Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V34!, The Orange Legion

Seng_Kiat
post Nov 24 2009, 01:36 PM

5,580 posts

guys ..

any1 owning tamron 70-200? .. smile.gif .. how is it if compared to sony 70-300G? I know, most of people will answer something like this, "depends on ur use. Indoor, outdoor, etc" .. I am asking about the color, sharpness, IQ for both of them .. which 1 is worth my money? .. smile.gif ..

thanks in advance ..
Seng_Kiat
post Nov 24 2009, 02:38 PM

5,580 posts

Ranceed, thanks for the pictures. I have no problem about the weight of the lens. My only concern is sharpness and color produced by them.

I love the color produced by 70-300G .. ah man .. I am in the middle again after see your tamron 70200 .. sad.gif .. damn damn damn ..
Seng_Kiat
post Nov 24 2009, 02:46 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 24 2009, 02:26 PM)
Seng_Kiat: The Tamron 70-200mm F2.8 is pretty fast on the A700 onwards. There is one at Leos Trading, Ampang Park.

Personally I say it is pretty darn sharp. It has excellent longitudinal chromatic aberration correction.

http://www.glaringnotebook.com/zimages/bsst3big.jpg
Left to right: 70mm, 135mm, 200mm. Top: Tamron 70-200mm F2.8; bottom: Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG HSM II.

http://www.glaringnotebook.com/zimages/bsst4big.jpg
Same thing; top is Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM; bottom is Minolta 80-200mm F2.8G HS APO.

More details here:
http://www.glaringnotebook.com/default.asp?id=1243
oh, nice one lah albok .. this is what i am looking for .. smile.gif .. i will read the full review later at home .. smile.gif ..

thanks for the info .. smile.gif .. btw, do you know how much they quote for tamron 70-200 in Ampang Park? .. smile.gif .. Thanks ..
Seng_Kiat
post Nov 24 2009, 02:57 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(mie_75 @ Nov 24 2009, 02:12 PM)
Hallo... how are everyone on this rainy day again... hehehe.. been behind the scene for a while.. but now got something to ask to all masters... I know that we need a drybox to keep our photo gears in... by my problem is.. I dont want to get one.. reason.. SCARED to leave the gears at home in case theft pecah masuk my house then all gone  cry.gif habis i wor..... therefore I've been carrying it here n there in a good bag with lots of silica gel. Since its not a good method to keep it.. can anyone suggest me how to go about it tak???

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
wow .. u have same situation as mine .. smile.gif .. i always bring my gear here and there just because my house is not secure enough .. alright .. now, i think, i am going to get the electronic Moisture Absorber .. smile.gif ..

btw chris, dont msg me in facebook .. the network is not stable here .. i cant even reply your msg .. haha .. it is better to pm me here rather than chatting in facebook .. tongue.gif .. congrats on your purchase too bro!! .. smile.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Nov 26 2009, 02:13 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Nov 26 2009, 01:03 PM)

yo bro .. for sale? .. biggrin.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Nov 26 2009, 07:31 PM

5,580 posts

today i went to KB Mall, kota bharu and found a new a700 there ... smile.gif ... i asked the price to a seller at the shop and he confidently quoted me RM6999.00 ... I was like .. OMG .. then I asked him to double check the price, he again confident with his answer and told me, "this is pro camera. no wonder the price so high one" .. i asked him to check the price at sony website and i stepped away ...
Seng_Kiat
post Nov 26 2009, 08:38 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Nov 26 2009, 08:05 PM)
Sony KB Mall or the camera shop at ground floor?
a camera shop at the ground floor .. sony center in kb mall selling standard recommended price ..

Added on November 26, 2009, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(ieR @ Nov 26 2009, 07:51 PM)
may he burn in hell, such a stupid ignorant b*stard... guys like him should rot in jail...

wahhh paiseh paiseh, mood today not good. seller like him, purely stalk on waterfish one... dont be a victim. u should tell ppl the shop name so the noobs wont go there let him slaughter...
haha ... sorry bro .. i dont remember the shop's name .. but, fyi, there is only one camera shop in kb mall .. except sony center .. hehe .. biggrin.gif ..

This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Nov 26 2009, 08:40 PM
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 6 2009, 08:55 AM

5,580 posts

LIMA 2009.....

C&C are appreciated .. smile.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 6 2009, 09:00 AM

5,580 posts

Seng_Kiat
post Dec 6 2009, 10:10 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 6 2009, 09:32 AM)
Whoa Seng_Kiat  .. When did u get the 70300G ?
last weekend bro .. right before flied to langkawi .. smile.gif ..

Added on December 6, 2009, 10:11 am
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Dec 6 2009, 09:34 AM)
wow awsome LIMA langkawi.

Added on December 6, 2009, 9:45 amis there any military weapon exhibiation to let user shooting those real gun, bullet?
no real bullet la .. just an exhibition .. wink.gif ..

Added on December 6, 2009, 10:37 amguys,

why my pictures looks like not in focus? ... sometimes it ok but sometimes it not ok .. out of focus .. is it because of lens or body? ..

This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Dec 6 2009, 10:37 AM
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 7 2009, 10:05 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(hafeez71 @ Dec 7 2009, 08:43 PM)
2 x 70300g in the the house..should i get one also...? ::grinn::
prefer the tammy though..but focussing a bit slow...deep down inside in want a G laugh.gif
i was in the same dilemma bro .. but in the end, I choose 70300G .. my reason was because I will be using it for outdoor events .. plus its sharpness and color are unbeatable .. bokeh too .. biggrin.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 8 2009, 02:22 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Dec 8 2009, 09:16 AM)
Dude... seriously torn between the 70300G and Tammy 70200 f2.8... need the range, but need the low light shooting capability... and seriously wish there's a 70-300 f2.8... tongue.gif sure would cost a bomb... biggrin.gif
I would get both if someone's willing to sponsor... tongue.gif but then, would agree with sig on that... rather than buy 70300G and Tammy 2.8, better I go for the 70200G... but main reason is to get what I would need with the money I have rite? so... still stuck here between 70300G and Tammy 2.8... borrowing tubik's Tammy 2.8 next week for a wedding... hopefully it works for me...

Added on December 8, 2009, 9:22 amAs for the 1680Z vs the 16105, I don't think it's a fair fight... tongue.gif somehow... love my 16105 for the range, but love the IQ of the 1680Z... and that's probably why the 1680Z used to be known as the "Cari Makan" lens in this thread... hehehe...
to help u choosing, here are pictures from 70300G .. biggrin.gif ..

no pp at all except resize and watermark ... the pictures seem not too sharp but good because I was accidentally off SSS .. sad.gif ..

This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Dec 8 2009, 02:25 PM
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 8 2009, 02:49 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Dec 8 2009, 02:43 PM)
haha.... me and you in the same limbo...
i don't wanna give up the smaller size, lighter weight, focus limiter and 300mm focal of my 70~300 G but I'm shooting more indoor events recently and low light is sadly not it's best features.

self poison with Tamron 70~200 at Artistry event..

f2.8, 1/30s, no flash
[img]http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2654/3976070327_6050f0febe.jpg[/img

f2.8, 1/40s, no flash
[img]http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2669/3976070825_f81709be44.jpg[/img
Good pictures bro .. smile.gif .. what was the ISO? ..
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 9 2009, 09:49 PM

5,580 posts

guys ..

what are the advantages of ff (a850) over apc (a700)?

as I know, mega pixel which is not really important to me because i am not printing large size image and the body crop, 1x for a850 and 1.5x for a700 .. else?
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 10 2009, 01:11 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 10 2009, 12:52 AM)
70300G FTW !
dude,

wanna shoot, ajak me laaa! .. biggrin.gif ..
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 10 2009, 10:56 PM

5,580 posts

guys,

after having a photoshoot session at broga hill, i found that my lens or body does not focus correct .. it does not look sharp enough .. sad.gif ..

if i send to service center in midvalley for calibration or whatever u call it, how long does it take? can get on the same day?
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 10 2009, 11:01 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Dec 10 2009, 10:58 PM)
i sent my old a300 n 50mm to calibrate + cleaning..it took them 3days to return to me
aiseh .. calibration takes 3 days .. sad.gif .. i was sending my canon for calibration and sensor cleaning when i was using them and it just took about 2-3 hours ..
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 10 2009, 11:13 PM

5,580 posts

here is the sample of picture taken .. i found it does not sharp enough or i am over demand? ..

a700 with 1680cz
ISO 100
F4
1/500
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 10 2009, 11:29 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Dec 10 2009, 11:13 PM)
here is the sample of picture taken .. i found it does not sharp enough or i am over demand? ..

a700 with 1680cz
ISO 100
F4
1/500
guys ..

what do u think about this picture .. does it look sharp enough for a 1680cz on a700?
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 10 2009, 11:53 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Ksano @ Dec 10 2009, 11:39 PM)
shutter speed kinda fast... can give 100% crop view on place that you focus?

maybe got problem with you camera I think  hmm.gif
later i will post 100% crop view ..

btw, does fast shutter speed (more than 1/500) would affects the sharpness for a picture?

Ksano, what are the reasons u said that might be problem with the camera? ..

0.0466sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:04 PM