Xbox 360 fan speed modded and loud!

TSzainframe
post Nov 20 2009, 02:38 PM, updated 17y ago

160 posts

Hi all,

My X360 elite 3rodded last week (this is the 2nd unit- they first one was upgraded to this Elite when it 3rodded)- it's about 2+yrs old and since I didn't want to go through the hassle to send it to Singapore (it's unmodded but sending to sg will cost time and money also- with Christmas coming, I'm sure it will take forever to get fixed or replaced by MS) I sent it to a shop to fix it (I believe they changed the GPU)- it costed RM350 and while they were at it they also increased the fan speed! Since they gave 3 month warranty I guess this is sort of an insurance for them to minimize the possibility of over heating. Now my X360 sounds like a friggin lawnmower even when it's switch off and downloading in the background- for me the sound is intolerable.

Does anyone have any experience in this? did the shop changed the fan or just upped the speed of the original fan? anything I can DIY (to revert back to the original speed) without sending it back to the shop?

SUSzhiyung
post Nov 20 2009, 03:07 PM

133 posts

Probably the voltage mode, google it. If you are fine with opening the case, DIY.
lisoong
post Nov 20 2009, 03:20 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(zainframe @ Nov 20 2009, 02:38 PM)
Hi all,

My X360 elite 3rodded last week (this is the 2nd unit- they first one was upgraded to this Elite when it 3rodded)- it's about 2+yrs old and since I didn't want to go through the hassle to send it to Singapore (it's unmodded but sending to sg will cost time and money also- with Christmas coming, I'm sure it will take forever to get fixed or replaced by MS) I sent it to a shop to fix it (I believe they changed the GPU)- it costed RM350 and while they were at it they also increased the fan speed! Since they gave 3 month warranty I guess this is sort of an insurance for them to minimize the possibility of over heating. Now my X360 sounds like a friggin lawnmower even when it's switch off and downloading in the background- for me the sound is intolerable.

Does anyone have any experience in this? did the shop changed the fan or just upped the speed of the original fan? anything I can DIY (to revert back to the original speed) without sending it back to the shop?

The sped up fan is supposed to aid in cooling your xbox....best to leave it that way. Sure it sounds like a lawnmover, but it's either that or 3ROD again.
Did you get yours done at tech2?
TSzainframe
post Nov 20 2009, 03:30 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(lisoong @ Nov 20 2009, 03:20 PM)
The sped up fan is supposed to aid in cooling your xbox....best to leave it that way. Sure it sounds like a lawnmover, but it's either that or 3ROD again.
Did you get yours done at tech2?
Yes tech2, cannot blame them on this, I guess they think it's safer this way (they may be right). But I just cannot stand the sound! Have to up the volume a few dbs to listen to game dialogs sometimes. Anyway my AV room is airconditioned and friggin cold all the time, I doubt a faster fan speed would make much difference.

QUOTE(lisoong @ Nov 20 2009, 03:20 PM)
Honestly bro, after all the investment I made on the AV system.... I'd take the 3rod risk again rather than listening to a lawnmover while playing games.

I'll google on the voltage thingy thanks guys!!
heavendevil
post Nov 20 2009, 03:37 PM

17 posts

They must have done the 12v mod on the fans. Sure it's freaking loud but your console will never overheat again. If you don't mind an ugly back you can cut out the plastic vents to reduce wind resistant. That should reduce the noise a bit.
navigator
post Nov 20 2009, 03:49 PM

375 posts

TS, the 1st thing you're wrong about the M$ warranty procedure is they do over-the-counter console exchange. basically the time you might waste is the few hrs drive to Singapore xbox service hub and the money you might waste is only the travel which should be less than your RM350 and few days.......
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 20 2009, 05:54 PM

133 posts

Post a guide if you did that tongue.gif
Mine sounds louder than my vacuum cleaner too, but always too lazy to open up the case and undo the voltage mod.
Orain
post Nov 20 2009, 06:57 PM

82 posts

bro,u play ori so better dont mod the fan.it could get you banned from xbox live.
SUSwilsonjay
post Nov 20 2009, 07:57 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

QUOTE(Orain @ Nov 20 2009, 06:57 PM)
bro,u play ori so better dont mod the fan.it could get you banned from xbox live.
HAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA
heavendevil
post Nov 20 2009, 10:27 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Nov 20 2009, 05:54 PM)
Post a guide if you did that tongue.gif
Mine sounds louder than my vacuum cleaner too, but always too lazy to open up the case and undo the voltage mod.
There are a couple of ways they can do the mod. There are multiple unused 12v solder points on the pcb that can be used or take power from the dvd power cable itself. Usually they will connect a wire to the wire on the fan, if you want to undo, you'll have to remove that wire and reconnect that wire into the power socket on the pcb. Or just google lor laugh.gif
poyohebat
post Nov 20 2009, 10:34 PM

47 posts

Although it sounds like a vacuum cleaner, it is actually good for your 360. If you hate it, you can always change the fan to a better 3rd party fan. Hard to find it though.
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 20 2009, 11:48 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Orain @ Nov 20 2009, 06:57 PM)
I think the moment u opened up the casing, M$ would know and would potentially give ban hammer whistling.gif
Jcsy
post Nov 21 2009, 05:14 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 20 2009, 11:48 PM)
I think the moment u opened up the casing, M$ would know and would potentially give ban hammer whistling.gif
well only if u change their OS firmware smile.gif

i think others without touching their warranty seal would be ok
heavendevil
post Nov 21 2009, 11:00 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 20 2009, 11:48 PM)
MS isn't god, they won't know if you've opened up your box unless you send it back for warranty. If you've altered anything like the power voltage like this fan mod, then you might get a ban because MS monitors your voltage whenever you connect to LIVE(rumor).

0.0160sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:47 AM