lwliam
post Dec 14 2009, 09:55 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Here's mine..

kept the b/g dark to bring out the model's skin tone and the attire's brighter color.
touched up some skin flaws.
dodged on the hair to bring out the hazel highlights

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 14 2009, 10:02 PM
lwliam
post Dec 14 2009, 10:01 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(lehtung @ Dec 14 2009, 10:00 PM)
like this?

much better rclxms.gif
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 11:36 AM

6,075 posts

signi, try take a look at the 28mm.. 1st of all, its cheap, slightly cheaper than 50mm.

F2.8 quite bright also..

Added on December 15, 2009, 11:38 am
QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 15 2009, 10:34 AM)
Uzumaki NaruTo: Studio Zaloon or Digicolor (but often, out of stock.) I also make pre-cut gel holders; if you want one come for the next TT whenever that is!

leeshock: The pirated battery grip for the A850/A900 is such a downer - it doesn't have all the buttons and the joystick of the VG-C90AM.
i'm still looking for a 3rd party VG for A700, Rm900 doesnt justify for my shooting style.. but would be nice to have an option to go portrait when i need it

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 15 2009, 12:02 PM
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 11:40 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(hafeez71 @ Dec 15 2009, 11:39 AM)
how cheap are we talking about here?  drool.gif
i bought mine for RM430
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 12:04 PM

6,075 posts

flash and UWA doesnt go well together, unless there's a small subject u like to light up, i have an example, not in this comp, will try post it up tonite
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 12:48 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 15 2009, 12:16 PM)
signither: I would love the Sigma 20mm F1.8 for APS-C. It can focus to 20cm close, real handy!

If you want something more normal-ish the Sigma 24mm F1.8 also does the job - it has the highest magnification of the Sigma 20/24/28mm F1.8 trio. All these lenses go for under RM2000.

lwliam: Have you seen Ewin's third-party A700 grip? Very potong stim.

Also, for ultra-wide angle lenses, when shooting direct, remember to pull out the wide-angle panel. Otherwise I don't have any problems with it especially in bounce mode where the spread is bigger anyway.
no, i havent seen the grip.. how much is it and where can i get it? if around RM300, then can consider, most important is can press shutter, the 2 scroll wheels and battery compartment only

went to ampang park to look for the china 'cokin', couldnt find it.. what's the name of the shop again? got one shop, sells ori cokin, she said "cokin ar, 100 something something lor" i said, "something is how much? for 77mm", she said, "wait ar, oh 77 ah, we need to order" -___-"

i was at times square christmas tree area, no where to bounce, so used stofen and direct, like i said, need to go back only can upload pic... its still possible, with 1/30 shutter, f4.5 and 1/32 flash fill... ambient and subject is sufficiently lit.

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 15 2009, 12:49 PM
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 02:05 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 15 2009, 01:04 PM)
lwliam: Well, your flash only goes to 24mm (on FF) wide. If you put the Stofen diffuser on, you will not be able to pull out the wide-angle panel.

So, don't use the Stofen and direct - there is no point in using a Stofen direct as the surface area of the light is the same. Take it off and use the wide-angle panel!

Ewin's grip is much cheaper-feeling than the third-party VG-B30AM copies. It's this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/BATTERY-GRIP-FOR-SONY-...=item335844ab09

Nope, there is no front or rear dial much less the AEL or AF/MF buttons. Even the shutter release is in an unergonomic position (the default one, as opposed to Sony's lower shutter.)

The shop is Leos Trading on the 1st floor next to the escalator.

readone_sapi: The first one.
wahhh, that grip really cannot pakai.. only ONE button?? O_o
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 08:17 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Dec 15 2009, 07:45 PM)
45mm is better?
new breed.. new breed.. ~!!!
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 09:17 PM

6,075 posts

hmmmmmm.... makes sense jugak laugh.gif

Added on December 15, 2009, 9:44 pmthe pic i mentioned earlier today, 11mm, 1/32 power direct flashed, 1/60s, f4.5, 800 ISO

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 15 2009, 09:45 PM
lwliam
post Dec 15 2009, 10:30 PM

6,075 posts

hahhaha, i also 1st person who came to mind was achew and his infamous SP90

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 15 2009, 10:30 PM
lwliam
post Dec 16 2009, 02:36 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Dec 16 2009, 02:10 PM)
price range please?
one set of pocket wizard (ie. one transmitter, one receiver) about RM1000
lwliam
post Dec 16 2009, 09:24 PM

6,075 posts

how come there's pincushioning AND barrelling all in a package??? O_o i 1st time see...
lwliam
post Dec 16 2009, 09:48 PM

6,075 posts

crap, must... evade..... fish... eye... poi...sonnnnn... @_@
lwliam
post Dec 16 2009, 10:27 PM

6,075 posts

moo, agree on that... any nice deal that you cant swallow yourself, do let us know ok, surely got ppl here can swallow one..

nice bumping into you the other day wink.gif
lwliam
post Dec 17 2009, 11:43 AM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(ohzmygod @ Dec 17 2009, 11:13 AM)
hopefully can find a decent 2nd hand VG + Batt for a700 in Jap...
going japan? check price d then let us know, see can tumpang or not tongue.gif
lwliam
post Dec 17 2009, 03:29 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 17 2009, 03:17 PM)
Is it possible not to use AF-C and still use continuous shot? The thing is its hard to get one picture where everybody is smiling and have their eyes open properly. I always got a few of sleepy eyes which really ruins the picture.

So usually when shoot instead of saying smile i just ask them to open their eyes (and yet there are still a few blinks in it) doh.gif
why would u want to use continuous during a group shoot in the 1st place?

This post has been edited by lwliam: Dec 17 2009, 03:29 PM
lwliam
post Dec 17 2009, 04:05 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 17 2009, 03:47 PM)
Uzumaki NaruTo: You've got AF mode confused with Drive mode!

AF-A/AF-S/AF-C/MF/DMF can be used together with Burst Drive mode.

lwliam: You can, to get 3-4 shots, where one will have less blinks than the other. A photographer friend of mine sets his A900 to Burst Low (3 FPS) as the time between 2 shots is just right to reduce blinks and allow the flash to recharge (compared to 5 FPS).

One way to totally avoid 'lazy eyes' is to use manual flash power - the pre-flash is what causes people to close their eyes.
no, i didnt mean cannot use burst, but why use AF-C, from what i interpret from the statement earlier that i replied to.
i do burst too when the group's too big to anticipate blinks. then only PS the eyes over for those who blinked. usually, 2 shots are enough.
lwliam
post Dec 18 2009, 04:34 AM

6,075 posts

using Sony to shoot Ricoh girls tongue.gif

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top