nxgen IT and of coz as mentioned above Moderno!
Distro wide promotion apparently.
AlexLai
post Jun 27 2010, 06:32 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ Jun 27 2010, 11:45 AM)

Hey guys ..see the mouse..is it he's using Steelseries Grip there ?
The grip would be a small pad of rubberized furry material that is applied at the sides, hump and the front of mouse buttons. That doesn't look like it, just regular paint job.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 27 2010, 04:22 PM)
wat kb is that? looks like dktboard?
Looks like it. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jun 27 2010, 06:47 PM
AlexLai
post Jun 29 2010, 08:17 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(liette` @ Jun 28 2010, 09:58 PM)
Hi there again,

I've gotten my Kinzu earlier this evening and after downloading the driver, I realized that there this Kinzu refresh rate. Can choose between 125hz, 500hz and 1000hz. What does it mean?
Refresh rate is how fast the mouse interacts with the USB something like how fast the monitor refreshes, not really needed unless you're playing FPS.

At default 125Hz, the report time is 8ms. For 500Hz, it's 2ms and at 1000hz, it's 1ms.

imagine you bought a fast pc, a nice 3d accelerator and are playing your favorite action game. your graphics hardware is often capable of displaying 80, 100 or even more fps (frames per second) in some scenes. but when you turn using the mouse, the game can only update your position inside the 3d environment after it receives a new position from the mouse. and this happens only 40 or 60 times a second! so on some frames the game will receive one (or more if the scene takes long to render) mouse sample and on other frames not even one. this results in a very jerky movement. this is also the reason, why many 3d games offer you to enable a 'mouse filter'. this filter calulates the average of some mouse samples and will assign every rendered frame a calulated mouse sample. this will smooth the movement very well but results in some lag, i.e. it takes a while for the game to react on your mouse movements.

AlexLai
post Jun 29 2010, 05:16 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Jun 29 2010, 03:19 PM)
Hi,is there any 7H review out there?
Still not released yet apparently.
AlexLai
post Jun 29 2010, 06:55 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jun 29 2010, 05:24 PM)
Coming soon......
U can get it during WCG smile.gif
Awesome. Ada demo stall there tak? laugh.gif
AlexLai
post Jun 30 2010, 07:55 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jun 29 2010, 11:55 PM)
argh 6Gv2 same as 7G easy get dirty. the white printing on the keys.
now my WASD already darker compare to other key after only 1 full day of use. too bad. they should have laser engrave the key and not printed on top of it sad.gif
Not mine though, even after several days intense use and it's still clean and clear.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0391sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:04 AM