Streamyx Streamyx "Super Upgrade Deals" Promotion, wow!!worth it

TSroy918
post Nov 23 2009, 11:45 AM, updated 16y ago

558 posts

PROMOTION EXTENDED

Very worth upgrade for existing streamyx users for more than 12months rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Just have to add as low as RM5 to upgrade to next higher speed package (but big jump from 1Mbps to 2Mbps).

Link: http://www.streamyx.com/promotions/promoti...perupgradedeals

Online upgrade link (PROMOTION EXTENDED): https://mips.tm.net.my/SelfCare/TermsAndCon...deincentive=yes

Updated title.

NOTE: I'm not streamyx agent

This post has been edited by roy918: Mar 13 2010, 04:40 PM

TSroy918
post Nov 23 2009, 12:00 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 23 2009, 11:55 AM)
RM5/RM10 ??? where got

Mine 1Mbps are RM88/month if upgrade 2Mbps means RM110 - RM88 = RM22 i need to pay extra
Opss, sorry for my mistake.
Seems like there is big "increase" in fee for 1Mbps to 2Mbps upgrade.
Sorry mate
TSroy918
post Nov 23 2009, 12:19 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 23 2009, 12:12 PM)
Oh sorry tats combo package...

Mine is standard package..

But how come with modem and without modem also same price RM99 -> RM110 ?
I guess they get RM99 from 1Mbps with modem package. hmm.gif

Just saw this promotion when i was thinking to downgrade my home 512kbps to 384kbps since not much using it.
But will upgrade my combo 512kbps to 1Mbps. I guess TM re-pricing their streamyx package next year?

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 23 2009, 12:22 PM
TSroy918
post Nov 24 2009, 05:25 PM

558 posts

I do not see why 24 months minimum subscription period can cause a big trouble here (I'm not supporting streamyx).

When will you "potong" your streamyx (if only you can find other ISP)?
+ Within 1 year?
+ 1 - 2 years?
+ beyond 2 years?

When will you get HSBB?
+ Within 1 year?
+ 1 - 2 years?
+ beyond 2 years?

If you think you will terminate streamyx within 2 years or you will get HSBB within 2 years, then you can opt out not to upgrade. HSBB might be attractive but HSBB will not roll out to everywhere and it will not take off as fast as promised (you know how's TM working). No offence
TSroy918
post Nov 24 2009, 05:44 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(maknismudekots @ Nov 24 2009, 05:34 PM)
Huuu.. tempting...

But... some said the charge will be back to normal after that 24 months contract. Is it true? I cannot find anywhere in the streamyx website that support this.
I don't think it will back to normal after 24 months. It is saying 5th months onward in the promotion (until you potong may be?).

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 24 2009, 05:42 PM)
this upgrade is for combo users only yes?
Nope. Combo and non-combo also can upgrade. But you must be using it minimum for 1 year.

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 24 2009, 05:45 PM
TSroy918
post Nov 24 2009, 06:36 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(maknismudekots @ Nov 24 2009, 05:48 PM)
Some people in this thread jugak I read last night said that he/she called 100 and asked about this promotion, and the CS said it will revert back to normal charge after the 24 months...
Not sure i get it right or not. In the last item in the FAQ, users will be paying the same amount (after + RM5/RM10) after 24 months.

For the first 4 months, customers will be billed on the same charges as per previous package.
On the 5th month's bill, customer will be charged additional RM5 or RM10 on top of currect charges accordingly.
Customer will be permanently billed on new charges as long as they subscribe to the package.

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 24 2009, 06:40 PM
TSroy918
post Nov 25 2009, 05:50 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(joellim @ Nov 25 2009, 04:23 PM)
i feel that TM has been screwing us over and over again. and they're still screwing my ass and i let them do it with joy.
I just called the tm billings department and told them recently i found out they have rolled out a new promotion package which offers 1Mb streamyx line for RM71 after the fifth month. I told them i'm currently paying rm88 for my 1mb streamyx line. so i told him i want to switch to this new package. they told me that the rm71 package is only available for new upgrade users. then i told him, i've been using streamyx since it first came out at rm99 for 1mb and i change to rm88 for 1mb after 2 years. now you've got a new package, i want to take advantage of that new deal. they person told me he can't do that. So i asked him, can you explain to me why existing streamyx users, who has used streamyx for more than 5 years, has to pay rm88 for a 1mb line when a new user can get 1mb for only rm71? he couldnt answer me. i told the person it doesnt make any sense to me why long time users are paying more compared to new subscribers. he keep on insisting this package is from users who upgrade from 512kbps or 384kbps. i think i'm going to the tm centre tomorrow to bang table lah. this is stupid.
This is a promotion and TM is not re-pricing the streamyx package.
It is the same for any other thing like astro. For those subscribing to astro now get newer decoder but old-time subscriber get slower yet older decoder.
Can i get new decoder if i'm old subscriber?
It is the same also when you buying a car in promotion or different time. Some get lower rate, some get higher rate and the rates are different.
Can i get lower rate if my rate is higher than theirs?

TSroy918
post Nov 25 2009, 05:53 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 25 2009, 05:52 PM)
im using RM88 standard, shud i go combo 1st then only use these deals or what?
Edited: yeap, you can directly upgrade to combo 2Mbps i guess (lateral speed package upgrade only allow for 384kbps and 512kbps users). Refer TnC item 5

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 25 2009, 06:04 PM
TSroy918
post Nov 25 2009, 07:43 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 25 2009, 07:32 PM)
This may be the start of a re-pricing.

A decoder or car is different because it is a physical thing. Streamyx is a service. If your Astro subscribtion is now RM100 and they have new packages similar to your for RM50, don't you think you should be able to change to the new price?  If in the past you were paying a higher rate for the electricity service and now they reduce the price per unit, do you still pay the old price or new? Similarly for toll or your bus pass etc etc. There is a difference between tangible products vs intangible services.
If it is re-pricing then i agree with you. But this is a "upgrade" promotion offered to subscribers using streamyx for more than 1 year. This may not be a start of re-pricing.
Remember, TM offered 1Mbps promotion package at RM77 last few years but yet there are a lot 1Mbps users paying RM88 (no re-pricing).

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 25 2009, 07:47 PM
TSroy918
post Nov 27 2009, 08:30 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 26 2009, 08:19 PM)
my RM88 no upgrade option sad.gif need to go combo 1st
2Mbps and 4Mbps upgrade has to be done in TM Point. So you won't see any upgrade option online.

TSroy918
post Nov 27 2009, 06:12 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(.:zep:. @ Nov 27 2009, 02:19 PM)
I'm still thinking to upgrade or not. Hmm. Upgrade, or wait for HSBB. Haih...
It is not saying HSBB will be country-wide available on next year. Everyone is "hoping" for the best and thinking get their hands 1st on HSBB.
But the problem is when will it available to public? Next year? 2011? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Only 4/5 areas are getting HSBB by end of Q1 next year (if that's the best case). What if ..... ?

* If you think you will be getting HSBB soon, then don't upgrade. This is worth for those who will not getting HSBB "so soon".
TSroy918
post Nov 28 2009, 04:39 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 28 2009, 02:39 PM)
Streamyx is still as useless as day 1

Call tech support i want convert to the new plan she said there no such plan currently. I tembak her she went and check with her supervisor then suddenly a new plan appeared WOW. She said i can change myself at

mips.tm.net.my and change myself so i go and try. It says i currently dont have any new plan to upgrade or downgrade i call again the stupid fellow said maybe system down i must try maybe at night or midnight. I tried all fail then the guy said if u want fast please go to the nearest TMPOINT. i told him i am working how da hell am i gonna go ? take a day or half leave because want upgrade plan?

Then i said can i ask someone else to go behalf of me NO only the IC holder of the streamyx acc can change. I already starting to get piss. FINE what' the  opening hours like her response was MOnday to friday 8.30am to 5 or 6pm OMg tats my working hours then i tembak her which damn outlet open on saturday or sunday.
Then she said there few outlet tat open. FINEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE on saturday half day. So i decided since friday is a holiday i will go today on saturday. When i reach the centre there is a paper paste there SYSTEM DOWN and one more paper say TMpoint is not open on 27th and 28th Nov 2009 due to the holiday. The stupid customer support didnt even inform me. So saturday i wasted petrol and time . So with their excellent management i think we will reach 10mbps in 5 to 6 years time or never.

Streamyx really so useless ppl want to give them more money also so troublesome. I am gonna file a report to MCMC and direct to streamyx.

Whats the email for me to create a complain direct to streamyx?
You can check TM point operating hours online here and not rant here. doh.gif doh.gif
Check what is MCMC about before complain about this to them. Indirectly you are showing your stupidity to others.

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 28 2009, 04:46 PM
TSroy918
post Nov 28 2009, 06:31 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 28 2009, 04:53 PM)
its only stupid if u do not understand your rights. Thats why your line is always slow. Because of yourself lack of knowledge in certain field so many malaysian suffer of slow connection because why bother improve when there nothing to improve? Typical malaysian mindset. If 100 ppl complains they will take note of the problem because its recorded in their system. if zero ppl complain why bother care? Its like if P1i didnt do the potong advertistment do you think streamyx will have such upgrade offer? I am not ranting i am sharing. So please do not share your own stupidity or lack of knowledge to others.

If 100 ppl report to MCMC that streamyx have lack of efficiency they will do something about it. Because u all only rant among yourself what can a 3rd party can do? So think deeply before you answer.
Yea what is MCMC? Please check properly before u answer. What are their responsibility?  (Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC)

Thank you and have a nice day.

and for Mr. ruffstuff did the thread stated only streamyx problem discussion? I didnt force you to rant as well sir/madam/it
I'm not saying you can't complain to MCMC but you need to complain the right thing to the right person.
Your point of argument is TM not opening on Saturday and their customer service personnel is lack of their product knowledge?

You can complain if your request to upgrade has not been fulfilled after certain of period and your request must be done online or TM point.
So what you want to complain about? TM point not opening on Saturday? Their customer service doesn't allow you to upgrade by calling them (how they want to prove it if you saying you not requested for upgrade after the upgrade done)?

Read more on Standards of Fullfilment of Installation Orders before you start complaining.

* "Kereta potong so expensive, lousy and no quality yet I'm driving kereta potong" doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by roy918: Nov 28 2009, 06:31 PM
TSroy918
post Dec 1 2009, 12:30 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Nov 30 2009, 09:22 PM)
I just upgrade my combo 384kbps to 512kbps with additional RM5, mean total monthly bill will be RM65.

To my surprise, the speed test result is per below, where the download speed upgraded to 512kbps, but the upload stick to 128kbps instead of 256kbps as per the normal streamyx combo 512kbps package.

I think TMNut trick us, I try to carefully read the terms and conditions again and again, it never mentioned anything about the uplink speed will remain the same, or the upgrade not included uplink speed upgrade. Sigh......!!

below is the speedtest.net result.
Your account has been upgraded to 512kbps package. You will get downstream and upstream speed as stated in 512kbps package.

TSroy918
post Dec 6 2009, 10:36 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Dec 6 2009, 09:35 PM)
[attachmentid=1341880]
nuff said  shakehead.gif
Are you selecting the right package?
I see from the picture you are upgrading from combo to non-combo package.

This post has been edited by roy918: Dec 6 2009, 10:36 PM
TSroy918
post Dec 15 2009, 10:49 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(kiguss @ Dec 15 2009, 10:38 PM)
if I'm a 512kpbs subscriber but im getting 1mbps line should I upgrade to 1mbps? Although I will be paying the same amount of money but after 5 months I have to pay extra RM5 per month.

I know i'm getting 1mbps line because I have checked from my modem.

My Modem Status (RM66 subscriber)
Any advice? rclxub.gif 
That is the speed between your modem with DSLAM. nothing to do with the speed of the package you are subscribing.
Your download speed still capped on your account.
TSroy918
post Dec 26 2009, 06:38 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Dec 26 2009, 02:04 AM)
If RM77 then must be 512kb with modem. See super deal 7 in first page.
RM77 not necessary must be 512kbps. TM offered RM77 for 1mbps in some promotion. Refer this pic
TSroy918
post Jan 5 2010, 11:22 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Jan 4 2010, 11:55 PM)
actually I did, saw a thread mentioning that he wanted to upgrade as well. (same situation)

and the T&C under term 7 stated that if we insist, we can but there's a twist here and there according to the thread starter.

then ended up he closed the thread.

with the unequal standardization from our beloved streamyx, a confirmation from fellow forumers wouldn't hurt hmm?

anyway, thanks for your reply. Most likely I'll get the upgrade soon.  smile.gif
twist here and there? Hmmm.. not sure but you are allowed to upgrade from standard non-combo to combo package except 384kbps and 512kbps users according to terms and condition 5th item.

5. For customers subscribing to lower speed packages (384kbps or 512kbps), only lateral speed upgrade are allowed.( E.g. Streamyx Standard packages with modem to Streamyx Standard packages with modem, Streamyx Combo to Streamyx Combo, Wifi@Home to Wifi@Home)

0.0399sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:51 AM