6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V34!, The Orange Legion

jimlim007
post Dec 12 2009, 03:23 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Dec 12 2009, 12:33 PM)
u really take the 'noob' status to a new level eh..  vmad.gif whatthehell are u talking about?
when taking partrait indoor... shake, blur, lose skin tone?
he he.. u never do any indoor shoot meh?

w/o flash, how to shoot this portrait tongue.gif

Added on December 12, 2009, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(lwliam @ Dec 12 2009, 12:49 PM)
hmm.gif  quite true also, my personality is that i dont like to follow the crowd.. coz when i started Sony-ing, Sony is a misnomer in the camera world... not considering PnS genre
william cant jump ship anymore. he is already step too deep. his gears will only use for sony mount smile.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 12 2009, 03:28 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 12 2009, 03:56 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Dec 12 2009, 03:41 PM)
ha ha ha want to say that portrait is the same as strobisme?
oh em gee (omg)..  ohmy.gif

portrait: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portrait
strobist: http://www.strobist.blogspot.com/

Added on December 12, 2009, 3:48 pmjimlim007, we all learn.. by accepting new ideas and learning from others..
and accept that sometimes we do makes mistakes..
been pawn tongue.gif thank for correction notworthy.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 13 2009, 12:08 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(jcjk @ Dec 12 2009, 09:47 PM)
what is G-Lens..what are the diffrence between G and CZ
G is rabbit, C is cow, which u want tongue.gif

G for 70200/300 constant f
jimlim007
post Dec 13 2009, 03:30 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

i read shootkk thread stated meaningless reply in forum. however, i observed ppl always reply other posted photo w/o putting spoiler. feel very irritating.

Added on December 13, 2009, 3:31 pmwah at russia, so fun... dont forgot share share nice landscape there...

Added on December 13, 2009, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 13 2009, 01:02 AM)
jimlim007: The F20 does have its purpose as a light pop-up flash (have you tried carrying a A900 + Zeiss 24-70mm?) Some times you really don't need a big bounce flash.

albnok, if we using F58 at high end body, in case we do not want ho high power bounce flash, actually we can manually reduce the flash power to 1/16 1/32 right...correct me if i am wrong. i remember at last dinner shooting, the flash light neutral the ambient light, i used to lower the flash power but it doesnt work, still too white...

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 13 2009, 03:34 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 13 2009, 07:37 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Dec 13 2009, 06:11 PM)
jimlim007:

hehe, next time in ball room should be no problem, Kelvin value + color write down d
jimlim007
post Dec 13 2009, 09:20 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Dec 13 2009, 09:17 PM)
should have post it 1-2 days earlier~!!!!!!!!!  doh.gif
muahaha, that is why car always have handbrake..... and human to make the handbrake call tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 13 2009, 09:40 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 13 2009, 09:38 PM)
Need guidance from all the sifu here.
this afternoon I took photo for an outdoor event under a tent. most of my photos exposure are metered wrongly, ie: the photo background is very bright, but the person in front appeared to be very dark. I tried to lock the exposure at the person's face but still it appeared underexposed. even with the built-in flash fired, i could not get the correct exposure. after that, i increased the EV to +1.3 only able to get better exposure on the person but the background is totally overexposed.
So, how should i take backlit potrait shoots without overexposing the background?

p/s: i using center weighted exposure all the time.

Thanks!
the sunlight face the person face when u shooting? use fill flash
jimlim007
post Dec 14 2009, 08:27 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Dec 14 2009, 12:04 PM)
Kenrockwell dude...
good sharing. thx bro. btw, do u guy practicing these? i saw the result is awesome thumbup.gif

Added on December 14, 2009, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 14 2009, 12:37 PM)
jimlim007: If the flash is too white compared to the orange background, you need a Color Temperature Orange flash gel:
take noted notworthy.gif but that one is "gel" or orange transparent type millar tape?

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 14 2009, 08:30 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 09:21 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Dec 18 2009, 04:34 AM)
using Sony to shoot Ricoh girls tongue.gif

awesome shoot! i like it! cute ricoh gal drool.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 10:41 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

do you guy using local focus area to shoot portrait in rule of third?
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 11:25 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Dec 18 2009, 10:57 AM)
i use spot and then recompose.. hahah
recompose? what you mean arr.. laugh.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 03:45 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Dec 18 2009, 12:41 PM)
thx bookmark
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 05:01 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

so a good picture should be weird - under exposure and over exposure...

Added on December 18, 2009, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(hokc77 @ Dec 18 2009, 04:41 PM)
From this morning assignment...

u are working in studio?

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 18 2009, 05:11 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 05:22 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Dec 18 2009, 04:41 PM)
From this morning assignment...

very tired yawn.gif
forgot to reply, where got photographer tire one, the model is more tired, photographer just say some thing the model need to follow tongue.gif

Added on December 18, 2009, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(lwliam @ Dec 18 2009, 05:13 PM)
a good picture should be pleasing to the eye. doesnt have weird angles and doesnt make the viewer feel uncomfortable.

it has harmony among the elements in the picture.
agree agree laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 18 2009, 05:23 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 05:47 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Dec 18 2009, 05:38 PM)
try carrying 2-3kilos of gear to shoot a wedding event for 8 to 10 hours..
true true also, but i think he shoot in studio, that is much more easy, like master command slave tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 06:16 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Dec 18 2009, 06:07 PM)
jimlim007: this was a wedding job. had to arrive at bride's place at 7am, come back to PP pics and prepare slide show and later go back for dinner coverage. Plus sleep late last night...now running on backup battery  sweat.gif

I don't work in a studio but have a friend who has his own studio. so i always come and watch him work and try to learn as much as i can lor.

Bout PP, it all depends on your preference actually but if it's a paid job; then the client's taste also need to consider. I personally like these type of PP (overexpose, de-saturated, moody feel) so you rarely see my portraits pics with natural colors. Of course, sometimes the result is
OK and sometimes it's a disaster  doh.gif
wow, physical stamina is so important. i need to do more exercise to prepare for this day smile.gif normally, in each event wedding shooting, u will have idea before u go there what u expected to shoot (those compositions) or the idea come later...

Added on December 18, 2009, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(achew @ Dec 18 2009, 05:58 PM)
thats a wedding shot using natural lighting from the door..i dont think u need that if u r in the studio right?  tongue.gif

to me..physically tired isnt really a big issue..but i usually get tired mentally when i always to have crack my head about what to shoot...how to compose it better...or anticipate some special moment during the event..rather than take up the camera and shoot like a machine gun blindly....
of course everyone also want every shutter click can snap nice photo. but in wedding event, is hard to control leh. eg: during "khang teh" -chinese wedding, they not stop the moment to let you shoot sweat.gif machine gun method some time need to use laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 18 2009, 06:21 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 07:04 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Dec 18 2009, 06:44 PM)
collecting my 135mm later when i go work...would be using it for my next wedding assignment around 3rd jan =D  hope it works well..
xmas gift brows.gif

Added on December 18, 2009, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 18 2009, 06:52 PM)

feel unbalance lighting... i need to babyseat rice cooker, cooking rice now.

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 18 2009, 07:06 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 07:51 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Dec 18 2009, 06:34 PM)
for group shots..usually i'd hv 2-3 shots so that i could avoid those blinking eyes...for candid n others..usually 1 shot would be enough...usually after the loud shutter sound..most of them would have notice u already..so its not that "candid" anymore..
this one strongly agreed nod.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 08:18 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

omg, i bought hippo put it into my camera beg and saw this shocking.gif water level increasing blink.gif

jimlim007
post Dec 18 2009, 09:03 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 18 2009, 08:45 PM)
amadeo: Don't recompose!

http://www.mhohner.de/recompose.php
thx, and the other page of your attach link say DRO drop a lot contrast, so actually in what condition we off it? and when to on it?

In-camera DRO:
The in-camera DRO dropped a lot of the contrast of the original image, and with it a lot of apparent detail and sharpness.

Added on December 18, 2009, 9:05 pm
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 18 2009, 08:30 PM)
time for a dry cabinet?
i saw one ppl sell at cari, from rm2xx - rm4xx; not sure will buy or not. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 18 2009, 09:05 PM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0422sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:54 AM